The SSD Thread V7, SLC, MLC, TLC, QLC, PLC, and 3D XPoint

YoungMan
post Apr 11 2021, 04:09 PM

6,790 posts

Hi all, Anyone know why the Crucial Storage Executive can't run? This is a fresh copy of win10 installed. I then installed Storage Executive but when trying to open the software, it won't run.
Also how to check the warranty of a Crucial SSD?
YoungMan
post Apr 11 2021, 09:14 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 11 2021, 07:57 PM)
maybe you should check event viewer and see what's wrong after you run cse

about warranty, maybe you can check out the support page of crucial ssd for more information. locally, there are few shops that offer warranty claims with a fee
check here.
Thanks. As for the warranty, nothing much on Crucial's website except for RMA.
Just check under windows log\applications, nothing related to CSE. I even tried clearing logs and run CSE but nothing showed on the event log.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Apr 11 2021, 09:22 PM
YoungMan
post Apr 12 2021, 10:54 AM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 11 2021, 11:21 PM)
i found this, https://www.crucial.com/content/dam/crucial...ranty-a4-en.pdf

for better understanding, you should try contact crucial at fb also, or simply email them
Thank you.
Regarding CSE, seems a lot of complain on forum that it do not work on latest Win10.
YoungMan
post Jul 4 2021, 07:55 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 4 2021, 05:32 PM)
I am also looking for Crucial mx500, any recommended and reliable seller?
So far this one is reliable.
Crucial MX500

I also have bought another unit from
This seller
YoungMan
post Aug 22 2021, 10:07 AM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 21 2021, 07:42 PM)
Just got my new SSD 512GB, but feel Windows and program loading speed slower than my previous 240GB SSD, and it ran hot. Run CrystalDiskMark came out result even slower than normal 7200rpm HDD!

Not sure can I claim RMA or warranty for slow performance? Anyone got similar experience before?
What brand and model?
YoungMan
post Nov 12 2021, 07:33 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 12 2021, 07:35 PM)
1111 just buy MX500 1TB, is it possible clone from 500GB HDD to 1TB SSD?
For my 9 years old PC
Yes possible. But if you have not done a fresh install for many years, this could be the time you do it.
YoungMan
post Nov 12 2021, 07:45 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 12 2021, 08:41 PM)
Yes, after i clean install windows 10 version 1511 using windows 7 key, i never clean install until now
Still worth to clean install on old pc right
Yes, worth to do it.
YoungMan
post Jan 10 2022, 08:47 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(mcblade @ Jan 10 2022, 09:38 PM)
Guys, appreaciates if can recommend a budget and reliable 2.5" SSD (1TB) that can be used as secondary drive for programs and games installation path.

Main Drive - Corsair M.2 MP510 (480GB)
Thank you!
Try Crucial MX500 or Samsung 860 Evo
YoungMan
post Apr 24 2022, 10:42 AM

6,790 posts

Hi, anyone update your MX500 firmware? Which method do you use?
YoungMan
post Oct 29 2023, 09:28 PM

6,790 posts

Anyone has experience using the Kingston XS1000, would you recommend it over conventional external HDD? My External HDD has reach its lifespand and need to be replace soon.
YoungMan
post Oct 30 2023, 09:44 AM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 30 2023, 12:31 AM)
I tried googling but can't find what is the TBW estimate for this drive. But I think for backup purposes it should be fine, right?
YoungMan
post Oct 30 2023, 01:34 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(ironcrowz @ Oct 30 2023, 11:17 AM)
Since u using it mainly for backup, why not just get external HDD? Costs less and u dun need the loading speed anyway

Otherwise, may also consider M.2 SSD + Enclosure combo which may cost u less for the same capacity?
Thank you for your suggestion. Actually external HDD is good enough, just that I saw the price for XS1000 quite cheap and comparable to hdd.
YoungMan
post Oct 31 2023, 08:36 AM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(ironcrowz @ Oct 30 2023, 02:22 PM)
What price u saw XS1000 selling? I saw it bout RM300

External HDD budget ones i think RM200 can get
Cheapest 1tb about rm288. I know with that price can get a 2tb hdd.

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 31 2023, 12:58 AM)
my answer above is mainly about data safety if you always carry the portable storage around. that's when shits usually happen.

luckily, speed is usually not an issue to me, be it hdd or ssd, as external/portable storage. as long as data is safe and intact, i'm fine haha
Yeah agree. That's why I try not to carry my hdd around if possible. Just use pen drive since there are larger capacities these days.
My last hdd that is about to die is Buffalo brand, this one lasted almost 12 years.
Previously bought a Seagate, ngam ngam 1 month after warranty it died. Got another western digital hdd that I carried around, lasted about 3 years.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Oct 31 2023, 08:38 AM
YoungMan
post Nov 8 2023, 01:42 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Nov 8 2023, 03:43 AM)
Guys, thinking to get another 1TB SSD..
My current one is KC3000, not sure if there is alternative or KC3000 is still the best value.

To add storage into my desktop. M2 / Sata also can fit.
Aside from that, i read some issue about ssd died earliier few post, wanted to know majority here only rely SSD as backup? Or do you guys still use HDD for alternative backup?
You can rely on SSD or HDD doesn't matter. The most important thing is to have extra copy of your backup.
YoungMan
post Nov 8 2023, 02:22 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Nov 8 2023, 01:46 PM)
But if not wrong hdd if fail it depend which drive..
You guys extra copy of backup mean everything store in 2 side? (duplicate)
For me yes. I don't use those raid setup, just have 2 drives for backup done periodically.
YoungMan
post Nov 11 2023, 10:14 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Nov 11 2023, 06:41 PM)
what mean by the strategies 3 2 1 etc?  I just wanted to save media such as picture, document, video.
I just get another kc3000 from shopee...
Thinking to get HDD also but not sure what size / model should i get.. i know rpm higher mean faster, however i think i need at least 6k rpm for media backup
Normal hdd 5400RPM good enough for backup. But I think for your case just buy those 7200RPM HDD.
Btw I just ordered a Kingston XS1000 1tb for rm268. I think I like it's small size and weight only 28g, can bring around easily.
YoungMan
post Dec 17 2024, 09:08 AM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Dec 17 2024, 07:50 AM)
https://www.pcgamer.com/hardware/ssds/its-t...-ssd-the-mx500/

End of an era.

MX500 is being EoL-ed

so far 250GB and 4TB models are gone
I have MX500 500gb installed on my laptop, replacing the slow HDD. It has been running for 4 years since.
But i never update the firmware as for whatever reason, the Crucial software cannot run on my windows.
YoungMan
post May 19 2025, 09:27 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ May 19 2025, 03:28 PM)
Good point. I never thought of that. Thanks for your input. I think at this point a 2TB SSD will be too expensive for me. Gonna go for regular HDD.
You can start with something like the Kingston XS1000 or XS2000 portable SSD.

0.0195sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:55 PM