Proton X50 2020 v1, B-Segment killer

ddddashhhh
post Apr 4 2021, 09:06 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(bernard90 @ Apr 3 2021, 02:26 PM)
Hi, is it worth to get flagship than executive just because of the engine? Did the fuel consumption for both engine got significant differences?
if ur concern is on FC, i think u need to go for low FC based car like EV or hybrid. Todate my FS average FC is 8.9L/100km. But compare to my old C segment sedan, its slightly better. No eco mode at all, normal mode 100%. slightly better after 1st service. 1st service is 9.5L/100km. But if performance or driving experience ur looking at. Its another story.

1 example of mine. chingming, hot day with all the burnings. Face all red and hot. After done the ceremony, used remote start via apps when otw back into my FS. Go into car with family member, its all cool. How nice? its just another experience with my FS.
christ14
post Apr 4 2021, 09:28 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Mar 28 2021, 12:07 PM)
Nope, X70 isn’t slow.

I used to think X50 is the way to go too as it have better weight/power ratio. But after driving X70, I find it has sufficient power to give you the pushed against chair reaction at junction.
i've tested both

x70 is no slouch by all means flex.gif

on a side note, no news whatsoever from sept booking from subang to pj dealer lmao. bangwall.gif
jaychew90
post Apr 5 2021, 12:44 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(bernard90 @ Apr 3 2021, 02:26 PM)
Hi, is it worth to get flagship than executive just because of the engine? Did the fuel consumption for both engine got significant differences?
If you have concern on fuel consumption, I advise you not to look at proton cars. Proton's FC can't compete with Japanese Brande cars or Perodua.
FC wise between flagship and executive is almost negligible. If other features and accessories in flagship you're not interested in, you can just go for the executive. If you're not an aggressive driver, the non-flagship engine is already more than enough.
ktek
post Apr 5 2021, 03:48 AM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

haha speaking from own experience.
aggresive driver remain the same no matter what car u give him. can be kancil or truck. no need sport car.

pick the high power enjin of u r not aggresive driver
ktek
post Apr 5 2021, 03:50 AM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(jaychew90 @ Apr 5 2021, 12:38 AM)
Huawei security detected this APK contain Trojan. Please do not install.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...soft.qdrivelink

official app
LaiN87
post Apr 5 2021, 09:41 AM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

QUOTE(jaychew90 @ Apr 5 2021, 12:38 AM)
Huawei security detected this APK contain Trojan. Please do not install.
Ah shit. Already installed. Anyway will reset that phone la.
Not a main driver phone.

But confirm the modification he used can work. QDlink works for any app.
Android auto on X50 is guuuud.

Anyone knows app compiling can follow his steps to compile with same changes but without the trojan?
He shared the source code too.

https://github.com/weljoan/qdlink-android

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 5 2021, 03:50 AM)
Your link is the original version. Youtube or any unlisted app in QDLink will not work when you're driving.
With the modified app you can watch youtube or on android auto while driving.
ycs
post Apr 5 2021, 09:52 AM

4,240 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Apr 5 2021, 09:41 AM)
Ah shit. Already installed. Anyway will reset that phone la.
Not a main driver phone.

But confirm the modification he used can work. QDlink works for any app.
Android auto on X50 is guuuud.

Anyone knows app compiling can follow his steps to compile with same changes but without the trojan?
He shared the source code too.

https://github.com/weljoan/qdlink-android
Your link is the original version. Youtube or any unlisted app in QDLink will not work when you're driving.
With the modified app you can watch youtube or on android auto while driving.
isn't it normal that hacked apps will appear as malicious to anti-virus scanners?
LaiN87
post Apr 5 2021, 10:33 AM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

https://www.xda-developers.com/wireless-and...head-unit-hack/

For those looking to do Android Auto wireless.

Technically what you do is have 2 android phones.

Android phone A: Android Auto master with wifi hotspot & connected via QDlink to cable X50.
Android phone B: Connected to Android Phone A via wifi and provide the android auto info.

Or the easier way is all having your main phone with Android Auto app and connect via QDlink directly.
Either way at least we solved having Android Auto in X50.

And it's proper android auto with touch from the display too.
Kadajxii
post Apr 5 2021, 09:43 PM

Hello
read someone posted only think of flagship or executive.. so wanna hear ur advise on below my requirement. which variant to go, if 10k is worth. I have test drive flagship.

not sure if tgdi makes any diff.. I m leaning towards premium because of the interior.

sunroof = unnecessary for me
acc icc = hope to have when jam
auto parking = unnecessary for me
keep lane warning = very annoying
aeb = good to have
Blindspot = unnecessary for me
intelligent headlamp = unnecessary for me
duo tone exterior design = hope to have

This post has been edited by Kadajxii: Apr 5 2021, 09:47 PM
msacras
post Apr 5 2021, 09:56 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(Kadajxii @ Apr 5 2021, 09:43 PM)
Hello
read someone posted only think of flagship or executive.. so wanna hear ur advise on below my requirement. which variant to go, if 10k is worth. I have test drive flagship.

not sure if tgdi makes any diff.. I m leaning towards premium because of the interior.

keep lane warning =  very annoying
aeb = good to have
Most people agreed Proton is mainly trying to sell Executive and Flagship. That’s why they locked all those L2 autonomous and TGDI goodies behind the highest variant. Sunroof is jus an added bonus (actually it’s more cons to most people; hot, need extra tinting/insulation and even add additional insurance just in case it break). Had they pulled the X70 premium tricks on X50 (mean top specs with sunroof, 2nd specs everything identical but without sunroof for RM4k saving), then i reckon most will simply go for 2nd specs as most people don’t like
/need sunroof.

And most people will say/feel “already paid 93k, what’s another RM10k...”, especially one of the main charm of X50 is its high tech L2 stuff and the powerful 177PS 1.5T engine. If for Executive, you’re comparing a difference of 20k and you will think if those extra fancy features worth extra 20k and if the compromised half package is still worthy for its price tag; but for Premium you’re paying 93k, might as well top up the remaining to get and enjoy the full package.

This post has been edited by msacras: Apr 5 2021, 10:22 PM
zero5177
post Apr 5 2021, 10:17 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

Hello

aeb = good to have
To me it is either Exec or FS, if you want to save, might as well go for Exec with smaller RIM, cheaper price when due for replace.

FS have all the bells and whistles, most people can't shake off the feel of "I should have upgrade to FS" I bet no one have mindset of "I should have downgraded to Premium so I save 10k"

To me Premium is just about cosmetic changes and addition of 360 camera, take aside those fancy autopark & Autonomous driving,
Still only FS get u additional safety which turned on all the time.
-Lane Keep Assist
-Lane Departure warning
-Foward Collision Warning
-Emergency braking
SKYjack
post Apr 6 2021, 09:45 AM

367 posts

10K does not make huge dent in the pocket for anyone when spread out on loan for a number of years.

However I'm not keen on the FS for another reason, something no one is looking at! FS is a DI engine, thats the reason for extra horses. The issue with DI egines is premature carbon build up. There is no running away , all DIs suffer from this phenomena. Over the years Manufactures have redesign pistons and a few items to delay this issue.

Although presently this issue is somewhat under control, its proven fact Port injection suffers less on this issue than DI engine.

For this reason & the extras which I dont consider necessary, I've decided to get Executive!Just my 2 cents worth. Welcome opinions,tq!
ayamxxx
post Apr 6 2021, 10:01 AM

4,066 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 6 2021, 09:45 AM)
10K does not make huge dent in the pocket for anyone when spread out on loan for a number of years.

However I'm not keen on the FS for another reason, something no one is looking at! FS is a DI engine, thats the reason for extra horses. The issue with DI egines is premature carbon build up. There is no running away , all DIs suffer from this phenomena. Over the years Manufactures have redesign pistons and a few items to delay this issue.

Although presently this issue is somewhat under control, its proven fact Port injection suffers less on this issue than DI engine. 

For this reason & the extras which I dont consider necessary, I've decided to get Executive!Just my 2 cents worth. Welcome opinions,tq!
agreed on carbon build-up issues. but it happens per 60k km interval and costs about rm500-700 per cleaning outside. no manufacturer offers walnut cleaning as service interval including proton. for me rm700 per 60k km is ok
amscouzach57
post Apr 6 2021, 10:28 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 6 2021, 09:45 AM)

DI engines also has more noise than MPI engines. You can only hear it from the outside since the cabin insulation is good.
Kadajxii
post Apr 6 2021, 11:15 AM

Also the SA told FS need at least 6 months queue time, other variant mostly can get in 3 months 😢😢
amscouzach57
post Apr 6 2021, 02:05 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(Kadajxii @ Apr 6 2021, 11:15 AM)
Also the SA told FS need at least 6 months queue time, other variant mostly can get in 3 months 😢😢
I still didn't get my Exec variant. Booked since September last year 🥲
n8210
post Apr 6 2021, 02:12 PM

2,678 posts

Hello

aeb = good to have
I gave this a lot of thinking, and in the end, my conclusion was, all the features in flagship was nice to have, but slow to react. This made me think of older smart phones like HTC. Was cool and good to have, but the whole tech not at a comfortable to use state yet. So I abandon flagship and went premium. So far, so cool... test driving and owning one is totally different.
Kadajxii
post Apr 6 2021, 03:51 PM

Thank you all for your insights 😁😁
all of ur comments are very helpful and make me think alot from different perspective.

Finally, I have made up my mind and go for premium. Reason being is, the only FS feature that pick my interest is the acc & icc, putting 10k for to have that just.. can't go through myself 😅😅 that's just me of course.

I m very annoyed by most of the sensor keep beeping me... loll, is like having someone beside u keep complaining about ur drive. 😅😅

ddddashhhh
post Apr 6 2021, 08:21 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(Kadajxii @ Apr 6 2021, 03:51 PM)
Thank you all for your insights 😁😁
all of ur comments are very helpful and make me think alot from different perspective.

Finally, I have made up my mind and go for premium. Reason being is, the only FS feature that pick my interest is the acc & icc, putting 10k for to have that just.. can't go through myself 😅😅 that's just me of course.

I m very annoyed by most of the sensor keep beeping me... loll, is like having someone beside u keep complaining about ur drive. 😅😅
Great choice to go for premium, if u dont really need those extra features why not.
Get ready to grab any possible opportunity given. my 1st choice was premium btw, cos just like ur thought, i dont need those extras anyway. but FS was presented to me that time. so i grab it. exec or standard are no way to be seen when i get my FS. Some buyer might change their mind to standard or exec or to other brands, due to the long waiting list or even a bigger X70. if u get what i mean.

Maybe have a share with you of my thoughts of those features listed as unnessary but as added features in FS after owning one.

sunroof or moonroof. ITS HOT. u need to fork out extras $$$ to tint it. but i got it for free as it come with the package when tiniting my whole car. i think many shop doing this type of promos. Can ask around. Just how many IRR or TSER is in negotiable term. After tint. seems ok and fine, i get 80% dark for roof. most of the time,i leave the shad open it at evening, night or morning for my kids to enjoy the view. only noon time closed with shade. But with the cool aircond blower front and back, not a big issue. by far i never open the roof window, just the shade. the interior become brighter and bigger with the shade open too. But still, cant stop ppl saying things like breakable, leaking or etc.....all those negative things with sunroof. Here is malaysia rite.

ACC ICC LKW BLIS or whatever ppl called it, ADAS maybe. These are good safety features. Its actually help teaching those driving it to be a better driver. Not to forget signalling when changing lane. Not to overlaps lane. Nlind spot indicator shows there might be motorcyclist around somewhere. Intelligent headlamp not to blind opposite drivers, extra light when turning and so on. FCW AEB to help prevent collision or accident before u can react. While ACC / ICC, auto hold, 360 camera, sensors, auto parking, auto light, auto wiper, those are for convenient purposes which is good to have.

Thanks for reading. Hope ur car buying experience go smooth n steady.

MNF0
post Apr 6 2021, 09:25 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 6 2021, 10:01 AM)
agreed on carbon build-up issues. but it happens per 60k km interval and costs about rm500-700 per cleaning outside. no manufacturer offers walnut cleaning as service interval including proton. for me rm700 per 60k km is ok
For those who want to only service their cars through the official channel, what options (offer by the manufacturer) do they have with regard to this carbon build up?

440 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Top

0.2340sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:14 AM