[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

ntw
post Aug 3 2021, 08:30 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 3 2021, 11:56 AM)
besides the tape mod, there is another new trend: a layer of thin eva/pe/poron (0.2 to 0.5mm) is applied between switch and pcb. both are supposed to influence key sound and feel to certain degrees.

here's an example of the latter, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=651649297288 (for solderable and hot-swap pcbs)

from my limited tests, they have mixed results. it's true that these mods will change key sound and feel, but in my case, only slightly.

however, each of us do things differently, using different kits/parts/mods. so it's better to try them out first. they might surprise you, since many are happy with these new mods.
soon we will have PCB made out of poron/ eva foam? hnngghhh

horns
post Aug 3 2021, 10:44 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Aug 3 2021, 07:58 PM)
lol.. things ppl to make it keyboard to sound a certain way :-)
Can partially move this into ''hobbies' section tongue.gif
Btw, any prebuilt 60% to recco? HotSwap, RGB
Wanted to get the RK84, but keycaps for the bottom right few either hard to get or costs more than standard layout.
On AP2 now btw
TIA
mkb tuning is indeed a hobby haha

QUOTE(ntw @ Aug 3 2021, 08:30 PM)
soon we will have PCB made out of poron/ eva foam? hnngghhh
haha

there are also pre-cut pads that are specifically designed for band-aid mod, holee mod, and for supporting stabilizer wires. almost all mods that were invented by mkb community are becoming more accessible. again, these are all optional. it's up to users to get and apply them when necessary.

malleus
post Aug 5 2021, 10:32 AM

2,096 posts

on sounds, there's something that I just recalled, of the very old keyboards from Digital Electronic Corporation that I used to use on the Alpha workstations.

the keyboards themselves are pretty silent, but they do give a very soft beep on every key press. but it looks like nobody else has really done this except for DEC
pixelrider
post Aug 7 2021, 11:18 PM

83 posts

Hi guys, I'm using a Outemu brown full-size keyboard right now, looking for a new board soon since I'm beginning to feel some odd sensation on my wrist and elbow.

The 60% keyboard seems like the best for ergonomic, however I'm unsure about the lack of print screen key and other nav bar key since I do use those a lot. How do you guys deal with this problem?

Also, anyone use linear switch for typing here? I love how the lubed Gateron yellow sounds after hearing it, but my switch tester will take some time to arrive. My preference might change once I tried the switch tester but right now I'm leaning towards linear switches.
krayden
post Aug 7 2021, 11:36 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(pixelrider @ Aug 7 2021, 11:18 PM)
The 60% keyboard seems like the best for ergonomic, however I'm unsure about the lack of print screen key and other nav bar key since I do use those a lot. How do you guys deal with this problem?

Suggest you go for a 65. That will give you the nav keys. Print screen with a Fn key shouldn't be a problem. Also make sure your games dun use F keys, otherwise you'll need at least a 75.

As for linears, maybe you can look for Gazew thocky linears. I'm not sure if they're out yet though.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nc1BCtw0zN0..._channel=Shoobs

I dunno. All my boards are silent.
Good luck.
pixelrider
post Aug 8 2021, 01:24 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Aug 7 2021, 11:36 PM)
Suggest you go for a 65. That will give you the nav keys. Print screen with a Fn key shouldn't be a problem. Also make sure your games dun use F keys, otherwise you'll need at least a 75.

As for linears, maybe you can look for Gazew thocky linears. I'm not sure if they're out yet though.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nc1BCtw0zN0..._channel=Shoobs

I dunno. All my boards are silent.
Good luck.
Thanks! 65% seems like a nice middle ground between size and functionality.
clawhammer
post Aug 8 2021, 03:55 AM

///M
8,788 posts

Does anyone knows if it's possible to replace switches on the Razer Huntsman Mini to Gateron optical?
GRexer
post Aug 8 2021, 12:42 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 8 2021, 03:55 AM)
Does anyone knows if it's possible to replace switches on the Razer Huntsman Mini to Gateron optical?
It's not possible. They don't share the same "construction method"
underscore_lee
post Aug 8 2021, 02:58 PM

190 posts

Hi guys, im still new at this so let me know if this is a stupid question - im using RK61 with red switches, and thinking of buy new keycaps to make the typing sounds nicer (more 'muted'? ASMR kind).

Looking at this honey & milk keycaps. Want to know if changing the keycaps would make a difference in the sound: https://shopee.com.my/product/385045247/648...56-1628405738.9

Thanks for your advice.

This post has been edited by underscore_lee: Aug 8 2021, 02:59 PM
clawhammer
post Aug 8 2021, 04:58 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Aug 8 2021, 12:42 PM)
It's not possible. They don't share the same "construction method"
Thank you sir biggrin.gif
I see that the switches can be removed from the PCB so I thought it's possible
GRexer
post Aug 8 2021, 06:43 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Aug 8 2021, 02:58 PM)
Hi guys, im still new at this so let me know if this is a stupid question - im using RK61 with red switches, and thinking of buy new keycaps to make the typing sounds nicer (more 'muted'? ASMR kind).

Looking at this honey & milk keycaps. Want to know if changing the keycaps would make a difference in the sound: https://shopee.com.my/product/385045247/648...56-1628405738.9

Thanks for your advice.
Just gotta remember this "there are no stupid questions"

A keycap change would change the sound profile for sure, in fact, any changes would change the sound as sound is a result of vibrations. Different keycap materials, different keycap thickness, different keycap profile, all would change the sound profile. Lower profile will generally sound "quieter"

You could always search YouTube for a sample sound of the keycap sound, while not 100% reflective of the sound you would get, most people who upload on YouTube would have likely have the same keyboard with different keycap profiles too, especially the less popular keyboard content YouTubers. (Since it's becoming a norm for "popular keeb content YouTubers" to only feature high end keyboard related content)
underscore_lee
post Aug 8 2021, 06:47 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Aug 8 2021, 06:43 PM)

A keycap change would change the sound profile for sure, in fact, any changes would change the sound as sound is a result of vibrations. Different keycap materials, different keycap thickness, different keycap profile, all would change the sound profile. Lower profile will generally sound "quieter"

You could always search YouTube for a sample sound of the keycap sound, while not 100% reflective of the sound you would get, most people who upload on YouTube would have likely have the same keyboard with different keycap profiles too, especially the less popular keyboard content YouTubers. (Since it's becoming a norm for "popular keeb content YouTubers" to only feature high end keyboard related content)
Make sense. The keycaps im looking seems to be the lower profile (in terms of height). Will check out YouTube and give it a try. Thanks man!
ntw
post Aug 8 2021, 09:00 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Aug 8 2021, 06:47 PM)
Make sense. The keycaps im looking seems to be the lower profile (in terms of height). Will check out YouTube and give it a try. Thanks man!
in my opinion, go for thicker keycap if you want more muted sound profile.
Puteih
post Aug 11 2021, 02:32 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

Hi guys,
Anyone know where can I send my Logitech G Pro keyboard for repair/service? Some of my keys are double registering.

I tried cleaning it myself using contact cleaner, but seems like some letters are still having the issue.
horns
post Aug 14 2021, 10:32 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Aug 8 2021, 09:00 PM)
in my opinion, go for thicker keycap if you want more muted sound profile.
right, thicker caps will sound deeper and lower-pitched.

in general, sound profile is affected by a lot of things. here are the extensive listings: http://blacksimon.tv/science (alt: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/15Xm...0oqr8Aux24SNz0/ )

in terms of key caps, we can look at the keycaps tab.

QUOTE(Puteih @ Aug 11 2021, 02:32 AM)
Hi guys,
Anyone know where can I send my Logitech G Pro keyboard for repair/service? Some of my keys are double registering.

I tried cleaning it myself using contact cleaner, but seems like some letters are still having the issue.
you can try contacting builders at mymkb mechmarket's provider list, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MYMECHMARKE...79389625627322/

usually, a non-permanent fix would be to blow dry air into inside of switch using blower, and spam the keys repeatedly. this often works for mx style switches.
TristanX
post Aug 14 2021, 11:02 AM

Where is my stars?
24,341 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Aug 8 2021, 06:43 PM)

I miss IBM Model M. The whole area can hear me type. biggrin.gif

Still no one is selling it locally.
bansai
post Aug 15 2021, 12:11 PM

781 posts

my latest builds

GMMK Pro + Double Gaskets
Durock + GOAT frankenstabs + Bandaid
Ink Blacks + Lubed + filmed + 65G Sprit Supremes
Akko Cherry Neons
Full metal knob

GMMK Pro
Durock + GOAT frankenstabs + Bandaid
Boba U4T + Lubed + Filmed + 62G Long TX Springs
Akko ASA Carbon Retro
Full metal knob

Currently building Feker Glaze 98, Kiwi switches, Durock plate mounts. Sounds horrible, so trying out different acoustic mods. Testing out masking tape on PCB as there is not space in case for foams.

Just preordered my next next next build, KBD Odin. Still considering whether to get the keychron end of this month as it's too similar to the gmmk pros and keychron's build quality is quite shoddy.

niakulah
post Aug 15 2021, 01:45 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Aug 15 2021, 12:11 PM)
Currently building Feker Glaze 98, Kiwi switches, Durock plate mounts. Sounds horrible, so trying out different acoustic mods. Testing out masking tape on PCB as there is not space in case for foams.
If I'm looking at the same thing, it's probably because the PCB is mostly resting on the bottom acrylic sheet. There needs to be some room there for nice sound IMO.

But I think it is necessary to do it like that since it's a sandwich mount with hotswap PCB. If it was soldered, the PCB would be firmly attached to the plate and there would be no problem to add another layer or 2 between the plate and bottom sheet.
bansai
post Aug 15 2021, 02:54 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 15 2021, 01:45 PM)
If I'm looking at the same thing, it's probably because the PCB is mostly resting on the bottom acrylic sheet. There needs to be some room there for nice sound IMO.

But I think it is necessary to do it like that since it's a sandwich mount with hotswap PCB. If it was soldered, the PCB would be firmly attached to the plate and there would be no problem to add another layer or 2 between the plate and bottom sheet.
i was actually thinking of using latex glue as a layer at the bottom case but now testing with masking tape first.

The problem is actually with the case design, its too soft. bottom part is actually alright, just the middle frame is too soft and flimsy. Maybe double sided tape on each layer with a soft thin cushion on the bottom of the PCB. Was thinking foam between the top shell and pcb, but it beats the point of the glaze as LEDs will be blocked.

Worst off i'll just use some silent linears with this keyb. The kiwi's are just too loud.
bansai
post Aug 15 2021, 03:16 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 15 2021, 01:45 PM)

dont think i can do anything else for now.

with kiwi's, everything turns slightly green tint due to its shell

masking tape on PCB followed by thin foam packing from my GMMK Pro

The packing foam i used. I think a piece of knitted TShirt fabric would also do very well.

125 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0463sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:49 AM