intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah
zack.gap
Apr 3 2021, 11:37 PM
After all the posts here, I’m seriously asking myself why I need a dedicated GPU for my AMD chip when the other side provides an integrated one for free... don’t really have the time to game these days anyway so will consider probably go for 11600 variants.
So here’s me offering my 5600x + ASRock B550M Steel Legend mobo + 3080 Trinity OC (comes in a set) to anyone that wants to buy it. Of course you’ve got to come up with a fair price lah. Don’t want to sell it but later on I see it being marked up in Garage.. can pm me.
yimingwuzere
Apr 3 2021, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 3 2021, 11:07 PM) I know, but I praise 11700K also kena all because I didn't say "waste of sand"  Well GN likes to measure things by gaming and productivity performance, and 6 cores are often good enough for the former while 10+ is better for the latter. So he dunked on the 3700X vs 3600 and 3900X, and did the same for 5800X and 10700K. Then again... The only reason I got a 5800X was because it's the easiest Ryzen to find. Sure it's value per core isn't as nice as the 5600X or 5900X, but thanks to reviewers it made 1 product a lot less desirable and thus I could snag it late last year. This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Apr 3 2021, 11:40 PM
Bonchi
Apr 3 2021, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 3 2021, 11:38 PM) Well GN likes to measure things by gaming and productivity performance, and 6 cores are often good enough for the former while 10+ is better for the latter. So he dunked on the 3700X vs 3600 and 3900X, and did the same for 5800X and 10700K. Then again... The only reason I got a 5800X was because it's the easiest Ryzen to find. Sure it's value per core isn't as nice as the 5600X or 5900X, but thanks to reviewers it made 1 product a lot less desirable and thus I could snag it late last year. Now i hope he murdered the desirability of the 11700k as waste of sand. Cuz that's the cpu im going after
yimingwuzere
Apr 4 2021, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 3 2021, 11:47 PM) Now i hope he murdered the desirability of the 11700k as waste of sand. Cuz that's the cpu im going after  No Intel shortages like AMD CPUs though... Also, seen a few YT videos where they heard Intel's ratio for i7 vs i9 octacores with Rocket Lake is 4:1, so there's bound to be surplus. And a "waste of sand" is definitely better than "sand in swimwear"  Reckon you're gonna sell your RAM kit once the Cras XR comes in? What are you currently using right now?
edmund_yung
Apr 4 2021, 06:56 AM
QUOTE(zack.gap @ Apr 3 2021, 11:37 PM) After all the posts here, I’m seriously asking myself why I need a dedicated GPU for my AMD chip when the other side provides an integrated one for free... The F-series are slightly cheaper, so they're not exactly free, but they are very cheap add-on considering how terrible the GPU market is right now. QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 3 2021, 11:47 PM) Now i hope he murdered the desirability of the 11700k as waste of sand. Cuz that's the cpu im going after  Is it that much faster for people who wanted to buy and OC the CPU on day one? Like RM200 faster than the i7-10700k once OC? It's also RM340 premium over the none-K. Then again those price difference are nothing compared to the crazy GPU prices. LOL
goldfries
Apr 4 2021, 08:53 AM
40K Club
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 3 2021, 11:47 PM) Now i hope he murdered the desirability of the 11700k as waste of sand. Cuz that's the cpu im going after  That's done actually, I'm sure you can find them easily now!
targon
Apr 4 2021, 11:24 AM

Makes me wonder 11700k and 11900k. Both unlocked 8 cores parts, slightly performance deficit between the two but abt 600+ bucks difference between the two.
terradrive
Apr 4 2021, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 4 2021, 11:24 AM) Makes me wonder 11700k and 11900k. Both unlocked 8 cores parts, slightly performance deficit between the two but abt 600+ bucks difference between the two. But if you run really high end motherboards I don't think that's the time to save rm600 on CPU haha
TSSkylinestar
Apr 4 2021, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 4 2021, 11:24 AM) Makes me wonder 11700k and 11900k. Both unlocked 8 cores parts, slightly performance deficit between the two but abt 600+ bucks difference between the two. 11900K for those who wanna be chart toppers
Bonchi
Apr 4 2021, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 4 2021, 11:24 AM) Makes me wonder 11700k and 11900k. Both unlocked 8 cores parts, slightly performance deficit between the two but abt 600+ bucks difference between the two. All down to Binning. Just like 3200mhz ram vs 4000mhz ram... same chip but one cost almost double. This is called diminishing returns
General_Nic
Apr 4 2021, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 4 2021, 11:24 AM) Makes me wonder 11700k and 11900k. Both unlocked 8 cores parts, slightly performance deficit between the two but abt 600+ bucks difference between the two. 600 for bragging rights
edmund_yung
Apr 4 2021, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 4 2021, 11:24 AM) Makes me wonder 11700k and 11900k. Both unlocked 8 cores parts, slightly performance deficit between the two but abt 600+ bucks difference between the two. Yeah, even after OC-ed, it's really not that much faster than i7-10700K OC-ed to 5GHz. I agree it's that binning which people are paying, even that is not guaranteed seeing Optimum Tech video.
Bonchi
Apr 4 2021, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Apr 4 2021, 05:44 PM) Yeah, even after OC-ed, it's really not that much faster than i7-10700K OC-ed to 5GHz. I agree it's that binning which people are paying, even that is not guaranteed seeing Optimum Tech video. Itu fella overclock the wrong way liao.. must watch the video ctskl shared by skatterbencher. Rocketlake overclock method slightly changed.
targon
Apr 5 2021, 10:36 AM

Looking at all those reviews on 11900k, that makes ppl to shy away from the cpu. Wondering if it is really that worse as the reviewers said it. One thing they didn't touch on, platform stability. Haven't gotten a 11900k yet to try, was pondering which new z590 to get.
Bonchi
Apr 5 2021, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 5 2021, 10:36 AM) Looking at all those reviews on 11900k, that makes ppl to shy away from the cpu. Wondering if it is really that worse as the reviewers said it. One thing they didn't touch on, platform stability. Haven't gotten a 11900k yet to try, was pondering which new z590 to get. Apex apex apex
yimingwuzere
Apr 5 2021, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 5 2021, 10:36 AM) Looking at all those reviews on 11900k, that makes ppl to shy away from the cpu. Wondering if it is really that worse as the reviewers said it. One thing they didn't touch on, platform stability. Haven't gotten a 11900k yet to try, was pondering which new z590 to get. Well it is better than 11700K... Just that the price is illogical for all except halo product chasers. For the price difference it better have an overclock result far wider than 10850K vs 10900K...
TristanX
Apr 5 2021, 03:42 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 5 2021, 11:56 AM) Apex apex apex  I think my 9900K won't lose much at 5.1Ghz@1.32v. Don't have the cooler to stress test it.
llk
Apr 5 2021, 03:46 PM
I got an offer for a used 10900K & Aorus Z590 Master for RM3.3K do you think it is good buy?
TristanX
Apr 5 2021, 03:49 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(llk @ Apr 5 2021, 03:46 PM) I got an offer for a used 10900K & Aorus Z590 Master for RM3.3K do you think it is good buy? Very good offer. Way lower than both MSRP combined. 10900K still around RM1.9k street price. RM1999 for Z590 Aorus Master.
terradrive
Apr 5 2021, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(llk @ Apr 5 2021, 03:46 PM) I got an offer for a used 10900K & Aorus Z590 Master for RM3.3K do you think it is good buy? QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 5 2021, 03:49 PM) Very good offer. Way lower than both MSRP combined. 10900K still around RM1.9k street price. RM1999 for Z590 Aorus Master. since it's used should try to knock down the price