DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here

Lance8431
post Jul 29 2007, 04:30 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 29 2007, 02:18 PM)
1520 doesnt seem to work well in xp environment. it's designed to run vista. just my 2cent
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 29 2007, 02:24 PM)
Where got such thing! As long as you have all the compatible drivers, it should be working. Hardware should be independent of software as long as it's using the same architecture, IA-32 or IA-64.
Well, yes you can run xp in the new hardware yes, but when it comes to less resource required xp the machine tends to "overworked" its application, such as when u run too fast you tends to have more chances to get tripped, same theory.

Like my friend using his vista designed hp, when he installed windows, sometimes they unzipped a file too fast until missed out a few spots, program cannot run, when unzip second time only can play. but when installed back to vista non of this minor mistakes happens. When the lappie runs too fast in a less workload environment it tends to made mistakes more than when it is bundled with loads of work.

As in gaming wise, NFS carbon played in xp has more errors than in vista. Just my 2cents, might not be the truth but it applies in a few situation.
Lance8431
post Aug 1 2007, 01:39 PM

282 posts

Has anyone succesfully dual boot their 1520 yet? was gonna get me self one during this coming pc fair. gonna dual boot it for gaming purpose tongue.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 6 2007, 10:26 AM

282 posts

1520 owner gonnabe reporting in biggrin.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 6 2007, 06:06 PM

282 posts

Confirm of the ETA for my laptop, 3 weeks for midnight blue cry.gif doh.gif sweat.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 20 2007, 08:39 PM

282 posts

well, just got my blue 1520 and play on it. so far so good la. just the hard disk clickin sound, light leakage on below and a slight leak at the top of the screen. Love the speakers, at least sound quality better than before ones. (my sis using 630m) overall, loving it thumbup.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2007, 02:14 PM

282 posts

hmm... got a question here, what kind of codec you guys get for the vista? any good codecs compatible with vista you guys using? Please recomend some here. Thanks in advance
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2007, 02:23 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Aug 21 2007, 02:22 PM)
try K-Lite Mega Codec ... very good ...

codecguide.com    thumbup.gif
thx bro notworthy.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2007, 08:21 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(machine85 @ Aug 21 2007, 03:48 PM)
Hmm, to all those whom order 1520 during PC fair, how many have received the lappy while how many more havent?

bah, there were some delay in the credit card approval so i was delay 1 week, but ever since my sales rep gave me my order no. and customer no., and i check online status, it says "work in progress" 15Aug.

Today's 21st and that page has not been updated, the estimated delivery date is 23 it says.

So shall i call or just sit and be hopeful that it comes in 2 days time (doubtful thou) :S
mine was delivered to my home after one week, maybe because my dad was buying a desktop with this as well gua, then they processed faster to send together.
The order was posted on the monday after pc fair where the order still on, then the next week monday it arrive at my home dee.
I think its a case per case basis, some get earlier, some get later. initially the SA says my laptop need to wait 3 weeks, but then it came in and surprised me.
Lance8431
post Aug 21 2007, 08:48 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Aug 21 2007, 08:33 PM)
my friend is suffering from a problem which is far worse than yours.......but luckily my 1 is running pretty well smile.gif
mine still ok so far, no any major noticeble lag, just once in a while.
Lance8431
post Aug 22 2007, 03:42 PM

282 posts

my messenger not lag wor? hmm.gif
weird laugh.gif
Lance8431
post Aug 30 2007, 09:11 PM

282 posts

hao, the 163.44 driver u put here right, i either get the message it says my vista is not 32 bit (but my vista IS 32bit O.o) or say the software cant detect the driver to install, can you please assist me in this?
Lance8431
post Sep 1 2007, 01:39 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Aug 31 2007, 12:23 AM)
Did you replaced the original inf file with the moded inf file before you install the driver?
how arh? tongue.gif sry, noob at here doh.gif
Lance8431
post Sep 1 2007, 02:45 PM

282 posts

rayman, hows ur debate with dell? i'm interested as well, the remote is use for movie, musics and presentation one is it? smile.gif
Lance8431
post Sep 2 2007, 08:23 PM

282 posts

Member - Colour

1. hao - Alphine White
2. Kezman - Midnight Blue
3. coolermistress - Jet Black
4. tankahhoe - Jet Black
5. tslim2531 - Alpine White
6. Raymann Lucas- Ruby Red
7. vin89 - Ruby Red
8. ember(tm) - Jet Black
9. orenji_renji - Jet Black
10. Lance8431 - Midnight Blue
Lance8431
post Sep 3 2007, 02:16 PM

282 posts

hao, about the 163.44 version graphics update for geforce8600 i still facing the same problem after see the link u give me. not compatible or it says my windows is not 32bit rclxub.gif finish google out but cant find any solution yet cry.gif

by the way, after i reformatted my vista and change the partition and stuffs, i notice the blue tooth function was not included in the drivers. how did you guys turn it on after reformat your laptop? please do let me know k. thanks notworthy.gif
Lance8431
post Sep 3 2007, 02:41 PM

282 posts

haih, what to do, vista still not fixed yet...
Lance8431
post Sep 3 2007, 11:05 PM

282 posts

Hao, u know anything bout installing xp mah? just now i do as the first page said la, boot the CD halfway got installation error and BSOD sweat.gif
Lance8431
post Sep 6 2007, 06:27 PM

282 posts

well, i can heard the hard disk running sound too when at quiet environment.
Lance8431
post Sep 6 2007, 07:18 PM

282 posts

sweat.gif like this oso can ah doh.gif
Lance8431
post Sep 9 2007, 08:48 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 9 2007, 05:13 PM)
how come my name not updated 1? my pink colour
copy and paste and update urself dude. sleep.gif

0.0439sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:50 PM