123 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Super Noobs Help! [Thread V2], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

Phoenixwunin
post Jul 30 2007, 10:32 PM

841 posts

weih guys. Got one stupid question here...

I'm using a Windows 32-bit now. And a 2GB RAM.

Is it adviseable to upgrade to 4GB RAM?? Since as far as I know... Vista / XP 32-bit will only detect up to 3.5GB. So will using 4GB gives any different... or perhaps it will makes my system goes awry?? hmm.gif
kalakatu
post Jul 30 2007, 11:40 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jul 30 2007, 10:32 PM)
weih guys. Got one stupid question here...
I'm using a Windows 32-bit now. And a 2GB RAM.

Is it adviseable to upgrade to 4GB RAM?? Since as far as I know... Vista / XP 32-bit will only detect up to 3.5GB. So will using 4GB gives any different... or perhaps it will makes my system goes awry?? hmm.gif
my POV: we dont really need the 4gb ram as for now, XP only detect up to 3.5gb and actually 2gb is already enough for daily life smile.gif

but if u thinking of getting another 2gb because the ram's price is getting higher, then go for it thumbup.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jul 31 2007, 08:34 AM

841 posts

so basically no noticeable difference but it is recommended hmm.gif

Then I think I will go for it smile.gif

Thanks... notworthy.gif
GuyzNexDoor
post Jul 31 2007, 08:51 AM

486 posts

Noob Q here... tongue.gif

After browsing through the Garage Sales and Bulk Sales, i noticed that Pentium Core 2 Duo starts with Q is more expensive than the one starts with E. eg. e6600 vs Q6600..

May i know what the different btw these two coz e6600 has 1333 fsb which is higher than Q6600 with 1066 fsb but the latter is more expensive..

Thanks..

This post has been edited by GuyzNexDoor: Jul 31 2007, 08:52 AM
sang_karim
post Jul 31 2007, 09:54 AM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ Jul 31 2007, 08:51 AM)
Noob Q here... tongue.gif

After browsing through the Garage Sales and Bulk Sales, i noticed that Pentium Core 2 Duo starts with Q is more expensive than the one starts with E. eg. e6600 vs Q6600..

May i know what the different btw these two coz e6600 has 1333 fsb which is higher than Q6600 with 1066 fsb but the latter is more expensive..

Thanks..
correct me if i'm wrong ... that e6600 is duo core and that q6600 is quad core .... which means two core processor and 4 core processor .... that what i know la... and of coz four core proc more expensive than two core ... smile.gif
bornd
post Jul 31 2007, 10:55 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Jul 30 2007, 09:23 PM)
well ur router must be connected to a modem wat, and this have to be done with a network cable, unless the wireless router u have also has built in modem, then u can connect to the internet using wireless directly through lor

if u dun really understand wat i'm saying, i would also like more description, cos the answers are based on wat i understand from ur posts

not too clear on wat u mean by ur area using wired lan, and u want to connect to them
actually like dis..
my college is using wired LAN..
most stdnts used wired lan..
since my room is quite far from other room..
is it possible for me to used wireless router to reach them?

sorry if u dun understand.. noob here notworthy.gif
GuyzNexDoor
post Jul 31 2007, 11:27 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Jul 31 2007, 09:54 AM)
correct me if i'm wrong ... that e6600 is duo core and that q6600 is quad core .... which means two core processor and 4 core processor .... that what i know la... and of coz four core proc more expensive than two core ...  smile.gif
Ok, thanks.. now i know the difference..
alwizbthere
post Jul 31 2007, 03:06 PM

10,222 posts

QUOTE(bornd @ Jul 31 2007, 10:55 AM)
actually like dis..
my college is using wired LAN..
most stdnts used wired lan..
since my room is quite far from other room..
is it possible for me to used wireless router to reach them?

sorry if u dun understand.. noob here notworthy.gif
hmmm, dun ur room has access point for wired connection?
cos even if u buy wireless router, u still need a source cable to be plugged in for internet
i assume u want to connect to ur college network and frens using wireless?
as long as ur wireless router is connected to the network with a cable, u shouldn't have any problem connecting to ur frens
bornd
post Jul 31 2007, 07:50 PM

322 posts

owh.. got it.. thnx..

another q comes here.. smile.gif

about proc..
wut is diff between brisbane, venice etc..
is it diff on quality or wut?
ktek
post Jul 31 2007, 09:47 PM

小喇叭
13,208 posts

QUOTE(bornd @ Jul 31 2007, 07:50 PM)
owh.. got it.. thnx..

another q comes here.. smile.gif

about proc..
wut is diff between brisbane, venice etc..
is it diff on quality or wut?

Brisbane is a dual core ( dua otak ) processor under the Athlon64 X2 model using socket AM2
Venice is earlier single core ( satu otak ) processor under the Athlon64 model socket 939

these names are the codenames to differentiate the "generation" ( can't think of another word icon_question.gif )
model name are used by normal consumers .
jassicaskylpm
post Aug 1 2007, 01:20 PM

373 posts

How can u guys compare a good mouse & a good keyboard?
DPI for mouse means??
- Provide 3 power management key means what(for keyboard)
- Standard Keyboard with 3 hot keys (same with above)?

goldfries
post Aug 1 2007, 04:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

to me a good mouse / keyboard is one that doesn't cost a bomb but comfortable for my use. smile.gif

my keyboard was RM 100 when i bought, it's coming to 5 years old now i think.

my mouse, i replaced it a few years back, around RM 60 only.

both are Logitechs.
ryanso85
post Aug 1 2007, 06:47 PM

VVIP
562 posts

a noob ques here hope u all can help me

my spec:
AMD Brisbane 3600
biostar 7050
kingston 1G ram
WD 160G hdd

goin to install windows XP pro sp2

i found tat there are 2 version of driver available on9 for my mobo
Windows XP x86 and Windows XP x64
i don knw which 1 to choose?
can help me??

thx

Nemesis181188
post Aug 1 2007, 07:59 PM

635 posts

Ok I got a supernoob question,my motherboard supports up to ddr2-800 rams.If just say if I were to put in DDR2-800 memory modules will it run at 400mhz or must I do something for it to run at 400mhz.What about ddr2-1066?
bornd
post Aug 2 2007, 11:53 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 31 2007, 09:47 PM)
Brisbane is a dual core ( dua otak ) processor under the Athlon64 X2 model using socket AM2
Venice is earlier single core ( satu otak ) processor under the Athlon64 model socket 939

these names are the codenames to differentiate the "generation" ( can't think of another word icon_question.gif )
model name are used by normal consumers .
owh.. ok.. how bout orleans?
hirota
post Aug 2 2007, 09:46 PM

2,387 posts

hello, 1 question here my mobo is Asus P4P800 SE
does it compatible with SATA2 harddisk?

if the mobo support SATA which means it'll support SATA2 as well?

thanks in advance
ktek
post Aug 2 2007, 10:45 PM

小喇叭
13,208 posts

QUOTE(bornd @ Aug 2 2007, 11:53 AM)
owh.. ok.. how bout orleans?

Orlean is single core processor under the Athlon64 model socket AM2
next time Google for more , OK ?

QUOTE(hirota @ Aug 2 2007, 09:46 PM)
hello, 1 question here my mobo is Asus P4P800 SE
does it compatible with SATA2 harddisk?
if the mobo support SATA which means it'll support SATA2 as well?
thanks in advance

your mobo southbrige is ICH5R :

Intel is the world's first chipset maker to integrate Serial ATA (SATA) and RAID 0, 1 functions into the South Bridge. The latest ICH5R chipset now delivers 150MB/s fast data transfer (SATA) and striping performance to enhance computing efficiency.

you can make the SATA II hard disk to be compatible with your mobo by inserting a jumper ( refer to shopkeeper / owner manual )
this will limit your hard disk maximum speed (which will never reach tongue.gif) from SATA II (300Mbit/s) to SATA I (150Mbit/s)
sounds like limit the speed to half but no worries because you can hardly to notice the different in normal usage .
hirota
post Aug 2 2007, 10:57 PM

2,387 posts

oh yes, thanks bro smile.gif
badang_1785
post Aug 3 2007, 12:08 PM

229 posts

whats the different between 4 pin fan connector and the 3 pin fan connector.. whats the other pin do? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by badang_1785: Aug 3 2007, 12:10 PM
icebloodboy
post Aug 3 2007, 07:00 PM

57 posts

I have a ques here about AMD processor

y so many ppl go for AMD Athlon X2 3600+?
izzit 3600+ and 4400+ having a big diff?

n then izzit AMD Athlon X2 is core dual?
wat's diff if with "AM2" and "+65w"?

soli for asking so many noob ques...hehe sweat.gif

123 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0209sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:15 PM