DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here

kingmax
post Jul 20 2007, 01:59 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 20 2007, 07:28 AM)
Hi to all, im starting this topic as im seeing increasing number of Inspiron 1520 users here. This thread is dedicated for dell's latest inspiron 1520. feel free to discuss anything here.

to all the new owners here, i have a few questions

1. do you guys notice any noise when using headphone? or hear any faint noise (not fan or dvd drive or hdd), sounded like chirping (suspected "capacitor ringing") on your inspiron?

2. anyone surpassed 3xxx on 3Dmark06?

3. how much did you all pay for your 1520 and specs?

4. any build quality difference between vostro 1500 and inspiron 1520?
1.What headphone you are using ? I think it's the stupid buzzing noise from Intel again.Screw dry.gif .Try using RMclock and set 'run HLT command when idle' .Did you trying using USB headphone rather than headphone jack ?

2.If you have $ sure can surpass it.Upgrade your parts to T7500 , 4Gb ram , 7200rpm hard disk and 8600M GT ? As for now someone able to get pass if they have T7300 , 2GB , 7200rpm hard disk , 8600M with some over clock.

3.Depends on the spec.I haven't own one yet.

4.No one own vostro , but it's almost the same except black in color.If it has major difference so will it be with the price.Vostro price/low spec is quite attractive for those regular user for the use of office work and surfing the internet.

This post has been edited by kingmax: Jul 20 2007, 02:01 PM
kingmax
post Jul 20 2007, 02:25 PM

751 posts

1.Maybe you can try USB headphone see whether it works a not.Did you contact dell tech support ? maybe they can solve it or reduce the noise.

2.yah, crazy .. RM 384 no $.Try and overclock a bit if you want to perform better. smile.gif

4.Yep , it's listed it had magnesium for vostro and uver review for Insprion ( at the Construction: http://www.reviewpub.net/2007/07/inspiron-1420.html )
kingmax
post Jul 22 2007, 09:23 PM

751 posts

eh.. I though the Lcd is supply from taiwan chi mei optoelectronics ?
Maybe Dell got a lot of LCD manufacture. hm..
kingmax
post Jul 29 2007, 08:27 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Jul 29 2007, 10:43 AM)
I've been using my 1520 for about 2 weeks already. I've formatted it to XP and used it to download quite a lot of movies.

Now, the Hard Disk Drive(HDD) is producing some annoying sound. And worse still, since yesterday, when I log on to Windows, the HDD will be idle for about 3 minutes(with some interval response--based on the HDD light on the LED panel). It is just like the laptop is HANG. Then after 3 minutes, then it will only load all those startup things as well as network connection.

So, I'm now very frustrated everytime I start my LAPTOP. I'm not sure if it is caused by the following cause :
1. HDD problem (mine is a Seagate 160GB HDD)
2. Virus problem (using NOD32 and Spybot)
3. Windows setting problem (I've tried to configure using msconfig to disable some of those software but not those important startup service but still the same)
4. frequent download of movie for a long duration(i use it about 7 to 8 hours b4 shutting down the laptop).

Is anyone facing the same problem? and got any idea what's happening to my laptop? cry.gif
I never heard of this problem before.Mostly is because of the program you install.Did you face any problem when you firstly install window xp.Did you try uninstall NOD32 and spybot ? Try to uninstall your NOD32 frist.

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Jul 29 2007, 02:18 PM)
1520 doesnt seem to work well in xp environment. it's designed to run vista. just my 2cent
First time I heard that sweat.gif .Actually most of the problem maybe cause by the driver it self.

QUOTE(zuying1985 @ Jul 29 2007, 02:36 PM)
oo.. wan to ask something.i'm an owner of 1420 .. i can install the vista home basic that comes v my lappy, and also successfully install winxp sp2 (so called FREE EDITION) but when i install vista business.. successfully full install but when 1st time booting to windows, blue screen...

1st time i try, using my college burned CD with an original key from microsoft, but that i oredi activate it in my desktop

2nd time, using same cd but with the key from INTERNET, it list down all version of keys, when i keyin business key, it shows invalid  but when i key in ultimate key, it accepted tongue.gif .. ahha. funny.. so i jz ignore it and continue my installing, finally.. 1st time boot to windows, blue screen again

3rd time, i using my company MS partner vista business cd, but instead still using INTERNET key coz it only has 10 license, still not dare to install without permission of boss, result to blue screen oso..

then i install back with the home basic cd comes v my lappy, works..

so forth 4 times i was used to upgrade to business from the home basic using the college and company cd, key is INTERNET and college..

still the same..
do u think izzit because that is the cracked key and oredi activated key fault?

if so.. my windows xp oso is cracked key.. but can works pulak

haha

thought to be install tomoro using my company key oredi .. good luck to me..
if u guys found any solution for me.. please help/. thanks
Actually Dell's oem vista key is bound with the hardware.Still remember how Vista is crack ? MS vista implement something like David83 said MAC implemented onto the hardware.
But on your case , did you try using other Vista business dvd ?? maybe you are having problem with your college Vista dvd.
kingmax
post Jul 30 2007, 12:19 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(happychai @ Jul 29 2007, 09:15 PM)
vista also got iis right...
u r programmer?
QUOTE(djlah @ Jul 29 2007, 09:50 PM)
wrong. computer manufacturer never programmed the product key into hardware PROM. Dell OEM OS is only verify the system BIOS before isntall. if detected as non-dell machine then mostly deny to install. Yes, at this moment 1520 is designed only for vista because no official xp driver. once xp drivers release then you can said is also designed for xp too. Yes, you may got third party drivers work but dell are not 100% guarantee works, BSOD or any software problem, bear ur own risk. Call Dell Techincal Support also useless. In this case, install non-dell vista get BSOD mostly I can said hardware no problem, is only either software/os/drivers problem. any other oem vista might causing this too as once of possibility, the best is try to install from full retail vista dvd, got problem still can call directly to microsoft. if not, better stick back to original dell vista.
Yep I think I remember correctly it not save at hardware PROM , it's embedded at BIOS.Thanks for correcting.
The weird problem happen when it's on his 1st time boot after installation successful which means not even a driver installed.

kingmax
post Jul 30 2007, 03:41 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(zuying1985 @ Jul 30 2007, 10:12 AM)
i was oredi changed to ATA when i installing my winxp

Added on July 30, 2007, 12:22 pmProblem signature:
  Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
  OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.2
  Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
  BCCode: 1000007e
  BCP1: C0000005
  BCP2: 00012622
  BCP3: 87404838
  BCP4: 87404534
  OS Version: 6_0_6000
  Service Pack: 0_0
  Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
  C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini073007-01.dmp
  C:\Users\Calvin\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-1970277-0.sysdata.xml
  C:\Users\Calvin\AppData\Local\Temp\WER3F51.tmp.version.txt

Read our privacy statement:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=50163&clcid=0x0409

this is message i get after i recover from the failure of vista business installation to vista basic
My previous post http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12652397

Install a minidump analysis /debugger on other XP or vista computer and analys it .( http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/devtools/deb...ng/default.mspx )
You can even post at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/346230 if you don't understand what it say.

kingmax
post Aug 3 2007, 02:11 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(lejoant @ Aug 3 2007, 09:51 AM)
eh owners of 1520, so what are your comments abt the 1520???

the T7500 really not worth it?
an extra for 1K ? I am not sure about you but , 1k for a processor that will phase out within 1 to 2 years osn't workth it.If you want performance maybe you can consider laptop cpu E6850 3.0GHz 1333mhz with only RM999 if not mistaken.
All is up to you , if you really want to have a good performance laptop , maybe the best is 7T300 2.0 Ghz.Next year Q1 there'll be new penryn santa rosa refresh , not sure Dell will adopt it but the price is cheaper and perform better than thecurrent T7500.Up to you. smile.gif
kingmax
post Aug 4 2007, 04:40 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(lejoant @ Aug 3 2007, 04:59 PM)
my machine is a 1720. so its additional rm735 for T7500, base is T7100. I didnt take the T7700 which costs a diff of rm1328 from T7500 tongue.gif

i need my laptop to last for at least 3 years, so i think i should at least get a decent spec. thanks for your advice though. would definitely opt for desktop if i could. but going to uni overseas smile.gif
Sorry I though you are using 1520 because this thread is 1520 club tongue.gif
Anyhow , the price right now is quite cheap just Rm294 you can upgrade T7100 to T7300.I don't think it's worth for T7500 since next year there'll be santa rosa refresh and faster processor.I can sure at the third year there'll be quad core C2D or even higher with the same price.A T7300 is more than enough for daily usage. smile.gif

QUOTE(allrightall @ Aug 4 2007, 01:30 PM)
wondering when will the SSD hard drive be available for the 1520, really cant wait.... but is it worth it, when compared to normal hard drive? smile.gif
Don't waste money upgrading to SSD.Wait for next year , SSD will be avaliable for 80GB and next 2 year 160GB.You can upgrade yourself later refering at Dell manual book.At 2010 , SSD will be very common and the price will be very cheap.
kingmax
post Aug 5 2007, 01:47 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(alexnvidia @ Aug 5 2007, 11:58 AM)
this is dell's mistake. even if u call them they will just tell u they are sorry and in the terms and conditions has been stated that dell reserve the right to bla bla bla..

they should get the facts right before making such ad.
Just the 'Learn more' button show error on the GDDR3 , all listed as GDDR2 at the main site on Malaysia Dell.No use calling Dell , you can't get rebate since only one page they display wrongly is the bandwidth. sweat.gif
kingmax
post Aug 17 2007, 02:39 PM

751 posts

Open a blank notepad , maximize it.If you see the white isn't white more like grey and dots which means you have a grainy screen.
It's more simple if you have an LCD monitor to compare.
kingmax
post Aug 20 2007, 07:27 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(raymondlim @ Aug 20 2007, 04:07 PM)
Nowadays Dell laptop come with Vista. Newbie here, wanna ask is there any risk if reformat to Windows XP.
QUOTE(menghong68 @ Aug 20 2007, 06:32 PM)
can the Vostro 1500 install xp like inspiron 1520 ?
As long as you gather all the requirement and knew all the step , it'd be easy.As my opinion , if you are newbie ,it's better to wait until all the correct driver avaliable for Dell 1520 only you start installing.Vostro 1500 would be the same too.

kingmax
post Aug 22 2007, 02:21 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(HappyGuy @ Aug 21 2007, 08:20 PM)
hi, anyone feel their laptop performance is not good? I felt that my laptop performance is very low, response time also quite slow. I cant feel that I am running core 2 duo platform. Feel it is slower than my office pc, which is running core duo only. My laptop spec is 1.5GHz, 2GB ram. I have change the power option to top performance, some how, i still feel that is slow. I always can feel lag when i switch between visual studio .net, internet explorer, file explorer, listen music, even though the ram used around 1.1 GB and processor around 30%.

Anyway to increase the performance in the windows vista? Currently i am running vista premium. Thanks.  smile.gif
When did you recieve your laptop ? Normally vista need to index your file and activities to run smooth , give it like a week or more.A normal Core Duo already consider very fast for regular user.Suspect the reason maybe having a 5400rpm hard disk.
kingmax
post Aug 25 2007, 10:46 PM

751 posts

Would like to confirm , still any headphone buzzing noise ?
kingmax
post Aug 26 2007, 02:10 AM

751 posts

Dell provided headphone.Currently there are user having the headphone noise able to replace and fix.Any one experience or tested it ?
kingmax
post Aug 26 2007, 02:40 PM

751 posts

tried dell's headphone ?
Many user complain about 1330 whining sound from the processor.Any 1520 user having this buzzing issue ?
kingmax
post Aug 26 2007, 05:58 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(raymannlucas @ Aug 26 2007, 02:45 PM)
Previosly yes...i got the replacement for my 1520...the previous unit i have this problem...the sound it annoying...suspected is the processor sound...the new unit im using now does not have this problem anymore...
Did they fix the processor hizzing sound for you ?
kingmax
post Sep 8 2007, 01:09 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Sep 6 2007, 10:52 AM)
Hi, I also experience this "tak" high pitched sound one in a while, can anyone confirm me what the problem it is?
QUOTE(ramp_r @ Sep 6 2007, 01:21 PM)
Hmm.... me too though....
It's well know issue with the high pitched noise.Waiting for Dell driver to fix it.

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Sep 6 2007, 07:00 PM)
When I first got the laptop I can hear that sound too. But after few days of using, now no more sound

Must be that time v*rgin hdd spinning, now loose liao  sweat.gif
Is it hard disk or the pitched noise ? If hard disk , means your vista had finish indexing your file while if the high pitched noise stop means you are actually or overall running cpu usage 30% or more which trigger power status mode to C2 or even C1.

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 7 2007, 09:03 PM)
Laptop or 2.5" HDD comes with either 4xxx, 5400 or 7200 rpm. 7200rpm variant just becomes popular these few years back when mobile users demand for performance.
IMO , no need to waste $ on 7200rpm eventhough it's well in performance.The reason , SSD or solid state drive is coming in to the market next year.Performance is 100 times faster seeking time than any mechanical 10,000rpm hard disk.I forgotten where I read it before normal access time for a data using 7200rpm notebook HD would be around 15 to 20 ms but if SSD it's about 0.1 to 0.5 ms plus no noise when reading and writing data .Correct me if I am wrong
kingmax
post Sep 19 2007, 12:57 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(lks84 @ Sep 13 2007, 07:41 PM)
oic. thank alot. but is it good to use so much ram?
my ram usage is almost 1gb... but my ram is 2gb la. but my friend acer only use 700mb of ram. but he only got 1gb of ram in total .

and when im runing some aplication my cpu usage spike very high. just some office word and antivirus. it sumtimes spike to 100 percent.... isit something wrong???
It's fine if cpu usage spike when starting a program but make sure it's not consistent such as 10 min 100% cpu usage.
The ram usage is also depend on what program you are using and startup.It's normal if you are using vista.

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 13 2007, 08:45 PM)
booked by my wife, cannot lar... sweat.gif

Added on September 13, 2007, 8:48 pmanyone X3100 user tested with the HD clips frm the site below?

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsme...ntshowcase.aspx
The clicking sound if not mistaken came from the hard disk arm seeking and finding data.

QUOTE(lks84 @ Sep 13 2007, 10:46 PM)
have a problem... haw can i remove the annoying sound when i put the headset on>>>>
What kind of sound ? is it the mose code sound 'teee , tiii , teee' ?

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Sep 16 2007, 08:16 PM)
oo.. so 8400m gs vs fx350m is just 500 diff? erm.. is the 500 diff huge? or just lil diff only? sorry if it sounds noob.. coz i nvr use 3dmark b4..
Both almost the same , the difference are the driver and software.If you run Auto cad on fx350m , you'll see significance improvement on speed compare to 8400m.It'll be the same if you play a game on 8400m better on handing than fx350m.

This post has been edited by kingmax: Sep 19 2007, 12:57 AM
kingmax
post Sep 30 2007, 02:40 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(Andy-7M @ Sep 24 2007, 12:59 AM)
What I suggest is buy or borrow and use another cd brand such as Imation cd , let me know if you still having sector error.

QUOTE(Andy-7M @ Sep 25 2007, 12:24 AM)
Well, at the time I tried to insert DVD and check the content, the laptop couldn't read it. Same with another DVD.
Damn, that's one faulty drive indeed... Gonna get my docs and handle it to the service.
The dvdr drive not able to read some dvd content or All dvd including dell driver ?

QUOTE(micwk @ Sep 26 2007, 06:35 PM)

With the spec above you are able to run most of the ultilities.
Ultrasharp WSXGA+ - Words would be quite small when reading
Alphine White - Depends on what color you prefer

QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Sep 27 2007, 11:46 PM)

Good to hear that you got your replacement.Yes , dell is really strict during the onsite service especially a must to finish fixing on the same day even it's over office hour.Thier service is far more superior than others.About the hard disk , as I know it's normal for seagate.Actually notebook cooler doesn't able to reduce much maybe a little by 2-3 'c and the temp you mention 55 is a bit higher.Normal temp will be 48'c or would be around 46-52 'c.No need to worry , if it gets higher than 58 idle just after 30 min you start your laptop , you can always call dell.

This post has been edited by kingmax: Sep 30 2007, 12:09 PM
kingmax
post Sep 30 2007, 12:09 PM

751 posts

Sorry typo doh.gif

QUOTE(Godek @ Sep 29 2007, 02:50 PM)
bro got problem here...i already reformat my friend 1520 to XP Pro...everything is fine...all okay...

But how i want to reformat back to vista home premium already reformat it using éhem' dvd but use dell home premium product key (found it under the laptop) but i cannot activate it in internet...or i am doing something wrong plz enlight me thanks...
Oem vista does not need an activation key to active because it Oem certificates isa save on the BIOS.If you really plan reinstall vista , I suggest using the dell provided vista dvd.

This post has been edited by kingmax: Sep 30 2007, 12:15 PM

0.0382sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:31 PM