53 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Kitchen Cabinet V4 (Heart of the House)

apalexar
post Mar 28 2021, 03:59 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(CYBERJUDGE @ Mar 28 2021, 03:03 PM)
Unity Kitchen ... But full payment just by water mouth guarantee is looking for trouble.
Ask them provide the invoice and check about the tnc listed.
SUSceo684
post Mar 29 2021, 10:51 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(CYBERJUDGE @ Mar 28 2021, 03:03 PM)
Unity Kitchen ... But full payment just by water mouth guarantee is looking for trouble.
Such payment term certainly gives you very little recourse in the event that they did a sloppy job since you already paid them full, zero risk for them as all monies collected upfront.

If half upfront and half upon satisfactory completion of works sound more reasonable to me.

For a baseline, roughly how much did they quote (and scope of works)?
fleur_cherie
post Mar 30 2021, 10:47 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 29 2021, 10:51 PM)
Such payment term certainly gives you very little recourse in the event that they did a sloppy job since you already paid them full, zero risk for them as all monies collected upfront.

If half upfront and half upon satisfactory completion of works sound more reasonable to me.

For a baseline, roughly how much did they quote (and scope of works)?
Alamak, i already paid signature full amount. Should be ok is it since it is a reputable brand?
apalexar
post Mar 30 2021, 11:51 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Mar 30 2021, 10:47 AM)
Alamak, i already paid signature full amount. Should be ok is it since it is a reputable brand?
The only risk is that they may or may not entertain you if you have some dissatisfaction about the final product. Both signature and unity are quite popular in KC so shouldn't have issue like incomplete job after full payment.

fleur_cherie
post Mar 30 2021, 02:32 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Mar 30 2021, 11:51 AM)
The only risk is that they may or may not entertain you if you have some dissatisfaction about the final product. Both signature and unity are quite popular in KC so shouldn't have issue like incomplete job after full payment.
Noted boss.. Hopefully they install nicely.
idkihavenoidealol
post Mar 31 2021, 03:38 PM

112 posts

Guys, I'm currently planning on my kitchen cabinet layout and I'm thinking of doing something as below. I have 2 concern about sink placement (undermount):

1) What is the minimum distance of the sink to the edge (fridge cabinet), labelled "x"?

2) Can I extend the sink placement over to the other side of the corner (labelled "y") as I'm afraid there is some kitchen cabinet structure below that does not allow me to do this.

wira1979
post Mar 31 2021, 05:52 PM

1,057 posts

Just a quick one. What's the normal distance/spacing between the bottom and upper cabinets of a kitchen?

Is 70 cm considered OK?
SUSceo684
post Mar 31 2021, 09:21 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Mar 31 2021, 05:52 PM)
Just a quick one. What's the normal distance/spacing between the bottom and upper cabinets of a kitchen?

Is 70 cm considered OK?
You can guesstimate based on your (and your partner's) height using a long ruler/carpenters square/cardboard box, I just simply install at the height where our heads will never hit the bottom side of top cabinet.
Usually the top cabinet (if Ikea system) will be narrower than the bottom cabinet so it's quite impossible to bang the head on the top cabinet in any circumstances.
For non ikea system or where the top half is equally deep as the bottom half the scenario will be a bit different.

Officially Ikea recommended https://www.ikea.com/us/en/files/pdf/a3/20/...guide-aug18.pdf
You should allow 22 5/16" (56.67cm) between the bottom of your wall cabinets and the bottom of your base rail when measuring for your upper rail.
so in theory it will be ~50cm between countertop and bottom part of top cabinets, your 70cm should work generally, but best to test out first. I used this https://shopee.com.my/24-X-16-CARPENTER-SQU...6208.1298300561 to simulate the top cabinet's lowest point target height (and depth) before installing.

There is also one potential problem, if mounting the top half too high up it will be quite hard to access things without a step stool.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 31 2021, 09:25 PM
blanket84
post Apr 1 2021, 12:08 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Mar 31 2021, 05:52 PM)

Is 70 cm considered OK?
Malaysian “standard” is 60cm. American “standard” is 45cm. 70cm is too high even for weird looking Malaysian “standard”.

Unless you’re super tall by Malaysian standard, there will be plenty of “wasted” shelf on the upper cabinets.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Apr 1 2021, 12:09 AM
blanket84
post Apr 1 2021, 12:12 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Mar 31 2021, 03:38 PM)
Guys, I'm currently planning on my kitchen cabinet layout and I'm thinking of doing something as below. I have 2 concern about sink placement (undermount):

1) What is the minimum distance of the sink to the edge (fridge cabinet), labelled "x"?

2) Can I extend the sink placement over to the other side of the corner (labelled "y") as I'm afraid there is some kitchen cabinet structure below that does not allow me to do this.

1) There isn’t any standard on how much you need. But general consensus in US based website is that you need a minimum of 18” of landing space on both side of your sink to make you kitchen functional.

2) Depending on the size of your sink, most likely it is possible.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Apr 1 2021, 12:12 AM
SUSceo684
post Apr 1 2021, 03:20 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Mar 31 2021, 03:38 PM)

For #1 the x should leave some space ljke 10 to 15cm coz water splash from the tap will run the risk of ruining the cabinet.

#2 you will need enough space for putting up a drying rack as those washed plates and stuff still need to dry off somewhere.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 1 2021, 03:21 AM
wira1979
post Apr 1 2021, 09:12 AM

1,057 posts

Cheers friends.

I'm pretty set on getting an Ikea kitchen, so looks likely I'll go for something between 60 to 70 cm depending on when we actually get to sample the kitchens in Ikea. My wife and I are of the same height so shouldn't need to get into an argument to agree on this (I'm not too optimistic though).

If I recall correctly as well, Ikea bottom cabinets tend to be quite 'tall' around 90 cm in height after legs and countertop so as you rightly pointed out, don't want to need a ladder to reach the upper cabinets.

boyan
post Apr 2 2021, 04:17 PM

102 posts

Anyone has any rough ballpark pricing for plywood carcass + laminated finish door?

Base unit = RM ??? pfr
Wall unit = RM ??? pfr
Tall unit = RM ??? pfr
gordonchin
post Apr 7 2021, 11:01 PM

110 posts

Hi all, if I were to have plywood as my carcass, and melamine as door. Would the wood grain colour not match?

As far as I understand whether it's plywood or melamine, there is still a layer of laminate on top of the body material. So the cabinet maker will be able to have the same colour across carcass and door.
xAmdx
post Apr 12 2021, 12:01 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(gordonchin @ Apr 7 2021, 11:01 PM)
Hi all, if I were to have plywood as my carcass, and melamine as door. Would the wood grain colour not match?

As far as I understand whether it's plywood or melamine, there is still a layer of laminate on top of the body material. So the cabinet maker will be able to have the same colour across carcass and door.
No, the KC maker will be able to wrap either plywood or melamine with the wood grain color you choose.

But usually, inside the carcass, they will choose white color and the door is depending what pattern you choose right?
JasonTheGreat
post Apr 12 2021, 08:40 PM

832 posts

Hello
Anyone can comment on MFC for kitchen cabinet? I found contradiction in the internet. Some say it’s cheap material and not suitable for kitchen while in UK they say it’s moisture resistant.
sparktzm
post Apr 15 2021, 12:46 PM

56 posts

What is best material for kitchen cabinet comparing melamine, plywood and aluminium?

This post has been edited by sparktzm: Apr 15 2021, 12:47 PM
xAmdx
post Apr 15 2021, 02:44 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(sparktzm @ Apr 15 2021, 12:46 PM)
What is best material for kitchen cabinet comparing melamine, plywood and aluminium?
first you must see what type of house you stay, for example landed or condo.

Landed will go for allu coz you no need to worry about termite. condo then you can choose wood like melamine and plywood.

Melamine is cheaper coz is chipboard meaning is not solid wood, so it there is water leakage you must wipe it dry asap else it will bloat while plywood had been resistance against water leakage.

Me personally choose plywood for my condo KC as I like wood more then allu, the solid sound of it compare to allu.

other things you can consider is allu kitchen is make up of section, meaning next time if you move house, you can dismantle it and assemble to your new place if the size is the same.

Else the other factor like KC maker advertise allu shelve can withstand 30kg bla bla bla , wood also can do it if you choose blum accessory.
SUSceo684
post Apr 15 2021, 10:36 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Alu being metal is best for wet spots like sink area etc. The other places e.g. top cabinets hardly get wet so not a problem. Alu easier to clean than any wood or chipboard based stuff, you can be lazy to put pots freshly washed on the shelves without worrying about water damage.
ar188
post Apr 16 2021, 01:00 AM

9,206 posts

i would say 18mm marine ply if making for other people's premium project (20k+ level).

for own 2nd house project (mid range, i use rubber wood board), if wanna go high end, special order kempas or merbau 4x8 boards. (30-50k upwards can consider ) if wanna go higher also, i got solid 20mm walnut 4x8 boards..keep stock for own project next time perhaps biggrin.gif

53 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:29 PM