any divorcee here?

hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 05:38 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 9 2024, 05:37 PM)
So 50% chance to lose half ur wealth in event of divorce. Is it true?
Depends on the lawyers and the presiding judge, but usually yeah, from the stories I've been told by people who've been through (amicable) splits.
netflix2019
post May 9 2024, 05:39 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 9 2024, 05:26 PM)
Don’t think it’s valid?
err why not?

afaik it's agreement about how to split the asset in case of divorce. It's not valid only if it heavily favor one side of the party. ie. if divorce wife don't get to contest inheritance from husband.

You have to make it fair to make it legally binding. Both party have to engage their own lawyers to discuss the terms.
alexkos
post May 9 2024, 05:41 PM

2,275 posts

Any successful case in msia where prenup protect asset? And the fee to draft one. Thks
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 05:41 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ May 9 2024, 05:39 PM)
err why not?

afaik it's agreement about how to split the asset in case of divorce. It's not valid only if it heavily favor one side of the party. ie. if divorce wife don't get to contest inheritance from husband.

You have to make it fair to make it legally binding. Both party have to engage their own lawyers to discuss the terms.
You are correct - PROVIDED the pre-nup is made in accordance to the Law Reform Act (Marriage & Divorce) 1976.

Which means, a pre-nup is subservient to the existing law, which means it's not valid in its own right and not enforceable.
netflix2019
post May 9 2024, 05:45 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 9 2024, 05:37 PM)
So 50% chance to lose half ur wealth in event of divorce. Is it true?
from the two divorce case i seen first hand.

Both also the husband is rich T20.

One end up with long legal battle. But the rich family drag it out, under report the financial to give the least possible alimony. Keep fighting until the ex wife give up because lawyer fee eating her up. Settled with 200k cash as alimony. Daughter stopped talking to him the last time i asked.

Another is lucky no children. But the mom is the typical MIL from hell. Husband my friend is good guy so i know the divorce is because too mummy boy. So the ex-wife settled with alimony until she remarried. They buy out whatever asset/cash with her joint name. She untung from the asset and alimony since she never pay installment at all. The MIL threatened to bankrupt her in legal battle if she ask for more.
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 05:51 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ May 9 2024, 05:45 PM)

One end up with long legal battle. But the rich family drag it out, under report the financial to give the least possible alimony. Keep fighting until the ex wife give up because lawyer fee eating her up. Settled with 200k cash as alimony. Daughter stopped talking to him the last time i asked.

Another is lucky no children. But the mom is the typical MIL from hell. Husband my friend is good guy so i know the divorce is because too mummy boy. So the ex-wife settled with alimony until she remarried. They buy out whatever asset/cash with her joint name. She untung from the asset and alimony since she never pay installment at all. The MIL threatened to bankrupt her in legal battle if she ask for more.
This one I also dunno what to say. On the one hand, the wife seems like a bit of a money grabber. Ain't hers, didn't contribute a cent, no children. All she did was to spread her legs and that's an expensive hooker experience for your friend, the mummy's boy.

On the other hand, she was a wife, probably long suffering and had to put up with MIL's unreasonable tantrums (while your poor friend was feeling trapped between 2 women that he loved) and she didn't really contest or make life difficult during the divorce, so I think she probably deserved what she received for being a wife (even if it was for a while).

No winners here, unfortunately. Only sad losers.
haturaya
post May 9 2024, 06:07 PM

2,556 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ May 9 2024, 05:45 PM)

Loose money + dotter. Not worth it sweat.gif
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 06:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ May 9 2024, 06:07 PM)
Loose money + dotter. Not worth it  sweat.gif
Again, hard to say. Sometimes it's called cutting one's losses. If the daughter's been brainwashed by the mother, why bother?

Or worse, if the daughter ends up being manipulative and pits both parents against each other to get her way, why bother?

Money can always earn back.
haturaya
post May 9 2024, 06:23 PM

2,556 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 9 2024, 06:22 PM)
Again, hard to say. Sometimes it's called cutting one's losses. If the daughter's been brainwashed by the mother, why bother?

Or worse, if the daughter ends up being manipulative and pits both parents against each other to get her way, why bother?

Money can always earn back.
If like that, then the marriage is doomed to fail from the beginning. sweat.gif sweat.gif
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 06:26 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ May 9 2024, 06:23 PM)
If like that, then the marriage is doomed to fail from the beginning.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
No, I mean the daughter may be brainwashed when the marriage broke down... it's natural that a parent would want the child to take his or her side, and if the divorce is contested and bitter, the antagonistic parents may "groom" their child to think ill of the other party, to win justification and sympathy.

It's a royal mess ... and I've seen this happen in families of relatives and friends. Messy. And ugly.

And no winners. Only Losers in the end.
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 06:27 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Well OK, the lawyers win ... laughing all the way to the bank
alexkos
post May 9 2024, 06:41 PM

2,275 posts

so, marry becoz love, divorce all about money. And prenup useless in malaysia so if kena then prepare lose a lot of meaningful asset.

something like that i guess.
swanlover
post May 9 2024, 06:44 PM

739 posts

Divorce is a huge disgrace during our parents older days…even if they remains neutral with ur decisions..i think they can feel it..

but for us , its a start of new chapter..

its tough for the hubby, when they failed their businesses, its no longer the same men anymore…..

everything is kinda relative…screwed bz = screwed family…

This post has been edited by swanlover: May 9 2024, 06:46 PM
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 07:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 9 2024, 06:41 PM)
so, marry becoz love, divorce all about money. And prenup useless in malaysia so if kena then prepare lose a lot of meaningful asset.

something like that i guess.
If amicable then no need to lose more than necessary. If better, sure lose a lot
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 07:09 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ May 9 2024, 06:44 PM)
Divorce is a huge disgrace during our parents older days…even if they remains neutral with ur decisions..i think they can feel it..

but for us , its a start of new chapter..

its tough for the hubby, when they failed their businesses, its no longer the same men anymore…..

everything is kinda relative…screwed bz = screwed family…
That’s the problem with a lot of men. Their sense of self worth is tied to their jobs or careers.
Boomwick
post May 9 2024, 08:26 PM

1,005 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 8 2024, 08:55 AM)
So sorry to hear this. My cousin's wife left him for the same reason... he couldn't make enough to support her wants/needs.
U never tried to salvage a bit by helping your cousin ?
hksgmy
post May 9 2024, 08:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ May 9 2024, 08:26 PM)
U never tried to salvage a bit by helping your cousin ?
It was too late when we found out. They are in HK and we are based in Singapore
shadowglow
post May 9 2024, 09:46 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(Azran1979 @ May 7 2024, 09:45 AM)
whats your opinion on divorce?

at what point you decide to divorce?

how do u feel for your children?

pls share coz i never met one in my circle.
QUOTE(Perla @ May 8 2024, 12:06 PM)
Yeah, it was just tragic. Some people would consider to give some time for the partner to correct their mistakes, etc. But her husband refused to talk to her regarding his attitude. The other day they were arguing and he stormed out from their house, got into his car and drove off, while my friend was trying to open the front passenger door. He stepped on the gas and my friend was dragged a little bit and then fell down. Badly injured with cuts and bruises. She was 8 months pregnant at that time. Dude claimed he didn't noticed she was on the side of the car.

I was just told she delivered her baby this morning btw.
QUOTE(achong09 @ May 8 2024, 12:18 PM)
unker divorcee here..
reason - unker lost job back in 2018.. ex wifey walked away with kids cause deem unker useless no income mah... now unker is single....
moral of story when man with family try not to lose your job if you do have a backup plan otherwise susah....
Hi Ts, I kinda refrain from commenting but after a while seeing the replies here decided to share my opinion.

There is a saying, behind every man's success there is a women behind that man.

That also means no matter how fragile and bitter ur life would become, that women will stay by your side till the end when there's issues and help you to solve em.
Unlike these days, ppl just run away from problemz and they think divorce is a way out.

U might think I have a different view, but my case was a total roller coaster ride, I shared my story before in cupid corner I think( the pregnancy was not mine and discovered later on, gg me)

Saying ids normal, it's like saying lgbt is normal, it keep occurring until think it's a normal thing, but it's not suppose to be.

Learn this phase + mix with some random thought = u only truly know someone when they are push to a corner, stress, trap, and then only you will see their true character and how they deal with issues, till then it's all disguise.

That's why some of them who shared their story, when they lost job, women wanna leave them? If they truly love you. They will go through thick and brick. Let's not even start about if they are competent enough, they also Can earn isn't? Since these days is all about using our head n skills to earn money.

Women algorithms is just simple, they love attention and seek attention creatures but at the same time get bored quickly. They leave this relationship to start a new one but going through the same thing, get courted, want guy to chase over, do romantic stuff, ( same cycle isn't) but then ppl say the spark is not there.
Not there then, start it again lar! Find back why u guys were together in the first place.

Hence the simply saying is mentality is crucial here, u do something too much the stop it. Would be a bummer cause the benchmark has been set.

But at times, there is also tolerance part thy failed. And a combination of csnt accept the person flaw discovered later on ( everyone early just cover their bad side hence the bad ones show once live in)

Some women love to nag, while men hates nagging. Could be a simple household stuff, instead of saying once and moving on.., they would go on and on and on and oooo on about it because? The guy keep doing his habit, and the other can't take it. N in turn, that's where the toxicity starts.

But ppl forget, u can't change habit, it's been molded thorough our mind until that person breaks that habit.

That's why these days, no need for big weddings, have a big one once u reach 10 anniversary with kids and.. 20, it would be more meaningful.

BTW I got divorce as early as 28 years old, something early that doesn't happen to most ppl.

Lesson learn, breaks ppl character
, observe how they deal with issue
Find out if they have ur back or will pack your bags when there's no money ( u can do ur business and be successful now but every 20 to 30 years economy landscape always change, local retail is nor as good compared to 20 yeads ago before this shift to online business)
Discover how tolerable they are
Mentality when comes to finance purchases, raising kids, household things to do ( some. Must only do their way cause their mother thought them and created the secret stylof house chores technique.)
Maintain your spark, don't over do it n stop it. For women, they also can ignite the spark together instead of complain pot (again mentality)
And talk and be honest.
And again, no, it's not normal.

But about perla part where the guy just doesn't care anymore of his wife, even to the point Injured and let her fall from the car, that is the toxic case plus the man hearts is already in another women.

If the heart is there, in a fit of scolding or indirect action that cause Injury, the first instinct is to already rush to aid without thinking and whatever difference u had 1 second ago all go away.
Hence there are some, argue later, whirl being together. That what it takes to be the better person.

This post has been edited by shadowglow: May 9 2024, 09:53 PM
cruelfacex
post May 10 2024, 08:51 AM

97 posts

I might be going to divorce next month,
After our kid birthday celebration,

No 3rd person issue, just that we cannot understand each other and decided to stop instead of continue & make it worse.

Different upbringing is the main issue i guess.
swanlover
post May 10 2024, 09:02 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 9 2024, 07:09 PM)
That’s the problem with a lot of men. Their sense of self worth is tied to their jobs or careers.
Nobody wants to loose a job or failed a bz..wifey it’s about sticking with u thick and thin…

If she only wants u during the time u can provide.., meaning these are no diff from gold diggers …

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.3771sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:47 AM