95 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Deluge, for Linux and Windows!

TSpraveenmarkandu
post Aug 10 2007, 03:25 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Aug 10 2007, 02:53 PM)
They are working on a windows port but no timeline on when it will be done.

Chances are once it is released on windows, tmnut will throttle it in a month or two.
they cant packet shape what the packets they cant read. im pretty sure thats how it works

Added on August 10, 2007, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(JamesPond @ Aug 10 2007, 03:21 PM)
any step by step instruction?
step by step instructions for what? linux or deluge?
if you already have a common disto of linux all you have to do is download the deb or rpm file. run it and its there.
if you want step by step guides to install linux, there are tones of tutorials online. like i said before, i recommend ubuntu. the least painless of them all.

This post has been edited by praveenmarkandu: Aug 10 2007, 03:31 PM
precursor80
post Aug 10 2007, 03:56 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(praveenmarkandu @ Aug 10 2007, 03:25 PM)
they cant packet shape what the packets they cant read. im pretty sure thats how it works
Heh. I think they can read the packets alright since it's still using the standard bittorrent protocol. tongue.gif
Deluge and ktorrent are using the same encryption method as azureus/bitcomet/utorrent or they wouldn't be able to communicate with those clients when encryption is enabled/forced.

Since the other clients are already having throttling issues, it is very probable that deluge and ktorrent can be blocked if and when they choose to.

Anyways, what I want to say is that do not be surprised when this is blocked too.

Conspiracy theory:
Could it be the linux only clients have not be blocked due to screamyx employees using these to bypass the throttling? tongue.gif
Note that the other linux java client that can also run on windows is throttled.
robb234
post Aug 10 2007, 07:32 PM

106 posts

updated, been getting 50-110 kBps
so i guess it's all about the torrent, seeder, leecher and so on,
not the port setting smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

thx TS for showing deluge,
before this, i don't really boot up my ubuntu cos i don't really need it
now i do smile.gif
Crossbone
post Aug 10 2007, 07:42 PM

275 posts

hey praveenmarkandu

i tried to forward the ports used in deluge,when i click the "test active port"

it shows the TCP is closed,but UDP is opened.

Am i forwarding the ports correctly?
TSpraveenmarkandu
post Aug 10 2007, 10:14 PM

273 posts

probably not. but then again, its hard to say. deluge is a pretty new program and there are some kinks. for example my Active Port was set to 0 a few times for some reason.
make sure both UDP and TCP ports are forwarded on your router. dont know about other touters but DLink can do this
precursor80
post Aug 10 2007, 10:17 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Crossbone @ Aug 10 2007, 07:42 PM)
hey praveenmarkandu

i tried to forward the ports used in deluge,when i click the "test active port"

it shows the TCP is closed,but UDP is opened.

Am i forwarding the ports correctly?
Two things to check here.
1. Make sure the port forwarding settings on your router (if your using one) is set to Both TCP and UDP instead of just UDP.
2. Set rules on iptables (linux firewall) to allow connections thru the port you choose.
zubai
post Aug 10 2007, 10:44 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(robb234 @ Aug 10 2007, 12:17 PM)
yes i am behind router as well but it doesn't seem like i'm getting significant speed...
so anyone else here using default setting and get super speed ?
if yes, then maybe something wrong at my side here smile.gif

@zubai | aren't u getting 100 kBps ? i read ur previous post smile.gif
I did. But now the speed is down to 10-20kbps, i dunno why, haven't change any setting.. I did however got to 90kbps using ktorrent but also for a short while.
hpares
post Aug 10 2007, 11:06 PM

530 posts

Well is installing linux same as window xp? I mean the way install it? Does duo core e4400 support it? Coz mine not supporting window xp sp 1, only can install xp 2. I planning install linux in the same hdd as my window but different partition, So can or not? How bout anti virus? need install 1 more in linux OS? I really wanna try deluge.. Lolz. Sory for my noob question. And Ktorrent is for window? Coz i deno got OS name KDE. lolz.

This post has been edited by hpares: Aug 10 2007, 11:08 PM
Crossbone
post Aug 10 2007, 11:10 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Aug 10 2007, 10:17 PM)
Two things to check here.
1. Make sure the port forwarding settings on your router (if your using one) is set to Both TCP and UDP instead of just UDP.
yup,i forwarded both

2. Set rules on iptables (linux firewall) to allow connections thru the port you choose.

how do i do that?

meanwhile,am i doing it rite with this?

precursor80
post Aug 10 2007, 11:34 PM

260 posts

http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Feisty#...8Firestarter.29

Install firestarter if you'r a GUI person. tongue.gif
Press on the Disable Firewall button and then check if the port is open on Deluge.
If it is, this means you will need to add firewall rules to allow data thru the port. Or you may want to disable the firewall totally since your behind a router.

Hint:
It's under the Policy tab. Add rule for inbound.
Btw, you can go to Events tab and refresh to check if there are any blocked connections. Right clicking on the blocked connections can allow you to unblock it.

Added on August 10, 2007, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(hpares @ Aug 10 2007, 11:06 PM)
Well is installing linux same as window xp? I mean the way install it? Does duo core e4400 support it? Coz mine not supporting window xp sp 1, only can install xp 2. I planning install linux in the same hdd as my window but different partition, So can or not? How bout anti virus? need install 1 more in linux OS? I really wanna try deluge.. Lolz. Sory for my noob question. And Ktorrent is for window? Coz i deno got OS name KDE. lolz.
Yes. e4400 has no problems with linux.
You may want to look into wubi to help you install Ubuntu on windows if you're afraid to screw up the installation.
http://wubi-installer.org/

Regarding antivirus. Linux have their own antivirus too. tongue.gif
http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Feisty#Anti-virus

Ktorrent is currently for linux only. No news that they are porting over to windows.

KDE is a GUI for linux. Ubuntu is using Gnome for the GUI but you can install kde libraries on it too.

This post has been edited by precursor80: Aug 11 2007, 12:10 AM
vult2res
post Aug 11 2007, 02:30 AM

264 posts

hey guys, i tried to install deluge in ubuntu but it gives me dependency error. wats with that? how do i solve it?
precursor80
post Aug 11 2007, 02:52 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(vult2res @ Aug 11 2007, 02:30 AM)
hey guys, i tried to install deluge in ubuntu but it gives me dependency error. wats with that? how do i solve it?
http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Feisty#...ry_.28Stable.29

Run the second line listed there before installing the deluge package.

http://packages.ubuntu.com/edgy-backports/net/deluge-torrent
List of packages required to run deluge torrent. Make sure all of them are installed.
You can use System -> Administration -> Synaptic Package Manager to install the packages if you don't like using command line.

This post has been edited by precursor80: Aug 11 2007, 03:12 AM
vult2res
post Aug 11 2007, 03:38 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Aug 11 2007, 02:52 AM)
http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Feisty#...ry_.28Stable.29

Run the second line listed there before installing the deluge package.
http://packages.ubuntu.com/edgy-backports/net/deluge-torrent
List of packages required to run deluge torrent. Make sure all of them are installed.
You can use System -> Administration -> Synaptic Package Manager to install the packages if you don't like using command line.
umm how do u run it in ubuntu?mind to show me the steps?...sorry..abit noob with ubuntu..

Added on August 11, 2007, 5:43 amproblem solved..many thx..im dling in full speed now

This post has been edited by vult2res: Aug 11 2007, 05:43 AM
Crossbone
post Aug 11 2007, 07:01 PM

275 posts

why do i keep getting this error on some torrents?

This post has been edited by Crossbone: Aug 11 2007, 07:01 PM
precursor80
post Aug 11 2007, 07:37 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Crossbone @ Aug 11 2007, 07:01 PM)
why do i keep getting this error on some torrents?

I blame this on screamyx blocking access to certain trackers. Try the same torrent on utorrent and see if you can connect to the trackers.
From my experience, some trackers are only connectable after midnite unless you're using VPN services.

At the very least, you should be getting full speed on the torrents that manages to connect to trackers.

This post has been edited by precursor80: Aug 11 2007, 07:39 PM
Crossbone
post Aug 11 2007, 08:21 PM

275 posts

i keep getting that error from demonoid trackers
Xybirium
post Aug 11 2007, 11:51 PM

1,991 posts

Just wanted to let you all know that I am getting very, very good speed using Deluge. On average I get about 100kB/s if I am not browsing.

Started to use Ubuntu 7.04 a few days ago and the main purpose was to download torrent.
precursor80
post Aug 12 2007, 12:46 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(Crossbone @ Aug 11 2007, 08:21 PM)
i keep getting that error from demonoid trackers
http://www.demonoid.com/faq.php#dut_6

Looks like the remedy is to leave the torrent on and wait for it to connect to the tracker.

This post has been edited by precursor80: Aug 12 2007, 12:47 AM
TSpraveenmarkandu
post Aug 12 2007, 01:06 AM

273 posts

i have NEVER had a problem connecting to trackers using deluge.
precursor80
post Aug 12 2007, 01:26 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(praveenmarkandu @ Aug 12 2007, 01:06 AM)
i have NEVER had a problem connecting to trackers using deluge.
There's no need to be so defensive. Nobody is blaming you for anything. tongue.gif

Let's try to help find out what's wrong.

I have tried running Demonoid trackers torrents on different BT clients (Ktorrent, Deluge, utorrent) and have issues connecting to it.
Anyways, this only seem to happen Demonoid trackers. I do have a few running on utorrent that manages to connect after a while so probably should follow what the Demonoid FAQ says.

Anyone else wants to do some experiment to see if they can connect to Demonoid trackers?

95 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:52 PM