Windows 11, To be announce on 24 June 2021

peterscm
post Oct 8 2021, 10:48 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Oct 7 2021, 10:21 AM)
This is an 8" tablet. When stress the temp will be high. At the time, I am AnyDesk from my main laptop to it.

On the Shutdown Windows pop-up issue, I suspect it is coz by the registry hack I used. Now doing clean install to figure out which registry hack causing it. The same set of registry hack are working on Windows 10. Now Windows 11 does not like it.
Latest finding, it has nothing to do with the Registry hack. latest installation still have that Shutdown Windows pop-up issue.

Even I do upgrade on my another tablet Cube iWork 10 Pro, also have that issue once upgrade completed.
Now redownloading the ISO from Microsoft again.
Finally found the culprit program - memreduct. It is to release memory. May be too aggressive and causes Windows 11 trigger Shutdown function.
The Shutdown Windows pop-up issue happen again. vmad.gif bangwall.gif mad.gif

Going do clean install again with new download ISO.
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2021, 01:32 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(X1X1 @ Oct 8 2021, 02:23 AM)
reinstall win 11.
tested ultraviewer working with minor bug, can't use mouse to close program, need to point there and click enter key.
StardockFences latest is work. (means i need to pay another usd 10).
mouse without border - i find a little lags and some keyboard shotcut won't work on win 11.

• UltraViewer - purposely install and test and ya very stupid only can close the program by choosing File Exit. Why not using TeamViewer.
  • StardockFences - Not trying, not interesting. Haha!
  • Mouse Without Border is same performance as in Windows 10. No lag. Shortcut key is working, include those manual preset key for my Logitech keyboard.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 8 2021, 01:32 PM
X1X1
post Oct 8 2021, 02:04 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 8 2021, 01:32 PM)

• UltraViewer - purposely install and test and ya very stupid only can close the program by choosing File Exit. Why not using TeamViewer.
  • StardockFences - Not trying, not interesting. Haha!
  • Mouse Without Border is same performance as in Windows 10. No lag. Shortcut key is working, include those manual preset key for my Logitech keyboard.

i use both ultraviewer n teamviewer,
for mouse without border my Con +alt + del on function on win 10 not win 11.
this morning also facing win 11 crash, once restart it hang and i need to press the button again (not clean installation, use assistant).
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2021, 02:37 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(X1X1 @ Oct 8 2021, 02:04 PM)
i use both ultraviewer n teamviewer,
for mouse without border my Con +alt + del on function on win 10 not win 11.
this morning also facing win 11 crash, once restart it hang and i need to press the button again (not clean installation, use assistant).
Test Ctrl + Alt + Del only work in main PC not client. Not sure on this, I never use this to lock my screen.

So far, touch wood, Windows 11 never hang for me but Windows 10 do hang few times previously.
To me Windows 11 is much stable. biggrin.gif
X1X1
post Oct 8 2021, 02:44 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 8 2021, 02:37 PM)
Test Ctrl + Alt + Del only work in main PC not client. Not sure on this, I never use this to lock my screen.

So far, touch wood, Windows 11 never hang for me but Windows 10 do hang few times previously.
To me Windows 11 is much stable.  biggrin.gif
this my win 10 + win 11 tongue.gif waiting for my bt keyboard arrived than i setup another screen for it.

Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2021, 02:52 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(X1X1 @ Oct 8 2021, 02:44 PM)
this my win 10 + win 11 tongue.gif waiting for my bt keyboard arrived than i setup another screen for it.

Oh you still keep Win 10. Haha!
X1X1
post Oct 8 2021, 02:55 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 8 2021, 02:52 PM)
Oh you still keep Win 10. Haha!
now running 2 pc ....
all working files still on win 10, once confidence level increase, i move everything there. tongue.gif
and that mini pc i will set it up as hackintosh tongue.gif
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2021, 04:03 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(X1X1 @ Oct 8 2021, 02:55 PM)
now running 2 pc ....
all working files still on win 10, once confidence level increase, i move everything there.  tongue.gif
and that mini pc i will set it up as hackintosh tongue.gif
I see, wow! cool for the Hackintosh.
xxboxx
post Oct 8 2021, 09:09 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Updated to Win 11 on my laptop. I notice the icons on desktop misplaced when screen is rotated. But if drag one of the icon, it automatically rearranged all icons to the correct place.

Typing this using swipe on keyboard, so easy. The new keyboard is the best thing for me about Win 11.
zuozi
post Oct 8 2021, 09:12 PM

1,266 posts

Install only after window 10 no longer official support hahaha
xxboxx
post Oct 8 2021, 09:24 PM

5,261 posts

TPM or Bitlocker give me a fright. I didn't encrypt my drive when in Win 10. After update to Win 11, it updates some driver and need restart. After restart it stuck on boot, Bitlocker say I need recovery key due to secure boot had been disabled. Lucky I'm using MS account, I follow the URL given, managed to get the recovery key and boot into windows.
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2021, 10:57 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 8 2021, 09:24 PM)
TPM or Bitlocker give me a fright. I didn't encrypt my drive when in Win 10. After update to Win 11, it updates some driver and need restart. After restart it stuck on boot, Bitlocker say I need recovery key due to secure boot had been disabled. Lucky I'm using MS account, I follow the URL given, managed to get the recovery key and boot into windows.
Microsoft account never auto store your encryption recovery key and it is manual selection by user to store or not.

I believe you must be encrypted your PC during drunk. 🥴 😄
xxboxx
post Oct 9 2021, 07:29 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 8 2021, 10:57 PM)
Microsoft account never auto store your encryption recovery key and it is manual selection by user to store or not.

I believe you must be encrypted your PC during drunk. 🥴 😄
If can get it encrypted while drunk is really a talent. tongue.gif

I'm using home edition, I read Win 11 requirements is must encrypt and use MS account. Home edition it will store the key in cloud, pro edition can choose whether not to store the key in cloud.
jmtstan
post Oct 9 2021, 10:43 AM

77 posts

how long it took to update to win 11 from windows 10?

the last time it took me nearly 3 hours for win 8 to win 10. but that was standard hard disk la... now my hard disk is ssd.
xxboxx
post Oct 9 2021, 11:46 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(jmtstan @ Oct 9 2021, 10:43 AM)
how long it took to update to win 11 from windows 10?

the last time it took me nearly 3 hours for win 8 to win 10. but that was standard hard disk la... now my hard disk is ssd.
I didn't check the time. After complete download, I think around 30 minutes or less to install and reboot.
jmtstan
post Oct 9 2021, 12:10 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 9 2021, 11:46 AM)
I didn't check the time. After complete download, I think around 30 minutes or less to install and reboot.
thanks for the feedback. mine after change to SSD, major win 10 updates took 20-30 min. minor one about 3-5 min.

was scared coz the last time i accidently shut down my win 8 pc, it goes to getting windows ready, end up from 11pm almost til 2am.... tak payah sleep.
upgrade to win 10. but it was i3 sony vaio la... now different pc already with SSD.

optimus9333
post Oct 9 2021, 12:39 PM

26 posts

hey guys

just installed win 11 on my laptop last night

overall looks nicer than before, and feels like a bit speedier

found 1 bug, taskbar icon on second screen not showing

functionality is ok can press but just the icon missing

this is the second screen

this is taskbar on 1st screen

seems like known issue from insider version
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...f2-76e7177c6999
loselegend
post Oct 9 2021, 08:25 PM

(◕‿◕✿)
881 posts

I facing some issue in Firefox and Opera after I upgraded to Windows 11.
Firefox open but cannot do anything whereby Opera cannot open at all.

Anyone experience this?
PJng
post Oct 9 2021, 08:36 PM

12,041 posts

QUOTE(optimus9333 @ Oct 9 2021, 12:39 PM)
hey guys

just installed win 11 on my laptop last night

overall looks nicer than before, and feels like a bit speedier

found 1 bug, taskbar icon on second screen not showing

functionality is ok can press but just the icon missing

this is the second screen

this is taskbar on 1st screen

seems like known issue from insider version
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...f2-76e7177c6999
Created on April 20, 2016

Are you sure windows 11?
akhito
post Oct 9 2021, 11:43 PM

747 posts

QUOTE(optimus9333 @ Oct 9 2021, 12:39 PM)

Did u modify registry to get old right click context menu back? I had similar problem after using online guide to modify registry to get old context menu back for sake of convenience . However it seems to destabilize new taskbar so I had to undo the registry and everything back to normal. Guess I had to wait for developer like 7zip and notepad++ to add support to new context menu like winrar and nanazip.
QUOTE(loselegend @ Oct 9 2021, 08:25 PM)
I facing some issue in Firefox and Opera after I upgraded to Windows 11.
Firefox open but cannot do anything whereby Opera cannot open at all.

Anyone experience this?
After upgrade my firefox run fine ;can't comment about opera since I do not use it. My advise will be try backup ur browser setting and then reinstall them on win 11.

Another noticeable minor bug for taskbar is when u hover over it will not display battery estimated remaining time but it was found in settings. Furthermore, when u hover over to blank space taskbar it will show some popup like speaker or volume if hover to those icons before.

This post has been edited by akhito: Oct 10 2021, 12:11 AM

95 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:21 AM