49 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

Patent
post Jul 23 2023, 01:50 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

mesh jacket is a must have in malaysia weather..
really feel better when wind passing your body

some jacket have quick dry technology or use material that makes it easier when you are sweaty
mADmAN
post Jul 23 2023, 02:00 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 23 2023, 09:59 AM)
Came across Alpinestars base mesh jacket for RM399, comes with CE level 1 shoulder and elbow armor.

Relatively cheap for original Alpinestars. Anybody using it? Really curious if the jacket itself has CE rating for abrasion and how it wears.

Using a mesh jacket now that’s a bit difficult to take off and wear again when sweaty.
Whats the model or any link?
TSJason
post Jul 23 2023, 02:21 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 23 2023, 02:00 PM)
Whats the model or any link?
https://www.mytakongracing.com/products/alp...ase-mesh-jacket

Quite cheap for original Alpinestars considering it comes with elbow and shoulder armor.

Edit: and it looks less like a jacket and more like a base layer.

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 23 2023, 01:50 PM)

some jacket have quick dry technology or use material that makes it easier when you are sweaty
Any examples of the quick dry mesh jacket?

My Kushitani mesh is kinda sticky when wet. A bit hard to remove and wear again. Especially when the mesh rolls up against my skin when removing. Don’t know how to explain.

This post has been edited by Jason: Jul 23 2023, 02:25 PM
genesiscopy
post Jul 23 2023, 02:39 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 15 2023, 06:19 PM)
my search finally ended last weekend...got my replacement for my Rev'It Trail H2O boots which is literally disintegrating. damn bang for buck boots. Bought at RM369 during some phased off clearance sale 5 years ago, done thousands of KMs with those boots.

checked out 3 TCX Waterproof boots:

1/ TCX S-TR1 Waterproof
- just looked ugly
- but looks to have the best protection as its more race inspired.
- also more expensive at 1.8k

2/ TCX Airtech 3 Gore-tex
- Looks good in pictures but IRL is really ugly.
- had a bit too much textile on the outer layer to have any confidence in it. prefer a more leather or leather-ish type outer layer.
- also more expensive at 1.8k

3/ TCX Explorer 4 Gor-tex
- Looks better than (2) but when walking around the sole felt really thin. and i have feet aches so no go for me
- the sole also looked to be the slippery kind.
- the ortholite inner sole is quite soft when pressed with fingers, but again, when walking around, sole felt really thin

so instead i got me Rev'It Link GTX Gore-tex boots from LSH (RM1539 iirc)
- full grain leather outer layer and looks more robust than the 3 TCX boots, especially when on the feet
- also has ortholite soles but not as soft as the Explorer 4 when pressed with fingers.
- overall thicker sole making walking more comfortable for me
- sole also is a little more "studded" so abit more confidence especially on wet surfaces.
- suspect itll be the warmest of the boots as it has zero textile outer layer so lesser ventilation compared to (2) & (3).

also picked up Alpinestars Andes V3 Waterproof pants from Bikeworld Kepong (RM1099 before 5% discount)

How's your experience with the V3? I basically used it daily nowadays when going to work since couldn't bother to stop and wear waterproof clothing. But the air inlet really need high speed to feel the airflow coming in. Either that or I'm just wearing it wrong since I am also using waterproof laptop bag. It gets in the way of the inlet at armpit area.
Patent
post Jul 23 2023, 06:03 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 23 2023, 02:21 PM)

My Kushitani mesh is kinda sticky when wet. A bit hard to remove and wear again. Especially when the mesh rolls up against my skin when removing. Don’t know how to explain.
I personally use Komine JK-158 and have no issue with sweaty skin after riding for 1+ hours or sweating under traffic jam.

When I was window shopping at Hodaka motoworld some of the RS Taichi jackets have 'quick dry' as their marketing term..
I guess something about the inner material although I'm not really sure how effective are they because when touching them jackets all the innards feel the same rclxub.gif
jaycee1
post Jul 23 2023, 11:48 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 23 2023, 01:50 PM)

......... unless your armour flows air as well.

As for jacket sticking.....

Just wear long sleeve "cool" fabric type .... Helps you get the jacket off without sticking, and ventilates/dry very quickly.

On really hot days, I just soak the whole shirt. Wear it. Feels Like air con. Dries up in 30mins...even under my mesh jacket.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jul 23 2023, 11:52 PM
alexei
post Jul 24 2023, 09:28 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 23 2023, 11:48 PM)
Just wear long sleeve "cool" fabric type .... Helps you get the jacket off without sticking, and ventilates/dry very quickly.

On really hot days, I just soak the whole shirt. Wear it. Feels Like air con. Dries up in 30mins...even under my mesh jacket.
I second this.

Quite cheap for original Alpinestars considering it comes with elbow and shoulder armor.

I know what you mean when jacket sleeves stick to the skin and harder to pull over the arms. Taking them off feels like a huge relieve also.

If I may recommend, a good set of jacket innerlayer is a must, look for special material Dryarn but these tend to be pricier. Cheaper options are Uniqlo Airism non-cotton stuff, preferebly Nylon and Spandex only. Polyester is not as comfortable IMO. Example items E457783, E457781, E454314. Nike Dri FIT also ok. Or, just use those nylon arm sleeves with a thumb hook also quite good. Just anything that goes between your skin and the mesh jacket.

I once saw Decathlon inner/base layer for RM19, but it's rated for cold temperature. Sounds odd, and I skipped it because if it's to keep warm, I'd rather not use it.
Example, the Van Skipps cycling baselayer, is 100% polyester.
mADmAN
post Jul 24 2023, 06:39 PM

10,530 posts

i think... it actually is a base layer... the word base is kinda in the name hahaha

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Jul 23 2023, 02:39 PM)
How's your experience with the V3? I basically used it daily nowadays when going to work since couldn't bother to stop and wear waterproof clothing. But the air inlet really need high speed to feel the airflow coming in. Either that or I'm just wearing it wrong since I am also using waterproof laptop bag. It gets in the way of the inlet at armpit area.
u talking about jacket or pants? my andes v3 is the pants.... and.... i have not used it yet...even the tags are still attached laugh.gif

as for jacket sticking topic... i use long sleeve compression shirt. bought cheap cheap from shopee. damn comfortable that i use it for all my rides even wiith jackets that dont stick.

basically i use long sleeve compression shirt + long compression pants (both bought cheap cheap from shopee) under my pants and jacket... no other pants, no other tshirt, no underwear oso. the compression wear is my inner/underwear.

so my pants and jacket dont stick to my skin.. and im comfortable the entire way... on super hot long rides i actually splash my compression shirt with water and just continue riding with it wet... dries fast enough and the process keeps me cool oso.

should try out compression wear... its supposed to help reduce fatigue as well.... not sure if it works for me, but i think it does as i feel less tired during long rides....but may just be placebo...somemore my compression wear is cheapo shopee items.
paskal
post Jul 27 2023, 07:37 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

went to gomoto experience to try out the alpinestars halo jacket.

fit and finish is nice, as expected from an rm2k jacket.
quite heavy, but doesn't feel it as much with the kidney belt strapped.

friends say i look like SWAT with this jacket.
hensem lettew. ecewah tongue.gif
TSJason
post Jul 27 2023, 11:02 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 12 2023, 12:36 AM)
I use these, already 3-4 years liao and now only the extended tab where u use to pull the earplug out is starting to break.

Non affiliated link btw
https://shp.ee/98ipmym

Compared to foamies, it doesn't cut out as much noise so I can still listen to music etc on my comms, and also it lets in more frequencies vs the foamies which muffles everything, so music is more enjoyable too. But it blocks enough noise that it isn't painful at ultra highway speeds if you know what I mean.
Now I too can ride like a liter bike owner! No liter bike tak apa, ada ear plugs like one!

Recommended by liter bike owner. Bangga saya pakai ear plug sama. Now see how it compares to the 3M foamies. I used the foams for airasia flight, never flying without them.
ZZR-Pilot
post Jul 28 2023, 07:20 AM

1,057 posts

Found the Held Cattleman boots to be had for RM275 with coupons on Shoppee.

Thick double-stitched cowhide upper, just begging to be mink-oiled. Zipped side (something I look for in all my lace-up Derby dress boots & bike boots). The usual toe, heel and ankle protection although not as heavily protected as racing & off-road boots, but that's fine as they retain the comfort & mobility I absolutely need to wear them all day at the office and when touring.

At this price, I couldn't say no.

However the welt is not sewn - this is the weakest area in all leather shoes coz while the animal leather is bomb-proof, the soles and their glue tend to somehow perish all on their own in our weather. Glued soles tend to detach after 2 years, dunno why. My fave Blundstones just went out this way and the soles also started to crumble apart... can't be saved, what a fucking pity...

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Jul 28 2023, 07:31 AM
ZZR-Pilot
post Jul 28 2023, 07:37 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 23 2023, 03:21 PM)
Wear arm socks bro. My wife has the same problem with her RS Taichi jacket that she rides to work in, this is what she does.

Vincent6596
post Jul 28 2023, 08:00 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jul 28 2023, 07:20 AM)

Thick double-stitched cowhide upper, just begging to be mink-oiled. Zipped side (something I look for in all my lace-up Derby dress boots & bike boots). The usual toe, heel and ankle protection although not as heavily protected as racing & off-road boots, but that's fine as they retain the comfort & mobility I absolutely need to wear them all day at the office and when touring.

However the welt is not sewn - this is the weakest area in all leather shoes coz while the animal leather is bomb-proof, the soles and their glue tend to somehow perish all on their own in our weather. Glued soles tend to detach after 2 years, dunno why. My fave Blundstones just went out this way and the soles also started to crumble apart... can't be saved, what a fucking pity...
usually after i get the boot, i will send the boots to shoemaker to sewn before start wearing it, then i will last more longer then usual
ZZR-Pilot
post Jul 28 2023, 08:24 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jul 28 2023, 09:00 AM)
usually after i get the boot, i will send the boots to shoemaker to sewn before start wearing it, then i will last  more longer then usual
Interesting! Which shoemaker stitches boots?

Which reminds me, I left my Rockport dress shoes with San Lee in Tmn Midah to see what they can do to reattach the soles last month. They never even got back to me....
Vincent6596
post Jul 28 2023, 09:54 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jul 28 2023, 08:24 AM)

Which reminds me, I left my Rockport dress shoes with San Lee in Tmn Midah to see what they can do to reattach the soles last month. They never even got back to me....
i not sure at your area which shoemaker have sewn service.
the shoemaker that i know which is live near to my house area do have this sewn service.
kllam
post Jul 28 2023, 10:03 AM

1,228 posts

Try Jaya One, Cobblerman

Had all my shoes repaired there

This post has been edited by kllam: Jul 28 2023, 10:04 AM
paskal
post Jul 28 2023, 05:24 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jul 28 2023, 07:20 AM)

Wow
Sounds interesting? You bought one?

This post has been edited by paskal: Jul 28 2023, 05:26 PM
ZZR-Pilot
post Jul 28 2023, 05:48 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 28 2023, 06:24 PM)
Wow
Sounds interesting? You bought one?
Yeah... RM275 so I bought a pair to replace my Blundstones that self-destructed after 2+ years. They list for RM299 currently but even that's still bloody cheap for a sturdy pair of genuine leather boots. So if anybody's in the market for a more traditional Derby style of motorcycle boots, maybe it's something worth taking a look at.

https://shopee.com.my/MOTORCYCLE-BOOTS-MEN-...635.22372255456

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Jul 28 2023, 05:50 PM
mADmAN
post Jul 28 2023, 06:09 PM

10,530 posts

i think almost any tepi jalan cobbler oso can stich. ive even sent my alipansetar boots to be sewn at those side walk cobblers. takes them a couple of hours je.

otherwise, theres always those in pertama complex.
paskal
post Aug 1 2023, 03:21 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jul 28 2023, 05:48 PM)
Yeah... RM275 so I bought a pair to replace my Blundstones that self-destructed after 2+ years. They list for RM299 currently but even that's still bloody cheap for a sturdy pair of genuine leather boots. So if anybody's in the market for a more traditional Derby style of motorcycle boots, maybe it's something worth taking a look at.

https://shopee.com.my/MOTORCYCLE-BOOTS-MEN-...635.22372255456
bought it.

does yours have some dark and light spots on the boot?

on mine it's quite apparent till my wife can notice from afar.
like leather blemishes from a reject boot. haiya

49 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:42 AM