Q6600 Overclock and Temperature

iBenQ
post May 23 2009, 09:01 AM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ May 23 2009, 08:46 AM)
Anyone here abt to get their Q6600 up to 4Ghz? how many volts do you need to pump into your CPU to get it stable?
stress test stable i wasnt able to get... even with 1.7v... but 1.65v i can make it benchmark stable biggrin.gif
S16
post May 24 2009, 04:05 AM

153 posts

hi guys... currently im using gigabyte EP45-UD3L... Planning to change to Asus P5Q Pro...
my pc spec:
Q6600(G0)
Dominator 4GB ram

is it worth it for me to upgrade it? currently my proc OCed @ 3.3GHz @ 1.4V... but Vdrop till 1.360V... if i change my giga to asus, can i get higher Vdrop? with this mobo, with this mobo, whats the highest speed can i go? advice me plz Q6600 users.......................

This post has been edited by S16: May 24 2009, 04:10 AM
atomik
post May 24 2009, 04:20 AM

760 posts

asus p5q pro is good mobo, mine also user of p5q pro and i m new on q6600 go (just got it yesterday).

will update to ya when i start play with my new toy. (not so soon) cool2.gif

This post has been edited by atomik: May 24 2009, 04:20 AM
S16
post May 24 2009, 04:33 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(atomik @ May 24 2009, 04:20 AM)
asus p5q pro is good mobo, mine also user of p5q pro and i m new on q6600 go (just got it yesterday).

will update to ya when i start play with my new toy. (not so soon)  cool2.gif
ok bro........... waiting for ur OC result........ biggrin.gif
atomik
post May 24 2009, 04:41 AM

760 posts

mobo dead already. waiting for RMA. mad.gif
BurgerRI
post May 24 2009, 11:08 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(atomik @ May 24 2009, 04:41 AM)
mobo dead already. waiting for RMA.  mad.gif
Ops..your mobo died pretty quickly....does it have GTL control settings in the bios?

iBenQ, are u running on 4Ghz regularly? 1.6V? i reckon that would shorten the lifespan of the proc pretty quickly...
atomik
post May 24 2009, 11:27 AM

760 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ May 24 2009, 11:08 AM)
Ops..your mobo died pretty quickly....does it have GTL control settings in the bios?
iBenQ, are u running on 4Ghz regularly? 1.6V? i reckon that would shorten the lifespan of the proc pretty quickly...
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/asus_p5q_pro/3.htm

the links for reference.
i read last night forum on Q6600 (on other website), they said kinda hard to kill the proc. for 4GHz, i think might kill the proc. sweat.gif sory for noob question, i m new on Q core.

anyway, 4GHz on WC or AC, kinda interested to know ur setting drool.gif
BurgerRI
post May 24 2009, 11:59 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(atomik @ May 24 2009, 11:27 AM)
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/asus_p5q_pro/3.htm

the links for reference.
i read last night forum on Q6600 (on other website), they said kinda hard to kill the proc. for 4GHz, i think might kill the proc.  sweat.gif  sory for noob question, i m new on Q core.

anyway, 4GHz on WC or AC, kinda interested to know ur setting  drool.gif
The thing the 2 factors that kills procs the quickest are high voltages to the CPU Core and constantly high core temps. Of course having high Core V's also contribute to higher temps. I'm running my quaddie at 3.6Ghz on a daily basis with 1.36-1.37V and the temps are around 52C with all 4 cores running at 100%. Using water cooling by the way.

I've tried 4Ghz but had to use around 1.5-1.6 V's but didnt run at that speed for long.

This post has been edited by BurgerRI: May 24 2009, 11:59 AM
uzairi
post May 27 2009, 02:37 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

My q6600 3.6ghz @ 1.45v + 4850 in CF mode load around 75c sweat.gif

I need a separate loop for the 4850 CF soon doh.gif
lichyetan
post May 27 2009, 04:54 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ May 27 2009, 02:37 PM)

bro, all in a single bix II ?

bro, u still remember forumer named spirit of demon ? he selling BIX III now, dunno still available onot though... smile.gif
whuffy_aniki
post May 28 2009, 05:52 AM

104 posts

hi guys im newbie for oc,is it ok to oc with these setting?
frequency:333x9
vcore:1.41v
Dickong
post May 28 2009, 06:42 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(whuffy_aniki @ May 28 2009, 05:52 AM)
hi guys im newbie for oc,is it ok to oc with these setting?
frequency:333x9
vcore:1.41v
The setting is ok but why wont set to 400x9 it shouldn't be a problem, secondly you vcore voltage is too high, i have try it before for 400x9=3.6g vcore setting at 1.325v. Try set it that way n see.
whuffy_aniki
post May 28 2009, 06:47 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ May 28 2009, 06:42 AM)
The setting is ok but why wont set to 400x9 it shouldn't be a problem, secondly you vcore voltage is too high, i have try it before for 400x9=3.6g vcore setting at 1.325v. Try set it that way n see.
yo sifu,long time no c notworthy.gif..ok ill try now
*-a|i3n-*
post May 28 2009, 11:34 AM

I'm who i'm
681 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ May 27 2009, 02:37 PM)

i saw ur siggy cpuz 4.05 ghz sweat.gif

now so far i can go is 3.2ghz ( yesterday night just get my proc xD)

today will try kao kao with it xD~

after changing ram i think can reach run more than 3.2ghz
8tvt
post May 28 2009, 03:58 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

wow so many got Q6600 nowadays..
so the default vcore is 1.3v.. got any lower?
ahsiah
post May 28 2009, 04:32 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

I set the vcore as 1.2650 and able to achieve 400*8 FSB as 3.2Ghz. Happy with the result.

Unfortunately, I required 1.5125v to achieve 400*9 3.6Ghz to get LinX stable for 25 times.
8tvt
post May 28 2009, 04:43 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

nice.. very hot or not?
gamers maniac
post May 28 2009, 05:07 PM

Casual Gamers
1,070 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 28 2009, 03:58 PM)
wow so many got Q6600 nowadays..
so the default vcore is 1.3v.. got any lower?
this is the cheapest quad core in the market.. thumbup.gif
pl4tinum
post May 29 2009, 01:47 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ May 28 2009, 05:32 PM)
I set the vcore as 1.2650 and able to achieve 400*8 FSB as 3.2Ghz. Happy with the result.

Unfortunately, I required 1.5125v to achieve 400*9 3.6Ghz to get LinX stable for 25 times.
tongue.gif i tried mine at ur voltage with the same settings as soon as i start p95 straightaway my pc show me the blue blue screen of happiness tongue.gif
8tvt
post May 29 2009, 09:12 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(pl4tinum @ May 29 2009, 01:47 AM)
tongue.gif i tried mine at ur voltage with the same settings as soon as i start p95 straightaway my pc show me the blue blue screen of happiness  tongue.gif
same mobo? could be ram..

102 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:13 AM