126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here

dzi921
post Sep 23 2007, 08:43 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Sep 22 2007, 09:29 PM)
man. use less than a month began to have 1 dead pixel on my screen dee ohmy.gif

is this normal or dells product fault shakehead.gif
How to test whether the LCD has dead pixel?
SUSDavid83
post Sep 23 2007, 09:16 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Sep 23 2007, 08:43 AM)
How to test whether the LCD has dead pixel?
There's software to do so ... if it's too obvious, it can be seen on the LCD itself depends on how big and many of the dead pixel(s).
Lance8431
post Sep 23 2007, 10:18 AM

282 posts

just one small dot so far. grumble.gif
at first tot is dust or anything i go wipe it, but feeling weird wipe wipe oso cant get it off, then i notice is dead pixel doh.gif

This post has been edited by Lance8431: Sep 23 2007, 10:18 AM
djlah
post Sep 23 2007, 10:19 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 22 2007, 11:36 PM)
Call the CS or TS to clarify with their warranty policy on LCD dead pixel.
the policy for the industry standard is >5 dead pixels or 2 joints pixels are entitle to claims for standard warranty

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 23 2007, 09:16 AM)
There's software to do so ... if it's too obvious, it can be seen on the LCD itself depends on how big and many of the dead pixel(s).
it's easiest way is run the hardware test to clarify it and connect external monitor to compare if available.

sanzo86
post Sep 23 2007, 05:52 PM

51 posts

how to make a partition?
SUSDavid83
post Sep 23 2007, 05:53 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(sanzo86 @ Sep 23 2007, 05:52 PM)
how to make a partition?
Use software like Partition Magic ...
Darkmage12
post Sep 23 2007, 11:43 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Sep 23 2007, 10:19 AM)
the policy for the industry standard is >5 dead pixels or 2 joints pixels are entitle to claims for standard warranty
it's easiest way is run the hardware test to clarify it and connect external monitor to compare if available.
easy to compare? i really dunno how to see
djlah
post Sep 24 2007, 12:36 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 23 2007, 11:43 PM)
easy to compare? i really dunno how to see
connect a external monitor just to narrow down the issue, whether is really a LCD faulty or not.
we may refer about deal pixels: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dead_pixel
Andy-7M
post Sep 24 2007, 12:59 AM

Hello there,

my name's Andy and I'm a new 1520 Inspiron black owner and fan from middle Europe.

I got my laptop two weeks ago and screwed win vista after couple of days while trying to
use partition magic (although the OS warning me). So, I deleted everything and installed
a fresh copy of Win XP pro w/ SP2.

Got all the drivers, so there are no errors or questionmarks under device manager or
event manager. The BIOS is also tunned as some of you mentioned in the first post. Also, it's flashed and up to date.
Everything's looks pretty smooth and cosy. But...

I haven't got much of opportunities to burn CDs or DVDs recently until today. I try and burn a CD-R only to
find out that it's empty
. Actually, my girlfriend can see it's empty on her asus laptop while mine laptop
gets tired of trying to read something from the CD it wrote to. I tried switching the media to Verbatim CD-R and still no luck.
And while I was trying to verify data written, Nero prompted that it will discontinue error check due to too much errors.
Oh wel... I've read that Nero 7 is kinda buggy... Next Nero 7 was removed from the system. I will probably try to burn
once again using Nero 6 but... I doubt that it will help. Just didn't attempt to write any of DVD yet.

A couple of minutes ago I erased one of my 4X speed CD-RWs using Windows XP integrated right-mouse-menu command and then
dragged and dropped a video of 150MB. Burned with no errors, but still, could only open it to see it's empty.

What's the problem guys? Any ideas? Faulty writer? Any other solutions than bringing the laptop to the service center?

In any case, I got error log from Nero. Maybe that could explain in more details if anybody would be willing to help.

A million thanks in advance. I would appreciate any input.

A.

p.s. the two attachements: the log and the picture, generated while Nero6 failed to check the written CD-RW.
Attached File  Log.txt ( 22.92k ) Number of downloads: 0

This post has been edited by Andy-7M: Sep 24 2007, 01:15 AM
kezman
post Sep 24 2007, 01:44 AM

992 posts

^ same prob with me...i can onli burn into cd rw..but not into cdr...the disc will remain empty...
Jun X18
post Sep 24 2007, 03:20 AM

Hello, I am new to this thread.
I am also a 1520 owner, bought mine almost 2 months ago.

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Sep 22 2007, 09:29 PM)
man. use less than a month began to have 1 dead pixel on my screen dee ohmy.gif

is this normal or dells product fault shakehead.gif
which warranty option you chose? Get it fixed or replaced.

Added on September 24, 2007, 4:59 am
QUOTE(kingmax @ Sep 19 2007, 12:57 AM)
What kind of sound ? is it the mose code sound 'teee , tiii , teee'  ?
how do you solve that prob? rmclock?

This post has been edited by Jun X18: Sep 24 2007, 04:59 AM
dzi921
post Sep 24 2007, 08:21 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Andy-7M @ Sep 24 2007, 12:59 AM)
Hello there,

my name's Andy and I'm a new 1520 Inspiron black owner and fan from middle Europe.

I got my laptop two weeks ago and screwed win vista after couple of days while trying to
use partition magic (although the OS warning me). So, I deleted everything and installed
a fresh copy of Win XP pro w/ SP2.

Got all the drivers, so there are no errors or questionmarks under device manager or
event manager. The BIOS is also tunned as some of you mentioned in the first post. Also, it's flashed and up to date.
Everything's looks pretty smooth and cosy. But...

I haven't got much of opportunities to burn CDs or DVDs recently until today. I try and burn a CD-R only to
find out that it's empty
. Actually, my girlfriend can see it's empty on her asus laptop while mine laptop
gets tired of trying to read something from the CD it wrote to. I tried switching the media to Verbatim CD-R and still no luck.
And while I was trying to verify data written, Nero prompted that it will discontinue error check due to too much errors.
Oh wel... I've read that Nero 7 is kinda buggy... Next Nero 7 was removed from the system. I will probably try to burn
once again using Nero 6 but... I doubt that it will help. Just didn't attempt to write any of DVD yet.

A couple of minutes ago I erased one of my 4X speed CD-RWs using Windows XP integrated right-mouse-menu command and then
dragged and dropped a video of 150MB. Burned with no errors, but still, could only open it to see it's empty.

What's the problem guys? Any ideas? Faulty writer? Any other solutions than bringing the laptop to the service center?

In any case, I got error log from Nero. Maybe that could explain in more details if anybody would be willing to help.

A million thanks in advance. I would appreciate any input.

A.

p.s. the two attachements: the log and the picture, generated while Nero6 failed to check the written CD-RW.
Attached File  Log.txt ( 22.92k ) Number of downloads: 0

I'm on XP and using Nero.Burning.Rom.7.10.1.0
No problem with burning CDR, CDRW & DVDR

Maybe you have a hardware problem. You can try consult Dell helpdesk. Don't worry if it is under warranty, they will replace
sanzo86
post Sep 24 2007, 01:07 PM

51 posts

y we need to charge our battery more than 8 hours for the 1st time?

This post has been edited by sanzo86: Sep 24 2007, 01:07 PM
dzi921
post Sep 24 2007, 03:26 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(sanzo86 @ Sep 24 2007, 01:07 PM)
y we need to charge our battery more than 8 hours for the 1st time?
sweat.gif Got such thing? Didn't know...
sanzo86
post Sep 24 2007, 04:39 PM

51 posts

can i do partition by using the recovery disc? if can, can any1 teach me how to do it?
Darkmage12
post Sep 24 2007, 04:40 PM

17,053 posts

http://dellstore01.sg.dell.com/public/cata...17139224132903#

guys do check this bundle out.....it's kinda cheap drool.gif
dzi921
post Sep 24 2007, 05:17 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 24 2007, 04:40 PM)
http://dellstore01.sg.dell.com/public/cata...17139224132903#

guys do check this bundle out.....it's kinda cheap drool.gif
Linik not valid
Darkmage12
post Sep 24 2007, 06:58 PM

17,053 posts

dunno why the link cannot work already..... you go find the bundle accessories there
Andy-7M
post Sep 24 2007, 07:22 PM

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Sep 24 2007, 02:21 AM)
I'm on XP and using Nero.Burning.Rom.7.10.1.0
No problem with burning CDR, CDRW & DVDR

Maybe you have a hardware problem. You can try consult Dell helpdesk. Don't worry if it is under warranty, they will replace
Any way to test it in more details?

Well, I'm probably bringing it to the helpdesk, 'cause I can't imagine of any other way to test it...
The helpdesk told me to just bring the laptop.
dzi921
post Sep 24 2007, 09:08 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Andy-7M @ Sep 24 2007, 07:22 PM)
Any way to test it in more details?

Well, I'm probably bringing it to the helpdesk, 'cause I can't imagine of any other way to test it...
The helpdesk told me to just bring the laptop.
I don't know how to test

After you have call Dell, can you post how they tell you to test?

126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0288sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:20 AM