126 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here

xin
post Sep 6 2007, 09:23 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

6400 is the earlier model from Dell and 1520 is the new model released .
raymannlucas
post Sep 7 2007, 02:01 AM

One Life, One Chance, One Try, No Retry
2,080 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Sep 6 2007, 07:00 PM)
When I first got the laptop I can hear that sound too. But after few days of using, now no more sound

Must be that time v*rgin hdd spinning, now loose liao  sweat.gif
hahaha....dzi921, u r really funny....

Added on September 7, 2007, 2:01 am
When I first got the laptop I can hear that sound too. But after few days of using, now no more sound

hahaha....dzi921, u r really funny....

This post has been edited by raymannlucas: Sep 7 2007, 02:01 AM
kimhoong
post Sep 7 2007, 01:21 PM

5,154 posts

So, I suppose it's alright with the sound after all. What if the sound never goes away? I think I will give sotong168's suggestion a try.
sotong168
post Sep 7 2007, 03:34 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 6 2007, 09:17 PM)
Quite? Or quiet?

What's the difference between the two modes?
hoho, it's quiet lar, i suppose "quiet" is a spin-down while "performance" makes hdd spin at full blast and thus faster but noisy?
xin
post Sep 7 2007, 08:49 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 7 2007, 03:34 PM)
hoho, it's quiet lar, i suppose "quiet" is a spin-down while "performance" makes hdd spin at full blast and thus faster but noisy?
Yup! that is why we can see HDD also got rpm ..some 5400rpm some higher..

the concept is same like cars. WHen you press the throttle(gas pedal) then rpm will rise.. the higher the rpm the more fast you go but the more noisy rite ?

so if u drive slow slow and rpm veri low ..veri smooth and quiet lo hehe ..
SUSDavid83
post Sep 7 2007, 09:03 PM

52,874 posts

Laptop or 2.5" HDD comes with either 4xxx, 5400 or 7200 rpm. 7200rpm variant just becomes popular these few years back when mobile users demand for performance.
tracyjz
post Sep 7 2007, 11:47 PM

-Jay Jay-
1,059 posts

nice notebook anyways =)
kingmax
post Sep 8 2007, 01:09 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Sep 6 2007, 10:52 AM)
Hi, I also experience this "tak" high pitched sound one in a while, can anyone confirm me what the problem it is?
QUOTE(ramp_r @ Sep 6 2007, 01:21 PM)
Hmm.... me too though....
It's well know issue with the high pitched noise.Waiting for Dell driver to fix it.

Is it hard disk or the pitched noise ? If hard disk , means your vista had finish indexing your file while if the high pitched noise stop means you are actually or overall running cpu usage 30% or more which trigger power status mode to C2 or even C1.

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 7 2007, 09:03 PM)
Laptop or 2.5" HDD comes with either 4xxx, 5400 or 7200 rpm. 7200rpm variant just becomes popular these few years back when mobile users demand for performance.
IMO , no need to waste $ on 7200rpm eventhough it's well in performance.The reason , SSD or solid state drive is coming in to the market next year.Performance is 100 times faster seeking time than any mechanical 10,000rpm hard disk.I forgotten where I read it before normal access time for a data using 7200rpm notebook HD would be around 15 to 20 ms but if SSD it's about 0.1 to 0.5 ms plus no noise when reading and writing data .Correct me if I am wrong
dzi921
post Sep 8 2007, 08:24 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(kingmax @ Sep 8 2007, 01:09 AM)
Is it hard disk or the pitched noise ? If hard disk , means your vista had finish indexing your file while if the high pitched noise stop means you are actually or overall running cpu usage 30% or more which trigger power status mode to C2 or even C1.
That's a very decent answer smile.gif But I'm on XP from day 1. Didn't even boot into Vista, straight away format it to XP

Don't know where the pitched noise came, but now no more. Not even the hardisk spinning sound. Used to hear it for the first few days... or is it that my ears are immuned to it already hmm.gif
Darkmage12
post Sep 8 2007, 10:44 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(kingmax @ Sep 8 2007, 01:09 AM)
It's well know issue with the high pitched noise.Waiting for Dell driver to fix it.
IMO , no need to waste $ on 7200rpm eventhough it's well in performance.The reason , SSD or solid state drive is coming in to the market next year.Performance is 100 times faster seeking time than any mechanical 10,000rpm hard disk.I forgotten where I read it before normal access time for a data using 7200rpm notebook HD would be around 15 to 20 ms but if SSD it's about 0.1 to 0.5 ms plus no noise when reading and writing data .Correct me if I am wrong
although SSD is suppose to have lower access time it still loses out in performance to normal hard disk le
hao
post Sep 9 2007, 02:42 PM

Quillsâ„¢
5,469 posts

QUOTE(alifbata_abc @ Sep 3 2007, 12:01 PM)
Yet another Jet-Black 1520 owner  laugh.gif

Member - Colour

1. hao - Alphine White
2. Kezman - Midnight Blue
3. coolermistress - Jet Black
4. tankahhoe - Jet Black
5. tslim2531 - Alpine White
6. Raymann Lucas- Ruby Red
7. vin89 - Ruby Red
8. ember(tm) - Jet Black
9. orenji_renji - Jet Black
10. Lance8431 - Midnight Blue
11. dzi921 - Ruby Red
12. terngno_mania - Espresso Brown
13. alifbata_abc - Jet Black
No more users? If not then I'll pm the TS to update in the first post by tonight.
sooi
post Sep 9 2007, 03:08 PM

23 posts

Member - Colour

1. hao - Alphine White
4. tankahhoe - Jet Black
7. vin89 - Ruby Red
8. ember(tm) - Jet Black
11. dzi921 - Ruby Red
14. sooi - Midnight Blue

wan to ask why my 1520 automatic go in dell pre-boot system assessment
2 times in a week?
i thought under normal condition wont run the dell diagonstics automatically
Darkmage12
post Sep 9 2007, 05:13 PM

17,053 posts

how come my name not updated 1? my pink colour
ember
post Sep 9 2007, 06:21 PM

181 posts

God..my 1520 just BSOD'ed again last night.. It happened like 3 or 4 times before but i just wrote em off as random hardware errors but this is seriously starting to worry me.. cry.gif

Another thing, my wi-fi never resumes connectivity after i sleep or hibernate my laptop. bringing up the 'connect to a network' windows jus results in a blank white screen! And whenever i try to shutdown after that happens, the shutdown always freezes and i'd have to force-shutdown it. GRRR..this is really getting on my nerves... So much for all the hype on Vista/1520? sad.gif
Lance8431
post Sep 9 2007, 08:48 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 9 2007, 05:13 PM)
how come my name not updated 1? my pink colour
copy and paste and update urself dude. sleep.gif
johan3036
post Sep 9 2007, 11:14 PM

1. hao - Alphine White
4. tankahhoe - Jet Black
7. vin89 - Ruby Red
8. ember™ - Jet Black
11. dzi921 - Ruby Red
14. sooi - Midnight Blue
15. Johan - Expresso brown
sotong168
post Sep 10 2007, 12:00 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Sep 7 2007, 08:49 PM)
Yup! that is why we can see HDD also got rpm ..some 5400rpm some higher..

the concept is same like cars. WHen you press the throttle(gas pedal) then rpm will rise.. the higher the rpm the more fast you go but the more noisy rite ?

so if u drive slow slow and rpm veri low ..veri smooth and quiet lo hehe ..
hoho, the world is like this lar... u want something better u would have to compromise other thing; i.e. faster + better performance but heat-up + noisy wink.gif
Darkmage12
post Sep 10 2007, 12:14 AM

17,053 posts

where is the HDD located anyway? that part should heat up quite significantly right?
tankahhoe
post Sep 10 2007, 08:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 10 2007, 12:14 AM)
where is the HDD located anyway? that part should heat up quite significantly right?
HDD of Inspiron 1520 located next to the air vent, there is a "Strike Zone" label on it...
In fact I notice that the heat is distributed quite equally across the bottom, HDD is not particulary hotter than other areas. But the coolest portion is beneath the Optical Drive, (when you have no DVD spinning inside it of course) laugh.gif
raymannlucas
post Sep 11 2007, 11:28 AM

One Life, One Chance, One Try, No Retry
2,080 posts

QUOTE(tankahhoe @ Sep 10 2007, 08:22 PM)
HDD of Inspiron 1520 located next to the air vent, there is a "Strike Zone" label on it...
In fact I notice that the heat is distributed quite equally across the bottom, HDD is not particulary hotter than other areas. But the coolest portion is beneath the Optical Drive, (when you have no DVD spinning inside it of course) laugh.gif
my lappy is not hot at all...but it well get hot only when im doing heavy 3d rendering or playing games...the hot part is only locatred at the air vent and below the lcd hinge there...about the hdd area, i only feel the warm of it... rclxms.gif btw,may i know whats the Strike Zone for?

126 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:45 AM