495 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

zeroty
post Mar 13 2024, 03:49 PM

95 posts

SWU plan need to recontract 24 mths?
aniq8676
post Mar 13 2024, 03:52 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(zeroty @ Mar 13 2024, 03:49 PM)
SWU plan need to recontract 24 mths?
Ofkos lah
soonwai
post Mar 13 2024, 05:23 PM

11,451 posts

QUOTE(syncomp @ Mar 13 2024, 02:14 PM)
So it is true that they will upgrade to 1Gbps. I really have high hope that they will upgrade 800 Mbps to 2Gbps as 800 Mbps is  basically is 1 Gbps during the time they cannot deliver 1,2 Gbps.
Memang itu pun tujuannya. Stay with unifi is the plan as the name suggest, is for customer to stay with unifi. Unless you have a prove you're gonna jumpship, some TM Point bolayan.
Ya, from 820Mbps to 940Mbps. doh.gif Hopeless upgrade. Only saving grace is the upload speed.
karenzayn
post Mar 13 2024, 05:31 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Mar 13 2024, 02:06 PM)
Ok done mine today, very smooth since i met one Chinese CS that happens to "remember me" from an incident. She wrote on a piece of paper on how much is the SWU 4.0 price and what are the perks. I never mention to her that i'm having Netflix but i guess i'll see how it goes. Downgrade myself to 300mbps @ 119/month, 6 months waive and free Wifi Router 6, but contract renew 24 months.. which i'm ok with since not like i'm going to give up Unifi anytime soon. Will update once i got the router.
AFAIK, SWU 4.0 no FSU 500MBPS right for new customers?

This post has been edited by karenzayn: Mar 13 2024, 05:32 PM
go626201
post Mar 13 2024, 06:17 PM

1,881 posts

Anyone FSU to 1Gbps might going on custom GPON ONU?
Since 940mbps vs 1030mbps is still a 10% difference.
(And that Dlink,i dont really trust it is stable enough for 24/7 fully usage)

But the downside for using custom GPON ONU...
-No home line phone without using ATA adapter or utilize the same Dlink ONR
-Need one more device for Fibre to 2.5G Ethernet adapter (And higher power consumption)
-Configuration needed for custom GPON ONU
-LAST- need additional money budget for those thing...

I really hope TM should provide a new way or selection for 1/2gpbs user by providing a better ONU/ONR/BTU for additional one-time fee or subscription or monthly add-on.

EDIT:
I will be waiting for the free upgrade 1st,and see how is going on. Another more 100mbps DL speed is still attractive for heavy user.

This post has been edited by go626201: Mar 13 2024, 06:19 PM
eclectice
post Mar 13 2024, 06:59 PM

2,734 posts

@Anime4000 connected his custom GPON stick to his customer's TP Archer BE800's SFP+ port. Unsure if VOIP is supported.

https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/...r/archer-be800/

yenchenje
post Mar 13 2024, 07:28 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Mar 13 2024, 06:17 PM)
Anyone FSU to 1Gbps might going on custom GPON ONU?
Since 940mbps vs 1030mbps is still a 10% difference.
(And that Dlink,i dont really trust it is stable enough for 24/7 fully usage)

But the downside for using custom GPON ONU...
-No home line phone without using ATA adapter or utilize the same Dlink ONR
-Need one more device for Fibre to 2.5G Ethernet adapter (And higher power consumption)
-Configuration needed for custom GPON ONU
-LAST- need additional money budget for those thing...

I really hope TM should provide a new way or selection for 1/2gpbs user by providing a better ONU/ONR/BTU for additional one-time fee or subscription or monthly add-on.

EDIT:
I will be waiting for the free upgrade 1st,and see how is going on. Another more 100mbps DL speed is still attractive for heavy user.
I think there’s no escaping the D-Link ONR until they officially bring the rumored 2.5G ONU to ppl. You need either a POTS or a VoIP capable phone (Smart phones) to do it. Either way it all costs money if you’re looking to fully utilize the 1G pipe

10% is 10% yes, but the equipment needed will costs well beyond the 10% if you REALLY want to squeeze it out.

Power consumption wise, converter is <5W with SFP+.

QUOTE(eclectice @ Mar 13 2024, 06:59 PM)
@Anime4000 connected his custom GPON stick to his customer's TP Archer BE800's SFP+ port. Unsure if VOIP is supported.

https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/...r/archer-be800/

Unless TP-Link allow you to edit their profiles, unlikely as you will NEED VLAN 400 for VoIP to even work.

D-Link ONR, ATA Adapter, or Smart VoIP phone, your poison sweat.gif
yenchenje
post Mar 13 2024, 07:46 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Mar 13 2024, 07:28 PM)
I think there’s no escaping the D-Link ONR until they officially bring the rumored 2.5G ONU to ppl. You need either a POTS or a VoIP capable phone (Smart phones) to do it. Either way it all costs money if you’re looking to fully utilize the 1G pipe

10% is 10% yes, but the equipment needed will costs well beyond the 10% if you REALLY want to squeeze it out.

Power consumption wise, converter is <5W with SFP+.
Also don’t forget you are entirely at TM’s mercy on which OLT you get assigned to. If you get assigned to anything other than ALCL-LCN (Alcatel Lucent), you basically can’t get anything consistently beyond 940mbps due to their strict traffic control.

I was on ALCL back at my old place, now at my new place in Huawei and max I get is only 950Mbps instead of 1030-1040Mbps.

I’d say if you really want to utilize the full pipe, do your due diligence and check before hand before jumping into custom solutions.

My nightmare of a setup to originally fully utilize 1Gbps but now can’t even get over 1G consistently.
Khan92
post Mar 13 2024, 08:35 PM

To live is to die
552 posts

Anyone live Ampang area got Los red color on modem?
go626201
post Mar 13 2024, 10:09 PM

1,881 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Mar 13 2024, 07:46 PM)
I was on ALCL back at my old place, now at my new place in Huawei and max I get is only 950Mbps instead of 1030-1040Mbps.
My nightmare of a setup to originally fully utilize 1Gbps but now can’t even get over 1G consistently.
I dont get what u mean the 950mbps?
U mean the total bandwidth with multiple device or port can only hit 950mbps max?
Or 1G lan port can only hit 950mbps?

Because if anyhow u cant hit 990mbps in total ,u should complain to Unifi,since the plan is call 1Gbps.
The theoretical max speed u should get should be 1000+mbps with no device bottleneck.
(I mean between ONR to END Device all are capable run more than 1G)

This post has been edited by go626201: Mar 13 2024, 10:11 PM
borgyang
post Mar 13 2024, 10:12 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(karenzayn @ Mar 13 2024, 05:31 PM)
AFAIK, SWU 4.0 no FSU 500MBPS right for new customers?
I just downgraded from 500 Mbps to 300 Mbps. Personally, I don't really feel any differences in terms of speed, unless you are a heavy user who always downloads big torrent files every day. I would rather Unifi provide users with a more reliable and stable internet connection. I don't want to experience network congestion during peak hours at night or suddenly cannot access certain websites or apps. It is very frustrating, you know. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by borgyang: Mar 13 2024, 10:13 PM
yenchenje
post Mar 13 2024, 10:22 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Mar 13 2024, 10:09 PM)
I dont get what u mean the 950mbps?
U mean the total bandwidth with multiple device or port can only hit 950mbps max?
Or 1G lan port can only hit 950mbps?

Because if anyhow u cant hit 990mbps in total ,u should complain to Unifi,since the plan is call 1Gbps.
The theoretical max speed u should get should be 1000+mbps with no device bottleneck.
(I mean between ONR to END Device all are capable run more than 1G)
ONU opposite site is OLT (Optical Line Termination), and that’s what your ONU is communicating to to get internet

TM uses a mix of random brands of OLT, Nokia Alcatel OLT is known to have lots of leeway with bandwidth control, and will just give you a lot more speed (DL-UL) than advertised (Technically), Anime4000 has 1050Mbps for upload on 2Gbps, when it shouldn’t go over 1000.

All the other brands (Huawei/ZTE/Fiberhome OLT) are all strict with bandwidth and won’t give you much above the “theoretical” limit

Complaining to TM won’t work as I’m not technically using original equipment (D-Link ONR). Even if I did use original equipment, their original testing is already reaching 80% advertised speed via WiFi, I doubt that they can do much other than swapping port for me to another Nokia Alcatel port, which I probably don’t have the power to influence them to
ken120
post Mar 14 2024, 01:49 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(syncomp @ Mar 13 2024, 02:14 PM)
So it is true that they will upgrade to 1Gbps. I really have high hope that they will upgrade 800 Mbps to 2Gbps as 800 Mbps is  basically is 1 Gbps during the time they cannot deliver 1,2 Gbps.
Memang itu pun tujuannya. Stay with unifi is the plan as the name suggest, is for customer to stay with unifi. Unless you have a prove you're gonna jumpship, some TM Point bolayan.
Just 1gbps, no 2gbps. If still gobind era for now, 2gbps is possible la. But now is actor era, you know la...ada keje mcm xkeje doh.gif
eclectice
post Mar 14 2024, 08:24 AM

2,734 posts

Bridging mode is easy to set up on the Unifi ONR D-Link DPN-FX3060V. Connect the LAN cable from the laptop/PC to any unused LAN port on the ONR to access the ONR Web UI at the default http: // 192.168.0.1. Select the "GPON-Bridge", connect the LAN cable from the LAN1 port on ONR to our third-party router's WAN port, and wait a few seconds for the ONR to reset after applying changes. Then, connect the LAN cable from the laptop/PC to any LAN port of the third-party router to configure everything (but no change is required if it works like before).

Note that VOIP port 1 is made available for a VOIP phone by connecting the cable from TEL1 of the ONR to the phone.

Before performing the bridging, make sure the interfaces are correctly set up, especially the INTERNET service:

The speed test result for the Free Speed Upgrade from the 800 Mbps plan to the 1 Gbps plan; as expected after bridging. The download speed result is probably due to a non-Nokia OLT source. The WAN port of the third-party router is 2.5 Gbps capable but it detects a 1 Gbps connection from the ONR when probed (Asus ZenWiFi XT12 Pro 2-pack).

user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by eclectice: Mar 14 2024, 12:27 PM
zeronehza
post Mar 14 2024, 11:22 AM

Malaysian Real Madrid Supporter Club
1,704 posts

QUOTE(ken120 @ Mar 12 2024, 11:49 AM)
Finally my 800mbps get FSU to 1gbps rclxms.gif
Package name also changed from 800mbps to 1gbps - pro upgrade
ur monthly bil ?
NagaK
post Mar 14 2024, 01:09 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Mar 14 2024, 08:24 AM)
Bridging mode is easy to set up on the Unifi ONR D-Link DPN-FX3060V. Connect the LAN cable from the laptop/PC to any unused LAN port on the ONR to access the ONR Web UI at the default http: // 192.168.0.1. Select the "GPON-Bridge", connect the LAN cable from the LAN1 port on ONR to our third-party router's WAN port, and wait a few seconds for the ONR to reset after applying changes. Then, connect the LAN cable from the laptop/PC to any LAN port of the third-party router to configure everything (but no change is required if it works like before).

Note that VOIP port 1 is made available for a VOIP phone by connecting the cable from TEL1 of the ONR to the phone.

Before performing the bridging, make sure the interfaces are correctly set up, especially the INTERNET service:

The speed test result for the Free Speed Upgrade from the 800 Mbps plan to the 1 Gbps plan; as expected after bridging. The download speed result is probably due to a non-Nokia OLT source. The WAN port of the third-party router is 2.5 Gbps capable but it detects a 1 Gbps connection from the ONR when probed (Asus ZenWiFi XT12 Pro 2-pack).

Thanks for info will be helpful to me after they upgrade
yenchenje
post Mar 14 2024, 01:42 PM

932 posts

Enable SSH on ONR, ssh into it, omcicli get mib 131, check for the vendor ID there
jiaen0509
post Mar 14 2024, 01:45 PM

3,305 posts

Good info! Thanks for sharing
eclectice
post Mar 14 2024, 01:57 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Mar 14 2024, 01:42 PM)
Enable SSH on ONR, ssh into it, omcicli get mib 131, check for the vendor ID there
Do you mean the OMCI Vendor ID of the OLT source? Hmm maybe later since I am not at home.

The following is the OMCI Vendor ID for the ONR/UONU. Nothing is interesting to note about it.

sHawTY
post Mar 14 2024, 02:56 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

SNIP
SilentVampire Good idea to PIN this on the first page

495 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:40 AM