49 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 >Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

jaycee1
post Aug 20 2025, 02:45 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Aug 20 2025, 11:26 AM)
If said leather failed, the membrane should be working, but its not. It was the same before any product was applied. So being disappointed, i tried applying specific leather products to increase leather water resistance...sama saja

Membrane failed...in house membrane High-Tex

Pakai saja la...just imagine that its a water resistant riding boots...
Even WP boots will eventually leak. All of my "WP" boots leak after a few months to a year.

My daily non WP mid cut leather work boots actually do pretty well. Just have to treat them every so often and make sure the seams/stictched area are waxed. They are not WP and no WP liner, so water will still get through the zips (no gusset) if you spash yourself running through a big puddle.

For what's it worth, unless you are going for multiday, multi hour touring, I prefer non WP full leather boots. They dry up much easier than WP boots if you do get them wet and they are less stuffy.
jaycee1
post Aug 20 2025, 02:46 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Aug 20 2025, 02:38 PM)
Seller tarak bunyi, he said its 8000mmH20 resistance, but 8000mmH20 medium rain shouldnt be an issue. How to claim warranty also no idea. The following is the pic today.

Like i said above, I would wax all the seams and see if it works better. Pretty sure it would.
ijan
post Aug 20 2025, 02:56 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 20 2025, 02:45 PM)
Even WP boots will eventually leak. All of my "WP"  boots leak after a few months to a year.
My daily non WP mid cut leather work boots actually do pretty well. Just have to treat them every so often and make sure the seams/stictched area are waxed. They are not WP and no WP liner, so water will still get through the zips (no gusset) if you spash yourself running through a big puddle.

For what's it worth, unless you are going for multiday, multi hour touring, I prefer non WP  full leather boots. They dry up much easier than WP boots if you do get them wet and they are less stuffy.
Ya, lesson learned now on the WP boots. Mine is only a month old, and has only been through rain twice.

I do wax them, on the seams, on the creases. Just did it again yesterday evening...but alas, haha!

At least im not touring, its only for work sahaja, and its not totally wet.

alexei
post Aug 20 2025, 03:17 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Aug 20 2025, 02:38 PM)
Seller tarak bunyi, he said its 8000mmH20 resistance, but 8000mmH20 medium rain shouldnt be an issue. How to claim warranty also no idea. The following is the pic today.

macam slowly seasoned... hopefully looks better as it ages
mADmAN
post Aug 20 2025, 05:05 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Aug 20 2025, 08:42 AM)
I wouldnt recommend them now...what a letdown, once in a 40 minute medium-light, and today in a 40 minutes light rain...CE WP rated shoes masuk air, walaupun baru oil it up.

The thoughts of going into office with dry kaki is now another dream...not to mention how quick the leather turns rustic..like vintage worn out despite being a months old...shouyld have just pakai Crocs saja...

What pants were u wearing when it rained? Waterproof boots will only be effective if ur wearing waterproof, over the boot pants as water can still get in the top. N the pants will need to go low enough so that even if its flapping in the wind, the top of the boot wont be exposed....so the boot also needs to go high enough lol

Learned this the hard way n still suffering the consequences years later.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 20 2025, 05:21 PM
ijan
post Aug 20 2025, 10:01 PM

3,448 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 20 2025, 05:05 PM)
What pants were u wearing when it rained? Waterproof boots will only be effective if ur wearing waterproof, over the boot pants as water can still get in the top. N the pants will need to go low enough so that even if its flapping in the wind, the top of the boot wont be exposed....so the boot also needs to go high enough lol

Learned this the hard way n still suffering the consequences years later.
Rain pants, it goes below the tounge, around 2" above the welt line when seated. Also paired with rain jacket, baju seluar semua dry...socks saja

Xper, the seller said he will try to contact manufacturer and see their response on the matter.

Kaboku
post Aug 21 2025, 10:04 AM

I use waterproof socks if I roughly know the weather will open up during the ride but everytime i wear the socks it doesn't rain
ijan
post Aug 22 2025, 09:51 AM

3,448 posts

Another think i want to ask...bila makin tua, makin sayang nyawa, but dont want to let go of speed haha

So baru tambah pakai riding shoes (before its helmet+jacket+gloves)

Then someone sini show degloving, then tengok motor accident mmng selalu la kena, then scrap skid semua and all...

How badly do i need riding pants? But i dont want to buka everytimei masuk office. And also pakai armor on the leg also..aiyoooo

For context, 60km minimum per day on motosikal in somewhat mix federal highway kinda jam.
alexei
post Aug 22 2025, 02:56 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Aug 22 2025, 09:51 AM)
Another think i want to ask...bila makin tua, makin sayang nyawa, but dont want to let go of speed haha

Then someone sini show degloving, then tengok motor accident mmng selalu la kena, then scrap skid semua and all...

How badly do i need riding pants? But i dont want to buka everytimei masuk office. And also pakai armor on the leg also..aiyoooo

For context, 60km minimum per day on motosikal in somewhat mix federal highway kinda jam.
most ppl never needed it, so I don't wear
after I crashed, I wished I had them on

2 points to note:
- dress for the slide, and
- hope we never need the protection

statistics: https://www.bennetts.co.uk/bikesocial/revie...bag-vest-jacket

Legs:
- most injuries sustained
- > 50% minor
- > 20% major
- > 20% serious

Pelvic:
- hip protection is important
- anything happens to pelvic bone, can be quite complicated

Sharing, Dainese Delta 4 leather pants with hip padding
accident, rolled and slid on tarmac
the pants leather in tact
green spot there pecah, and just caused a minor scuff on my thigh

that protection alone, I feel, is worth paying for the pants
ijan
post Aug 22 2025, 03:55 PM

3,448 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 22 2025, 02:56 PM)
most ppl never needed it, so I don't wear
after I crashed, I wished I had them on

2 points to note:
- dress for the slide, and
- hope we never need the protection

statistics: https://www.bennetts.co.uk/bikesocial/revie...bag-vest-jacket

Legs:
- most injuries sustained
- > 50% minor
- > 20% major
- > 20% serious

Pelvic:
- hip protection is important
- anything happens to pelvic bone, can be quite complicated
thanks for the insight

So mahu selamat, kena pakai something lagi laa

I dread pakai rainwear, now kena pakai extra seluar really make no brainer

Any other solution for daily work wear (casual) that can withstand some abrasion?

https://youtube.com/shorts/azbmhSYu4_M?si=fIlETTPNO76LjFFR

Ini boleh pakai at least minium rather than..well..uniqlo

This post has been edited by ijan: Aug 22 2025, 03:58 PM
alexei
post Aug 22 2025, 09:15 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Aug 22 2025, 03:55 PM)
thanks for the insight

So mahu  selamat, kena pakai something lagi laa

I dread pakai rainwear, now kena pakai extra seluar really make no brainer
Any other solution for daily work wear (casual) that can withstand some abrasion?

https://youtube.com/shorts/azbmhSYu4_M?si=fIlETTPNO76LjFFR

Ini boleh pakai at least minium rather than..well..uniqlo
RS Taichi slip on padding?
jaycee1
post Aug 23 2025, 12:09 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Aug 22 2025, 09:51 AM)

How bad you need pants depends on how you ride and how you plan to crash. Safety is a compromise you have to weigh in for yourself.

I wear riding jeans with armour everyday to work. And keep them on all day. I just don't use kevlar lined for comfort.

Normal commute is more impact protection so armour is important. Unless you banzai to office everyday, sliding and loosing skin isn't high on my things to worry about. Not to say it's not important, but armour itself will also protect on slides, just not that big a coverage as kevlar lined.

I'm in full gear everyday. ATGATT.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 23 2025, 12:12 PM
ijan
post Aug 25 2025, 01:55 PM

3,448 posts

whats the cheapest acceptable CE rating pants, that looks like work/utility/cargo pants?

For context, HJC RPHA 90 & LS2 Infinity 2 Carbon, Alpinestar Aeron jacket, Alpinestar Copper glove

This post has been edited by ijan: Aug 25 2025, 01:57 PM
mhyug
post Aug 29 2025, 09:43 AM

1,551 posts

Heading to motorworld this Saturday to get pants, shoes and gloves.

Another place i want to visit is bikeworld at old klang road. got some stuff at LSH, unfortunately pants i want not in stock at LSH.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Aug 29 2025, 09:51 AM
legendgod
post Aug 29 2025, 01:39 PM

290 posts

Budget rm1k - 500 for full face, 300 for riding jacket & 200 for glove...
Which brand/type to go for?
Helmet- surveyed kyt tt or hjc c10, any other recommendation??
Gloves -starfield knight or alpinestar copper/taichi??
Jacket- starfield or benkia decent brand??

This post has been edited by legendgod: Aug 29 2025, 01:39 PM
alexei
post Aug 29 2025, 05:22 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

--

This post has been edited by alexei: Sep 2 2025, 01:48 PM
Patent
post Aug 29 2025, 06:34 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(legendgod @ Aug 29 2025, 01:39 PM)
Helmet-  surveyed kyt tt or hjc c10, any other recommendation??
500 for a full face not much choice you have, i'd prefer hjc but best if you test them yourself and see which one fit you better.
there are other brands also like givi, zeus
just make sure the helmet has ece rating 22.06 or if you are lucky get older models with ece 22.05 since it might be cheaper

i personally use starfield knight skg550 glove, made from goat leather.
used almost 8 months and still looks like brand new. it has went rain and hot weather so i guess its pretty good.
fingertip and palm section not damaged at all
i think other china brands also have goat leather gloves like motowolf, benkia, etc.

for jacket i think you cant go wrong with either brand, just choose the one with mesh fabric and has adequate pad protection (shoulder, chest, elbow, back)

most important to test those equipment if they are suitable for you, so make sure to go to shops that have them

once I bought a riding pants online thinking its all good then realised it has no side pocket for me to put my wallet and keys doh.gif
blek
post Aug 30 2025, 04:47 PM

718 posts

QUOTE(legendgod @ Aug 29 2025, 01:39 PM)
Helmet-  surveyed kyt tt or hjc c10, any other recommendation??
I got new jacket never wear before want to sell
Komine JK098 4XL

Let me know if you interested

mhyug
post Aug 30 2025, 09:31 PM

1,551 posts

Well went to the places today.

Motorworld kind of a bit sendu with their pants not much selection and sizes

Bikerworld was a bit better with the pants and other items, cuma less of a discount.

Dainese was good too but pants section alos many sizes sold out and no stock. But some good promo's there.

I want ask, why is it the Japanese brands like taichi and komine dont have abrasion rated pants? Went to the abve 2 places and all i can find/see is CE rated pads(no hip pads tho..kena beli asing)

Aside from the 3 i mentioned and LSH, anyone have any other places to recommend, thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: Aug 30 2025, 09:32 PM
Patent
post Aug 31 2025, 07:29 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Aug 30 2025, 09:31 PM)
Well went to the places today.

Motorworld kind of a bit sendu with their pants not much selection and sizes

Bikerworld was a bit better with the pants and other items, cuma less of a discount.

Dainese was good too but pants section alos many sizes sold out and no stock. But some good promo's there.

I want ask, why is it the Japanese brands like taichi and komine dont have abrasion rated pants? Went to the abve 2 places and all i can find/see is CE rated pads(no hip pads tho..kena beli asing)

Aside from the 3 i mentioned and LSH, anyone have any other places to recommend, thanks.  smile.gif
my guess is to get abrasion rated will increase the price

you can check winmaster in cheras, they sell furygan brand
sunny cycle also has equipment store but a bit limited
if china brand just look at serdang motorcycle

49 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 >Top

0.0236sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:27 PM