Super Noobs Help! [Thread V2], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here
afosz
Aug 3 2007, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(icebloodboy @ Aug 3 2007, 07:00 PM) I have a ques here about AMD processor y so many ppl go for AMD Athlon X2 3600+? izzit 3600+ and 4400+ having a big diff? n then izzit AMD Athlon X2 is core dual? wat's diff if with "AM2" and "+65w"? soli for asking so many noob ques...hehe  That's because the price difference doesn't suit their differences in performance AM2 is a socket. 65W is the thermal design power. X2 is a dual-core processor
Nemesis181188
Aug 3 2007, 08:27 PM
Can an old VGA cause short circuit.The graphics card is all along been kept nicely in the box it came from without
moisture or anything.I wanted to put it inside an old agp motherboard of mine,the card is radeon9000 by the way
agp4x.Pc was using on-board at first then i decided to the new card in then my computer would't even display
anything then i took it out inserted it again still no image.Figuring the card is spoilt i've decided to use back my
on-board,unfortunately my monitor then didn't display anything.The graphics card was working fine the last time I tried it.
This post has been edited by Nemesis181188: Aug 3 2007, 08:35 PM
eddie89
Aug 4 2007, 03:00 AM

I just DIY a cpu with gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 motherboard, but when i switching on the computer, got beep sound then only the bios come out? What happen to my computer? Am i install wrong any wire or...???
kalakatu
Aug 4 2007, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(eddie89 @ Aug 4 2007, 03:00 AM) I just DIY a cpu with gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 motherboard, but when i switching on the computer, got beep sound then only the bios come out? What happen to my computer? Am i install wrong any wire or...??? check back ur ram and other hardware installation...it might not be plugged in firmly/correctly
SUSPVCpipe
Aug 4 2007, 01:05 PM
hi.. i just curious wit sata hdd... from my experience and some reading here, if u want to install os in sata hdd, u must install the pre install sata driver from that came with the mobo or (the one that u hav to copy into floppy disk), else ur window wont boot..(im using P965 chipset)
so what im curious how come 2 of my friend dont hav to do the floppy thing, im sure i read the one of the mobo manual and it has pre install sata driver included the cd( dunno the chipset )... the other one using P35 chipset, oso dont hav to install the preinstall sata driver, and both pc can boot up with out prob... so0 what the explaination for this..
cusx
Aug 4 2007, 01:35 PM
ultra noob question: why is casing so important ?? for airflow? if so... why do we still use casing ? just let it ''naked''
SUSPVCpipe
Aug 4 2007, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(cusx @ Aug 4 2007, 02:35 PM) ultra noob question: why is casing so important ?? for airflow? if so... why do we still use casing ? just let it ''naked'' if u comfortable wit naked rig, why not... just make sure u not spilling ur milo ais on ur rig  .. just my 2cent
alwizbthere
Aug 4 2007, 06:39 PM
dust also gather easily on the hardwares, especially fans... heat issue might arise
lucifah
Aug 4 2007, 10:49 PM
St. Fu
QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Aug 4 2007, 01:05 PM) hi.. i just curious wit sata hdd... from my experience and some reading here, if u want to install os in sata hdd, u must install the pre install sata driver from that came with the mobo or (the one that u hav to copy into floppy disk), else ur window wont boot..(im using P965 chipset) so what im curious how come 2 of my friend dont hav to do the floppy thing, im sure i read the one of the mobo manual and it has pre install sata driver included the cd( dunno the chipset )... the other one using P35 chipset, oso dont hav to install the preinstall sata driver, and both pc can boot up with out prob... so0 what the explaination for this.. Windows XP SP2 has the SATA driver pre-loaded SP1 and earlier windows don't vista has it you will definitely need the SATA driver to install any kind of windows if you are running in RAID configuration.
SUSPVCpipe
Aug 5 2007, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 4 2007, 11:49 PM) Windows XP SP2 has the SATA driver pre-loaded SP1 and earlier windows don't vista has it you will definitely need the SATA driver to install any kind of windows if you are running in RAID configuration. u mean it oso support new released mobo?.... do u think my mobo can do the same?(really lazy to borrow friend's floppy drive)
lucifah
Aug 5 2007, 02:09 PM
St. Fu
QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Aug 5 2007, 01:31 PM) u mean it oso support new released mobo?.... do u think my mobo can do the same?(really lazy to borrow friend's floppy drive) for most cases, it shouldn't be a problem. just try it. u never know.
goldfries
Aug 5 2007, 04:04 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(cusx @ Aug 4 2007, 01:35 PM) ultra noob question: why is casing so important ?? for airflow? if so... why do we still use casing ? just let it ''naked'' how about the fact that running with casing saves space? doesn't collect dust that fast? and of course - looks tidy.
SUSPVCpipe
Aug 5 2007, 08:58 PM
hi... im using samsung DVD RW, write master... the pob im facing now is it oni can read some dvd oni... izzit normal, coz yesterday i bought 2 blank dvd and the drive cant detect the dvd... tested with other dvd that i hav, it works fine... so izzit somekind of faulty or normal....
sang_karim
Aug 7 2007, 08:55 AM
guys...need some help here....i download a wrong display driver for my bro pc ... then it won't display windows .. so i donno how to uninstall the driver as it can't display windows ... so i took off the display card and plug the monitor at onboard vga ... it won't display at all .... the monitor light is blinking in green ... what to do guys? any tips or tricks fot this problem...really need help here...
alwizbthere
Aug 7 2007, 01:00 PM
eh, how about formating?
afosz
Aug 7 2007, 01:01 PM
A question about external HDD. My friend said that it is best formatted in FAT32 rather than NTFS to create a good ext HDD, is it true? Or NTFS also can, without facing any problem later on?
kalakatu
Aug 7 2007, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(afosz @ Aug 7 2007, 01:01 PM) A question about external HDD. My friend said that it is best formatted in FAT32 rather than NTFS to create a good ext HDD, is it true? Or NTFS also can, without facing any problem later on? i personally prefer NTFS rather than FAT32..because with NTFS, i wont be troubled with disc check
afosz
Aug 7 2007, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(kalakatu @ Aug 7 2007, 01:31 PM) i personally prefer NTFS rather than FAT32..because with NTFS, i wont be troubled with disc check  But a friend of mine uses a SATA HDD in his PC, then he decided to make it external. Some time later he faces problem in deleting files, something about security iinm. I'm using the huge Maxtor Personal Storage (FAT32) and no problem so far. He said his friend said that it is preferable FAT32 for externals. I'm asking this is because I'm thinking of taking one HDD from my PC and make it as external with enclosure soon. If I need to make it to FAT32, I need to reformat and transfer the whole thing
sang_karim
Aug 7 2007, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Aug 7 2007, 01:00 PM) formating??  that would be my last option ... anyway problem solve ... it's them ram thing ... take off one ram and monitor display windows ... but still have to repair XP coz some file missing ... problem solve ... tq ...
Najmods
Aug 7 2007, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(afosz @ Aug 7 2007, 01:01 PM) A question about external HDD. My friend said that it is best formatted in FAT32 rather than NTFS to create a good ext HDD, is it true? Or NTFS also can, without facing any problem later on? Use FAT32 IF only you plan to plug it to earlier windows like 98, ME etc. If not NTFS will do just fine This post has been edited by Najmods: Aug 7 2007, 08:17 PM