Super Noobs Help! [Thread V2], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

lucifah
post Aug 8 2007, 12:08 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Aug 7 2007, 08:55 AM)
guys...need some help here....i download a wrong display driver for my bro pc ... then it won't display windows .. so i donno how to uninstall the driver as it can't display windows ... so i took off the display card and plug the monitor at onboard vga ... it won't display at all .... the monitor light is blinking in green ... what to do guys? any tips or tricks fot this problem...really need help here...  icon_question.gif
plug the monitor connection back to the card and restart in SAFE MODE

else yuo need to tinker with the BIOS to enable onboard VGA first (or easier, just plug out the vga card)

QUOTE(afosz @ Aug 7 2007, 01:01 PM)
A question about external HDD. My friend said that it is best formatted in FAT32 rather than NTFS to create a good ext HDD, is it true? Or NTFS also can, without facing any problem later on?
QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 7 2007, 08:17 PM)
Use FAT32 IF only you plan to plug it to earlier windows like 98, ME etc. If not NTFS will do just fine
NTFS can only be read by Windows NT (hence the name NT File System), 2000, 2003, XP and Vista

on linux, unix, mac, etc you need to mount it manually

Win98, ME and older windows version can't read NTFS

and another thing - NTFS permission thingy. you screw it and there goes yuor encrypted data (not that hard to retrieve, but waste lots of time)

FAT32 is acceptable on almost all platform.
icebloodboy
post Aug 10 2007, 02:12 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Aug 3 2007, 07:41 PM)
That's because the price difference doesn't suit their differences in performance

AM2 is a socket. 65W is the thermal design power. X2 is a dual-core processor
wat is the diff between with and without +65W tag?
Najmods
post Aug 10 2007, 02:24 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(icebloodboy @ Aug 10 2007, 02:12 PM)
wat is the diff between with and without +65W tag?
The 65W runs cooler and lower power consumption than normal one
mentalkronik
post Aug 10 2007, 03:42 PM

129 posts

i want to ask about casing.. why the htpc casing price is so expensive? expensive coz aluminium made or other?
The Scent LYN
post Aug 10 2007, 11:31 PM

387 posts

Which is the best 6600gt card? Is Colorful's 6600GT recommended?
eddie89
post Aug 10 2007, 11:48 PM

153 posts

why no sound when i watch dvd using liteon 20XDVD rewriter?

This post has been edited by eddie89: Aug 10 2007, 11:48 PM
bornd
post Aug 11 2007, 12:48 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(eddie89 @ Aug 10 2007, 11:48 PM)
why no sound when i watch dvd using liteon 20XDVD rewriter?
have u try to used codec? btw..
lencent
post Aug 13 2007, 03:23 PM

1,719 posts

wanna ask my pc clock always not accurate when i switch on my pc... however it is not set back to 1200am and my mobo didnt show the battery dead... so wat is the problem? i already switched off all the sync time wit internet time... help plz...

thanks smile.gif
The Scent LYN
post Aug 14 2007, 06:49 PM

387 posts

I have a question here. Is a Creative Audigy LS better then my mobo's built in sound card? (DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250GB) ?
kalakatu
post Aug 14 2007, 06:57 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(The Scent LYN @ Aug 14 2007, 06:49 PM)
I have a question here. Is a Creative Audigy LS better then my mobo's built in sound card? (DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250GB) ?
of course it is smile.gif
even SoundBlaster 5.1 also is far better than onboard soundcard smile.gif
well, thats my experience anyway.. biggrin.gif
The Scent LYN
post Aug 14 2007, 06:59 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Aug 14 2007, 06:57 PM)
of course it is  smile.gif
even SoundBlaster 5.1 also is far better than onboard soundcard  smile.gif
well, thats my experience anyway.. biggrin.gif
I tot so too. But it stated there 8 channel audio card bla bla bla BS. Not sure. Lol.
kalakatu
post Aug 14 2007, 07:43 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(The Scent LYN @ Aug 14 2007, 06:59 PM)
I tot so too. But it stated there 8 channel audio card bla bla bla BS. Not sure. Lol.
even if it support up to 8 channel, it is still an onboard soundcard, which for me will not perform any better than an independent soundcard smile.gif
in fact, even my onboard says about 8 channel high definition sound, but what i heard so far is a crap sound laugh.gif ..

well if u dun mind, just spend maybe around RM100, and get the creative audigy value..trust me, u will feel the difference nod.gif

This post has been edited by kalakatu: Aug 14 2007, 08:31 PM
icebloodboy
post Aug 14 2007, 08:40 PM

57 posts

wat is the different btw <intel pentium core duo> and <intel core 2 duo>?
alwin
post Aug 14 2007, 11:09 PM

28 posts

I am planning to upgrade my ram , my computer is dell dimension 4600
currently it has 512MB (2x256) NECC channel DDR2 400MHz SDR Am memory.

I am not sure which ram should i buy?

I want to add 1GB but which type of ram should i buy?

What do i need to take in account when i buy my ram?
THX in advance
bulibulizaimon
post Aug 14 2007, 11:50 PM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Aug 14 2007, 07:43 PM)
even if it support up to 8 channel, it is still an onboard soundcard, which for me will not perform any better than an independent soundcard  smile.gif
in fact, even my onboard says about 8 channel high definition sound, but what i heard so far is a crap sound  laugh.gif ..

well if u dun mind, just spend maybe around RM100, and get the creative audigy value..trust me, u will feel the difference  nod.gif
How about Karajan modul that came with Ultra-D..??
kalakatu
post Aug 15 2007, 07:45 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Aug 14 2007, 11:50 PM)
well sorry im not sure about that..some high end motherboard comes with a decent soundcard, which comes with Dolby Digital etc etc..
but still, i prefer to use the independent soundcard rather than onboard.. smile.gif

check on this link for more reviews about soundcard vs onboard --> http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Sear...hlite=soundcard

ktek
post Aug 15 2007, 09:56 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Aug 14 2007, 11:50 PM)
karajan is just "pop-up" version of RealTek XXX series of soundcard .
the "pop-up" design claims to get less electronic noise from other components in mobo .
ahhann
post Aug 15 2007, 12:01 PM

Lim Peh
545 posts

noob Q here:

Notice currently on the market (Lowyat), their price list never show wheter a specifi AMD Athlon X2 AM2 is a brisbane or venice.

Is it all AMD Athlon X2 categorize as Brisbane?
ktek
post Aug 15 2007, 09:36 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(ahhann @ Aug 15 2007, 12:01 PM)
noob Q here:
Notice currently on the market (Lowyat), their price list never show wheter a specifi AMD Athlon X2 AM2 is a brisbane or venice.
Is it all AMD Athlon X2 categorize as Brisbane?
venice is definately NOT X2 doh.gif
internet is free , so do Google more , yourself .
http://fab51.com/cpu/guide/opn-64-e.html

This post has been edited by ktek: Aug 15 2007, 09:37 PM
lswang
post Aug 16 2007, 12:59 AM

627 posts

My laptop is currently using 30GB Hdd and I think it's time for a swap. The problem here is, can my motherboard handle 80GB HDD? How do I check?

123 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:06 AM