[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Apr 17 2021, 07:09 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ssxxcool @ Apr 17 2021, 06:40 PM)
as for me, who is a beginner, my criteria as of right now is only to get a hotswap 96% keyboard lol. there is a gk96s but reddit says avoid that because software sux,

but comparing gk96s and k4v2, keychron doesnt even have software lol
imo software is not that important. you will find it boring very soon.

perhaps the only software that is useful for you to learn and use in the long run is qmk. again, it's optional because you can use web-based qmk gui or via to configure your qmk-based keyboards. most recent hot-swap boards, like kbd67 lite or gmmk pro, are qmk/via-based.

the main role of hot-swap boards is to provide convenience to check out different switches, and to learn more about mkb basics. later on, when you're ready to build soldered boards, they are test and switch break-in units.

eventually, soldered builds are still better in many ways, relatively speaking.

ntw
post Apr 17 2021, 09:20 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Apr 17 2021, 07:01 PM)
I feel you bro. So many companies use tables that are high but chairs are low. It's an ergonomic nightmare. At one time I was researching ways to mod my office chair to make it higher. Lol.
DIY your own keyboard tray brows.gif
horns
post Apr 18 2021, 12:17 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

as of this writing, here's the list of stock linear switches that i like to use as base of my custom switches; with no particular order:

1. cherry mx hyperglide. yes, it's relatively scratchy. however it will remind you of the importance of switch lubing;
2. jwick. it's very affordable; and it's good;
3. sp-star. this is good stuff.
4. aqua king v3. yes, i have read about their issues. good news: they can be fixed.

please, don't trust me. try them out yourself. 2020-2021 are good years for linear switch users smile.gif

This post has been edited by horns: Apr 18 2021, 01:06 AM
horns
post Apr 18 2021, 11:03 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is a note on switch films. it's here because a lot of people are still not aware of the recent changes, and thought why i still apply switch films when obviously there is no switch top wobbles.

switch tops are often removed so that internals can be accessed for further tuning. at times, during the process, the sides of switch tops are stretched to a point that they are not able to secure themselves properly to the bottom housing anymore, causing switch top wobbles. when this happens, switch films are used to fix the issue.

previously, we only have acccess to vinyl or pc films. both do change the sound and feel, but not significantly. however these days there are many types of switch films, made of different materials and thicknesses. now, on top of their main purpose to minimize switch top wobbles, they have another function: changing the sound and feel of a switch, due to these new materials.

the selection of which films to go to depends on what you wanna achieve:
1. if you wanna fix switch top wobbles, and keep the sound profile as close to the original as possible, use pc-based films (hard films);
2. if you wanna fix the wobbles, and at the same time wanna further make switches to sound more clean, use silicon/eva/mdi-based films (soft films). they will absorb the vibrations generated during typing, and result in a relatively muted sound profile.

finally, mods are conditional and optional. if there is nothing wrong about your switches, and you're happy with its performance, then there is no need for you to do anything.

Fafans
post Apr 18 2021, 09:01 PM

Hi all, need affirmations before checking out. I'm keen on buying Royal Kludge RK84 and have found this listing on Shopee:
https://shopee.com.my/Ready-stock!-Roya...2727.3380981909

Seller seems like the direct manufacturer and have confirmed that the provided switches are indeed original Cherry switches. Here is the Shopee PH listing which instills more confidence:
https://shopee.ph/RK84-wireless-Bluetooth-2...8865.9920595398

Question is, is it reasonable that Chinese manufacturers can sell keyboards with that kinda switches for below RM300?
horns
post Apr 19 2021, 01:09 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Fafans @ Apr 18 2021, 09:01 PM)
Hi all, need affirmations before checking out. I'm keen on buying Royal Kludge RK84 and have found this listing on Shopee:
https://shopee.com.my/Ready-stock!-Roya...2727.3380981909

Seller seems like the direct manufacturer and have confirmed that the provided switches are indeed original Cherry switches. Here is the Shopee PH listing which instills more confidence:
https://shopee.ph/RK84-wireless-Bluetooth-2...8865.9920595398

Question is, is it reasonable that Chinese manufacturers can sell keyboards with that kinda switches for below RM300?
for the question on cn manufacturers' capacity to make boards with genuine cherry mx and sell them at below 300myr, yes, they have the capacity, because they have massive volume to get stuff at much cheaper costs.

as for the verification of the said seller, maybe ask the guy in the user comments to seek his opinions.
Currylaksa
post Apr 20 2021, 10:39 AM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(Fafans @ Apr 18 2021, 09:01 PM)

Cherry is no longer a "premium" MX switch liao. You can sometimes find them in very affordable prices.

I think it's because gaming brands started moving to other switches like hall effect and optical.
horns
post Apr 21 2021, 06:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Apr 20 2021, 10:39 AM)
Cherry is no longer a "premium" MX switch liao. You can sometimes find them in very affordable prices.

I think it's because gaming brands started moving to other switches like hall effect and optical.
cherry mx is never a premium switch. they're mass produced for retail.

imo, after their mx switch patent expired, manufacturers took the opportunity and looked for cheaper clones to replace cherry mx. hence, retail markets are flooded with switches from outemu, kailh, and gateron.

optical switches are supposed to be relatively cheaper than mechanical. however, more efforts are required to fight general acceptance and compatibility, so that they can be populated further in the market.

for now, mx style mechanical switches are still the better choice in the long run.
Lucifer
post Apr 23 2021, 02:47 PM

398 posts

Hello, since my venture into modding my razer 2 months ago, I have amassed a sizable collection of switches.
It is available for testing in my non-pc related shop in KL if anyone is interested.

I am normally there from 12pm to 6pm, shop close at 6pm.
ace-user
post Apr 23 2021, 03:02 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(Lucifer @ Apr 23 2021, 02:47 PM)

Hello, since my venture into modding my razer 2 months ago, I have amassed a sizable collection of switches.
It is available for testing in my non-pc related shop in KL if anyone is interested.

I am normally there from 12pm to 6pm, shop close at 6pm.
holy, that is a loooot of switches collected in just 2 months ohmy.gif impressive! rclxms.gif
jiazheng93
post Apr 23 2021, 04:28 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(rhendy87 @ Apr 7 2021, 11:47 AM)
hi,between gateron black ink v2 and durock piano.Which switch sounds better or type better?frankly speaking i lazy to lube haha.its damm time consuming.
Go find lubing service from shopee. Service not bad and price also reasonable.
https://shopee.com.my/Lubing-Service-for-Me...3166.4768686935.

For me Ink Black sound better.
horns
post Apr 24 2021, 09:48 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

it becomes common that pre-cut plate and case foams are included as part of a kit these days. the main point of having these foams is to fill up gaps between top plate and pcb, and between pcb and the case. these foams help absorb vibrations during typing, resulting in cleaner key sound, and at the same time, making the typing feel relatively 'solid'.

the effectiveness of the mod depends mainly on construction of a board. hence, you will notice that there are boards that don't show obvious improvements after the mods are applied. materials of which the foams are made most of the times do not contribute much. (there are differences, but not significant)

a note on the thickness of plate foam: the optimal thickness of a plate foam depends on top plate thickness,
1. for mx style switches, the combined thickness of plate and foam is 5mm. (so that switches can be installed properly) since the usual thickness of top plates is 1.5mm, the optimal thickness for plate foams is 3.5mm. if your plate is 4mm thick, then you need 1mm-thick foam.
2. if the foam is too thick, the switches might not be able to sit flush on the pcb; if it's too thin, there is no direct contact of foam between plate and pcb, resulting in less effective absorption of vibrations.
3. also, pre-cut foams are to offer convenience. in cases where you cannot find the suitable foam for your plate, you can always make it manually.

finally, the mod is reversible and optional, applied based on individual preferences. if you don't need it, don't apply it. it's ok to do that.

edit: lesson learned - use light-colored cases to check key alignment. the space bar is so off for this build.

This post has been edited by horns: Apr 24 2021, 12:07 PM
Currylaksa
post Apr 24 2021, 11:27 AM

1,616 posts

Alamak I am dumb doh.gif Keys punyer 105 is under GPL Lubricating Oil section
horns
post Apr 24 2021, 10:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

good news: the Korean group buy of ALEXI, hosted by geon, is live currently. if you missed out the previous Malaysian-only group buy of this 63-key ergo kit made by Hafiz, 10 additional slots are now available for a limited time.
Skylinestar
post Apr 26 2021, 10:00 AM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

looking for shine through keycap for my rgb tecware kb. any good place/links to buy? shine through key cap seems hard to find.
IIIIIIIIIIII
post Apr 26 2021, 12:28 PM

anyone manage to buy leopold at malaysia with korean legend?
IIIIIIIIIIII
post Apr 26 2021, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 26 2021, 10:00 AM)
looking for shine through keycap for my rgb tecware kb. any good place/links to buy? shine through key cap seems hard to find.
https://kprepublic.com/collections/pbt-back-lit-keycaps

https://kprepublic.com/collections/pbt-back...blue-white-grey

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/tecware-...555d0HKDNm&mp=1

This post has been edited by IIIIIIIIIIII: Apr 26 2021, 12:33 PM
lucifer93
post Apr 27 2021, 02:20 AM

127 posts

Hi..

What is a good alternative for XD84?
Few criteria I'm aiming for
- 84keys
- Flat typing angle
- LED, optional
niakulah
post Apr 27 2021, 09:53 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(lucifer93 @ Apr 27 2021, 02:20 AM)
Hi..

What is a good alternative for XD84?
Few criteria I'm aiming for
- 84keys
- Flat typing angle
- LED, optional
XD84 has an alu case that can lay flat.

https://kprepublic.com/products/anodized-al...brace-supporter

This post has been edited by niakulah: Apr 27 2021, 09:56 AM
horns
post Apr 27 2021, 11:17 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

for those who are interested in what affect keyboard sound, http://blacksimon.tv/science

it covers a lot of things. i mean, a lot. in general, the combination of all these makes the final keyboard sound and feel. some are significant contributors, some are not, depending on factors explained in the sheets.

these days, most people are oversimplifying things, giving false and subjective assumptions and all. imo it's better to get to know more about mkb science, so that you can differentiate better about which is which.

125 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:02 AM