911 posts

Previous Kitchen Cabinet threads (V1, V2 and V3) are linked below

V1 : Kitchen Cabinet v1

V2 : Kitchen Cabinet v2

V3 :Kitchen Cabinet V3

Kitchen Cabinet Materials

And SOLID WOOD of course, courtesy of ar188

Kitchen Layouts by Qanvast (Check out which ones suit you)
Some kitchen layout ideas from RoomSketcher

Quick question - anyone using ALUMINIUM kitchen cabinets?

This post has been edited by GravityFi3ld: Jul 1 2019, 11:55 AM
veron4best
post Jun 28 2019, 05:53 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Jun 26 2019, 11:02 PM)
Does all hood and hob has standard size for installation?
Cos im planning to buy hood and hob first when there is sale

Later on after settle plaster ceiling and grille
Then i will hire a kithcen cabinet contractor
But I scared got different size and therefore affected the installation and incur extra charges as its not safe like their spec for installation
it is not standard size. only hood is rather standard size.

hob have to depends on the opening. otherwise, u complete ur kitchen cabinet first. and later on only ask ppl open for u. but be aware that if open hole for quartz/marble those causes alot of dust.

if induction cooker, plz pull another wiring for it. my in laws house plug melt out due to using sharing wiring with others and induction cooker.

This post has been edited by veron4best: Jun 28 2019, 05:56 PM
justhistime
post Jun 28 2019, 06:40 PM

44 posts

Parking
ar188
post Jun 28 2019, 11:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jun 28 2019, 05:48 PM)
Previous Kitchen Cabinet threads (V1, V2 and V3) are linked below

V1 : Kitchen Cabinet v1

V2 : Kitchen Cabinet v2

V3 :Kitchen Cabinet V3
Kitchen Cabinet Materials

Kitchen Layout (Check out which ones suit you)

Quick question - anyone using ALUMINIUM kitchen cabinets?
time to add one more material to the list. Solid wood panels.
why? or else how to justify 50k kitchens made out of budget aluminum frame/ACP panel combo or rm200 plywood or rm100 blockboards? biggrin.gif

pine

red oak

nyatoh

and many more, like white oak, eucylptus, walnut etc. biggrin.gif
koinibler
post Jul 1 2019, 10:46 AM

2,050 posts

Congrat on the new thread.

My new KC will be end of this year. Nothing fancy. This time will be low cost as possible.
TSGravityFi3ld
post Jul 1 2019, 11:43 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Jul 1 2019, 10:46 AM)
Congrat on the new thread.

My new KC will be end of this year. Nothing fancy. This time will be low cost as possible.
drool.gif can't wait to see them !
What material are you going with - aluminium?
alan6449
post Jul 1 2019, 07:01 PM

Any recommendations for reliable n cheao shop for kitchen cabinet using nyatoh & top granite

Nobodywannabe
post Jul 1 2019, 07:03 PM

I was quoted more less same price from two different companies.. one quote for 4g material another is solid nyatoh.. when I ask they said not so much different btwn 4g & solid nyatoh..

My question is, which lasts longer? Really noob about KC.. hope someone can help me.. thanks in advance
omg528
post Jul 1 2019, 10:28 PM

739 posts

I'm getting Alluminium for my kitchen as well...
RM1K for top&bottom+quartz top/per ft..is it resonable?
BTW, it is 4g material...
glasgowkitchen
post Jul 3 2019, 04:41 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Nobodywannabe @ Jul 1 2019, 07:03 PM)
I was quoted more less same price from two different companies.. one quote for 4g material another is solid nyatoh.. when I ask they said not so much different btwn 4g & solid nyatoh..

My question is, which lasts longer? Really noob about KC.. hope someone can help me.. thanks in advance
Hmmm….

Theoretically, glass bottles takes longer to decompose in a landfield than wooden chair. Glass & aluminium are termite resistant.

4G: Contemporary/ Modern design, some 4G have wood behind the frame, glass is heavy and the glass is at risk of cracking/ chipping (best to get soft close hinge).

Solid wood: Classic design, can install accessories onto the frame itself (drilling/ nail), can paint in the future to remodel it, warping of wood due to humidity.

What cabinet carcass are you planning? Wood? Concrete?
Nobodywannabe
post Jul 8 2019, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(glasgowkitchen @ Jul 3 2019, 04:41 PM)
Hmmm….

Theoretically, glass bottles takes longer to decompose in a landfield than wooden chair. Glass & aluminium are termite resistant.

4G: Contemporary/ Modern design, some 4G have wood behind the frame, glass is heavy and the glass is at risk of cracking/ chipping (best to get soft close hinge).

Solid wood: Classic design, can install accessories onto the frame itself (drilling/ nail), can paint in the future to remodel it, warping of wood due to humidity.

What cabinet carcass are you planning? Wood? Concrete?
Thanks for replying I really appreciates it.. just simple wood for carcass.. base is concrete..
hirano
post Jul 10 2019, 04:22 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,330 posts

Hardboard ABS ok for carcass & door?

That's my only option if not enough budget for aluminium.. sad.gif
mrkudin
post Jul 10 2019, 06:55 PM

33 posts

I'm planning to DIY my wall kitchen cabinet. For ikea frame it's quite easy as it come with railing but how other installer hung the cabinet other than ikea? Screwed directly to the wall?
Bjorn1688
post Jul 11 2019, 11:52 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(mrkudin @ Jul 10 2019, 06:55 PM)
I'm planning to DIY my wall kitchen cabinet. For ikea frame it's quite easy as it come with railing but how other installer hung the cabinet other than ikea? Screwed directly to the wall?
Yes it will be screwed in with a cabinet hanging screw.
mrkudin
post Jul 11 2019, 02:44 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Jul 11 2019, 11:52 AM)
Thanks for that ;-)
So that means normal cabinet carcass (other than ikea) have thicker board at the back? as for ikea cabinet the back is just a thin of plywood
Any picture of cabinet hanging screw?
SUSceo684
post Jul 11 2019, 02:51 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Jul 11 2019, 11:52 AM)
You mean using a sleeve anchor?
Bjorn1688
post Jul 11 2019, 03:39 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(mrkudin @ Jul 11 2019, 02:44 PM)
Thanks for that ;-)
So that means normal cabinet carcass (other than ikea) have thicker board at the back? as for ikea cabinet the back is just a thin of plywood
Any picture of cabinet hanging screw?
Normal cabinets are not mounted by the back board, it is mounted using a cross member or one of the support structure.

IKEA cabinets on the other hand are mounted using a L-bracket that clips and locks onto the rail, the L-bracket is mounted on the side of the carcass not on the plywood backboard.

However one key difference with IKEA cabinets is the backboard actually plays a crucial role in keeping the carcass in shape.

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 11 2019, 02:51 PM)
You mean using a sleeve anchor?

mrkudin
post Jul 11 2019, 03:53 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Jul 11 2019, 03:39 PM)
Normal cabinets are not mounted by the back board, it is mounted using a cross member or one of the support structure.

IKEA cabinets on the other hand are mounted using a L-bracket that clips and locks onto the rail, the L-bracket is mounted on the side of the carcass not on the plywood backboard.

However one key difference with IKEA cabinets is the backboard actually plays a crucial role in keeping the carcass in shape.
Thanks again for you explanation.
But can you further elaborate this point
"Normal cabinets are not mounted by the back board, it is mounted using a cross member or one of the support structure."
What is cross member?
Any picture or link for me to refer.. Sorry noob request here
ryanwong92 P
post Jul 11 2019, 10:43 PM

Probation
18 posts

Hi sifus, need your help here.

I am considering either custom made cabinets that were recommended from my contractor or IKEA kitchen cabinets. I bought a subsale house and the previous owner has installed some cabinets in the wet kitchen area. Correct me if i am wrong, Ikea kitchen cabinets are not customisable and I am afraid that the Ikea cabinets will not fit the current kitchen once my contractor has dismantled the current table top and old cabinets.
Bjorn1688
post Jul 11 2019, 11:18 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(mrkudin @ Jul 11 2019, 03:53 PM)
Thanks again for you explanation.
But can you further elaborate this point
"Normal cabinets are not mounted by the back board, it is mounted using a cross member or one of the support structure."
What is cross member?
Any picture or link for me to refer.. Sorry noob request here

The crossmember where it is attached to the wall is at the part where it is labelled 1/4" plywood back, 1 x 6 nail cleat.

It is basically a piece of the frame that is made from a stronger wood to hold the entire weight of the cabinet to the wall.

53 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:02 AM