QUOTE(razor909 @ Aug 9 2023, 09:57 PM)
You can try this one aluminium kc company, google Long Wide Aluglass. They have showroom in Johor Jaya if you want to to see their materialThey do cover JB but depend of quantity i guess
Kitchen Cabinet V4 (Heart of the House)
Aug 18 2023, 03:16 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
17 posts Joined: Oct 2022 |
QUOTE(razor909 @ Aug 9 2023, 09:57 PM) You can try this one aluminium kc company, google Long Wide Aluglass. They have showroom in Johor Jaya if you want to to see their materialThey do cover JB but depend of quantity i guess |
Sep 2 2023, 11:12 AM
71 posts Joined: May 2022 |
QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 22 2023, 08:31 AM) I think melamine has different grade also. The inner core is wood particle. While the surface is robust and water resistant, the cut side can still absorb water and expanded. Even after wiping the dishes it is still damp. Putting in closed cabinet is not the way in hot and humid climate like Malaysia. Even if your whole house is air-conditioned, there is still no air flow in cabinet. Over time you will get clumsy and water may dripped, go to the cabinet cornet and absorbed by the melamine. Hi sir,I have less used cooking utensil and dishes in rack under my cooking hob (to get heat and blower from hob to do the job My table top has plenty space. So, I put on top at a corner just a bit away from sink. If you need to have your dishes inside top cabinet, make sure you have perforated door to prevent trapped humidity. Regarding perforated door, does it really work to dry the cabinet and prevent stale smell? No roaches can masuk? |
Sep 3 2023, 12:08 PM
15 posts Joined: May 2008 |
I'm currently looking for a kitchen cabinet designer/carpenter and came across Nest Butler. They keep popping up on my instagram. Does anyone here heard of them, or better still had experience with them? I've used the search function here and nada..
Sep 3 2023, 07:58 PM
1,210 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: penang |
how much does it cost nowadays to
- make a cement base for cabinet - laying kitchen wall tiles |
Sep 4 2023, 08:28 AM
7,934 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(Bijisss @ Sep 2 2023, 11:12 AM) Hi sir, Sure. No stale smell and no roaches because the hole is small around 3mm only. I used stainless metal sheet which I think easy to find in market. Not using the metal net because it will not look good and fragile also. I just made it as strip, not whole door which I think more stylish. Something like my drawing below.Regarding perforated door, does it really work to dry the cabinet and prevent stale smell? No roaches can masuk? ![]() Bijisss liked this post
Sep 6 2023, 05:51 PM
71 posts Joined: May 2022 |
QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 4 2023, 08:28 AM) Sure. No stale smell and no roaches because the hole is small around 3mm only. I used stainless metal sheet which I think easy to find in market. Not using the metal net because it will not look good and fragile also. I just made it as strip, not whole door which I think more stylish. Something like my drawing below. Thank you for taking time to reply! I will use your drawing as reference. Tq!!![]() |
Sep 11 2023, 09:58 AM
4,949 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Dear all, for quartz kitchen top, what are the cons of doing edging (sorry if this is incorrect term). I'm aware that edging will shorten the usable height of the bottom cabinet (aluminium carcass).
Edging gives the impression of using a thick kitchen top material, more atas look. Appreciate any advice or experience sharing. No edging, just polish. ![]() Edging ![]() |
Sep 12 2023, 10:15 AM
1,052 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 11 2023, 09:58 AM) Dear all, for quartz kitchen top, what are the cons of doing edging (sorry if this is incorrect term). I'm aware that edging will shorten the usable height of the bottom cabinet (aluminium carcass). More expensive maybe? Also, more prone to breaking as it's basically 2 pieces stuck together.Edging gives the impression of using a thick kitchen top material, more atas look. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I personally went without edging, but more for aesthetic purposes as I wanted a minimal looking kitchen. |
Sep 12 2023, 10:19 AM
4,949 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(wira1979 @ Sep 12 2023, 10:15 AM) More expensive maybe? Also, more prone to breaking as it's basically 2 pieces stuck together. Just need to top up a few hundred ringgit.I personally went without edging, but more for aesthetic purposes as I wanted a minimal looking kitchen. The reliability due to joining is my main concern too. |
Sep 12 2023, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 12 2023, 10:19 AM) Unless you're Superman, I believe shouldn't be an issue if you go for a good top with a decent installer.Perhaps go for edging in the dry kitchen and plain for wet kitchen. mushigen liked this post
Sep 12 2023, 10:39 AM
612 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
If without edging, means there would be a gap between the counter top & cabinet underneath isn't it? if yes, there would be dust/the likes accumulated, no?
Sep 12 2023, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(em_on @ Sep 12 2023, 10:39 AM) If without edging, means there would be a gap between the counter top & cabinet underneath isn't it? if yes, there would be dust/the likes accumulated, no? This is the edge everyone's talking about:![]() So actually the dust issue will only come up depending on the gap between countertop and cabinet. You can have no gap, but need some spacing to clear the top of your kitchen door and the lowest part of the countertop 'waterfall'. Basically, if you want to make it look nice and minimise issues, all these need to be planned upfront between countertop and kitchen contractors, so that the kitchen can be designed to accommodate your countertop choice. |
Sep 13 2023, 10:04 AM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Aug 2022 |
Dear Sifu,
I received the quotation for kitchen cabinet and in the opinion that the price quoted is of high end range. Details of quotation as below:: Dry kitchen - Concrete table (without tiles on top / solely internal 12 * 12 tiles) 2100 * 600 * 1 side panel leg (860) height RM 2,700 - Quartz top (2100 + 860 * 600 (front 80) RM4,200 - Front door system with internal shelve and panel (2100 * 720 height * 550 depth - laminate - RM1,960 Wet Kitchen (Sink area) - Concrete table (without tile on top / solely internal 12 * 12 tiles) 2,550 * 600 * 1 side panel leg height RM3,000 - Quartz top (2550 * 600) RM5,040 - Front door system with internal shelve and panel (2,550 * 720 height * 550 depth RM2,520 - Laminate Wet Kitchen (Cooking Area) - Concrete table (without tile on top / solely internal 12 * 12 tiles) 2,250 + 1,224 * 600 * 1 side panel leg (900) RM3,950 - Quartz stone (2,250 + 1,224 * 600) RM4,830 - Front Door System with Internal Shelve and Panel (2,250 + 1,224 * 720 * 550) RM3,220 - laminate - Wall unit with sliding door (2,250 + 1,224 * 1,450 * 350) RM7,850 - laminate - Plaster board to cover hoss (without painting) (2,250 * 350 * 350) RM1,400 Based on the quotation above - the total cost is at least fall under range from RM30k to RM40k ++. Is the above quotation reasonable ? Thanks for guidance. |
Oct 8 2023, 09:20 PM
26 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
Hi all
Just got my key recently and trying to build my dream kitchen. Basically my biggest criteria for the aesthetic is shaker door I have asked a few KC companies for quotation and if I want to have shaker door, I have to use either blockboard, HDF or solid wood And there's also the question of the carcass too. If I want aluminium, the cost multiplies like crazy. In general, I was quoted HDF panels with melamine/plywood carcass is about 35k+ and solid wood panels with melamine/plywood carcass would be 40k+++ Then I went to expo and found a few company that does full aluminium cabinets. Not only they have shaker door but they quote me about 30-35k for a full aluminium cabinets. Their warranty is also longer. Is there a difference in the aluminium material used by the mixed material vendors vs the full aluminium ones? Coz I'm wondering why the price difference is quite significant. Also any known cons for those who have done fully aluminium cabinets? |
Oct 8 2023, 11:02 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(whippy @ Oct 8 2023, 09:20 PM) Hi all the cons? cons would be paying the highest price. when its actually not too expensive to fabricate. Just got my key recently and trying to build my dream kitchen. Basically my biggest criteria for the aesthetic is shaker door I have asked a few KC companies for quotation and if I want to have shaker door, I have to use either blockboard, HDF or solid wood And there's also the question of the carcass too. If I want aluminium, the cost multiplies like crazy. In general, I was quoted HDF panels with melamine/plywood carcass is about 35k+ and solid wood panels with melamine/plywood carcass would be 40k+++ Then I went to expo and found a few company that does full aluminium cabinets. Not only they have shaker door but they quote me about 30-35k for a full aluminium cabinets. Their warranty is also longer. Is there a difference in the aluminium material used by the mixed material vendors vs the full aluminium ones? Coz I'm wondering why the price difference is quite significant. Also any known cons for those who have done fully aluminium cabinets? |
Oct 9 2023, 12:07 PM
1,189 posts Joined: Jun 2015 From: Malaysia |
is there any contractor can replace the wood between cabinet and quartz top..? it start crack dunno why......and always got black substance fall down suspect the wood also wet and got fungus....
Oct 28 2023, 04:00 PM
3,844 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Lexc Cheong @ Sep 13 2023, 10:04 AM) Dear Sifu, Mate, so did you go with them? Im looking to refurbish my kitchen cabinets (wood, 40+yrs).I received the quotation for kitchen cabinet and in the opinion that the price quoted is of high end range. Details of quotation as below:: Dry kitchen - Concrete table (without tiles on top / solely internal 12 * 12 tiles) 2100 * 600 * 1 side panel leg (860) height RM 2,700 - Quartz top (2100 + 860 * 600 (front 80) RM4,200 - Front door system with internal shelve and panel (2100 * 720 height * 550 depth - laminate - RM1,960 Wet Kitchen (Sink area) - Concrete table (without tile on top / solely internal 12 * 12 tiles) 2,550 * 600 * 1 side panel leg height RM3,000 - Quartz top (2550 * 600) RM5,040 - Front door system with internal shelve and panel (2,550 * 720 height * 550 depth RM2,520 - Laminate Wet Kitchen (Cooking Area) - Concrete table (without tile on top / solely internal 12 * 12 tiles) 2,250 + 1,224 * 600 * 1 side panel leg (900) RM3,950 - Quartz stone (2,250 + 1,224 * 600) RM4,830 - Front Door System with Internal Shelve and Panel (2,250 + 1,224 * 720 * 550) RM3,220 - laminate - Wall unit with sliding door (2,250 + 1,224 * 1,450 * 350) RM7,850 - laminate - Plaster board to cover hoss (without painting) (2,250 * 350 * 350) RM1,400 Based on the quotation above - the total cost is at least fall under range from RM30k to RM40k ++. Is the above quotation reasonable ? Thanks for guidance. How was their workmanship? and could you pass me the contact if they are from Klang Valley. Thx Anyone else has any contacts from KV area? |
Nov 4 2023, 03:29 PM
216 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Can anyone here recommend me a good sifu with good workmanship who can supply and install wall cabinets (wood)
Please provide name and contact number. Thank you This post has been edited by akira: Nov 4 2023, 03:30 PM |
Nov 15 2023, 02:47 PM
17 posts Joined: Oct 2022 |
QUOTE(whippy @ Oct 8 2023, 09:20 PM) Hi all I dont have a fully aluminium kc, but my friend does. TBH for me the only cons is the noises when you put items on the shelf / inside the cabinet, also limited design.Just got my key recently and trying to build my dream kitchen. Basically my biggest criteria for the aesthetic is shaker door I have asked a few KC companies for quotation and if I want to have shaker door, I have to use either blockboard, HDF or solid wood And there's also the question of the carcass too. If I want aluminium, the cost multiplies like crazy. In general, I was quoted HDF panels with melamine/plywood carcass is about 35k+ and solid wood panels with melamine/plywood carcass would be 40k+++ Then I went to expo and found a few company that does full aluminium cabinets. Not only they have shaker door but they quote me about 30-35k for a full aluminium cabinets. Their warranty is also longer. Is there a difference in the aluminium material used by the mixed material vendors vs the full aluminium ones? Coz I'm wondering why the price difference is quite significant. Also any known cons for those who have done fully aluminium cabinets? But after reading other reviews on cabinet materials, i guess these people don't have to worry about termite or moisture if water somehow finds a way inside the laminated material and made your carcass and door 'kembang'. |
Nov 26 2023, 10:35 PM
18 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(whippy @ Oct 8 2023, 09:20 PM) Hi all What do you mean mixed material vendors? Usually if you want mix, you can use aluminum carcass, cuz thats where it will get wet and damage; and the door can be your designed shaker door in HDF or solid wood.Just got my key recently and trying to build my dream kitchen. Basically my biggest criteria for the aesthetic is shaker door I have asked a few KC companies for quotation and if I want to have shaker door, I have to use either blockboard, HDF or solid wood And there's also the question of the carcass too. If I want aluminium, the cost multiplies like crazy. In general, I was quoted HDF panels with melamine/plywood carcass is about 35k+ and solid wood panels with melamine/plywood carcass would be 40k+++ Then I went to expo and found a few company that does full aluminium cabinets. Not only they have shaker door but they quote me about 30-35k for a full aluminium cabinets. Their warranty is also longer. Is there a difference in the aluminium material used by the mixed material vendors vs the full aluminium ones? Coz I'm wondering why the price difference is quite significant. Also any known cons for those who have done fully aluminium cabinets? Fully alum cabinets are done by those specialist supplier, as all their accesories will fit to their specs only. Long ago, alum cabinet look ugly, nowadays got more options la. But expensive. But i would not recommend normal cabinet la. alum cabinet noisy, and expensive. The cost might as well bring to do better quality plumbing. |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:51 AM |