92 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Unifi Air, is it good?

s_d_n_10
post May 29 2020, 06:55 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(KennyGump @ May 29 2020, 06:19 PM)
Hi it's me again, the poor guy who is living in a monopolize shithole.
I just tested Unifi Air SIM card on a band 40 router and it works.
Based on s_d_n_10 shifu info, I can conclude that my area only have band 40.
The signal strength is 75% and the speed can be up to 20mbps.
Now I change my decision to end the Maxis contract and buy a band 40 router.
Or maybe even sign the 24 months contract to get their router.
Thanks everyone for the help and info!
Hi happy to help with what little knowledge I have ☺️. I myself just apply online Unifi Air + B618-65d modem since TM Point all don't have stock. They told me to apply online since will receive from Huawei directly. Whether it's true or not, guess I'll have to find out myself huhu.
mnibar
post May 29 2020, 07:03 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ May 24 2020, 03:56 PM)
im using 500gb last month. okay jer.
2TB until now so far no issue
budi1413
post May 29 2020, 07:33 PM

1,607 posts

QUOTE(mnibar @ May 29 2020, 07:03 PM)
nice to know.
unifi air really value for money.
portable some more. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by budi1413: May 30 2020, 11:27 AM
singgung
post May 30 2020, 10:33 AM

1,303 posts

My area unifi air is getting worse. Used to be able to stream with great picture quality during peak time (8pm to midnight). Since MCO it just went downhill. The worse was about a month / 3 weeks ago where connection was lost and needed to restart router a few times a day. Now connection is stable but speed during peak hours average about 5mbps. Lol.
nightzstar
post May 30 2020, 01:43 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

any idea how to improve signal strength especially band 5 signal? use external antenna like lpda will help??
evilsmile
post May 30 2020, 05:34 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ May 30 2020, 01:43 PM)
any idea how to improve signal strength especially band 5 signal? use external antenna like lpda will help??
personally tested unifi air will full signal connected to band 5. 15-20mbps is max speed can get. rarely get above 30mbps. b615 huawei

band 5 unifi air is extremely heavenly congested. nothing much can do if want to improve speeds as the infra is overlimit
nightzstar
post May 30 2020, 08:57 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(evilsmile @ May 30 2020, 05:34 PM)
personally tested unifi air will full signal connected to band 5. 15-20mbps is max speed can get. rarely get above 30mbps. b615 huawei

band 5 unifi air is extremely heavenly congested. nothing much can do if want to improve speeds as the infra is overlimit
I am grateful for that speed lol. My room can get 4 bar signal band 5. Play CS Go online no hiccups. Haha. Guess I should save money from spending on lpda then.
tribal94
post Jun 1 2020, 02:51 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(trowapeter @ May 29 2020, 09:35 AM)
I am more amazed at ur attempt to use pc during bad weather .
Is that the only situation you can think of? shakehead.gif
tribal94
post Jun 1 2020, 02:56 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ May 29 2020, 09:40 AM)
What makes you think that the CPE isn't gonna get fried?.
The CPE still needs to be plugged into an outlet
The router fried because of the spike through the telephone line. The chance of it getting fried through the outlet plug is low. And as of now, no other electrical appliances in my house fried because of lighting.

This post has been edited by tribal94: Jun 1 2020, 02:57 PM
evilsmile
post Jun 2 2020, 11:15 AM

248 posts

Hello guys, I learned recently that TPlink MR600 now has beta firmware that should be able to manually select/lock band for example lock B5/B38/B40 for Unifi Air or manual 4G+ CA with B3+B7 for Digi i150 users

https://www.tp-link.com/my/home-networking/...i/archer-mr600/

https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum...c/205912?page=1

https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum...c/193174?page=4 (scroll to post #41 for test results)

however beta firmware is for EU model only right now, and I don't have the device to test. Not sure works or not on MR600 MYset. According to TPLink website, MYset use EU V1 firmware which should be able to test this Beta firmware.

https://www.tp-link.com/my/support/download/archer-mr600/

TP-Link MR600 has very good spec and support most telco in MY and tplink has 3 year local warranty which is excellent. But people sleeps on their router and mifi coz unable to lock band like Huawei.

If MR600 (MY set) soon be able to get lock band feature. I think this model will be good alternative to B618s and B818 for power users. Priced is RM500 right now

This post has been edited by evilsmile: Jun 2 2020, 11:32 AM
hankeymeal
post Jun 6 2020, 07:38 AM

74 posts

I just finished my 24months contract with Celcom Home Wireless XL 150GB RM150 last month. I'm thinking to change to cheaper option Unifi Air SIM only RM79 using my Celcom router B618S-22D. Is it possible?

This post has been edited by hankeymeal: Jun 6 2020, 07:39 AM
JLA
post Jun 6 2020, 09:09 AM

2,788 posts

QUOTE(hankeymeal @ Jun 6 2020, 07:38 AM)
I just finished my 24months contract with Celcom Home Wireless XL 150GB RM150 last month. I'm thinking to change to cheaper option Unifi Air SIM only RM79 using my Celcom router B618S-22D. Is it possible?
nope.
You have to return that modem to celcom.
Faint
post Jun 6 2020, 10:57 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(mnibar @ May 29 2020, 07:03 PM)
Unifi air has no cap / no terms on usage ?
HumanExtinction
post Jun 7 2020, 03:52 AM

364 posts

Been using for a few days now, and had to wait around a week + for tm to deliver the modem to me. So far the experience is quite great except upload speed, which is slow as hell at around 1mbps. DL speed during day and afternoon i get around 20-30mbps, evening to night a bit slow around 10-20mbps, midnight is the fastest which is around 50-60mbps. Even dota ping also only around 30-40 even during night peak time. So far im using 5ghz wifi adapter to take advantage of the 5ghz since the modem is in my room. So far so good. rclxm9.gif
mnibar
post Jun 7 2020, 07:52 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Jun 6 2020, 10:57 PM)
Unifi air has no cap / no terms on usage ?
not that i aware off
LiSheng95
post Jun 8 2020, 01:26 PM

315 posts

Hi all, I would like to try unifi air but im at an area which is a few hundred meter off the official coverage. Can I subscribe the sim only and test it on my phone? Or do I need a modem to test?
jsnhoh
post Jun 8 2020, 01:46 PM

Vinc
1,022 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 8 2020, 01:26 PM)
Hi all, I would like to try unifi air but im at an area which is  a few hundred meter off the official coverage. Can I subscribe the sim only and test it on my phone? Or do I need a modem to test?
U can test at your phone provided the band is supported
LiSheng95
post Jun 8 2020, 01:57 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Jun 8 2020, 01:46 PM)
U can test at your phone provided the band is supported
Is it with band 5? Or band 38/40?
th3game
post Jun 8 2020, 02:03 PM

235 posts

hi guys..

any mikrotik devices can connect to unifi air band?

i have mikrotik hap ac2 laying around and been thinking to hookup LTE devices to it that can connect to unifi air
JLA
post Jun 8 2020, 02:43 PM

2,788 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 8 2020, 01:57 PM)
Is it with band 5? Or band 38/40?
band 40 > band 38 > band 5

band 5 always congested. limited bandwidth but serve wider coverage

92 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled