119 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Personal Loan, which banks offer the best deal?

airline
post Apr 7 2010, 01:39 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

this is long thread. what bank gives out cheapest personal loan.
if only have ic and credit card can apply already?
Syd G
post Apr 7 2010, 02:04 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(affable @ Apr 7 2010, 01:36 PM)
Hey Syd G,
              you're really meticulous in your calculation, your working for a financial institute or you just love maths??? LOL : )
Hey smile.gif Neither actually.

My husband and I took personal loan 3 times in a period of 5 years - HSBC, Citibank, Al-Rajhi. We were overwhelmed by our CC spending and we had no savings. All we did was to cover one hole by digging another hole. One day I got really really sick of our financial situation and decided to pay more attention to loan T&Cs, and spent more time calculating stuff. We found out that :

1) Having personal loan to consolidate your credit card debt is a bad idea, since it's better to BT @ 0% for 6 months and become totally focused and disciplined on clearing it out whilst not piling any new debt on our cc.

2) Personal loans aren't as cheap as you think cause they're calculated based on fixed interest rate. Go anywhere now and you'll see lots of advertisements on billboards, sidewalk, taxis for personal loan. Why do you think they're aggressively marketed? smile.gif

3) You'll not get full loan on personal loan. 0.5% will go to stamp duty regarless of any bank. Al-Rajhi has 'Delivery Charges' fees (I called it processing fee in my calculation above) and compulsory Takaful that you have to buy and it caught us by surprise because we were ignorant. We got almost RM400 less than our loan amount.

There are other physiological effect too (you'll think that you have more cashflow by reconsolidating your loans, you'll tend to spend more etc) and risks (you're doomed if you lose your job, become sick and unable to work etc) but I'll just stop here smile.gif

Currently we have 0 credit card balance, 0 car loan payment, 0 personal loan payment, a few k in our 0% BT plan and emergency fund for 3 months expenses. Hopefully we'll never go back to that place again...

loanneeded
post Apr 7 2010, 03:55 PM

78 posts

thanks, Syd G. but i calculated the same too.
what amazed me is the staff in bank doesnt really know their own product and rate and all they depend on is their system. they do not even know how to count. rclxub.gif

all your prediction is correct though not exact amount ..
after i calculate, totally i save about RM500+
it's lower than i expected because previously i did not know Al rajhi is charging so many extra fees, they told me just today.
but anyway, i still save although not alot. sad.gif

This post has been edited by loanneeded: Apr 7 2010, 03:58 PM
iman_210
post Apr 7 2010, 05:14 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 7 2010, 01:26 PM)
I'm sorry for just shooting you and not explaining the maths.

Then you need to calculate the fees to apply for the second loan as well.

Processing fee : RM250
Stamp duty (0.5% out of RM10000) : RM50
Takaful (assume RM50) : RM50
Total fees : RM350

Interests for 3 years for first loan : RM10,000 x 11.88% x 3 = RM3564
Interests for 3 years for second loan : RM10,000 x 8.5% x 3 = RM2550
Total savings on interest for 3 years = RM1014

Minus Early penalty fee (assume what you said is true) for first loan = RM200
Minus Second loan's processing fee = RM350

Total savings = RM464
Total savings out of loan amount = 1.55%

---

Lets consider the variables :
1) This is assuming your early penalty fee is RM200
2) This is assuming your takaful is RM50
3) This is assuming your bank will give you FULL rebate of interests for the whole 3 years

Is it really worth your 1.55% ?

What I'll do :
1) Find out how much rebate on interests I'll get from the first lender
2) Find out how much is the early penalty fee from the first lender
3) Find out how much is my takaful charge from Al-Rajhi bank

And redo the maths. If it's worth your time and effort then do it. Else just go through it for the next 36 months.

Cheers.
Tq for sharing...Ive just found out about koperasi loan...apparently their advert does not actually talk as what they walk...instead of charging 1.99% they are actually charging 18% per annum.
wufei
post Apr 8 2010, 03:54 PM

3,039 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 6 2010, 11:08 PM)
Am wondering. Is 8.5% from Al-Rajhi?
but got hell lots of hidden charges?
Syd G
post Apr 8 2010, 03:59 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Apr 8 2010, 03:54 PM)
but got hell lots of hidden charges?
It's not that they didnt disclose it, it's just that people are too ignorant to care.
manchurr
post Apr 8 2010, 08:37 PM

500 posts

who's here familiar with personal loan for government staff? can i take the personal loan if i'm just recently join governemnt as PEGAWAI, permanent only 2months+ join.

xenxenxen
post Apr 8 2010, 11:34 PM

79 posts

Hi , i wanna ask anyone tried the RHB Easy-Pinjaman Ekspres ??

How does it work ? the website says :

No documentation required
On-the-spot approval and disbursement in less than 10 minutes
Flexible Personal Financing amounts from RM2,000 to RM50,000
Low monthly installment amount from less than RM60 per month
Flexible loan repayment tenure of up to 5 years (60 months)

Is it true ?
Syd G
post Apr 8 2010, 11:35 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(xenxenxen @ Apr 8 2010, 11:34 PM)
Hi , i wanna ask anyone tried the RHB Easy-Pinjaman Ekspres ??

How does it work ? the website says :

No documentation required
On-the-spot approval and disbursement in less than 10 minutes
Flexible Personal Financing amounts from RM2,000 to RM50,000
Low monthly installment amount from less than RM60 per month
Flexible loan repayment tenure of up to 5 years (60 months)

Is it true ?
Try asking her - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1353900
triangle
post Apr 9 2010, 10:55 PM

97 posts

hi guys,

i would like to ask if only need around RM2k-3k cash, is it better to get PL or direct using cc to get it.

fyi: i never hold any cc, most of the time debit card, and also never having a loan.

p/s: the rhb easy pinjaman express looks good..but is it too good to b true??

thnx~~
g-go
post Apr 10 2010, 01:07 AM

Hi guys, i want to make PL RM30k for 10 years.

work with government. Start Jan 2010. net salary RM2k a month

already rejected by CIMB, Bank islam n RHB-easy.

Didn't use CC and never made any bank loan before.

to any bank agent here. if anyone of u can help me, please PM me ASAP.

wodenus
post Apr 10 2010, 10:40 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(g-go @ Apr 10 2010, 01:07 AM)

Tried MBSB?
g-go
post Apr 10 2010, 02:20 PM

QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 10 2010, 10:40 AM)
Tried MBSB?
sorry. what is MBSB?
affable
post Apr 10 2010, 02:44 PM

31 posts

MBSB is a subsidiary of EPF and they provide loans, personal or house. Their repayment is by salary deduction. Just google on the web MBSB and you can find their website... : )
ghoss
post Apr 10 2010, 06:35 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(g-go @ Apr 10 2010, 01:07 AM)

I'm in the same boat with you

I'm trying to get a PL of 4k also hard due to I don't have any records with the banks even car loan sad.gif
drjake
post Apr 11 2010, 08:26 AM

Hi y'all. I'm a degree holder working as a tax associate and just bought a car last week under Hire Purchase Financing from Bank Islam (Gradhitz).

I have been working for almost 4 months now. Anyone can advise me whether I'm eligible for personal financing (I need to pay ACCA exam fees) or not since I got rejected fro CIMB (probably because my income is not really that great, MYR1600 jer).

Peace out.

Syd G
post Apr 11 2010, 04:53 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(drjake @ Apr 11 2010, 08:26 AM)
Hi y'all. I'm a degree holder working as a tax associate and just bought a car last week under Hire Purchase Financing from Bank Islam (Gradhitz).

I have been working for almost 4 months now. Anyone can advise me whether I'm eligible for personal financing (I need to pay ACCA exam fees) or not since I got rejected fro CIMB (probably because my income is not really that great, MYR1600 jer).

Peace out.
Would be better if you can furnish your desired loan amount and your car's monthly installment amount.
chess_gal
post Apr 11 2010, 06:32 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(drjake @ Apr 11 2010, 08:26 AM)

Peace out.
ACCA exam fee wont cost you a lot, try using a credit card to pay instead, better than taking a personal loan. Don't your firm sponsor your ACCA tuition fee? Perhaps get an interest free loan from your firm and repayment monthly by way of salary deduction. Not a wise move to get a personal loan for small amount cause the interest rates are exorbitant.
drjake
post Apr 11 2010, 06:48 PM

I pay RM497 monthly for car (I love Bank Islam) and I'm gonna need around RM4000 for personal financing. Since it is unsecured, I'm afraid I won't be eligible for that if I apply to RHB.

I work at really small tax firm, and they don't offer sponsorship or ACCA students.

Is it a good move if I pay using credit card, how to make monthly installement, care to elaborate. At a annual income of RM19200, I don't think the bank will accept my credit card application.

This post has been edited by drjake: Apr 11 2010, 06:49 PM
Syd G
post Apr 11 2010, 06:53 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(drjake @ Apr 11 2010, 06:48 PM)
I pay RM497 monthly for car (I love Bank Islam) and I'm gonna need around RM4000 for personal financing. Since it is unsecured, I'm afraid I won't be eligible for that if I apply to RHB.

I work at really small tax firm, and they don't offer sponsorship or ACCA students.

Is it a good move if I pay using credit card, how to make monthly installement, care to elaborate. At a annual income of RM19200, I don't think the bank will accept my credit card application.
As much as you love Bank Islam, RM497 monthly on a RM1600 salary is already 30%. That hurts your chances greatly.

I'd try to change job or postpone the ACCA since you really cant afford it.

119 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:39 PM