125 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

silverwineus
post Feb 5 2008, 05:53 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(PaLoi_7717 @ Feb 5 2008, 11:26 AM)
my sg just 3 days old..bought from hun and broken_string...last nite..bark oredi..sigh..i wonder if she misses me or her old suggie frens... sad.gif
Is the bark signifying loneliness? You think spending quality time with her more will reduce its depression?
I think she needs to adapt to this transition..

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:02 pm
QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 5 2008, 03:34 PM)
About the poo recycling, yes, it does happen in many species of animals. Hamsters and rabbits you can commonly see this behaviour. In gliders not so pronounced but it does happen. Even in elephants! biggrin.gif If the animal eats it's own poo, it's to digest it again. If it eats an older individual's poo, it's to obtain the beneficial bacteria and other stuffs from it. If the animal eats poo lying around all the time, it's a habit you've got to curb.

But if the glider is eating poo excessively, then there may be something wrong.
About this eat-poo-thing, previously i thought only guinea, bunnies..recycle their poo and ingesting beneficial bacteria into their system, but what about tortoise eating guineas poo? rclxub.gif
Normally, when i see my torts behaving this, i will grunt at them..

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Feb 5 2008, 03:43 PM)

KP
I really really like this pic, this lil glidie looks super adorable...

I like to call a glider as "glidie",..haha

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 5 2008, 04:13 PM)
OOhh... I don't think I'll be trying wielding anytime soon, looks to need some heavy equipment. tongue.gif

I just had a weird thought.... Let's make glider kites and fly em!
Yeah i do agree with you.. you need a welding machine (portable is ok), steel cutter (quite bulky actually) and a grinder.. these 3 basic things before one needs to get started.

Hoooo, sweat.gif sweat.gif hard work today,hehe..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Feb 5 2008, 06:14 PM
krynzpeaches
post Feb 5 2008, 06:15 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Feb 5 2008, 05:53 PM)
...but what about tortoise eating guineas poo? rclxub.gif

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:08 pm

I really really like this pic, this lil glidie looks super adorable...

I like to call a glider as "glidie",..haha

Tortoise eat guinea pigs poo doh.gif Now thats a headache sweat.gif

Haha, glidie la pulak, most people call it suggie tongue.gif

That is one super adorable, super healthy and super friendly glidie wink.gif

KP

silverwineus
post Feb 5 2008, 06:17 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(spel'it @ Feb 5 2008, 04:44 PM)
Hehehe...Congarts silverwineus....
Tried it once.... Better at arc welding. But in gas welding....i failed. Hehehe...cant seem to coordinate this two hands of mine...hehehehe....
Hey, you know how to do the arc welding, why not share some pics about it..

What equipments you need, can teach me?

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:18 pm
QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Feb 5 2008, 06:15 PM)
Tortoise eat guinea pigs poo doh.gif Now thats a headache sweat.gif

Haha, glidie la pulak, most people call it suggie tongue.gif

That is one super adorable, super healthy and super friendly glidie wink.gif

KP
Hey, suggie sucks, glidie glides, haha, just joking..

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:26 pm
QUOTE(spel'it @ Feb 5 2008, 04:50 PM)
KP, is that pic of Micah or Molly? They sure look huge..Well fed. Hmmm...poor cheekoo n koochee....They are so kecik...
Oh yeah, Micah & Molly, nice gliders..

koochee koochee ....come on, you can do it!

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(cheekyd @ Feb 5 2008, 04:58 PM)
thanks KP. anyway if i wish to keep my suggie in a small cage not till the saiz of a feet or 2... is it possible to make it happy.... i'm a luv pets but my environment sometimes seems to limit my capabilities to own 1.... use to have a pekingese but have to give it up to my uncle back after a few months of care from me....

thanks u so much for your attention anyway....
I don't think you should compromise on that as it's like compromising your gliders well being. As you have to understand that these creatures are kown to be gliding hundreds of feet in their natural habitat..
If your environment does not permit and you love pets so much, maybe you can develop your interest on that which is much suitable for you, like winter hamster, robovski, and so many different species..
As KP has mentioned previously, tiga kaki is minimum..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Feb 5 2008, 06:45 PM
cheekyd
post Feb 5 2008, 06:42 PM

18 posts

thanks guys... 3 feet meaning the height ?
well i heard we can feed them with millk? wat kind of milk ?
is it like those milk powder kinda or ?

thanks for ur sharing

silverwineus
post Feb 5 2008, 06:50 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(cheekyd @ Feb 5 2008, 06:42 PM)

thanks for ur sharing
Well i think cheekyd, you can keep one if you think you can't give them a large floor space, yet you can increase the height!!
Say, your floor space may be 1.5 x 1.5, but you can always have a height like 3.5 to 4 ft..
For gliders, height is more essential..
But you need to work out a DIY cage with such measurement.
If you have problem with DIY, some forumers may help..and give good suggestion..
Best still, if you come across your dream cage.. in stores.
Try to provide as much space as you can..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Feb 5 2008, 07:00 PM
krynzpeaches
post Feb 5 2008, 06:54 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Feb 5 2008, 03:43 PM)
Best is a bird cage with a MIN height of 3 feet.

QUOTE(cheekyd @ Feb 5 2008, 06:42 PM)

thanks for ur sharing

As above, I have already mentioned 3 feet height doh.gif

Milk also we have been discussing just a few post above dear... Do look closely...

Only Pet Own Lactose Free is best for them, but milk is not necessary if your glider is fully weaned and at the right age.

No need to give an adult glider milk lor...

KP
silverwineus
post Feb 5 2008, 07:02 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Feb 5 2008, 06:54 PM)
As above, I have already mentioned 3 feet height doh.gif

Milk also we have been discussing just a few post above dear... Do look closely...

Only Pet Own Lactose Free is best for them, but milk is not necessary if your glider is fully weaned and at the right age.

No need to give an adult glider milk lor...

KP
Yeah sounds funny right, "adult ..drinks milk."
If you think i let my adult drinks that, will that be good? As a source of Ca?

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Feb 5 2008, 07:08 PM
malowie
post Feb 5 2008, 08:37 PM

418 posts

check it out just watched mandarin news. apparently sugar gliders are being received very well in Taiwan parallel to the year of the rat.
alexchin
post Feb 5 2008, 08:38 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Feb 5 2008, 04:54 PM)
Pertaining to my plan of welding my own cage, thank God today i'm given a chance to do a hands on practise with guidance from my colig, one of the technicians.

It's a good and intresting training.

I'm on the way to finish this project of welding my own cage for my glidies..this year.

Below is a comparison of a good and bad weld..

A good weld will resemble "sisik ikan" whereas a bad weld will be like "tahi ayam", that's how i describe it..

Example of a good weld, p/s: ignore the senget portion.

Example of a bad weld

After practising it, i find that it's not that difficult after all..

Added on February 5, 2008, 4:08 pmWish everyone a happy holiday and happy CNY..
wow, u so "geng" coz know how to weld
normaly lady dun brave to do any welding coz of the spark...

Added on February 5, 2008, 8:41 pm
QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 5 2008, 05:13 PM)
OOhh... I don't think I'll be trying wielding anytime soon, looks to need some heavy equipment. tongue.gif

I just had a weird thought.... Let's make glider kites and fly em!
actually welding is very ez oni
some more nowday have many type of welding equipment to help us to do that...
if i have that equipment i also wan do a cage that use welding...
i have learn few type of the welding b4 in my college...

This post has been edited by alexchin: Feb 5 2008, 08:41 PM
spinel-sun
post Feb 6 2008, 12:45 AM

140 posts

pet shack in sunway sells pet's own milk... rclxms.gif

wink.gif
malowie
post Feb 6 2008, 12:49 AM

418 posts

thats it.l have phobia of gliders escaping now....
coldfusionpower
post Feb 6 2008, 01:10 AM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

what happend ?
silverwineus
post Feb 6 2008, 01:44 AM

514 posts

Actually, i'm trying to weld according to my draft.. but this is just a preliminary draft and subject to changes..

user posted imageuser posted image

Added on February 6, 2008, 2:07 amThe green colour piece is a plate... and the red piece is a bracket..

Is there any suggestion on how to improve on it?

OMG, it's 2am. yawn.gif yawn.gif

Actually, this draft was started earlier on just now and manage to finish..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Feb 6 2008, 02:14 AM
yaca
post Feb 6 2008, 02:14 AM

alloo.........
i terbeli sg yg 3weeks old......
so plz help me...need to know all important thing yg i ptt wat to make sure she's always healthy..i got problem relating to its drink
Reanne
post Feb 6 2008, 03:42 AM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Ah? 3 weeks old? That very young leh.

Now what you must do is, go and find PETS OWN LACTOSE FREE MILK and buy some yogurt or the yogurt drink yakult if you can find it. Pet Shack in Sunway sells the PETS OWN milk. Buy 2 free 1.

PETS OWN milk can only last a few days in the fridge, but you can try freezing it by putting it in ice cube trays and when you want to use cut half of one cube and warm it up. Don't use microwave, just put it in a bowl and put that bowl in another bowl with hot water. It should melt in a few minutes. Feed one portion every few hours. Do not leave the milk overnight in the cage.

Feed mainly the milk and a drop of yogurt every other day. Try giving it some different types of fruits like mango, jambu air, guava, apple, pear and a little bit of papaya to see if it eats or not. If it eats then it's a good sign, but still feed milk as the main diet.

Watch out for diarrhoea, if you see it having diarrhoea for more than a day, stop the yogurt and feed the milk and fruits as the main. The yogurt introduce later when it's older. Some organic chicken baby food would be good too but introduce it when the joey is stable only.

Gliders are almost LACTOSE INTOLERANT, so please do not go buy other brands or cheaper brands to substitute. Do not buy any with soy or corn products either.

--------------------------------------------------------------

Got a another sad case today. A friend of mine, he's around his 30s now, has a glider that has been self-mutilating. He has kept it for about 5 months and it has severed it's own tail in half, half naked from pulling it's own fur off, chewed on it's paws until swollen and chewed off half of both patagiums. He also told me his friend has a glider that actually holds the bars of the cage and slams it's face into the bars until it draws blood.

He didn't seem to realize how serious it was already. I tried advising him and offered a home for it, but he seemed more keen on giving his friend(Dunno which friend). He said this friend had been keeping gliders for awhile and should know how to care for it(I disagree!).

This was a result of his girlfriend impulse buying because she thought they were cute and his friend telling him gliders are easy to care for. It is indeed a hard decision for him to make but what upsets me most is that he really didn't seem to know how bad the situation really was. I fear for the glider, hope my friend decides soon, the glider may not survive that long. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Reanne: Feb 6 2008, 03:53 AM
silverwineus
post Feb 6 2008, 08:12 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(malowie @ Feb 6 2008, 12:49 AM)
thats it.l have phobia of gliders escaping now....
Got the images of the gliders running all over.. played that out in your mind over and over..?
And in the picture, you try to catch them, and finally "i gotcha ya", and then it slip off your fingers again like the ikan belut, and you got to start the hide and seek all over again..

Haha..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Feb 6 2008, 08:36 AM
spel'it
post Feb 6 2008, 08:39 AM

319 posts

huiyoo...this thread is sure moving fast. I'd only been away for a nite. A NITE and there are so much going on...

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Feb 5 2008, 05:13 PM)
Haha, spel'it, so you wanna buy it from there or you want me to get it for you?
Its ok...I'll buy it online. Thank you so so much anyway. Hehhe....

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Feb 5 2008, 06:17 PM)
Hey, you know how to do the arc welding, why not share some pics about it..

What equipments you need, can teach me?

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:18 pm

Hey, suggie sucks, glidie glides, haha, just joking..

Added on February 5, 2008, 6:26 pm

Oh yeah, Micah & Molly, nice gliders..

koochee koochee ....come on, you can do it!
Heheh...Koochee says thanks...She's sleeping now.
Btw, I believe the one u did is arc welding. The one u use a rod with a welding machine. N i dun have any pics of my work coz i did that in a course at uni. Such a long time ago. smile.gif

Added on February 6, 2008, 8:57 am
QUOTE(silverwineus @ Feb 6 2008, 01:44 AM)
Actually, i'm trying to weld according to my draft.. but this is just a preliminary draft and subject to changes..

user posted imageuser posted image

Added on February 6, 2008, 2:07 amThe green colour piece is a plate... and the red piece is a bracket..

OMG, it's 2am.  yawn.gif  yawn.gif

If i were u, I'd substitute the plate with angle iron. so there wud be no need for brackets.

This post has been edited by spel'it: Feb 6 2008, 08:57 AM
rafiqos
post Feb 6 2008, 09:10 AM

464 posts

I'd suggest go for the angle plate too! Easier to get your measurements correct and joints will be neater. Also think of a way to collect all the pee and poo at the bottom. A sliding tray, i.e. those used in normal pet cages would be an ideal design to work on.

Good luck with your project and keep us posted silverwineus! wink.gif
krynzpeaches
post Feb 6 2008, 09:57 AM

2,047 posts

The green colour piece is a plate... and the red piece is a bracket..

I have no stinking idea about welding, so I have no proper advice to give except : "Go to sleep woman!"

Hahahahaha laugh.gif

QUOTE(yaca @ Feb 6 2008, 02:14 AM)
alloo.........
i terbeli sg yg 3weeks old......
so plz help me...need to know all important thing yg i ptt wat to make sure she's always healthy..i got problem relating to its drink

T E R BELI???

How can you even terrr-beli???

A 3 weeks old summore!

I have nothing to say at the moment and lucky you Reanne has answered your questions.

So much in my mind which is not entirely good for a jolly half day work morning.

QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 6 2008, 03:42 AM)
Got a another sad case today. A friend of mine, he's around his 30s now, has a glider that has been self-mutilating. He has kept it for about 5 months and it has severed it's own tail in half, half naked from pulling it's own fur off, chewed on it's paws until swollen and chewed off half of both patagiums. He also told me his friend has a glider that actually holds the bars of the cage and slams it's face into the bars until it draws blood.

He didn't seem to realize how serious it was already. I tried advising him and offered a home for it, but he seemed more keen on giving his friend(Dunno which friend). He said this friend had been keeping gliders for awhile and should know how to care for it(I disagree!).

This was a result of his girlfriend impulse buying because she thought they were cute and his friend telling him gliders are easy to care for. It is indeed a hard decision for him to make but what upsets me most is that he really didn't seem to know how bad the situation really was. I fear for the glider, hope my friend decides soon, the glider may not survive that long. sad.gif

WTF!!!

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

What kind of person is this idiot??? (If he's your friend Reanne, sorry I have to say that...)

cry.gif

I'm totally speechless!

I know there's nothing I can do about this except that I pray to god to help this poor glider through his suffering and may it end very soon..... sad.gif

I do hope this story/case will open up some eyes in here about why we are too passionate about glider care and welfare... We are not mean, not rude, not trying to act like we know, but just trying our very best because we care too deeply for these little creatures...

It's breaking my heart terribly and I'm holding my tears away...

-----

This is NOT a good morning...

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Feb 6 2008, 09:58 AM
malowie
post Feb 6 2008, 10:05 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Feb 6 2008, 09:57 AM)

cry.gif

This is NOT a good morning...

KP
haha chill out KP...

125 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:28 PM