[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

Currylaksa
post Jun 21 2020, 10:55 PM

1,616 posts

Finally lubed, clipped and band-aided my stabilizers biggrin.gif feels gooding mang

QUOTE(paiseh91 @ Jun 21 2020, 07:59 PM)
1: Any idea if Tecware's going to restock on their Phantom Elite TKLs? Or should I wait for their next version?
2: Any tips for modding currently owned keyboards? I was inspired from this razer blackwidow mod post on reddit, which spark my interest to mod it. I currently have Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014 ver. & Blackwidow X Chroma TE.
1. no idea, Tecware seems more keen in pushing the low-profile TKL

2. it will be a very unpleasant experience to de-solder the switches from the keyboard sad.gif
Currylaksa
post Jun 22 2020, 10:15 AM

1,616 posts

What are your personal favorite switches so far? biggrin.gif

The switches I enjoyed using:
Cherry MX Silent Red
Kailh Box Brown
Zealios V2 65g
Gateron Yellow
Currylaksa
post Jun 30 2020, 03:10 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Jun 30 2020, 10:35 AM)
Anyone here bought wireless keyboard from oversea or amazon before?

Can help to share your experience?

Plan to get a Keychron K6 but worry that it will get held in custom or need sirim and all those hassle.

If you buy those GK61, GK64 or Anne Pro from aliexpress or lazada, quite okay one
Currylaksa
post Apr 15 2021, 01:40 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Apr 9 2021, 02:30 PM)
Have you tried Cherry Silent Red? They seem quiet when bottom hard.
I guess maybe I don't bottom the keys that hard when I type so I wasn't affected by the bottoming sound.
Some batches of Cherry Silents are super scratchy, until almost feel like tactile laugh.gif
Currylaksa
post Apr 15 2021, 02:46 PM

1,616 posts

What do you guys think of ID80 V2?

Will it be inferior to GMMK Pro
Currylaksa
post Apr 15 2021, 02:54 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Apr 15 2021, 02:51 PM)
On paper it's definitely inferior IMO. Integrated plate vs gasket mount.
Thanks, true also.

Plus the extra foam and polycarb plate for deep thocc lovers.
Currylaksa
post Apr 17 2021, 12:54 PM

1,616 posts

Alamak, when did Keys stop selling Krytox 105? cry.gif

I need it for springs.
Currylaksa
post Apr 20 2021, 10:39 AM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(Fafans @ Apr 18 2021, 09:01 PM)
Seller seems like the direct manufacturer and have confirmed that the provided switches are indeed original Cherry switches. Here is the Shopee PH listing which instills more confidence:

Question is, is it reasonable that Chinese manufacturers can sell keyboards with that kinda switches for below RM300?
Cherry is no longer a "premium" MX switch liao. You can sometimes find them in very affordable prices.

I think it's because gaming brands started moving to other switches like hall effect and optical.
Currylaksa
post Apr 24 2021, 11:27 AM

1,616 posts

Alamak I am dumb doh.gif Keys punyer 105 is under GPL Lubricating Oil section
Currylaksa
post Jun 3 2021, 05:40 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 3 2021, 05:11 PM)
I asked for extra boba
[attachmentid=10902221]
Boba really nice thock sound biggrin.gif
Currylaksa
post Jun 5 2021, 11:24 AM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Jun 5 2021, 12:39 AM)
Looking for keyboard recommendation, budged i guess should be below RM400... Trying to hunt for Tecware Phanthom Elite with Gateron switch but seems like quite rare in Malaysia now so would like to see if there's any other alternatives. Currently using Aula F2058 with blue switches that's having some double click on certain key after 1.5years of use, thinking of Brown switches which is a bit quieter to use for work at late night, and would like to have the numpad as now working from home... RGB is not a must.  icon_question.gif

P.S: Was looking at Logitech G413 previously but seems like there's a lot of complain on the switches and cap so will refrain from that...
The Tecware Phantom 2020 non-elite with Outemu Brown is still available. Outemu Brown is nearly identical to Kailh Brown and Gateron Brown.

Tecware is also selling Phantom L low profile which is cheaper (below RM180), and the low profile brown switches are not bad for mainstream.
Currylaksa
post Jun 5 2021, 01:04 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Jun 5 2021, 12:03 PM)
Was aiming for that but then i read some mentioning the Outemu switch is a bit inferior in quality and need a lot of switch change in period of 6 months while Gateron/Kailh switch is better while does priced higher...
Now checking out Keychron C2 with hotswap Gateron, price below 300 so still fits my bill plus option to swap to Kailh switch in future... maybe? hmm.gif
Uhh really not sure what you want now.

Previously you just asked for budget keeb with Browns.

Anyways, happy hunting. thumbsup.gif
Currylaksa
post Jun 11 2021, 07:49 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Jun 11 2021, 06:58 PM)
Hi guys do any of you guys know anyone still selling ibm model m keyboard (spring loaded) not membrane keyboard and with removable cable
Is Unicomp an option for you?
Currylaksa
post Jun 18 2021, 10:39 PM

1,616 posts

LOKI TV Series
Currylaksa
post Jun 30 2021, 10:48 AM

1,616 posts

Now that the phase 1 lockdown has tripled my insanity, think I will build a board to have fun with naevy or pewters.
Currylaksa
post Jul 9 2021, 09:04 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(perseides @ Jul 9 2021, 05:07 PM)
Hello, wanna inquire. Planning to get a cheap mechanical keyboard.

I noticed this on a rk seller,

Is this real cherry mx keys or cherry like switches? AKAIK rk uses oetemu switches which is cherry like, and not cherry mx switch?
- Should be legit, RK61 uses Kailh sockets which are not meant for regular Outemu switches.

- Cherry is not a great switch anyways, don't stress over the clones.
Currylaksa
post Jul 20 2021, 12:25 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(thales.of.miletus @ Jul 20 2021, 03:28 AM)
Any suggestions for a keyboard that has a rotary knob that can also function as jog dial for video playback/editing?
I think any custom mech with rotary knob will need you to configure via QMK, if you want to use for video editing.

Premade keyboards like Logitech Craft have it easily-mapped.
Currylaksa
post Jul 21 2021, 01:21 PM

1,616 posts

Any suggestion of a Medium Tactile switch?

Not super tactile like T1, Boba U4T, Zealios V2 and Holy Panda.

Not light like Brown and Pewters.

So far can only think of Ergo Clears, Naevy and Durock Medium.
Currylaksa
post Jul 22 2021, 10:20 AM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 21 2021, 02:02 PM)
JWK Rara? The Shogoki switches I was complaining a few pages back are a Rara recolour with ThicThock springs.
QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 22 2021, 12:10 AM)
Not too sure if the Akko CS Ocean Blue or Lavender Purple would be up your alley of "Medium Tactile" or not, plus side is that they are cheap enough to experiment with.
Thanks a lot!

Will just buy a bunch to test.
Currylaksa
post Aug 15 2021, 03:44 PM

1,616 posts

Finished new gaming keeb.

- GK87 with added plate foam and neoprene sheet
- Everglide stabilizers clipped, bandaid-ed and overlubed (failed badly at holee modding, don't ask ><)
- Gateron KS-3 browns full black housing with TX Firms and 205G0
- Generic dye-sub keycaps from KPRepublic

0.1096sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:39 PM