I think the best mobo for quaddies is still those intel P35's...my 680i cant run quadies past 390FSB....now need to fork out for a P35...darn...whats the recommended P35 mobo?
Q6600 Overclock and Temperature
Aug 10 2007, 09:47 PM
905 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
I think the best mobo for quaddies is still those intel P35's...my 680i cant run quadies past 390FSB....now need to fork out for a P35...darn...whats the recommended P35 mobo?
Aug 11 2007, 08:31 PM
arj, what mobo are you using? I'm thinking of grabbing the p5k premium, anyone know if any shops in lyp are selling this mobo?
Added on August 11, 2007, 8:36 pmjust read that x38 based mobo's are out in sept 07... thats just next month..might as well hang on for a while more... This post has been edited by BurgerRI: Aug 11 2007, 08:36 PM |
Aug 12 2007, 11:47 AM
[quote=remysix,Aug 12 2007, 08:48 AM]
well...my P35-DQ6 is Quadcore optimized...i'm not sure whether gigabyte means the board or actually the P35 is quadcore optimized...currently running OCCT at 3.4G@1.375v, drooped to 1.344vcore...load temp is around 53-55c...love it... i'm looking at 3.6G on daily setup...hope can do that...just installed the xigmatek s1283 last nite...the performance, it's far better than my geminiII Hey remy, you should be able to hit 4.0Ghz weith your DQ6...go for it...up the fsb |
Aug 12 2007, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(irenic @ Aug 12 2007, 10:46 AM) yups.. in terms of quad core overclocking, p35 is if not better but on par with 680i chipset.. which is far better than 965 and of coz 975.. Hmm...actually certain 680i mobo's is okay for quad core OC, but like irenic mentioned, it takes tweaking to get it running fine. and further more there are a couple of revisions of the 680i and so far i think only EVGA has released the tweaked version that supports OC'ing quadcore properly, their A1 rev...all the other 680i manufacturer's could give a rats ass abt newer revisions..even the asus striker extreme wont be able to OC quadies to their max potential. But for those brave enough, there is a V Gtl mod on the net for most 680i's.... and what makes p35 better than its 680i is the simplicity.. no need painful tweaking like the nforce one.. so gengstapo, bile lagi :-" This post has been edited by BurgerRI: Aug 12 2007, 11:52 AM |
May 6 2008, 11:04 PM
Just did a quick run with my Q6600, managed to get prime stable for 2 hours and did a quick super pi 1mb screen shot.
![]() |
May 8 2008, 04:05 PM
I think our quadies would be happier under some water instead of air....
May 9 2008, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(anggajaya @ May 9 2008, 01:44 PM) euh2ue, try to run it under at least voltage 1.48 in bios... U see how the temp goes up..hue2uhe Haha, water's the way to go. I see quite a few waterblocks available in the garage setion, couple of rads also for sale there, only missing component would be the pump.... I jus added a delta fan and an ADDA fan.. the temp went down 5c compared to the beginning, Now I initially can get around 60-61 at full load at 1.48 in bios... argh, who wants to downgrade to this guys? I need a budget liquid cooler system..ehu2uhe |
May 12 2008, 08:33 PM
DFI mobo's are great OC mobo's for most proc's....the BIOS is so flexible....
May 13 2008, 11:42 PM
May 16 2008, 06:27 PM
getting a proc is like lottery....you never know when your going to end up with a gem or lemon...but a good indication of your proc's OC ability would be the VID, the lower the better...again its not a sure bet...
May 25 2008, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(VT-Ten @ May 24 2008, 11:30 PM) stress test stable for 2+ hours with 333x9 1.28vcore. Nice OC, I'm sure your able to go higher since your using a G0 Stepping proc, bump up the FSB and Vcore need to stop the stress coz need to use the pc to burn dvd. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
May 25 2008, 10:45 PM
The Asus P5N32-E SLI, absolutely hates quad cores, contemplated on doing the mods to be able to modify the GTL voltages, someone from XtremeSystems forum did this mod, but finally just too darn lazy, sell the darn mobo and get something more quad core friendly...
May 26 2008, 10:49 AM
The problem with the P5N32-E SLI when it comes to OC'ing quadies is not a software or BIOS related issue, its tied to their hardware design and thats why some other 680i mobo manufacturer such as XFX came up with a new revision to address the GTL issues. But for asus.......thats why I'm never going to be getting another asus mobo again....lol
Jun 3 2008, 12:27 PM
The Q6600 generates huge amounts of heat...when compared to my E2160 with both running at 3Ghz and the Vcore of the E2160 at least 0.15V higher, them temps are still at least 10C higher....
Jun 13 2008, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(William_Yeo @ Jun 13 2008, 02:48 PM) hi Sifus, For OC'ing Quadies....the range of mobo's that can stably OC'em to something respectable like 3.6Ghz are normally based on the P35 chipsets and above, there are quite a few choices around.....of course you can try to use older chipsets but will normally need more time tweaking and mucking around in the BIOS.I planning to get a Q6600. Is the G0 version out at the market ? Pls recommend a mobo wif the budget around RM400. Which allow me to perform some basic OC. Thanks in advance for the answer.... really noob in OC... |
Jun 17 2008, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 17 2008, 04:57 PM) Just change my FSB to from 266mhz to 333mhz for my Q6600. Don't even dare to push it further since I'm using air cooling with Asus Silent Knight II and Arctic Cooling MX2 TIM. This is the result after 10 mins of Prime95 using SmallFFT. Nice clocks....but I'm sure you can bump up the FSB [attachmentid=500585] hehe |
Jun 17 2008, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 17 2008, 08:18 PM) Thanks for your suggestion but I usually have my PC on for 24/7. Don't wanna shorten the life of my comp even further. hehe The temp is nice for its not ment for long term use also...as I was using a high CFM delta fan....boy way it noisey...for long term use at 3.6Ghz its better to use water cooling....much much quieter and also cooler...3.6Ghz with 65C on air is nice. Whats the VID of your proc? |
Jun 24 2008, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 24 2008, 02:33 PM) Yeah, small FFT's will test very little RAM and mainly stress the CPU, very good for ensuring CPU & Mobo stability at a particular OC without really testing alot of RAM. Large FFT's will stress lotsa RAM and also the CPU and Mobo. So for lazy ppl like me, I just straight run a large FFT stress test...lol..Added on June 24, 2008, 3:58 pm QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jun 24 2008, 08:13 AM) mind telling me the actual difference between the two options? Darkangel...the FSB speeds that your OC will be stable at depends largely on your mobo....what mobo are you using?btw, last night i bumped up my bios vcore to 1.375v and primed with large FFTs 9x333. primed over 8 hours and no errors, then stop d. 8x375. primed for 3 hours and no errors then i stop it coz need to come to work this morning. core temp shows 68C 68C 65C 65C maybe tonight run again with the 8x375 @1.375v setting using the small FFTs this time. if can run more than 5 hours, i think should be fine already right? maybe can try 8x400 next haha. dont know can push that much on the fsb or not This post has been edited by BurgerRI: Jun 24 2008, 03:58 PM |
Jul 1 2008, 04:37 PM
jeromeccm.......very nice max load temps....are you able to go any higher with the Biostar I45?
Jul 22 2008, 11:24 PM
akustuk, the intel q6600 proc does not like nvidia 680i mobo's or at least the earlier revisions of those mobo's. The oc'ablity of the q6600 when mounted on a 680i mobo is pretty bad, max stable oc is normally around 3.1Ghz and below.... so if your keen to OC your Q6600, i suggest you change to a mobo based on the P35, X38 or X48 chipsets.
of course your cap ayam psu also needs to be upgraded as the Q6600 is a power hungry beastie.... |
| Change to: | 0.0422sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:56 PM |