Haha, great, great, V4 already!
KP
Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials
Sep 10 2007, 03:06 PM
2,047 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Ampang, UK Side ;) |
Aiyak, baru wanna reply, said the thread close edy
Haha, great, great, V4 already! KP |
Sep 10 2007, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 10 2007, 05:39 PM) Omg v3 havn't finish reading now start v4.... need boost up already. Really need simply search on v3 first. Just now search around about the calsium and vitamin suppliment, about the Repti Cal is it easy to find in local? And what is vitamin/mineral suppliment ? Mix fruits also not enought for vitamin? Yeah, better speed up on V3 As for Repti Cal or other supplements, have to let Hun to answer that, I dunno the local ones here. It is better to give them the vitamin & calcium supplements cuz it'll make them healthier and higher chance of living longer Mix fruit alone is not really enuff. KP Added on September 10, 2007, 6:48 pmOkay, this is my current cage set up. (You can also see the Wodent Wheel, feeding cups, sleeping pouch & other accessories)This cage can be found at Pet Safari Ikano for RM100. This is the most minimum size cage for suggies. If using this type of cage, please let your suggie out more often DO NOT settle for anything less than this size. Hun, feel free to add this to the above housing for a cage that can be found locally Hackerz, the pix is also for your reference KP This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Sep 10 2007, 06:50 PM |
Sep 11 2007, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(jason_killer @ Sep 11 2007, 02:13 AM) *DIET* still compiling. Coming soon! Too many things to add QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 11 2007, 12:07 PM) hi how much poo will a joey produce my joey doesnt seem to poo much i saw 2 piece only and dint see any pee either is it normal ? No worries lah. It depends on how much they east also. Unless if you see he is having difficulties to poo or pee, then got problem. If not, it's ok QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 11 2007, 12:14 PM) oh ya, meal worm. is the dry meal wrong work? those dry meal worm for fish? i just start to try it out, and they eat, just half of it. the dry meal worm is in small cube size, so is easy to handle, and.. not alive. haha... just get a pair of suggie for my friends yesterday. haha... (will add up my suggie work) haha.... Ohh, not the dry meal worms in cube. That on is only for fishes and it is not made of mealworm but tiny red worms for fish. The mealworms are the live ones. Can also be found at the fish shops. Ask for mealworm or "ulat" Do make sure that the suggies are kept in twos or threes only. Don't put all together especially non-neutered or different sexes one. KP |
Sep 11 2007, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 11 2007, 06:36 PM) Today just go back Ikiano there, i found out vitamin supplement for rep or turtle( is it ok for sugar glider?), calcium for rep is no suitable for suger glider because of got phosphate. T-T so today nothing to buy for my Ah Pit.... If calcium for human use got vitamin D & magnesium is it ok for sugar glider? My mum having the calcium pallet. Ikano got no vitamin or calcium supplement suitable for suggies. Been there, checked all dy. Calcium for human with magnesium, I'm not sure, have to check with Hun or a vet. KP |
Sep 11 2007, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(jAck66 @ Sep 11 2007, 06:39 PM) Help how? QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 11 2007, 06:51 PM) Hmm 1 more thing i found out is Ikiano there got a organic shop that selling Calcium drink that made by oat , also don't know suitable for sugar glider or not. Maybe need feed some non fat yogurt for my Ah Pit get some calcium. Event dry cat food also got calcium that i see today XD. Ya i know cat food not good XD. Calcium drink? Dunno, but better safe than sorry, so don't lah. Yeah, you can give your suggies yogurt, try peach or blueberry flavor You can give them yogurts like twice a week, it's good for them too, but as usual, don't overdo it. Cat food can cause intestinal blockage and kidney failure in the long run, would you wanna risk that? I'll be adding that to the 1st page intro later. KP |
Sep 12 2007, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 11 2007, 07:13 PM) Ai i already feed my sugar glider cat food for long time.... need to change for that. So what i can do to replace the cat food? Egg? Meat ? besides mealworm. Aiya always forget this 1, i read 1 website say that got 1 food can help sugar glider for calcium that is Tofu, but also can't over do it just limited for the diet. I less take yogurt, is it outside got sell non-fat yogurt? If yes then will be nice, no need make my Ah Pit become fat fat girl. Yes, time to change. Replace with protein. You still haven't answer me why you do not want to feed mealworm. It's a great source of protein. NO TOFU. It's not good too. No need non-fat yogurt, take any low fat will do. QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 11 2007, 07:48 PM) http://sandmanssugargliders.com/diet.html Ok I found out Tofu quite not good for glider, will effect sugar glider reproductive systems. That basically tell you the content of Ca/Phophorus ration in food. But it does help you analyze the food you give them Yeah, tofu no good. QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 11 2007, 10:59 PM) but when i feed him mix, he will lick it but then it will produce pieces of sand like thingy and fall down from his mouth. i was quite puzzle with that thingy, why after licking the mix it will produce those thing? when i press on it, it will become the mix back but juz a bit solid without water. Haha, new owners of suggies will always be mystified by the "pulp"... It's normal, they'll always produce the pulp QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 12 2007, 12:50 AM) ...now Ah Pit got bad habit that every morning also want take 1 dry cat food from me. Hmm if get two of them just left the baby food research XD. Really need to go supermarket look around. Oh yea honey also. Must change her bad habit then. It'll be difficult at first, but you must be persistant. I think it's better to substitute honey with something else, maybe natural jam without added sugar or preservative... (Correct not Hun?) QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 12 2007, 04:31 PM) Today i just get my repti-cal and repti-vite, i have ask the pet shop is it will restock? They say the stock is new arrive, but the expire day will be 2008 apr and march, but they say after expire day also can use, is it true ??? Later go make some mix food for my Ah Pit. Oh yea 1 thing that come up with my mind, everytime when we want to take a sponn of mix food, so we take out from the refrigerator, after that we put back after use, but is it nice for the mix food that put in take out from refrigerator everyday?, Those food like meat, fish or what else if doing like that the food will spoil. If the mix food with egg, is it better that don't use the egg yolk? I feel like don't give will be better. Would you wanna use anything that is expired for yourself??? If you wouldn't, then don't use it for your suggie. It's a simple rule what. Keep in freezer, the frozen part. If you take out and keep back before it completely melts back, it will not spoil. Same rule with ice-cream. Egg, put everything lar, even the original recipe they put in with the egg shell! Why do you say the yolk is not good pulak? Just a suggestion, if so mafan to do, just buy lar. KP |
Sep 13 2007, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 12 2007, 07:40 PM) Is it got any limited time to play with sugar glider? Or anytime also can play with them besides midnight ( too active ) No limit if your glider is used to it. The more time spent, the better. QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 12 2007, 10:43 PM) ooo... i give them the fish worm cube, cause my suggie, is super bad taste. they scare the worm which a life, wait the worm to die, then only they will go eat. so not healthy. huh..... so i planing to bake the worm so can keep for long and won't be smelly when they dead. is that ok ah?? Aieee, don't give them the cube worm(tubifix)... It's not for suggies lah. If they're not used to live mealworms, you can try plucking off the head and give to them. Sooner or later they will learn to love it I think baking mealworms are as hard as baking crickets, everything need to be right, or else, it'll get burnt. If you wanna keep the live ones and don't want them to smell bad, put oatmeal bedding for them. Don't put anything fresh too long, it will spoil and cause the rotten smell too. Speaking of baking mealworms, I think I have seen a bottled of dried mealworms before near my place, I'll try and check it out if still got, but I dunno if suggies will eat it or not. QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 13 2007, 12:55 AM) I don't know anyone sugar glider is it same as Ah Pit, Ah Pit won't eat something that need to chewing, just like to eat those soft thing, example like when Ah Pit eat orange, she just drink the juice from the orange and didn't eat the meat skin. Huh?? Don't get what you mean... How can suggies eat without chewing? Don't you give her fruits? Apples, pears, mangos and so on? If don't chew, how she eat? KP |
Sep 13 2007, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 13 2007, 12:01 PM) Em ya , last time i have feed 1 mealworm for Ah Pit, that time is feed my young hedgehog, Ah Pit just chew the mealworm until no more juice inside then leave the mealworm skin at there. All gliders do that lah. They will always produce "pulp" (this has been mentioned in just a few replies back...) For mealworms and crickets, the excess will also contain the exoskeleton (search wiki, if you dunno what's exoskeleton). For other foods also they do that, they chew and get off all the nutrition needed, they throw the pulp. KP |
Sep 13 2007, 01:26 PM
Adorable and high maintenance, haha
We humans are merely slave to them, become toilet, preparing and serving fresh food daily and cleaning up their homes every week Muahaha KP |
Sep 13 2007, 02:33 PM
No gaji, and gaji habis to them, muahahaha
Ohh, I forgot to ask, anyone here got house gecko(cicak) problem? My apartment got huge-huge house gecko lah... Last time they stole mealworms(cuz I didn't close the container)... Then another time, I found one huge one, sitting nicely in Iggy's cage! Huge one, sitting splat at the bottom part of the cage. I chased it and got a bit of his tail off. This morning(early sahur), there was another huge house gecko on the wall on top of the cage! Iggy musked a lot till my apartment quite smelly, I think he wanted to protect his cage area... I chase the gecko and sprayed it with Sheltox(dunno what else to use Sighhh, I think the house geckos are stealing foods from Iggy's cage! Grrr... Any suggestion how to get rid of them? KP |
Sep 14 2007, 08:40 AM
Vincent,
Thanks for the suggestion. I'll see about the sticky paper. I've read that once someone used a sticky paper to catch those fruit flies around their suggie cage area, ended up stuck on their suggies tail Broken_string, I think you're doing fine QUOTE(Taipan1 @ Sep 13 2007, 07:48 PM) Personally I like geck's... Geck's are a god natural insect eater. Do you mind if I send an email regarding wheels ???. Yeah, I like gecko's too, but not house gecko's Although they are good natural insect eater, they poo too damn lot around my apt and I don't like it if they start to mess with my suggies food Yeah, you can PM me or email me about the wheels. QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 13 2007, 08:09 PM) If we spray insecticide or use any chemicals, scared it would affect the gliders. Make a solution of Cayenne Pepper, with some Tabasco sauce, a squirt of dish washing liquid, garlic essence with a bit of water. Put in a spray and spray on areas you think geckos crawl about. You have to do this a few times. If you see a gecko, spray it with ice cold water, it would drop down from the wall and ceiling then you just grab it and throw outside lah. I like geckos, they eat up the flying insects around. I love my leopard geckos hahaha... I couldn't think of anything else that time, just grabbed the Sheltox and spray away... Cayenne Pepper + tabasco + garlic + dishwashing soap? Wouldn't the smell be... Euwww??? Hahaha... Icy cold water? By the time I open my fridge, grab the water bottle, fill in the spray bottle, I think that would be enough time for the gecko to make an escape If I got leopard gecko, sure I'll like it, but house gecko, I still don't like Thanks people! KP |
Sep 14 2007, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 14 2007, 10:05 AM) I dunno will smell or not lah coz I never do such things to gecko hahaha.... but most websites say use cold water to zap them off the wall to shock them. Other people say geckos hate peacock feathers.... but I found that funny. Maybe you go find peacock feather and tie on Iggy and Luna's cage lah heheheh.... Ooo, peacock's tail? If it works, then I cari lor, decorate around their cage Hmm, maybe cuz the peacock's tail got that top part which looks like an owl's eye, that's why they hate/scared... Haha, but it is kindda funny KP |
Sep 15 2007, 08:41 PM
Aiyo, Hackerz, be a man
We all girl also can pegang, summore play2 with it during cleaning their container, tak takut pun I like giving my suggies mealworm, cuz it's their fav and they will always make that "yum, yum" sound while eating Like to watch how they hold their food too Nowadays I buy mealworms a lot at one go, last time RM1 can last me a month, now RM1 for 1 week only Normally live insects like mealworm or cricket, best to hand feed them. If so takut, get a tweezer lah. Those live one cannot leave like that, they'll sure crawl or hop all over later ----- This afternoon, went to see Dr. Yeoh. He was full handed, somehow so many patients Spoke to him for a bit re Iggy and already set the appointment... The big day is, 29 September... Iggy was somehow well behaved just now, didn't resist or try to bite me when I took him out, but then he quickly ran under my tudung as usual and stayed there I silently pray that everything will go well and that it will allow other people the same option too KP |
Sep 15 2007, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 15 2007, 08:51 PM) He was in a hurry and it totally slipped off my mind too. Gonna call and ask about the price on Monday. I hope it doesn't cost a bomb or more than neutering a cat or dog QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 15 2007, 08:54 PM) Yup. KP |
Sep 15 2007, 09:39 PM
Sorry didn't update your name.
But the set, cannot put there yet lar, hope you understand Will let you know about it thru PM. KP |
Sep 16 2007, 12:12 AM
Yup, snip2, neuter, call it whatever you want.
It's not easy to breed animals, especially your own pet, if you really love them. It's kindda sad to put them thru the whole breeding process. So I'd rather be a responsible owner and have my pets neutered. There's a lot of positive sides to see too, for instance, no more "botak" head, no more musking, no more naked/yellow chest and so on I just hope the procedure will be okay I'll keep it posted for everyone. dai, Besides mealworm and cricket, the other big one that loves like mealworm is called 'super worms'. That also can, but not all suggies like it, summore look so ugly Other than that, we don't have lor available here (you can refer to the 1st page about this what). In the US, the can get farm raised grasshoppers, june bugs and so on. We don't have those in Malaysia. KP |
Sep 17 2007, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 16 2007, 05:09 PM) the first two day i feed mix to my joey and its poo is quite solid then i started to feed it fruits as well, watermelon and honey dew but its poo become wet and watery like, even dirty the pouch lucky got tissue inside. any solution? or should i feed mix as staple food and fruits only occasionally ? That's normal if you feed that type of fruits. You can refer to the list of fruits and remarks about those fruits in the first page. What you can do is alternate the fruit types. Say today you already feed a type of fruit that is watery, tmrw give something that doesn't, like apples or pears perhaps QUOTE(kikiz @ Sep 16 2007, 11:28 PM) If mealworms RM 1 got about how many? Sorry ya, never buy b4. What do you usually feed the mealworms with? At most local fish shops, RM1 is one small cup. The cup is red in color, normally some people use it to make "kuih" with or tea serving at temples(correct me if I'm wrong Like Hun said also, there are young smaller ones and also, big juicy ones. But that actually depends on the shop. I normally like to take a peek first, see if the mealworm they sell fat and juicy or not As for feeding the mealworm, oatmeal is the best. Not those instant one with added sugar and such, but those normal rolled out oatmeals. You can also feed them carrot or vege bits, but it has to be removed immediately the next day. You cannot leave foods that can root or become smelly, or else your whole mealworm will spoil. I feed my mealworms with oatmeal and those supplements, overnight they'll become fat and juicier KP |
Sep 17 2007, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 17 2007, 09:14 AM) Hmm is it suger glider will pee when they afraid ? Sometime i drop something or my Ah Pit get shock will start pee..... Sometime will pee inside the sleeping place.... make Ah Pit's tail wet already. Most of the time when i take Ah Pit out i also standby some tisu waiting she pee From my observation, most sugar gliders that are not bonded or not fully bonded tend to do they. They'll pee or poo when they're shocked or scared. Others mostly when they're out or especially just woken up, they'll will need to do their biz. So for the first 10-15 mins they woke up, be prepared with some tissues KP |
Sep 18 2007, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Sep 17 2007, 05:58 PM) Haha, better tasting than the right ear QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 18 2007, 08:57 AM) These few day i have start feed mix food for Ah Pit, but i feel that those mix food will make Ah Pit full and can't finish those fruits, althought i have reduce some fruits. So next day many small lalat flying on those fruits there ( quite hate them some time. ) Your suggie still needs to eat fruits. Mebbe you should reduce the amount of mix you give her lah, limit to one tablespoon per serving. That's how much I give my suggies, 1 tablespoon per serving once a day only. KP |
Sep 19 2007, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 18 2007, 11:19 PM) anyone tried those glider food sell in pet safari? (my friend tried and he said is not working geh.. hehe...) QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 18 2007, 11:56 PM) mm.... i dunno about that thing oh. i tak and see, dunno written with honey etc.....etc.....etc..... and i see it is like crunched cornflekes, and is too tiny for my fatty (fatty like to grab her food, food that she cannot grab she won't bother to see also). so i didn't put much effort to see it loh. Nope, the foods sold at PS is not recommended, be it the pellet or the treat with egg & honey. The pellet content is really misleading, the pellet is hard and the smell is not yummy at all. The treat contains honey, a bit skeptical to try. It is supposed to be mixed with water they say, but I wouldn't wanna try it. I've never even seen those food anywhere recommended in the net. Dunno where the heck PS got those food QUOTE(vincent09 @ Sep 19 2007, 12:13 AM) crazymouse_yyh thank for the prove of that ST Dalfour jam, maybe i will try for that (is it 100ml will too much for 1 mix food ? Because i put 100ml for honey for my fix food, maybe just put 70ml enought kua) . Get berry type Sugar glider wheel need to be 12" like Hedgehog to avoid their back bone problem or just enought to let them run is ok already? Yes, like carzymouse said, St. Dakfour is okay. What 100ml? That's a lot lah, even 70ml also still a lot. If you use the recipe you find in the net and follow according to the measurement, replace the honey with the natural jam and use back the same measurement given, don't simple taruk your own measurement. If they say, half a cup, then use half a cup only. Yes, sugar gliders need big wheels, a 12" is the best. Another one to look into is that the wheels need to have covers to prevent them from falling off while running. The ones available here are either big without cover or small with cover, we don't have the right ones available for sugar gliders here. QUOTE(hackerzx @ Sep 19 2007, 06:59 AM) Nope, no roti. Why do you wanna feed them roti anyway? KP |
| Change to: | 0.0646sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:06 PM |