95 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Windows 11, To be announce on 24 June 2021

peterscm
post Oct 6 2021, 03:48 PM

388 posts

Managed to install on my not supported tablet.

somehow, don't know what's wrong, it will randomly pop-up Shutdown Windows screen.

May be it is MS counter measure on those not supported device. doh.gif Don't want these ppl use Windows 11 happily.

This post has been edited by peterscm: Oct 6 2021, 04:00 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 6 2021, 05:44 PM

8,667 posts

I am still waiting haha

Andrewtst
post Oct 6 2021, 06:17 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Oct 6 2021, 03:48 PM)

somehow, don't know what's wrong, it will randomly pop-up Shutdown Windows screen.

May be it is MS counter measure on those not supported device.   doh.gif  Don't want these ppl use Windows 11 happily.
No. Something wrong with your tablet.

Microsoft did not do auto shutdown for not support system as one of my system don't have TPM 2.0 and also processor is a not supported Intel 6th generation.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 6 2021, 06:18 PM
peterscm
post Oct 6 2021, 08:23 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 6 2021, 06:17 PM)
No. Something wrong with your tablet.

Microsoft did not do auto shutdown for not support system as one of my system don't have TPM 2.0 and also processor is a not supported Intel 6th generation.
hmmmm... my tablet is working fine on Windows 10.

It also happen during initial leak Win11 ISO.

If not mistaken, the same issue also happen on my J3455 Mini PC. So, it cannot be my tablet PC issue.

Andrewtst
post Oct 6 2021, 08:29 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Oct 6 2021, 08:23 PM)
hmmmm... my tablet is working fine on Windows 10.

It also happen during initial leak Win11 ISO.

If not mistaken, the same issue also happen on my J3455 Mini PC. So, it cannot be my tablet PC issue.
Try clean install and make sure all driver is install especially the GPU driver.

Now even Microsoft also official release how to bypass TPM 2.0.
So it is very sure Microsoft won't do shutdown your tablet thing.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...hwm_hOH6936C8LQ

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 6 2021, 08:30 PM
Andrewtst
post Oct 6 2021, 08:31 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

I ❤️ Windows 11. 🥰
What is New of Windows 11 at a glance.

Windows 11 - Final Release. 😊
OS Build 22000.194

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows11

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 7 2021, 04:42 AM
peterscm
post Oct 6 2021, 10:12 PM

388 posts

I just tried another trick found on the net to move taskbar to top and it is working. There is one side effect. Unable to preview same group opened documents.

Then I exported the registry and did some more testing. Found the value to move the taskbar to Left or Right. However there is side effect if move left or right. The Start menu is missing. I believe is registry setting. Need to find out which one and value to change.

Left

Right

peterscm
post Oct 6 2021, 10:14 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 6 2021, 08:29 PM)
Try clean install and make sure all driver is install especially the GPU driver.

Now even Microsoft also official release how to bypass TPM 2.0.
So it is very sure Microsoft won't do shutdown your tablet thing.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...hwm_hOH6936C8LQ
Actually I did a clean install. I wipe internal storage @ the beginning of the installation.
PJng
post Oct 6 2021, 11:54 PM

12,045 posts

Get back old context menu on windows 11

https://www.howtogeek.com/759449/how-to-get...-file-explorer/

Will admin create a new section for windows 11?
X1X1
post Oct 7 2021, 12:11 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 6 2021, 11:54 PM)

i find new context menu, ok what .... just need some time to get used to it.
Andrewtst
post Oct 7 2021, 02:08 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 6 2021, 11:54 PM)

I will remain the new Context menu, it is better and easier to use.

Old context menu too many things there and those thing not always need to use and the design not match with current Windows 11 design.
Andrewtst
post Oct 7 2021, 02:11 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Oct 6 2021, 10:14 PM)
Actually I did a clean install. I wipe internal storage @ the beginning of the installation.
Is your system ok, why your CPU temp is crazy high?

xxboxx
post Oct 7 2021, 08:38 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 6 2021, 05:44 PM)
I am still waiting haha

Download Microsoft Assistant, it will automate Win 11 install process.

Still contemplating whether to get Win 11 for my main rig.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 7 2021, 02:08 AM)
I will remain the new Context menu, it is better and easier to use.

Old context menu too many things there and those thing not always need to use and the design not match with current Windows 11 design.
Every installed app want a piece of context menu. I also prefer more cleaner look. I have to resort editing registry in Win 10 to remove some apps entry.
Andrewtst
post Oct 7 2021, 08:51 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 7 2021, 08:38 AM)
Download Microsoft Assistant, it will automate Win 11 install process.

Still contemplating whether to get Win 11 for my main rig.
Every installed app want a piece of context menu. I also prefer more cleaner look. I have to resort editing registry in Win 10 to remove some apps entry.
Ya agreed! Microsoft do this solved the issue and prevent always appear installed apps context menu.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 7 2021, 08:52 AM
peterscm
post Oct 7 2021, 10:21 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 7 2021, 02:11 AM)
Is your system ok, why your CPU temp is crazy high?

This is an 8" tablet. When stress the temp will be high. At the time, I am AnyDesk from my main laptop to it.

On the Shutdown Windows pop-up issue, I suspect it is coz by the registry hack I used. Now doing clean install to figure out which registry hack causing it. The same set of registry hack are working on Windows 10. Now Windows 11 does not like it.

Latest finding, it has nothing to do with the Registry hack. latest installation still have that Shutdown Windows pop-up issue.

Even I do upgrade on my another tablet Cube iWork 10 Pro, also have that issue once upgrade completed.

Now redownloading the ISO from Microsoft again.

Finally found the culprit program - memreduct. It is to release memory. May be too aggressive and causes Windows 11 trigger Shutdown function.

This post has been edited by peterscm: Oct 7 2021, 11:20 PM
AV_2018
post Oct 7 2021, 11:28 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Oct 6 2021, 03:48 PM)

May be it is MS counter measure on those not supported device.  doh.gif  Don't want these ppl use Windows 11 happily.
QUOTE(peterscm @ Oct 7 2021, 10:21 AM)
This is an 8" tablet. When stress the temp will be high. At the time, I am AnyDesk from my main laptop to it.

On the Shutdown Windows pop-up issue, I suspect it is coz by the registry hack I used. Now doing clean install to figure out which registry hack causing it. The same set of registry hack are working on Windows 10. Now Windows 11 does not like it.
Latest finding, it has nothing to do with the Registry hack. latest installation still have that Shutdown Windows pop-up issue.

Even I do upgrade on my another tablet Cube iWork 10 Pro, also have that issue once upgrade completed.
Now redownloading the ISO from Microsoft again.
Finally found the culprit program - memreduct. It is to release memory. May be too aggressive and causes Windows 11 trigger Shutdown function.
Been running Windows 11 for over a day on a tablet with unsupported 4th gen Intel CPU and there is no pop-up issue like this. Usually this only appears when pressing Alt+F4 while the desktop is in focus.
X1X1
post Oct 8 2021, 02:23 AM

330 posts

reinstall win 11.
tested ultraviewer working with minor bug, can't use mouse to close program, need to point there and click enter key.
StardockFences latest is work. (means i need to pay another usd 10).
mouse without border - i find a little lags and some keyboard shotcut won't work on win 11.

CHIP CN
post Oct 8 2021, 02:30 AM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

Best ke tak best?
salimbest83
post Oct 8 2021, 09:40 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

QUOTE(CHIP CN @ Oct 8 2021, 02:30 AM)
Best ke tak best?
since day one. no annoying bug that need to throw this pc to longkang