[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

yohomies
post May 19 2021, 06:15 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 19 2021, 12:25 PM)

If i understand correctly 63/37 turn solid faster than 60/40? Do you feel significant differences especially for de-soldering?
horns
post May 19 2021, 06:57 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(yohomies @ May 19 2021, 06:15 PM)
If i understand correctly 63/37 turn solid faster than 60/40? Do you feel significant differences especially for de-soldering?
yes, it will solidify quickly, and they will form shiny and smooth solder joints.

it's relatively easier to melt and desolder 63/37 solder joints imo. just touch the joint for 1 to 2 seconds with hot iron (like 320c), then press the button of the desoldering pump. i use hakko sppon 20g.

if you're comfortable with 60/40, it's ok to use it also. i suggest 63/37 because it's beginner-friendly, e.g., it melts and flows nicely, so that soldering and desoldering can be done within 3 seconds per joint, even for a beginner.

edit:

this is my recent build with kester 63/37 solder wires, after IPA cleanup.

This post has been edited by horns: May 19 2021, 08:15 PM
antaras
post May 20 2021, 10:17 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 19 2021, 06:57 PM)
yes, it will solidify quickly, and they will form shiny and smooth solder joints.

it's relatively easier to melt and desolder 63/37 solder joints imo. just touch the joint for 1 to 2 seconds with hot iron (like 320c), then press the button of the desoldering pump. i use hakko sppon 20g.

if you're comfortable with 60/40, it's ok to use it also. i suggest 63/37 because it's beginner-friendly, e.g., it melts and flows nicely, so that soldering and desoldering can be done within 3 seconds per joint, even for a beginner.

edit:

I've no experience what so ever with soldering but that soldering work in my opinion is very clean work!
alif1994
post May 20 2021, 12:13 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 19 2021, 06:57 PM)

edit:

That looks really clean. May I know where do you source your kester solder wires? Been using mechanic for a while now but the flux is so bad. It's great during soldering but I hate cleaning it up.
horns
post May 20 2021, 12:52 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ May 20 2021, 10:17 AM)
I've no experience what so ever with soldering but that soldering work in my opinion is very clean work!
all thanks to tips given by GRexer and quovadis123. in a nutshell, the key thing is still 'practice makes perfect'.

other than soldering and desoldering, there are still things that we will learn prior to, during, and after these processes. that's why i always suggest good and experienced builders for those who want their kits built. only experienced builders are capable of taking care of these details (because most of them are conditional, based on things like keyboard constructions)

the outcomes include another level of satisfactions smile.gif

QUOTE(alif1994 @ May 20 2021, 12:13 PM)
That looks really clean. May I know where do you source your kester solder wires? Been using mechanic for a while now but the flux is so bad. It's great during soldering but I hate cleaning it up.
i got mine from taobao. it's an expired stock, but still very usable imo. yes, mechanic and white monkey do have excess of flux sometimes, compared to kester. however after cleanup, they are the same in terms of outcomes.

This post has been edited by horns: May 20 2021, 12:53 PM
andrewtho
post May 22 2021, 05:38 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

I broke my coiled braided keyboard cable, was trying to reassemble the cable and pulled out the wrong sockets - does anyone know where and how I get another cable? Its the end with USB A.

If this one is really a goner, there goes a hundred bucks 🥲

horns
post May 22 2021, 07:25 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ May 22 2021, 05:38 PM)

I broke my coiled braided keyboard cable, was trying to reassemble the cable and pulled out the wrong sockets - does anyone know where and how I get another cable? Its the end with USB A.

maybe you can cut the end off, take a picture on which wire goes where, and repair it?

you can ask at mymkb fb group to see if sifus who make cables can help out also

andrewtho
post May 22 2021, 07:51 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 22 2021, 07:25 PM)
maybe you can cut the end off, take a picture on which wire goes where, and repair it?

you can ask at mymkb fb group to see if sifus who make cables can help out also
Thanks, have already tried cutting the wires but seems like need a wire-cutter tool, will ask around in the FB group.
irsyadfy
post May 23 2021, 05:48 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ May 22 2021, 05:38 PM)

dont forget to unsuit ur dark knight armor.
might that be the reason u pulled the cable too hard.

whistling.gif
horns
post May 25 2021, 01:08 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

here are basic tips on how to maintain bits/tips of your soldering iron, so that they can perform as good as new, as long as possible. (for hobbyist usage, this might means years) i wonder why most people tend to forget to explain this to beginners.

when the tip is new, heat it up to 300 to 350c, tin the tip entirely (the part of tip that is used to conduct heat), and let it turned on for 3 to 5 minutes, then turn it off to cool down for like 10 minutes. then, turn it on again, tin and clean the excess with copper mesh/wet sponge. tin it again, so that you can start using it.

after that:
1. tin and clean the tip, then tin and coat a layer of solder on the tip, after the work is done. normally, i just reduce the temperature of iron to 250c, then tin-clean-tin-coat a layer of solder on the tip, so that solder will cover the entire tip. once this is done, you can turn it off.
2. the next time you start your work, heat the iron up to 250c, then tin and clean the tip, getting rid of the excess solder. finally, set the iron to desired temperature, tin the tip, and start your work.

DO NOT let the iron turned on for a long period of time without tinning. before you turn it off, clean and tin the tip first.

that's basically what i do to maintain the performance of the tips. so far, they are still shiny, and perform nicely.

horns
post May 27 2021, 08:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is a continuation of good 63/37 solder wires posted previously.

4. you bang (友邦) 0.6mm (flux % 1.8). one of the recommended brands by mkb community in China. this one flows slightly slower (less flux).

5. QLG (强力) 0.5mm (flux % 1.8-2.2). this one flows nicely also, and it might be the shiniest of all, based on my brief comparisons.

6. kester flux 245 core 50 0.6mm (flux % 1.1).

there are plenty of good alternatives. if you bought the genuine ones, best from their respective official shops, the cn-made 63/37 solder wires in the list work fine, with good outcomes.
Vigilant
post May 31 2021, 03:00 PM

Be ever vigilant, but never suspicious
1,288 posts

Where can find someone who can custom coil cable locally?
niakulah
post May 31 2021, 06:45 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Vigilant @ May 31 2021, 03:00 PM)
Where can find someone who can custom coil cable locally?
There was one from Sabah or Sarawak on Shopee the other day but I can't find them now. But I found this one from JB.

https://shopee.com.my/product/162087693/825...17-1622457866.9
Vigilant
post May 31 2021, 09:49 PM

Be ever vigilant, but never suspicious
1,288 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ May 31 2021, 06:45 PM)
There was one from Sabah or Sarawak on Shopee the other day but I can't find them now. But I found this one from JB.

https://shopee.com.my/product/162087693/825...17-1622457866.9
Thank you, I found the same seller as well on Shopee, but there's a better option on Shopee, a China seller. Guess gotta try these guys first. The china seller is helpful, he is going to test whether the 'straight part' of the cable can custom with USB-C (this is to connect with the latest model of MacBook) since I'm reluctant to use USB A to USB C converter. After he reverts back, I will order from him rclxms.gif
cyclone9
post Jun 1 2021, 09:33 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

Any recommendation for wireless small (without keypad) mechanical keyboard? Gaming most of the time.

Budget RM200~ (below the better)
cyclone9
post Jun 1 2021, 09:34 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

Any recommendation for wireless small (without keypad) mechanical keyboard? Gaming most of the time.

Budget RM200~ (below the better)
horns
post Jun 2 2021, 11:43 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

qmk buat hal again. it's the times that happens twice a year, a.k.a. breaking changes, i.e. if you chose to upgrade, it will break your qmk installation.

for those who run qmk in msys2, 0.12.52 will break stuff. to revert to 0.12.51, run the following command in msys2: 'git reset --hard 8ba537f' (without quotes) alternatively, just use qmk msys aio installer, https://github.com/qmk/qmk_distro_msys/releases/ (tested and confirmed working for 0.12.52)

qmk 0.12.52 breaks stuff in linux too. however it's much easier to resolve this: just delete all the previously configured python modules in ~/.local/lib/pythonx.x/site-packages/, rerun 'util/qmk_install.sh', 'python3 -m pip install --user qmk', then run 'qmk setup' to check the qmk environment. copy the missing udev rules to the correct directory if necessary (instructions will be given during 'qmk setup')

the proper output with 'qmk setup' will be similar to the following, if it gets fixed:
CODE

$ qmk setup
Ψ Found qmk_firmware at /home/user/qmk/qmk_firmware.
Ψ QMK Doctor is checking your environment.
Ψ QMK home: /home/user/qmk/qmk_firmware
Ψ Detected Linux.
Ψ All dependencies are installed.
Ψ Found arm-none-eabi-gcc version 6.3.1
Ψ Found avr-gcc version 5.4.0
Ψ Found avrdude version 6.3
Ψ Found dfu-util version 0.9
Ψ Found dfu-programmer version 0.6.1
Ψ Submodules are up to date.
Ψ QMK is ready to go

2 new python modules are now required to run qmk: hid and pyusb (along with their os-specific dependencies). 'util/qmk_install.sh' will take care of everything.
niakulah
post Jun 3 2021, 05:11 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

I asked for extra boba
Currylaksa
post Jun 3 2021, 05:40 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 3 2021, 05:11 PM)
I asked for extra boba
Boba really nice thock sound biggrin.gif
niakulah
post Jun 4 2021, 10:04 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Jun 3 2021, 05:40 PM)
Boba really nice thock sound biggrin.gif
It is seriously nice. Mounted them in my board without soldering, nice thing about sandwich-mount cases.

The sound! Hnnnngggh inducing thocks!

True to Gazzew's word, the switch is smooth stock, you don't need to lube it. Although I will still experiment with lubing some before soldering them in. I don't think the modder in me will forgive myself if I solder it in stock. Lol.

Update with pic. Getting closer to finishing my endgame.

This post has been edited by niakulah: Jun 4 2021, 10:19 AM

125 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:28 AM