248 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V43, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

joshhd
post May 26 2025, 01:11 PM

7,794 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ May 26 2025, 10:43 AM)
Just went to TMPoint Cyberjaya this morning with 3.5 months contract left.

Told the lady I wanna upgrade package for SWU unifi 500Mbps RM90. No questions asked. The lady is so kind that she introduce available options and asked me which offer I want.

The only downside is I had to bundle unifi mobile SIM card RM39 for 2 months, no contract for the SIM card, can terminate after 2 months.

Overall it's still ok for me cause after all the maths, I still save around RM 20+ consider after my contract ends.

The end.
QUOTE(jasontanky @ May 26 2025, 11:23 AM)
Just visit Unifi Store and told that I got offer from Astro agent about that 500Mbps plan and sincerely ask if they could offer any competitive package as what I was paying is quite high (RM129)

Probably due to my contract was finished during last month, or due to her kindness (may God bless her), I have not asked to sign up with unifi mobile line.

However, today I did get called from another Unifi agent, saying that "congratulations" I managed to get a Galaxy A16 for free, but I need to sign up a Unifi Postpaid plan RM69. At the end, I rejected her as my current prepaid plan cost only RM25 and it is way more than enough for me

I think the reason they didn't ask you to sign up whatever Unifi Mobile postpaid 39 nonsense on the spot like what the TM agent did to jacktiew is because you specifically mentioned Astro, which jacktiew didn't (according to his post).

And then on the next day, which is after you've agreed to the SWU plan of 500Mbps RM90, another Unifi agent called you and tried upselling their Unifi postpaid 69 plan with a free phone to you. Whether you agree or not, it's okay, because "at least they've tried".

I think that's a very smart move of them. Imagine that they got to know that you "got an offer from Astro" (whether it's true or not, it doesn't matter) and then they make it mandatory for you to bundle it with their Unifi Postpaid plan upon accepting their SWU offer of 500Mbps RM90... If they do this to you, there's a higher chance that you might reject their SWU offer altogether because they require you to bundle with Unifi postpaid plan (although no contract) while Astro Fibre actually don't do such bundling mobile postpaid plan nonsense. They need to make it convincing that their retention offer is better than the other ISP first.

So that's their strategy that they want you to agree to stay on their service first, then only upsell you another different offer later, especially after you mentioned Astro to them.

Well played, TM rclxms.gif
tng55
post May 26 2025, 01:42 PM

1,440 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ May 26 2025, 12:43 PM)
I just bought the cheapest mesh wifi mercusys BE9300. Rm700 for 2 units. Not sure good or not. Delivering.
that brand mercusys BE9300 no good lol
Lahaha
post May 26 2025, 01:44 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ May 22 2025, 07:15 PM)
My RM159 500Mbps contract ended so i live chat and the agent offered me RM99 for 100Mbps like your parents. Agent said their sales rep will call me but they failed to called me.

I got frustrated so i went to Tmpoint and the offer is even better RM89 for 100Mbps free 6 months but must bundle with sim card postpaid RM39 per month. The sim card can be terminated after 3 months. The next day i could see from my unifi app has been downgraded to 100Mbps.
Sorry, late to update regarding my "call to terminate Unifi and wait for them to counter with a better/cheaper deal." I was paying RM139/month for 500Mbps.

After a few days, a call came asking me about why I am leaving Unifi, so I told them I wanted to move to Maxis for RM90/month because I have moved out of my parents' place and they don't use much, so their counter offer was, maintain 500Mbps line but price drop from RM139/month to RM90/month + 12 months free Disney+ Hotstar subscription, so I took it.

This account is at my parent's place has been active for 20+ over years, got it when Unifi was first introduced, which the customer service was aware and also made a note to let me know. So many years of BT, KaZaa and Napster.

I asked if can also apply this offer to my other newer Unifi line at my new place, cannot, haha. New place's line is RM89 for 100Mbps, with first 3 months free. Long more to go before contract ends.

eugenecctan
post May 26 2025, 03:19 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ May 26 2025, 01:42 PM)
Will update you as an actual user. Many also told me Xiaomi not good. But itis performing perfectly since day 1 until Pikaboom by Zues.
eugenecctan
post May 26 2025, 03:24 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ May 26 2025, 11:28 AM)
Hi Sifus,
Question, if I use the DLINK as modem and (pppoe set at modem) router and connect LAN as AP to my own router for mesh compare to use DLINK as Modem only and set PPPOE at my own router. What are the pros n cons. Thanks.
Any input? Thanks.
HappyHome217 P
post May 26 2025, 03:47 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ May 22 2025, 07:15 PM)
My RM159 500Mbps contract ended so i live chat and the agent offered me RM99 for 100Mbps like your parents. Agent said their sales rep will call me but they failed to called me.

I got frustrated so i went to Tmpoint and the offer is even better RM89 for 100Mbps free 6 months but must bundle with sim card postpaid RM39 per month. The sim card can be terminated after 3 months. The next day i could see from my unifi app has been downgraded to 100Mbps.
Seems like different TMPoints has different offer. I was told by TMPoint this sim card is no charge and can be terminated in 1 month.
Jjuggler
post May 26 2025, 03:56 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ May 26 2025, 01:42 PM)
2.GbE for all RJ45 is good bet I would say for such price. If the user is general consumer, then the unit will be sufficient, unless they are planning to run a homelab, then recommending a good brand will do.
k!nex
post May 26 2025, 03:57 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 26 2025, 01:11 PM)
I think the reason they didn't ask you to sign up whatever Unifi Mobile postpaid 39 nonsense on the spot like what the TM agent did to jacktiew is because you specifically mentioned Astro, which jacktiew didn't (according to his post).

And then on the next day, which is after you've agreed to the SWU plan of 500Mbps RM90, another Unifi agent called you and tried upselling their Unifi postpaid 69 plan with a free phone to you. Whether you agree or not, it's okay, because "at least they've tried".

I think that's a very smart move of them. Imagine that they got to know that you "got an offer from Astro" (whether it's true or not, it doesn't matter) and then they make it mandatory for you to bundle it with their Unifi Postpaid plan upon accepting their SWU offer of 500Mbps RM90... If they do this to you, there's a higher chance that you might reject their SWU offer altogether because they require you to bundle with Unifi postpaid plan (although no contract) while Astro Fibre actually don't do such bundling mobile postpaid plan nonsense. They need to make it convincing that their retention offer is better than the other ISP first.

So that's their strategy that they want you to agree to stay on their service first, then only upsell you another different offer later, especially after you mentioned Astro to them.

Well played, TM rclxms.gif
My opinion is the same as yours.

I went to TM Point.

1. First thing I told them , I wanna check my contract whether expired or not.
2. I provided my IC, verify thumbprint . Then the customer service ask why wanna check contract.
3. I told em straight that Astro called me and offered 90 bucks for 500mbps package. So I wanna jump ship.
4. She counter offer saying TM also has the same promotion now.
5. I had to ask whether got Disney Hotstar free or not, then only tell me need to check. ANd confirm ada.

However, unlike last time when I signed up for the first SWU package 3 years ago, they had to schedule appointment to give me a new router, this time punya SWU5.0 don't have free router but still kena 24 months contract. ANyhow I don't need the router, but for those who want that router, this is something to take note .

I think people who kena con to sign up for Unifi Mobile is those that never mention Astro's offer and straight away skip all the steps and demand 90 bucks for 500mbps. I did mine with the steps above, TM never mention anything about Unifi Mobile at all to me.

This post has been edited by k!nex: May 28 2025, 05:07 PM
eugenecctan
post May 26 2025, 03:58 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ May 26 2025, 03:56 PM)
2.GbE for all RJ45 is good bet I would say for such price. If the user is general consumer, then the unit will be sufficient, unless they are planning to run a homelab, then recommending a good brand will do.
I am using Wifi Only. Would be very happy if I can get >800mb around the house. Currently only my phone and laptop can support wifi7.
k!nex
post May 26 2025, 04:09 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ May 25 2025, 04:10 PM)
Hi Sifus, if lightning strike and causing the modem and my owned router KO. 100% sure from the fiber optic cable. What I can do next?
You kena lightning strike and damaged both modem and router. That one cannot come from fiber optic cable. Fiber optic cable inside is made of some sort of glass, and glass cannot conduct electricity.

So the lightning strike can only damage your equipment via 2 routes:

1. Voltage spikes from your power adaptor. Even if you have surge protector , they are not 100% fail proof. From power adaptor, either 1 of them, voltage spikes can run through your LAN cable from modem to router, damaging both.

2. EMP . When lightning strikes a nearby object, it can generate a powerful electromagnetic pulse (EMP) that radiates through the air. This EMP can induce voltage spikes in any electrical circuit within range, including those in unplugged electronics, potentially damaging their internal components. The only way you can prevent this is to install lightning rod at your house.
k!nex
post May 26 2025, 04:23 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ May 26 2025, 03:24 PM)
Any input? Thanks.
I think if you use your own router to dial the PPPoE , you can set public DNS yourself.
If you use that 2in1 modem+router that TM provides you, I have no idea whether you can set public DNS on that device as the firmware is custom made for TM.
Probably you have better security on your own router as well since TM routers always have that TR-069 backdoor which I'm very uncomfortable with. And some routers do have anti virus built-in. My TPLink AX50 does.
sygoh3
post May 26 2025, 04:45 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(HappyHome217 @ May 26 2025, 03:47 PM)
Seems like different TMPoints has different offer. I was told by TMPoint this sim card is no charge and can be terminated in 1 month.
Last week, I went to TMPoint to ask for SWU5.0. The CS went into the office and took a stack of papers, it has different offers to counter each offer. I saw a page where the 500mbps/RM99, which is to counter offer Astro 500mbps package.
I asked for a free 6 months free bill package, they offered me RM79/100mbps but must bundle with 3 months postpaid. From the page, it didn't say it must bundle with 3 months postpaid, I suspect the postpaid is additional stuff that the centre adds on to gain more sales.
eugenecctan
post May 26 2025, 04:48 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ May 26 2025, 04:23 PM)
I think if you use your own router to dial the PPPoE , you can set public DNS yourself.
If you use that 2in1 modem+router that TM provides you, I have no idea whether you can set public DNS on that device as the firmware is custom made for TM.
Probably you have better security on your own router as well since TM routers always have that TR-069 backdoor which I'm very uncomfortable with. And some routers do have anti virus built-in. My TPLink AX50 does.
Should be no issue to set public DNS. Just that if using AP connection for mesh. I don't need help from Tm technical for the setup. And I can have additional AX3000 bandwidth (currently turn on 5Ghz only using 160Mhz) for Gaming purpose only in diff channel as the AP router.

But I have no idea in terms of performance. Isit better to use the DLINK as Modem only and connect another router using PPPOE.

viper83
post May 26 2025, 04:54 PM

333 posts

wanna ask all the legacy package owners., i remember at one time when they gave the free upgrade from 500mbps to 800mbps, unifi say will change the name of the package? coz mine is still the super value YEP 2019 (500mbps) but on reality i am getting 800. just wondering coz worried later if unifi Uturn then they will follow original package name instead of the upgraded speed
olivur
post May 26 2025, 04:59 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(viper83 @ May 26 2025, 04:54 PM)
wanna ask all the legacy package owners., i remember at one time when they gave the free upgrade from 500mbps to 800mbps, unifi say will change the name of the package? coz mine is still the super value YEP 2019 (500mbps) but on reality i am getting 800. just wondering coz worried later if unifi Uturn then they will follow original package name instead of the upgraded speed
mine was like this and I had planned on contacting them to update the package name accordingly

went with swu5.0 instead though
korbin
post May 26 2025, 05:03 PM

441 posts

Just came back from Unifi Cyberjaya outlet, managed to get rm90 500mpbs package without the need to subscribe their mobile service.

k!nex
post May 26 2025, 05:14 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ May 26 2025, 04:48 PM)
Should be no issue to set public DNS. Just that if using AP connection for mesh. I don't need help from Tm technical for the setup. And I can have additional AX3000 bandwidth (currently turn on 5Ghz only using 160Mhz) for Gaming purpose only in diff channel as the AP router.

But I have no idea in terms of performance. Isit better to use the DLINK as Modem only and connect another router using PPPOE.

The main reason i prefer to use my own router to dial PPPoE is because of security. I don't trust ppl working in TM . They can remotely access the modem , no problem. I don't want them to have any chance of remotely accessing my router through TR-069.

For you though since you have 1Gbit subscription , from what i know TM provided modem+router for your package only has 2.5Gbit WAN port. All the LAN ports on the device are all 1Gbit. You might gain minimal performance on WiFi if you use TM device for wireless access because you do receive full 1Gbit from TM. Anything that goes thru the LAN port on that TM device , max out at best around 980mbps only as 1Gbit LAN port has some overhead.

This post has been edited by k!nex: May 26 2025, 05:36 PM
annoymous1234
post May 26 2025, 05:54 PM

7,616 posts

Anyone manage to get 500mbps for rm90 without mentioning Astro?
eugenecctan
post May 26 2025, 06:04 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ May 26 2025, 05:14 PM)
The main reason i prefer to use my own router to dial PPPoE is because of security. I don't trust ppl working in TM . They can remotely access the modem , no problem. I don't want them to have any chance of remotely accessing my router through TR-069.

For you though since you have 1Gbit subscription , from what i know TM provided modem+router for your package only has 2.5Gbit WAN port.  All the LAN ports on the device are all 1Gbit. You might gain minimal performance on WiFi if you use TM device for wireless  access because you do receive full 1Gbit from TM. Anything that goes thru the LAN port on that TM device , max out  at best around 980mbps only as 1Gbit LAN port has some overhead.
I will be connecting to external router for sure. Just as LAN AP or router with PPPOE.
HappyHome217 P
post May 26 2025, 06:15 PM

Probation

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ May 26 2025, 05:54 PM)
Anyone manage to get 500mbps for rm90 without mentioning Astro?
I asked about it in TMPoint without mentioning Astro. He said need to write email to apply for it. Once approved then TM will inform. He did not mention about the need to get simcard neither.

248 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:00 AM