sHawTY
post Feb 3 2021, 10:44 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(gomok @ Feb 2 2021, 10:57 AM)
adding another 1TB 2.5" SSD to store games
Get 2TB instead. Then you won't have to worry about running out of space
Unless you're the type who just install lots of games to make it seems like your PC has a lot of games ready to be played but most of the time you don't actually play all of them whistling.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 3 2021, 12:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(gomok @ Feb 3 2021, 11:34 AM)
Not including personal & family pictures / videos as well.
Photos & videos just use HDD lar, no need SSD laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 22 2021, 02:00 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 22 2021, 01:44 PM)
Got heatsink and 5 years 1 to 1 exchange warranty.
Downside: Heatsink comes pre-installed
Cannot remove the heatsink because PNY will void the warranty

sHawTY
post Mar 22 2021, 04:41 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Mar 22 2021, 02:13 PM)
maybe will have heatsink-less version later  hmm.gif
From PNY official website, they do said there's one without heatsink
But PNY Shopee store is not selling them
QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 22 2021, 02:45 PM)
Still, 5 years one to one. Just buy and use it.
A big no-no for me
I want something without a heatsink so I can use the original heatsink that comes with my motherboard so it doesn't spoil the overall look of my system

Suddenly got a hole on the motherboard, especially on the X570 Aorus Xtreme or Z590 Aorus Xtreme motherboards, so ugly wei sweat.gif
Macam gigi rongak laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 22 2021, 04:45 PM
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2021, 03:18 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 24 2021, 10:50 PM)
which budget 250GB SSD brand I should looking for? Upgrade to a old laptop running max Sata2 only.
Silicon Power or Crucial?
Go with Crucial
sHawTY
post Aug 23 2021, 10:39 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Aug 23 2021, 12:33 AM)
i always see the keyword "don't put anything important in ssd", this kind of implies that ssds are not a safe place to store your data but isn't the same can be said to hdd?
SSD is much more reliable than HDD but you still shouldn't store your important data in just 1 place. Should always have backup
sHawTY
post Sep 29 2021, 11:17 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(BlueMarlin @ Sep 29 2021, 09:50 AM)
old laptop with M2 slot will be compatible ?
Depends on your laptop model
Some laptop M.2 slot only supports SATA
Some laptop M.2 slot only supports NVMe
Some laptop M.2 slot supports both SATA & NVMe
sHawTY
post Apr 11 2022, 04:38 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Azfar90 @ Apr 10 2022, 07:43 AM)
I have read the RMA instructions where I need to do a proper packing
That's just a guideline. Just pack it in anti-static packaging, some bubbles wrap then put it in any sturdy box
If you still have the original box, then you can use that
Don't forget to write the RMA number in multiple places on the box
QUOTE(Azfar90 @ Apr 10 2022, 07:43 AM)
Now, I want to know whether if I can actually just walk-in to that address and return my SSD
No
sHawTY
post Aug 29 2022, 11:55 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(zombie24 @ Aug 28 2022, 04:19 PM)
Only idiots would fall for this
And looking at the ratings. There are tons of them idiots out there

Haven't they ever heard the term "If the price seems too good to be true, it probably is?"
sHawTY
post Nov 30 2022, 11:51 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Oct 19 2022, 10:51 PM)
This shop is weird. After 5 days still haven't shipped out my 2TB order
Already extend Shopee guarantee, still hasn't shipped out

Kalau takde stock, cakap la takde stock, jangan diam saja. Chat also no reply doh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 20 2022, 04:23 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 20 2022, 10:55 AM)
i thought there were still stocks the last time i checked, but transcend mte220s 2tb is out for now
Other shop still got stock
But you gotta hurry as only 2 units left from this store

https://shopee.com.my/product/21097082/14395550404
sHawTY
post Dec 20 2022, 05:30 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 20 2022, 05:08 PM)
need to find time to read about raid cards and new mobo features.
What are you going to use the 4 NVMe SSD in RAID for?

If solely for storage, then it's fine
But if it's for OS, software & games, not worth it
sHawTY
post Dec 23 2022, 10:25 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

This store is selling 2TB MTE220S at a cheaper price than the other store listed in this thread

2TB @ RM508.90

https://shopee.com.my/product/26508036/11513181835
sHawTY
post Mar 6 2023, 02:42 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Mar 6 2023, 01:38 PM)
SNIP
Only in Malaysia
In the US, the seller is forced to follow their wrong pricing for all orders that has been placed

If the same rules apply in Malaysia, I would've gotten my 20 units of PS4 that was wrongly priced for RM200 per unit a few years back in Sony Malaysia online store laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 6 2023, 02:43 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 7 2023, 11:15 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(QuerolousDancer @ Mar 6 2023, 06:44 PM)
Congrats
SPAM much?
sHawTY
post Mar 15 2023, 05:05 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

MTE220S now at RM465.90
https://shp.ee/jw7g8mk

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 15 2023, 05:06 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 28 2023, 03:16 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 27 2023, 11:45 PM)
look at that operating temperature. 700c?!
Typo on HowToGeek website
MSI states the operating temperature for Spatium M570 is between 0°C – 70°C
sHawTY
post Jun 6 2023, 04:41 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Does the MTE220S run hot? I'm going to use it as a capture drive that will do lots of long time writing
It will write data to the drive between 4 ~ 8 hours at a time

Currently using HDD but the HDD is showing lots of bad sectors now as it's being used in an unstable location
Inside a car being used for capturing route data. Already used lots of soft silicone to protect the HDD from any shocks but it still happen anyway
This is the 4th HDD that died during the project
Already tried multiple HDD models, each HDD only survives between 6 - 12 months

Thinking if I should use active cooling on the MTE220S so that it will run a lot cooler too
sHawTY
post Oct 12 2023, 11:15 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 11 2023, 04:23 PM)
Looking for upgrade my Samsung OEM NVME Gen3 SSD 256GB in my Lenovo Laptop to 1TB, any suggestion value for money?

Doesn't need to be Samsung, but as long performance are still capped at NVME Gen3.
Some laptops comes with 2 x M.2 NVMe slots
If this is the case, you don't have to pull out the 256GB SSD. Just leave it as it is for Windows & applications and use the secondary slot to install another NVMe SSD for your documents/videos/game install diretory & etc
State the year & full model number of your laptop
sHawTY
post Oct 12 2023, 05:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 12 2023, 12:38 PM)
I think 1 slots, because I upgraded mine 8GB to 16GB RAM, maybe soon put 32GB RAM lol.
Oww. Too bad. Looks like you don't have any other option but to replace the 256GB SSD
Although you can still use it as portable SSD, just need to buy the case

0.0230sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:03 PM