intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

1024kbps
post Apr 7 2021, 06:45 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 6 2021, 06:57 PM)
Thanks, I suppose the image is good enough proof haha, dont have to remove the heatsink to void the warranty.

Anyways, I just done 3 passes on memtest86 with these settings. I think should be stable enough.
Crank the voltage like mad to get cr to 1 but doesnt seem to improve latency much. So keeping it at 1.47v with this. VCCSA and VCCIO both set to 1.25v. (Im not sure what's the ideal voltage..1.2V cant boot)

now reformatting PC cuz kena virus from trying to crack something sweat.gif
lol warez is never safe, if you really want to try dubious website and warez, try in on a VM first.
at the very least you just delete the VM and create new one if shit happens.
bobowyc
post Apr 7 2021, 06:54 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

So guys, wanna ask, im slowly upgrading my current pc, may i ask what is the best combo for intel i7 now? Currently looking at max budget of RM2.5k for mobo and CPU. I already purchased the RAM, but I just found out it was the 3000Mhz version, and i checked that some mobo dont support it. lol. Or as long as I OC no problem? I have scouted in shopee for i7-10700F/KF around 1.4-1.5k, my mobo i am not so sure yet. AM thinking to get a similar one like my current mobo, ASrock Z97 Extreme6, which have 2 LAN slots. I use 1 for my first floor router and 1 from ground floor router. hahaha.. Anyway, 1 LAN + WiFi is good for me already, or 2 LAN _ WiFi, but I have discovered that 2LAN Mobos are costing 1k++.. lol. So which should I consider getting for mobo? Just undecided on that. Wouldnt mind ASrock, Asus or Gigabyte. Or even MSI. xD AS long as fits my budget of 1k plus minus. xD Thanks guys. hehe. sorry if wrong thread to post here. xD
TristanX
post Apr 7 2021, 07:49 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Apr 7 2021, 06:54 PM)
So guys, wanna ask, im slowly upgrading my current pc, may i ask what is the best combo for intel i7 now? Currently looking at max budget of RM2.5k for mobo and CPU. I already purchased the RAM, but I just found out it was the 3000Mhz version, and i checked that some mobo dont support it. lol. Or as long as I OC no problem? I have scouted in shopee for i7-10700F/KF around 1.4-1.5k, my mobo i am not so sure yet. AM thinking to get a similar one like my current mobo, ASrock Z97 Extreme6, which have 2 LAN slots. I use 1 for my first floor router and 1 from ground floor router. hahaha.. Anyway, 1 LAN + WiFi is good for me already, or 2 LAN _ WiFi, but I have discovered that 2LAN Mobos are costing 1k++.. lol. So which should I consider getting for mobo? Just undecided on that. Wouldnt mind ASrock, Asus or Gigabyte. Or even MSI. xD AS long as fits my budget of 1k plus minus. xD Thanks guys. hehe. sorry if wrong thread to post here. xD
RAM will work with current motherboards. Dual LAN ports motherboard these days will cost you.
yimingwuzere
post Apr 7 2021, 07:59 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Apr 7 2021, 06:54 PM)
MSI Z490 Tomahawk has 2 LAN slots, if I recall correctly.
Eoma
post Apr 7 2021, 09:10 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

sifus, a bit off topic, hope you all dont mind, Corsair PSU RMA still under Cudo ? Convergent ? Back in 2017 i sent to Cudo.
My RM1000x (which was a RMA of my AX860) is giving a loud popping noise when turned on (read online it's the current being loaded or something). So in the meantime, i just don't turn off the wall plug. haha.
Thanks!
nrw
post Apr 7 2021, 09:34 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Apr 7 2021, 09:10 PM)
sifus, a bit off topic, hope you all dont mind, Corsair PSU RMA still under Cudo ? Convergent ? Back in 2017 i sent to Cudo.
My RM1000x (which was a RMA of my AX860) is giving a loud popping noise when turned on (read online it's the current being loaded or something). So in the meantime, i just don't turn off the wall plug. haha.
Thanks!
Corsair is under Convergent nowadays who are offering a pretty good support imho.
Eoma
post Apr 7 2021, 09:40 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Apr 7 2021, 09:34 PM)
Corsair is under Convergent nowadays who are offering a pretty good support imho.
Thx bro!
sai86
post Apr 7 2021, 10:09 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 7 2021, 03:18 PM)

Lots of temp gains to be had from delidding a 11900K, but high risk too.
Delidding is not that high of risk to do it. you just need to be patience with your force.
force it with patient, not bull force. done it with my 4770k with taobao delid tools, kinda fairly simple as long as you do not overstab or exert extra force on it.
and fk yeah, massive temp drop.
Bonchi
post Apr 7 2021, 10:12 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Apr 7 2021, 10:09 PM)
Delidding is not that high of risk to do it. you just need to be patience with your force.
force it with patient, not bull force. done it with my 4770k with taobao delid tools, kinda fairly simple as long as you do not overstab or exert extra force on it.
and fk yeah, massive temp drop.
11900K uses soldered IHS so it's a bit risky. I guess might be due to fabrication faults? soldered IHS shouldnt have this much temp drop when replaced with liquid metal. Perhaps the 2nd revision might have much lower temps.... 10C is a very big gap lol.
bobowyc
post Apr 7 2021, 10:24 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 7 2021, 07:49 PM)
RAM will work with current motherboards. Dual LAN ports motherboard these days will cost you.
Ah.. Because I see a lot of mobo spec only detail 2933 and then jump to 3200.. lol. no 3000. hahaha.. so i was a bit worried if i bought the ram which comes in a different speed.. and also need a specific mobo.. Yeah, I saw that.. my choice was Z490 Taichi at first, but seems very costly. Its priced at RM1.7k now, cheapest. Others are also priced similarly that range. Probably will reduce the budget for mobo, hence why I changed back to a budget of 2.5k for both cpu and mobo. mobo expected around 1k. Probs can stick to 1 LAN and 1 WiFi. That'll do, but would prefer a Wifi 6 mobo, any mobo comes in to your mind? XD With budget of 1k. haha. xD

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 7 2021, 07:59 PM)
MSI Z490 Tomahawk has 2 LAN slots, if I recall correctly.
This seems like a good board, but on shopee only 1 seller.. lol. and not preferred seller. hahaa.. Not sure if lazada has or not.. Sigh. Now a bit hard to look for z490 mobo also..
Bonchi
post Apr 7 2021, 10:36 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Apr 7 2021, 10:24 PM)
Ah.. Because I see a lot of mobo spec only detail 2933 and then jump to 3200.. lol. no 3000. hahaha.. so i was a bit worried if i bought the ram which comes in a different speed..  and also need a specific mobo.. Yeah, I saw that.. my choice was Z490 Taichi at first, but seems very costly. Its priced at RM1.7k now, cheapest. Others are also priced similarly that range. Probably will reduce the budget for mobo, hence why I changed back to a budget of 2.5k for both cpu and mobo. mobo expected around 1k. Probs can stick to 1 LAN and 1 WiFi. That'll do, but would prefer a Wifi 6 mobo, any mobo comes in to your mind? XD With budget of 1k. haha. xD
This seems like a good board, but on shopee only 1 seller.. lol. and not preferred seller. hahaa.. Not sure if lazada has or not.. Sigh. Now a bit hard to look for z490 mobo also..
Cuz those most likely are "ryzen certified" rams for back then with the ryzen 2000 series. but dont worry, they'll work fine. In fact im also using a pair of ryzen ram at the moment. Intel not so bitchy when it comes to ram compatibility.
yimingwuzere
post Apr 7 2021, 10:38 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Apr 7 2021, 10:24 PM)
Ah.. Because I see a lot of mobo spec only detail 2933 and then jump to 3200.. lol. no 3000. hahaha.. so i was a bit worried if i bought the ram which comes in a different speed..  and also need a specific mobo..
2666 - official max supported speed for Intel 6-core Gen8-10 CPUs including the Comet Lake Gen11 refreshes and the i9-9900
2933 - official max supported speed for Intel 8-10 core Gen10 CPUs, and Gear 1 speed for non-i9 Rocket Lake Gen11
3200 - official max supported speed for Rocket Lake (Gear 1 for i9, Gear 2 for i7/i5)

These speeds do not matter on Z series chipset motherboards or B560 chipsets as you can freely overclock RAM on them past these limits.

As for the MSI Tomahawk, why not check Lowyat/Digital Mall or other retail outlets?
sai86
post Apr 7 2021, 10:45 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 7 2021, 10:12 PM)
11900K uses soldered IHS so it's a bit risky. I guess might be due to fabrication faults? soldered IHS shouldnt have this much temp drop when replaced with liquid metal. Perhaps the 2nd revision might have much lower temps.... 10C is a very big gap lol.
fuuu. this one really next level, just went through the vid, need oven to make the whatever metal to melt.
as you said, this soldered IHS shouldn't have such high temp different hmm.gif
bobowyc
post Apr 7 2021, 11:01 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 7 2021, 10:36 PM)
Cuz those most likely are "ryzen certified" rams for back then with the ryzen 2000 series. but dont worry, they'll work fine. In fact im also using a pair of ryzen ram at the moment. Intel not so bitchy when it comes to ram compatibility.
Ahh.. Okay then.. haha.. xD

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 7 2021, 10:38 PM)
2666 - official max supported speed for Intel 6-core Gen8-10 CPUs including the Comet Lake Gen11 refreshes and the i9-9900
2933 - official max supported speed for Intel 8-10 core Gen10 CPUs, and Gear 1 speed for non-i9 Rocket Lake Gen11
3200 - official max supported speed for Rocket Lake (Gear 1 for i9, Gear 2 for i7/i5)

These speeds do not matter on Z series chipset motherboards or B560 chipsets as you can freely overclock RAM on them past these limits.

As for the MSI Tomahawk, why not check Lowyat/Digital Mall or other retail outlets?
Ah. No time to go. Only free on sundays. hahaa.. Will do if i can. xD hehe. If not might opt for other boards. xD
Bonchi
post Apr 7 2021, 11:46 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Apr 7 2021, 10:45 PM)
fuuu. this one really next level, just went through the vid, need oven to make the whatever metal to melt.
as you said, this soldered IHS shouldn't have such high temp different  hmm.gif
Yeah.. so perhaps it's intel assembly problem, maybe gap too big (then good news if there's gonna be a new batch!!) or he fried his cpu thermal sensors in the oven laugh.gif
TristanX
post Apr 8 2021, 08:17 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

Core i5-11400F review - The Best Rocket Lake:
https://www.techpowerup.com/review/intel-core-i5-11400f/

AMD has nothing to counter at this price.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 8 2021, 08:19 AM
terradrive
post Apr 8 2021, 09:58 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 8 2021, 08:17 AM)

Yet when I said that days ago some certain individual made fun of me and commented that rocket lake is not needed biggrin.gif
ben3003
post Apr 8 2021, 10:06 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 8 2021, 08:17 AM)

but the temperature and power usage seems to be off the roof. hence shutting down mouth of ppl still saying amd tends to overheat and makan electric.

Seems like a decent proc, but nowadays, proc is not the the problem, its GPU lol.
targon
post Apr 8 2021, 10:08 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Apr 8 2021, 09:58 AM)
Yet when I said that days ago some certain individual made fun of me and commentegad that rocket lake is not needed  biggrin.gif
Ain't that nice. The more negative publicity it gets, ppl hesitant to buy them. Stocks will be readily available for real enthusiast to buy. Unlike Zen 3 with hot reviews and zero availability.
TristanX
post Apr 8 2021, 10:09 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 8 2021, 10:06 AM)
but the temperature and power usage seems to be off the roof. hence shutting down mouth of ppl still saying amd tends to overheat and makan electric.

Seems like a decent proc, but nowadays, proc is not the the problem, its GPU lol.
75C max on Noctua NH-U14S. Assuming its 21-25C ambient. Scythe Mugen 5 Rev.B is cheaper and on par with U14S.

149 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:23 PM