102 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Q6600 Overclock and Temperature

remysix
post Jul 14 2008, 12:06 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Jul 14 2008, 11:23 AM)
you'r using 9 multi,
so ur fsb is still low, most probably is still lack of juices on vcore.

try a step higher, maybe 1.325v (if temp. allows)

i don't think 3xx fsb , needs to pump nb to stable.
agreed. i dont think u need to touch the NB voltage yet with that setting. It seems that you have a weak core (at least one of them). Prolly u need to pump up the vcore to 1.325 or even 1.35v...and once u got it stable at that vcore, try to find the lowest possible vcore. it think ur xigmatek still can hold the heat. btw, have u tried 400x8?
k!nex
post Jul 14 2008, 12:11 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

if i do 400X8,means i've to slam more speed into my RAM as well rite?problem is i'm using KVR.all i noe is both my ram is same(bought at same time),using epilda chipset.i kind of regret tht i din get 4 sticks of hynix FP-Y5 wif my rig(KVR also but only available in 1gb DDR667 sticks).i've no idea wats the best speed my ram can do.thts y i go for high multiplier lower FSB setting.anyone has the same ram as mine?
remysix
post Jul 14 2008, 02:27 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jul 14 2008, 12:11 PM)
if i do 400X8,means i've to slam more speed into my RAM as well rite?problem is i'm using KVR.all i noe is both my ram is same(bought at same time),using epilda chipset.i kind of regret tht i din get 4 sticks of hynix FP-Y5 wif my rig(KVR also but only available in 1gb DDR667 sticks).i've no idea wats the best speed my ram can do.thts y i go for high multiplier lower FSB setting.anyone has the same ram as mine?
then, I think you have not properly follow the OC steps (i'm no expert in this area either). you need to know what is the 'wall' for your mobo chipset and ram first then start to oc ur proc within those boundary. if you dont have these figure, then it will be problematic for you to eliminate ur mobo chipset and ram from the 'culprit list' when u got problem on stress test.
anwyay, try to bump ur vcore to 1.35 and run the stress test. if stable, work ur way down to find the lowest stable vcore. if not, then again dunno whether it's due to your ram, chipset or proc. doh.gif
tkh_1001
post Jul 14 2008, 06:51 PM

2,547 posts

or maybe try with prime95 small fft only.... that stresses ur proc only .....

btw, i dont think ur ram will hold u back for 400x8 and 1:1 ratio config cos ur ram is rated to run stable at 800mhz wink.gif
k!nex
post Jul 14 2008, 07:10 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

OCCT at auto setting was stable wif 400X8.RAM 900+mhz also ok it seems. din hang at all YET after 1 hr.Vcore set to 1.3v.
But, when i was greedy,i set to 400X9, Vcore up to 1.4V. OCCT start few second already BSOD.Compare prime95 and OCCT, i feel tht Prime95 makes the proc hotter than OCCT.i get max 56C for OCCT, prime95 can go up to 59C at full load

btw, i found out smtg tht even if the processor batch is same,(mine is L802A768) the VID is different among the procs.mine rated at 1.275V.
coz i found dis:
http://forum.coolaler.com/showthread.php?t=179684
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Jul 15 2008, 07:13 AM

336 posts

Run 400*8 at 1.2v only drool.gif ....
akustuk
post Jul 22 2008, 11:18 PM

47 posts

elllo.....noob question here...izit psu will effect the percentage of succes in oc?..this is my rig

q6600 go
colorful nvidia 680i lt
corsair ddr2 667mhz 2g *1
psu CAP AYAM rm35 tongue.gif

i only got max at 3.15 (350*9 @1.35v @50c) but got soundf prob when running game...
the stable one at 2.97ghz (330*9 @1.35v @50c)

do i need to change my psu?
BurgerRI
post Jul 22 2008, 11:24 PM

905 posts

akustuk, the intel q6600 proc does not like nvidia 680i mobo's or at least the earlier revisions of those mobo's. The oc'ablity of the q6600 when mounted on a 680i mobo is pretty bad, max stable oc is normally around 3.1Ghz and below.... so if your keen to OC your Q6600, i suggest you change to a mobo based on the P35, X38 or X48 chipsets.

of course your cap ayam psu also needs to be upgraded as the Q6600 is a power hungry beastie....
akustuk
post Aug 9 2008, 01:02 PM

47 posts

i've checked it on internet...q6600 go use less power than Pentim D...y??
OC4/3
post Aug 9 2008, 02:23 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(akustuk @ Aug 9 2008, 01:02 PM)
i've checked it on internet...q6600 go use less power than Pentim D...y??
Q6600 is base on core architecture while PD is base on netburst aquaculture

wookp
post Aug 9 2008, 04:47 PM

497 posts

hi there,
I am currently using a T-Power I45 mobo and max i could achieve is 3.2Ghz. Vcore at approx 1.32V at 9X Using xigmatek red scorpion...Any sifu's here can teach how to get more ar? coz if i change fsb i get BSOD...
BurgerRI
post Aug 9 2008, 05:10 PM

905 posts

Try increasing your Vcore....I'm able to run at Vcore at 1.38V with FSB at 450mhz and Multiplier at X8. Running stable.

Also check if your mobo bios supports tweaking of the GTL and cpu VTT voltages as thats sometimes necessary to gain further stability for quaddies.

LExus65
post Aug 9 2008, 10:09 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

BurgerRI not every q6600 can do 3.6ghz at that voltage
BurgerRI
post Aug 10 2008, 12:00 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Aug 9 2008, 10:09 PM)
BurgerRI not every q6600 can do 3.6ghz at that voltage
I never said that all Q6600 could run at 3.6Ghz at my voltage, I'm just sharing my setting. I'm just giving suggestions on how he could increase his OC... doh.gif
akustuk
post Aug 10 2008, 04:32 AM

47 posts

can u tell me ur rig spec

This post has been edited by akustuk: Aug 10 2008, 04:33 AM
Braynumb
post Aug 10 2008, 09:18 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

My setup (check my siggy) can OC max so far at 3.5GHz 389x9 with 1.55v. But the load temps are scary though. 71-73'c. now still trying to find better settings so that can OC higher. Any advice anyone? icon_question.gif

Currently running at 3.2GHz for daily use (400x8 with 1.4v).

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

*Update*
Currently OCed to 3.5GHz with new max load temps! 65-69'C! But somehow, can't seem to go higher than this... any advice?? which vcore reading should i be looking at? in CPU-Z or in bios??

This post has been edited by Braynumb: Aug 10 2008, 10:55 PM
k!nex
post Aug 11 2008, 07:39 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Aug 9 2008, 04:47 PM)
hi there,
I am currently using a T-Power I45 mobo and max i could achieve is 3.2Ghz. Vcore at approx 1.32V at 9X Using xigmatek red scorpion...Any sifu's here can teach how to get more ar? coz if i change fsb i get BSOD...
lower ur multiplier to 8X. from my own experience, i do better wif 8X multiplier than 9x.

Added on August 11, 2008, 7:43 pm
QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 10 2008, 09:18 PM)
My setup (check my siggy) can OC max so far at 3.5GHz 389x9 with 1.55v. But the load temps are scary though. 71-73'c. now still trying to find better settings so that can OC higher. Any advice anyone? icon_question.gif

Currently running at 3.2GHz for daily use (400x8 with 1.4v).

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

*Update*
Currently OCed to 3.5GHz with new max load temps! 65-69'C! But somehow, can't seem to go higher than this... any advice?? which vcore reading should i be looking at? in CPU-Z or in bios??

hv u tried to pull out 2 piece of ur RAM for OC ??i've seen ppl's comment abt if u put 4 sticks of RAM,it will lower ur OC abit.ur load temp is really scary blink.gif
maybe different batch batch of Q6600,i only need to set 1.29V at bios for 400X8 setting.btw, ur proc is almost same like kmarc's one judging from the voltage and frequency u get. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 11 2008, 07:43 PM
Braynumb
post Aug 11 2008, 10:23 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

hehehe... probably coz Kmarc is my sifu leh... hehehe... learned alot from him actually...

never heard about removing the ram trick... might try that next week.. for now just use it at 3.2GHz... safer and better...

well, I set in the bios is 1.4v but in CPU-z it's 1.23... that's alot of vdroop... but, it's stable, so, it's good to me...
k!nex
post Aug 12 2008, 02:52 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 11 2008, 10:23 PM)
hehehe... probably coz Kmarc is my sifu leh... hehehe... learned alot from him actually...

never heard about removing the ram trick... might try that next week.. for now just use it at 3.2GHz... safer and better...

well, I set in the bios is 1.4v but in CPU-z it's 1.23... that's alot of vdroop... but, it's stable, so, it's good to me...
ur vdroop... shocking.gif
wats ur temp at 3.2 ghz?
mine is around 29C at idle,58C at 100% load.
i set 1.29 at bios, cpuz reads at 1.24 idle and 1.184-1.2V at load(prime95 blend test).
i wanna see how good is ur 12cm xigmatek, i feel like switching to red scorpion also laugh.gif
subrok007
post Aug 12 2008, 05:43 PM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

on stock HSF, and on stock clock with G0 stepping, enable speedstep....my cpu idle temp get 43c..is it normal?

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by subrok007: Aug 12 2008, 05:47 PM

102 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:12 PM