Kitchen Cabinet V4 (Heart of the House)

SUSceo684
post Jul 11 2019, 02:51 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Jul 11 2019, 11:52 AM)
Yes it will be screwed in with a cabinet hanging screw.
You mean using a sleeve anchor?
SUSceo684
post Aug 23 2019, 10:22 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

I was thinking to get a base from Ikea cabinets done and then only get a stone top (probably from those stone top suppliers in Sg Buloh or sth). Is it feasible to mount? I think it should not be a big issue to mount using little L brackets or sth rite?

SUSceo684
post Nov 29 2019, 12:10 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Nov 16 2019, 10:35 PM)
Anyone here got their KC from IKEA? not sure whether they can design tailor made for us... or have to buy the ready-made from them
Mine is 8ft (240cm) kitchen, base only for now, because poorfag budget constraint. Ngam ngam fit a space of 241cm.

I bought Ikea Metod series, self DIY install. thumbup.gif

(0 mark)[40cm][--80cm[piping here]--][-60cm-][-60cm-](241cm end mark)

as the plumbing is for double bowl sink and plumbing ngam ngam at 80cm point, so I got the first module to be 40cm in order not to have to weaken the chassis by cutting it.
SUSceo684
post Jul 13 2020, 12:54 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(notverynice @ Jul 13 2020, 12:14 AM)
Hi everyone,just wondering if melamine kitchen top are good enough for budget kitchen cabinet?are they durable enough for let say 10 years period?
it should work well enough but don't keep it soaking with water, you can get a 8ft one for just rm250 - https://www.ikea.com/my/en/p/ekbacken-workt...60aAiRqEALw_wcB

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 13 2020, 12:54 AM
SUSceo684
post Aug 17 2020, 06:53 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Ching Aik @ Aug 17 2020, 11:00 AM)
Have anyone try IKEA's cabinet?
Is their quality good?

@solsekuin44
I see they offer delivery + installation at extra cost, it is pre-made item so it is expected to fully install within same delivery day.
Not sure about customize cabinet though.
Pretty good, I installed myself and it works fine. I like the options to upgrade the soft close drawers, and customisation options.

QUOTE(aleyna58 @ Aug 17 2020, 03:50 PM)
Can i install ikea kitchen cabinet but for the table top i choose outside from KC maker?
Yes should be possible. The mounting L brackets of your own countertop (to secure the top to the base cabinet) need to be obtained as well. You can order the top separately from those countertop stone supplier.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 17 2020, 06:53 PM
SUSceo684
post Aug 20 2020, 04:42 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(aleyna58 @ Aug 17 2020, 09:02 PM)
Hi ceo684, too bad ikea kc is high for me sad.gif

Im actually really like ikea kc compartment. Can i use their system into kc built by contractor?
You can ask the installer to minus off the height about 6-8cm (i.e. using without plinth, and mount the rail lower for ikea base cabinets because there is a gap for the plinth/plastic legs) i.e. mount it so that the cabinets are floating with a height of 1-2cm from floor.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 20 2020, 04:47 PM
SUSceo684
post Nov 8 2020, 02:01 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Nov 6 2020, 09:31 PM)
I need some opinion here. What do you guys think of black hinges and drawer system on white kitchen cabinets?
Should be OK since the hinges/drawer rails are normally hidden, in case you find them too contrasty.
SUSceo684
post Dec 5 2020, 08:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(cwk82 @ Dec 5 2020, 08:01 PM)
Hi All, just get a quote from UK. Everything seem okay. The only thing worry is material use melamine face chip board. Any advice?
Melamine will hold for many years as long as not submerged in water and no sticker/tape placed on it. After many years if you want to remove that sticker/tape, it tend to peel off with the sticker.
SUSceo684
post Dec 6 2020, 12:28 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 5 2020, 11:51 PM)
My melamine wardrobe installation just completed this afternoon. I was thinking of protecting them with some papers from scratches & dirts by electrical contractor (who will be installing lights, fans and AC next week. So I planned to tape the paper using painter’s tape. My question is, is it safe for me to do so?
Yes the Nippon (Paint) washi tape (sky blue colour) is safe.

The store branded painters tape from Ace tend to be more sticky, I use that as roadtax mounting tape.
SUSceo684
post Dec 6 2020, 12:36 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(gordonchin @ Dec 5 2020, 11:57 PM)
Carpentry prices vary a lot from what I gather from this thread here.
Mine is only a normal terrace, looking for I shaped kitchen cabinet about 12ft, possibly with 7ft quartz top.
You mean I (as in "me myself and I") or L shaped?

The "me myself and I" is the whole total length kitchen - or you just wanna make 7feet to be more waterproof with quartz and the remainder 5feet can be other things like wood /laminate worktop?

Coz like blanket84 mentioned 7feet just enough for a 1.5bowl sink +drying area of the sink + drying rack only, there is no space left for prep work/chopping food. I have the same problem as my top is 8feet with sink.. just manage to stuff in the above-mentioned plus kettle, rice cooker, air fryer only, and that's it.. barely enough space to put chopping board and cooking supplies bottles/spices.

Stove will need to go elsewhere ie not included in the 7 feet top.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 6 2020, 12:38 AM
SUSceo684
post Dec 7 2020, 01:51 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(gordonchin @ Dec 6 2020, 10:01 AM)
Thanks for the input  smile.gif  Amateur here so might have used some words interchangeably.
What I mean is like the picture inserted below.
Cabinet side is 12'-13' long
Island itself is about 7' long x 3'

Didn't want to make it L shaped as I wanted to have a small backyard with sliding door, L shape on the other end would make my dining area very small.

Sketched this myself but not finalised yet.
Ahh so you can use the island as expansion area for prep area if required.

Sink will require about half of the bottom cabinet directly below it to allow for the sink depth and piping.

Stove top there also probably the whole height will be used up by gas tong nearby it unless you are going full electric hob.

Coz I saw the drawers there so better to point these things out first laugh.gif other than that should be fine
SUSceo684
post Dec 9 2020, 01:21 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(MajesticSimb@ @ Dec 9 2020, 10:57 AM)
Need some input from other members here. I'm in the midst of planning my first kitchen cabinet and I'm surveying quite a few suppliers. So far, my preference still lies with Ikea, mainly because it's competitively priced and I really like their design and the additional accessories that I can add on to it.

I'm also seriously considering wooden countertop because I like how warmth it makes my kitchen feel and Ikea has this thick veneer wooden top. I've yet to do any thorough research but I'm just wondering if there's anyone out there who opted to go with wooden countertop and your personal experience (not hearsay).

I don't intend to use this for the  next 20 years, but I'm hoping it will last me a good 5 years before I do remodeling and upgrade the kitchen.
I think I bought the last piece of the real wood countertop from IKEA. So far holding up well coz I do the oiling maintenance and don't let water puddle on it for extended amount of time.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 9 2020, 01:34 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
SUSceo684
post Dec 9 2020, 09:03 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(MajesticSimb@ @ Dec 9 2020, 04:24 PM)
Yea they no longer sell full wood, now only veneer wood. It supposed to be more durable (but I’ll just take it with a pinch of salt). How long have you had this ?
In operation since Jan 2020 for the lower half of kitcab that you see in the pics. This one all maxed out "fullspec" with soft close drawers, handleless fronts (for all drawers and the doors at sink area) was just under 5-6k IIRC.
Had leaking issue with donated (freshly removed from new project) teka tap leaking at the stem (not connection joint) so that's why I didn't install the door for the sink yet. Even I got it free (donated to me by my gym mate) I don't recommend their tap coz it come with short tails (40cm) so its a space constraint to crawl under and use two blardy heavy elcheapo big spanners to tighten.
In the end bought a brand new ikea tap for 229, works beautifully and super easy to self install within 10 mins rclxms.gif the ikea tap tails (metal flexihose) they give 80cm or so, super accessible. It can be tightened easily while you sit comfortably rclxms.gif

Solid wood top cannot really do undermount sink well because of several reasons:
the water penetration issue at the cutout hole
(not to mention its quite tricky to cut a perfect hole with rounded corners using router)
plus the fact that the surface is not 100% flat unlike manmade stone/veneer tops.
Drop in sink (traditional method) still the safest and easiest IMO.

Upper half I just installed the rail, as that part need to drill (noise restriction during MCO only 9-1 weekdays is a bit bothersome - previously anytime within 5.5days office hrs) and getting it done within this month - just need to assemble the cabinet frame "box" and hook it up.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 9 2020, 09:04 PM
SUSceo684
post Dec 25 2020, 03:29 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Dec 24 2020, 06:57 PM)
]thats what i guessed.. so im gonna go ikea this coming week after xmas biggrin.gif
Ikea kitchen basically got two series
Elcheapo one is the below 2k for a 8ft kitchen, top and bottom materials. then add 600 installation or just DIY.
This is more cost effective for rental condemnation.

The metod one for 8ft if you go all out fullspec with nice sink and all the fancier soft close hinges, fancier drawer front without handles, will cost about 5-6k on materials.
SUSceo684
post Dec 25 2020, 04:04 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Dec 25 2020, 03:54 PM)
Thanks ya

2k is damn cheap.. maybe will go for that, then add quartz as top.

The below 2k that u mention, is already include sink n tap n drawers?
Yes they actually come with a top and sink as well for the below 2k series
- the elcheapo series, sink also elcheapo looking but it will functionally, it will work just fine la.
https://www.ikea.com/my/en/cat/knoxhult-series-36836/

but bear in mind elcheapo series materials will DEFINITELY cut corners lah like material thickness of the cabinet chassis and shelves
- the standard series metod one also configurable to order without worktop. however base price cannot fight the elcheapo series la. u can also get as cheap as 20-30 for the drawer fronts for metod. Fancier door >100 ea.
https://www.ikea.com/my/en/cat/base-cabinet...ht-80-cm-23607/

- the elcheapo one also got preset components like one shelf. or one bottom unit.
https://www.ikea.com/my/en/cat/knoxhult-all-parts-49318/

form vs function laugh.gif

full spec 8ft with lighting (400, can minus off) and fancy 1k sink and upgraded 229 tap and everything drawer on the bottom (except part under sink) is 6.1k+

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 25 2020, 04:19 PM

SUSceo684
post Jan 7 2021, 10:59 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 6 2021, 12:56 AM)
I am not a sifu, but I recently did a renovation so I could share some personal experience.

I can't answer your first question since I already decided on Quartz since the beginning, so I've never made any research on solid surface. On % of quartz, if you buy standard one, you most probably wouldn't know. Expensive ones might tell you the %.

Tiles, ceramic is good enough for wall, porcelain is better for floor, but thick ceramic should be fine too if you like the design.

I think you drawing is good enough for KC company to start designing. Maybe you would want to specify base unit height that suits your own height. If you already have in mind how do you want to arrange your tableware, cookware, dinnerware, utensils & etc, maybe you can specify them in your design.

And I would highly recommend Cubix KC if you're into Shaker style cabinet with plywood carcass.

And don't forget to buy a water level and check the straightness of your walls before engaging a KC contractor. I learned that lesson the hard way.  sweat.gif
my 8ft (241cm on the wall) was trapezoid (239.8cm opening /_ \ so ended up grinding the wall to have sufficient clearance for drawers and worktop; puttied back minimal coating because of such fine tolerance sweat.gif
SUSceo684
post Jan 18 2021, 09:49 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jan 18 2021, 02:59 AM)
Looking for reliable carpenter for kitchen cabinet , simple 6-7feet , top and bottom. With sink, 3 drawers

Whats the estimate cost like?

Wanna compare against ikea's metod
To give rough estimate, from owners group chat my neighbour (we're all same 8ft kitchen space same layout just flip left or right laugh.gif) mostly got quoted for around 4k-6k generally for 8ft all in (top bottom cabinet) EXCLUDE concrete top. With some horror stories.

Material and thickness also variable lah (not mentioned in the quotation) so this is red apple to green apple to fuji apple to rotten apple comparisons. Bearing in mind if they use same as the elcheapo ikea series, that elcheapo ikea series is thinner material vs metod, it come with can-use (functional = will work as intended) sink (although aesthetic wise may not look pretty) - but price wise can't be beat (below 2k - like 1800 or so - plus maybe 600 installation).

Hence I also kepala pusing and just went with ikea metod. DIY at my own convenience. Its not that hard to setup (installation instructions online), you just need to measure and drill the rails' holes in the wall + cut the worktop (most noisy parts), semi noisy is nailing up the boxes' backing sheet (can cover with action movie).

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 18 2021, 09:59 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Attached image(s)
SUSceo684
post Feb 19 2021, 02:47 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Feb 18 2021, 10:57 PM)
Honestly, are Ikea kitchens any good?
For own stay or for doomed condemnation by tenant?

For condemnation the knoxhult series is cheap enough to be replaced often.

For own stay nothing less than metod series.

It has blum hinges blum drawer rails soft close options etc that one will find in a 30k signature kitchen output.

Material wise it works well for its class of melamine material carcasses. In fact its 18mm thick so its actually thicker than comparable price bracket 16mm offerings. Will lose to solid nyatoh stuff but that is wayyy diff price bracket already. You can pair it with a solid stone top on your own if their countertop offerings aren't your style.

For flooding use without bothering to wipe, might look in to full alu cabinet. The melamine/chipboard stuff is best kept dry.
SUSceo684
post Feb 19 2021, 02:44 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Feb 19 2021, 02:03 PM)
Thanks for your reply. Found it very informative.

Looking for own stay, so definitely the Metod series. I quite like the idea of an Ikea kitchen mainly because of the fittings that you can put into their cabinets i.e. you can add on slowly to make it more organised, add drawers in, etc. My family are not into heavy cooking as we have our own personal chefs (Foodpanda, Grab), so the cabinets don't have to be super durable and I'll probably just have one kitchen without the need of a dry and wet area. At most, water may only come into the picture during dish washing time as we don't plan on having a dishwasher.

I know overseas, Ikea kitchens are seen as a 'cheap' kitchen. However, in the Malaysian context, is the Ikea kitchen considered cheap, mid-tier or expensive? I mean, it it's considered expensive, then I might want to approach other companies to see what they can offer. Honestly, at the moment I haven't looked at other companies so I really don't have any points of reference to compare to.
Ikea kitcab (metod) should fall under mid-tier.
It is not the cheapest outfit, but for a midtier solution the value you get from it is pretty good (fully featured 8ft for <7k all in) without having to pay 20-30k for a 8ft kitchen.
Depending on what are the nice-to-haves and must-haves the price variation between options can save a few hundred bucks.
e.g. basic door 20/30, fancier handleless door 100+
e.g. basic sink 265, fancier sinks can be 570-1200

Comparing 8ft size kitcab works below for a feel of what my neighbours also signed up for:

0. Cheapest bargain basement 2400-3000
Ikea one will be2.4k all in;
or from other vendor the thin materials equivalent of ikea knoxhult just the concrete top and doors/shelves cabinet sans drawers. Probably 3k all in since the concrete top will cost around 1200-1500 alone. Sink probably of dubious quality (rusts/oxidises just by looking at it ie not even 304) if you go full elcheapo mode.

1. 4800 for unprofessional vendor excl.gif
For aluminum kitchen cabinet,
pls don't sign Nxxxxxx Kitchen , u will regrets, the price is cheaper than other. I sign at Bukit jalil home expo thr.

Last month I called them to install, but attitude very very teruk. Never pick up the phone , all by whatsapp, said 8ft only no need measurement, then I told him v hv a DB thr, block the cabinet, must send ppl come for measure them only can, and I want top up to full height.

After tht the ppl come do measurement didn't bring the tools. Only bring a pen & a piece of paper. I need to buy a rules and let him measure the height & DB

After tht I request to refund my RM500 but he said can't, bcs already did the measurement. Somemore, the design i give them same as developer 1, they can't understand at all... drawing oso wrong.

At the end he even ask me, "u nak beli gambar atau cabinet?" (you want to buy picture or cabinet)
And then keep ask me make full payment for the balance.

If want , I can show my whatsapp full chat history here. Even I call their boss also same.
Now I forfeit my 500 and find other ppl do.

2. About low 5k; adjusted based on pfr cost to 8ft (/9.5*8)
I got quoted 5860 for 9.5' base and wall dry kitchen cabinet handleless.
With quartz top. Comes with sink and drawer
Alpha kitchen. Very good price

3. My own self-installed Ikea kitcab 6100 (full bottom drawers, w/ tap and fancy sink, without the ikea lighting option)
full spec 8ft with lighting (400, can minus off) and fancy 1k sink and upgraded 229 tap and everything drawer on the bottom (except part under sink) is 6.1k+
This can be cheaper by approx 500 if I went for normal doors (those 20-30 bucks options) rather than the 100+ per door options.
Can also upgrade the top cabinet to the "aircraft cabin overhead storage" type for approx. 200 bucks more per "cabin storage horizontal unit" (vertical hinges inclusive) - i.e. this type https://www.ikea.com/my/en/p/metod-wall-cab...hite-s09391476/

If hire Ikea to do the installation work, should add another 500-600 for installation.

the layout is above at https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99385218
At the other end of the spectrum will be Signature Kitchen which will probably be in the ballpark of 25-30k for a 8ft kitchen.
This is considered expensive in Msian context laugh.gif - for a feel of the price range you can skim through https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2663554/all

This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 19 2021, 03:01 PM
SUSceo684
post Feb 22 2021, 04:07 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(squidsquid @ Feb 22 2021, 02:44 PM)
dear sifu,

received quotes below for my cabinets. this is my first home hence first time dealing these.. appreciate any feedback if the prices are reasonable esp for the kitchen area. thank you so much!!

Hi there,
I'd advise to use the LYN attachment function (the part immediately above Add reply/preview post buttons) rather than pictr (upload images button) for higher resolution coz the last image cant really read the text.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:45 AM