92 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Unifi Air, is it good?

azh_97
post May 26 2020, 04:53 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(akira87 @ May 26 2020, 01:04 AM)
Is the 30 days trial return policy stated anywhere? If yes could u pls share where it is stated? I would love to try unifi air and considering to take with the modem.
Read it here

https://community.unifi.com.my/t5/unifi-Air/tkb-p/unifi_air

I also confirmed this with tm agent, she said it is available. Tho in my case, it seems that the upfront payment will be used as the bill payment of the 30-day trial.. Which is kinda strange for me as I am currently a streamyx user (I read that streamyx user doesn't need to pay the upfront)

U should try ask directly tm for confirmation
akira87
post May 26 2020, 08:55 AM

Weeeee~
779 posts

QUOTE(azh_97 @ May 26 2020, 04:53 AM)
Read it here

I also confirmed this with tm agent, she said it is available. Tho in my case, it seems that the upfront payment will be used as the bill payment of the 30-day trial.. Which is kinda strange for me as I am currently a streamyx user (I read that streamyx user doesn't need to pay the upfront)

Tqvm, i will double check with tm. Will definitely try plan with modem if there is such policy.
KennyGump P
post May 27 2020, 06:36 PM

Probation

Hi guys, I am a poor guy living in a place where Maxis signed a monopoly contract on my area that stated "No other telco can enter here within 30 years of this signed contract".
Hence, there is no fibre optics cable installed, no TM, and only Maxis 1mps plan.
I lived in this shit hole for 25 years and last year I manage to change to Maxis One Go Plan (SIM card with router) which is similar to Unifi Air.
It has a weak 4G signal and it provides me the speed up to 3mbps when I use it alone.
Now I want to try Unifi Air, but unfortunately my area is not covered.
Despite this, I don't mind giving RM79+ a month just to try it since they no need contract.

And walla!
I got the SIM card for Unifi Air today and the results are bad.
My Huawei B315S-22 router (I got it when I signed contract with Maxis OneGo Plan) cannot detect any signal for Unifi Air.

https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75TlVJ.md.png

So I swap the SIM card to my phone, and surprisingly it receives 4G signal from Unifi.
So I wanted to ask, anyone knows the bandwidth for this Unifi Air?
Maybe I buy a new router with suitable bandwidth I can get this signal?
Or maybe should I just cancel this Unifi Air and give up trying?
Thanks for the sifus here!
asus_2g
post May 27 2020, 06:47 PM

32 posts

I go tm recently they said no stock for b618, only sim cqrd

s_d_n_10
post May 27 2020, 10:24 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(KennyGump @ May 27 2020, 06:36 PM)
Hi guys, I am a poor guy living in a place where Maxis signed a monopoly contract on my area that stated "No other telco can enter here within 30 years of this signed contract".
Hence, there is no fibre optics cable installed, no TM, and only Maxis 1mps plan.
I lived in this shit hole for 25 years and last year I manage to change to Maxis One Go Plan (SIM card with router) which is similar to Unifi Air.
It has a weak 4G signal and it provides me the speed up to 3mbps when I use it alone.
Now I want to try Unifi Air, but unfortunately my area is not covered.
Despite this, I don't mind giving RM79+ a month just to try it since they no need contract.
And walla!
I got the SIM card for Unifi Air today and the results are bad.
My Huawei B315S-22 router (I got it when I signed contract with Maxis OneGo Plan) cannot detect any signal for Unifi Air.
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75TlVJ.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75TlVJ.md.png </a>
So I swap the SIM card to my phone, and surprisingly it receives 4G signal from Unifi.
So I wanted to ask, anyone knows the bandwidth for this Unifi Air?
Maybe I buy a new router with suitable bandwidth I can get this signal?
Or maybe should I just cancel this Unifi Air and give up trying?
Thanks for the sifus here!
Hi. Unifi Air use frequency band 5,38 & 40. What phone are you using that can detect the Unifi Air 4G signal?
KennyGump P
post May 27 2020, 10:37 PM

Probation

QUOTE(s_d_n_10 @ May 27 2020, 10:24 PM)

Hi. Unifi Air use frequency band 5,38 & 40. What phone are you using that can detect the Unifi Air 4G signal?

Hi there good guy, I am using Samsung Galaxy A8 star.
So based on your story, Unifi Air is using frequency band 5, 38 & 40, and my Huawei B315S-22 is not compatible because it is only at 32?

https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75ep9P.md.png

Any recommended router for Unifi Air?
jsnhoh
post May 27 2020, 11:59 PM

Vinc
1,022 posts

QUOTE(KennyGump @ May 27 2020, 10:37 PM)
So based on your story, Unifi Air is using frequency band 5, 38 & 40, and my Huawei B315S-22 is not compatible because it is only at 32?
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75ep9P.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75ep9P.md.png </a>
Why not take the sim + device plan. Same price but contract for 24 months. The modem is the best modem in the market already.

s_d_n_10
post May 28 2020, 12:09 AM

81 posts

<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75ep9P.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75ep9P.md.png </a>
Yup. Unifi Air band coverage for every area is different. Some area only available band 5, some area available band 38/40. For this need to check it yourself. If only band 5 available at your area and not band 38/40, not suggested to use Unifi Air because bandwidth is small and download speed will sure be slow huhu. At least from my experiene.

From picture above, your modem only can detect band 38 for Unifi Air. Since when you put the sim card inside your modem and no signal detected, we can conclude that band 38 is not available at your area.

Your phone spec above listed can detect all band 5,38 & 40. So I suspect between band 5 or 40 for your area. Maybe both.

For recommended router, I don't have any since I just use my old Redmi Note 3 phone as modem hotspot. Just find any router that can detect band 5,38 & 40. Depending on band coverage at your area that is.
s_d_n_10
post May 28 2020, 12:13 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ May 27 2020, 11:59 PM)
Why not take the sim + device plan. Same price but contract for 24 months. The modem is the best modem in the market already.
Yup correct. I myself regretted already only taking the sim card, not with the B618-65d. Try to reapply at TM Point Unifi Air package with modem, but most place don't have stock 😔
jsnhoh
post May 28 2020, 11:41 AM

Vinc
1,022 posts

QUOTE(s_d_n_10 @ May 28 2020, 12:13 AM)
Yup correct. I myself regretted already only taking the sim card, not with the B618-65d. Try to reapply at TM Point Unifi Air package with modem, but most place don't have stock 😔
Then just buy 1 4g modem from lazada or shoppee lo. Price shd be ard rm250 ++. I'm using this brand now ( Tenda or Prolink), so far so good . Just the speed is not as fast as Huawei b618. But I'm satisfied overall.

This post has been edited by jsnhoh: May 28 2020, 11:42 AM
onnying88
post May 28 2020, 01:19 PM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ May 28 2020, 11:41 AM)
Then just buy 1 4g modem from lazada or shoppee lo. Price shd be ard rm250 ++. I'm using  this brand now ( Tenda or Prolink), so far so good . Just the speed is not as fast as Huawei b618. But I'm satisfied overall.
is it huawei B310 the modem?
jsnhoh
post May 28 2020, 04:03 PM

Vinc
1,022 posts

QUOTE(onnying88 @ May 28 2020, 01:19 PM)
is it huawei B310 the modem?
No... The brand I'm using now is tenda and prolink.
Local warranty, MCMC certified, this is my main concern.

This post has been edited by jsnhoh: May 28 2020, 04:06 PM
tribal94
post May 28 2020, 04:44 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(azh_97 @ May 26 2020, 04:53 AM)
Read it here

Yes I read that too. But the TM agent on live chat mention that it is for customer who receive call from TM telesales doh.gif
tribal94
post May 28 2020, 04:49 PM

58 posts

I am considering to change steamyx to unifi air since the speed is higher and I'm getting tired of the routers keep getting fried from lightning. Even I use those lightning protector also didn't worked. Now have 4 broken routers at home.
trowapeter
post May 29 2020, 09:35 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(tribal94 @ May 28 2020, 04:49 PM)
I am considering to change steamyx to unifi air since the speed is higher and I'm getting tired of the routers keep getting fried from lightning. Even I use those lightning protector also didn't worked. Now have 4 broken routers at home.
I am more amazed at ur attempt to use pc during bad weather .
dark_axl21
post May 29 2020, 09:40 AM

TUKANG
661 posts

QUOTE(tribal94 @ May 28 2020, 04:49 PM)
What makes you think that the CPE isn't gonna get fried?.
The CPE still needs to be plugged into an outlet
budi1413
post May 29 2020, 11:24 AM

1,607 posts

suddenly my place got lte+. download speed up 50%. biggrin.gif
kausar
post May 29 2020, 11:30 AM

608 posts

i tot unifi air use band 38 and 40 only. band 5/38/40/8 for unifi mobile .
KennyGump P
post May 29 2020, 02:48 PM

Probation

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ May 27 2020, 11:59 PM)

Hi, because there is no stock for the modem and also I don't want to risk taking contract before confirming there is signal over here.

QUOTE(s_d_n_10 @ May 28 2020, 12:09 AM)

Yup. Unifi Air band coverage for every area is different. Some area only available band 5, some area available band 38/40. For this need to check it yourself. If only band 5 available at your area and not band 38/40, not suggested to use Unifi Air because bandwidth is small and download speed will sure be slow huhu. At least from my experiene.

https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/27/75vxTU.md.png

From picture above, your modem only can detect band 38 for Unifi Air. Since when you put the sim card inside your modem and no signal detected, we can conclude that band 38 is not available at your area.

https://pictr.com/images/2020/05/28/75vHs9.md.png

Your phone spec above listed can detect all band 5,38 & 40. So I suspect between band 5 or 40 for your area. Maybe both.

For recommended router, I don't have any since I just use my old Redmi Note 3 phone as modem hotspot. Just find any router that can detect band 5,38 & 40. Depending on band coverage at your area that is.

Hi shifu, thank you for your help!
It's weird that my router don't have band 5 on it.
Well, I think I shall unsubscribe this plan and continue using Maxis since there is no strong signal here.
Thank you guys for the help and I appreciate it!
KennyGump P
post May 29 2020, 06:19 PM

Probation

Hi it's me again, the poor guy who is living in a monopolize shithole.
I just tested Unifi Air SIM card on a band 40 router and it works.
Based on s_d_n_10 shifu info, I can conclude that my area only have band 40.
The signal strength is 75% and the speed can be up to 20mbps.
Now I change my decision to end the Maxis contract and buy a band 40 router.
Or maybe even sign the 24 months contract to get their router.
Thanks everyone for the help and info!

92 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0202sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:14 AM