The SSD Thread V7, SLC, MLC, TLC, QLC, PLC, and 3D XPoint

TristanX
post Mar 22 2021, 01:44 PM

Where is my stars?
24,333 posts

PNY CS3140 on sale. Up to 7500MB/s Read, 6850MB/s Write.

https://shopee.com.my/PNY-XLR8-CS3140-M.2-2...6817.7579886661

Got heatsink and 5 years 1 to 1 exchange warranty.

https://www.pny.com/cs3140-m2-nvme-ssd

This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 23 2021, 10:32 AM
sHawTY
post Mar 22 2021, 02:00 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 22 2021, 01:44 PM)
Got heatsink and 5 years 1 to 1 exchange warranty.
Downside: Heatsink comes pre-installed
Cannot remove the heatsink because PNY will void the warranty

General_Nic
post Mar 22 2021, 02:13 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

maybe will have heatsink-less version later hmm.gif
TristanX
post Mar 22 2021, 02:45 PM

Where is my stars?
24,333 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 22 2021, 02:00 PM)
Downside: Heatsink comes pre-installed
Cannot remove the heatsink because PNY will void the warranty

Still, 5 years one to one. Just buy and use it.
sHawTY
post Mar 22 2021, 04:41 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Mar 22 2021, 02:13 PM)
maybe will have heatsink-less version later  hmm.gif
From PNY official website, they do said there's one without heatsink
But PNY Shopee store is not selling them
QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 22 2021, 02:45 PM)
Still, 5 years one to one. Just buy and use it.
A big no-no for me
I want something without a heatsink so I can use the original heatsink that comes with my motherboard so it doesn't spoil the overall look of my system

Suddenly got a hole on the motherboard, especially on the X570 Aorus Xtreme or Z590 Aorus Xtreme motherboards, so ugly wei sweat.gif
Macam gigi rongak laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 22 2021, 04:45 PM
dinokun
post Mar 28 2021, 12:32 PM

77 posts

Want to ask opinion on the sx6000 pro, looking for a nvme m.2 pcie, around 256gb.

Usage is for operating system for accounting. So will be running some spreadsheet, powerpoint and the laptop to bring out for presentation purpose only.

Is this sx6000 pro a better choice or a2000 kingston because it has dram?
xxboxx
post Mar 28 2021, 06:54 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,258 posts

QUOTE(dinokun @ Mar 28 2021, 12:32 PM)
Want to ask opinion on the sx6000 pro, looking for a nvme m.2 pcie, around 256gb.

Usage is for operating system for accounting. So will be running some spreadsheet, powerpoint and the laptop to bring out for presentation purpose only.

Is this sx6000 pro a better choice or a2000 kingston because it has dram?
A2000 does look better. But I didn't go through it's specs.
Also can check out Transcend and PNY.

In addition to DRAM, check it's read and write speed, endurance and period warranty.
TristanX
post Apr 4 2021, 01:07 AM

Where is my stars?
24,333 posts

Forget what I said. Wrong model.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 4 2021, 01:08 AM
targon
post Apr 9 2021, 12:07 PM

291 posts

Does anyone realize that the new crop of pcie 4 ssd comes with lousy endurance ? aorus 7000s is one of them. i think the pny 3140 with roughly the same although it's not even mentioned in pny's product sheet. They''re worse than the first gen of pcie 4 ssd in endurance.
Still nothing beats the intel optane in endurance.
TShorns
post Apr 9 2021, 12:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 9 2021, 12:07 PM)
Does anyone realize that the new crop of pcie 4 ssd comes with lousy endurance ? aorus 7000s is one of them. i think the pny 3140 with roughly the same although it's not even mentioned in pny's product sheet. They''re worse than the first gen of pcie 4 ssd in endurance.
nand-based and 3d xpoint are different technologies. we all see potentials in 3d xpoint, and we thought options would be available for consumer markets from intel (and maybe micron), until they announced that they stopped doing that this year. iinm micron also stopped 3d xpoint development, and puts itts fab up for sale after that.

i think it's still ok, since nand-based pcie ssds have more than typical users need. for now. just pick the right ones and be happy

TristanX
post Apr 9 2021, 12:43 PM

Where is my stars?
24,333 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 9 2021, 12:07 PM)
Majority of people disagrees due to high price. So Intel discontinues it.

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-kil...cements-planned
TShorns
post Apr 9 2021, 01:05 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 9 2021, 12:43 PM)
Majority of people disagrees due to high price. So Intel discontinues it.

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-kil...cements-planned
it would be great if they continue to offer smaller-capacity units (240g to 512g).

yes, the price is expensive, but it can still be an option for consumers, especially pro-sumers. there are plenty of ways to play with such sizes.

TristanX
post Apr 9 2021, 01:33 PM

Where is my stars?
24,333 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 9 2021, 01:05 PM)
it would be great if they continue to offer smaller-capacity units (240g to 512g).

yes, the price is expensive, but it can still be an option for consumers, especially pro-sumers. there are plenty of ways to play with such sizes.
Well...when Optane 905p 480GB sells at USD920, its hard to swallow.

https://www.newegg.com/intel-optane-ssd-905...N82E16820167457

The next best was Samsung 970 Pro 512GB. Currently selling at around RM700. Now we have PCIE 4.0 SSD too.
TShorns
post Apr 9 2021, 02:23 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 9 2021, 01:33 PM)
Well...when Optane 905p 480GB sells at USD920, its hard to swallow.

https://www.newegg.com/intel-optane-ssd-905...N82E16820167457

The next best was Samsung 970 Pro 512GB. Currently selling at around RM700. Now we have PCIE 4.0 SSD too.
yes i got it, about its high price and competitions that they are in; there are plenty of options available with cheaper price and much better performance.

i just hope they continue to offer as an option in consumer space. well, no hope already now.

TShorns
post Apr 9 2021, 04:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

after looking at local market for 2tb pcie nvme ssds, i think mte220s from transcend is good deal, with that crazy endurance ratings, and price point.

edit: viewnet at lyp has good deals. bought 2x 2tb hehe

This post has been edited by horns: Apr 10 2021, 04:19 PM
puifah
post Apr 10 2021, 11:09 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 9 2021, 04:41 PM)
after looking at local market for 2tb pcie nvme ssds, i think mte220s from transcend is good deal, with that crazy endurance ratings, and price point.

edit: viewnet at lyp has good deals. bought 2x 2tb hehe
How good deal is it??🤔
TShorns
post Apr 11 2021, 01:56 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(puifah @ Apr 10 2021, 11:09 PM)
How good deal is it??🤔
it's below 1k each hehe

YoungMan
post Apr 11 2021, 04:09 PM

6,790 posts

Hi all, Anyone know why the Crucial Storage Executive can't run? This is a fresh copy of win10 installed. I then installed Storage Executive but when trying to open the software, it won't run.
Also how to check the warranty of a Crucial SSD?
euphoriaa
post Apr 11 2021, 04:40 PM

225 posts

Hey guys, what is the current most bang-for-buck SATA SSD you'd recommend getting? Cant go for m.2 due to using old motherboard.
TShorns
post Apr 11 2021, 06:57 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Apr 11 2021, 04:09 PM)
Hi all, Anyone know why the Crucial Storage Executive can't run? This is a fresh copy of win10 installed. I then installed Storage Executive but when trying to open the software, it won't run.
Also how to check the warranty of a Crucial SSD?
maybe you should check event viewer and see what's wrong after you run cse

about warranty, maybe you can check out the support page of crucial ssd for more information. locally, there are few shops that offer warranty claims with a fee

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ Apr 11 2021, 04:40 PM)
Hey guys, what is the current most bang-for-buck SATA SSD you'd recommend getting? Cant go for m.2 due to using old motherboard.
check here.

80 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:17 PM