Is PROTON really troublesome?, Share ur experience

SUSCoupeFan
post Jun 23 2007, 05:36 PM, updated 19y ago

Peace to be upon you!.. two hands up
36 posts

i heard from a mechanic that an older 90's car is more maintenance free from trouble than a proton... and he says that proton cars visit the workshop most often
aizad02
post Jun 23 2007, 05:45 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

not really....campro engine quite reliable. proton's quite good except for their customer service and QC.
SUSCoupeFan
post Jun 23 2007, 05:48 PM

36 posts

pls dont share the power window problem... lets talk about other problems... like rattling sounds... or the parts loose
national12345
post Jun 23 2007, 05:55 PM

147 posts

fren's saga aircond died when he got his car 1st day. cool2.gif
Maybe he is just unlucky but gave me a quite bad image.
but shouldnt burn down whole forest just because of a tree brows.gif
newer and higher end model will be better i guess..
tysern
post Jun 23 2007, 06:10 PM

245 posts

My old 91' Saga is still running great. Over 500,000KM done already, and not much of a problem. Obviously there are parts that need replacement, but fr the engine, not much.

Guess what, my fuel and tempreture gauge and the whole meter still works fine, unlike the newer iswara/wira which kongs out not even with one year of usage.
theanswer
post Jun 23 2007, 07:07 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Jun 23 2007, 05:45 PM)
not really....campro engine quite reliable. proton's quite good except for their customer service and QC.
yeap..even tho i'm a bit fcuk proton..but somehow i'm quite interested with campro engine..gen2(exterior design only)..neo. but apparently the qc and interior built quality a bit sad.
cybersonic23
post Jun 23 2007, 07:24 PM

133 posts

im driving a savvy for almost 2 years... no more oso... ^^
i guess it depends on the luck of the driver getting a good car... but that's not the way to go for Proton... ^^
the_catacombs
post Jun 23 2007, 07:32 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

old school cars that runs on carbureted engines without messy electronics stuff are easier to maintain....
ulet
post Jun 23 2007, 07:54 PM

1,700 posts

i dunno ar.
my family owned this waja since 2 years ago.
b4 tht i read forums and evrybody said is a bad car with wajachestra, power window problem, low power, easily spoilt and etc etc.

but so far after 2 years(53000+km) on the road, there is no problem at all!!

-my windows working fine
-no wajachestra except a bit loud tyre noise
-dun find it low power but acceptable
-very stable on the road

so far sooo good ! it until make me wonder those ppl tht said bad things about proton cars is really own a proton car b4 or other cars companies in msia pay ppl to 'fitnah' proton in forums after they know tht forums in this time of the age really powerful.
beatlesalbum
post Jun 23 2007, 08:05 PM

1,711 posts

A collegue of mine has Waja and its less than 4 years old and his power window keeps malfunctioning after resending it to workshop afer workshop.
I went to service my car a few days back and he had 2 proton cars a Gen2 and Neo with ignition problems and also ECU problems. The guy who had NEO said the proton Service couldnt even solve the problem/. And these were units less than 2 years old.
If you have a good working proton car, GOOD FOR YOU, and thank your lucky stars you didnt get some malfunctioning unit like A LOT of unlucky fools I encounter.
So no bad-mouthing or fitnah, just by seeing and hear tragic stories related by the more unfortunate owners.
Every car manufacturer would assemble at least one faulty or sub-par unit among the thousands assembled. Even my friend had a VIOS with boot problems which was quickly sorted out. But in comparison to Proton, they(PROTON) create too many sub-par units compared with good ones. Which means their factory assembly line QC is useless. GOOD JOB PROTON! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by beatlesalbum: Jun 23 2007, 08:10 PM
Azuma-kun
post Jun 23 2007, 08:10 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

My 2002 wira, power window kong last year. other than that only rattling dashboard. so far, the car not make my head pusing.
imperialrealcs
post Jun 23 2007, 08:15 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

true.. most people bashing based on other comment
lets say mr. A having proton lemon car.. then he post on the net.. n all the reader spreading all the words as if they own the car..
beatlesalbum
post Jun 23 2007, 08:20 PM

1,711 posts

Stories from forums are not to be trusted, get them from your foreman or maybe family members. But I believe a bulk or majority of people get their opinions directly from people who own the car rather like family members or even themselves.
But there will always be soldiers of proton to the defence of this brand.
Work hard proton soldiers! Hopefully next quarter, Proton will not be running at a loss profit like the last 3 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
hypermount
post Jun 23 2007, 08:22 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Jun 23 2007, 07:54 PM)
i dunno ar.
my family owned this waja since 2 years ago.
b4 tht i read forums and evrybody said is a bad car with wajachestra, power window problem, low power, easily spoilt and etc etc.

but so far after 2 years(53000+km) on the road, there is no problem at all!!

-my windows working fine
-no wajachestra except a bit loud tyre noise
-dun find it low power but acceptable
-very stable on the road

so far sooo good ! it until make me wonder those ppl tht said bad things about proton cars is really own a proton car b4 or other cars companies in msia pay ppl to 'fitnah' proton in forums after they know tht forums in this time of the age really powerful.
Ever cross your mind the minority usually make the loudest noise?

My savvy from Dec 2005, relaibility is top notch....never fail to start the car many times from day 1 (5-8-10 times, said it many times), build quality, fit and finish ?!! no squeaks and rattles from the suspension and interior till now.

I can see many students from my ex school MMU melaka driving neo and savvy..they would be in deep shit if their cars give them problems.

The power window mechanism is damn noisy in operation due to scissor type mechanism being used...but more robust compare to plastic pulley and cables found in waja and gen2...so power windows probs is a thing of past.

Added on June 23, 2007, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Jun 23 2007, 08:20 PM)
Stories from forums are not to be trusted, get them from your foreman or maybe family members. But I believe a bulk or majority of people get their opinions directly from people who own the car rather like family members or even themselves.
But there will always be soldiers of proton to the defence of this brand.
Work hard proton soldiers! Hopefully next quarter, Proton will not be running at a loss profit like the last 3  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Thank you, your kind words are noted notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by hypermount: Jun 23 2007, 08:24 PM
Xefron
post Jun 23 2007, 08:25 PM

2,507 posts

two of my family cars are proton.a saga and a wira.both are carbie.most of the parts replace are cause by wear and tear like bushing,absorber and etc.FOR PARTS that are not up to quality standards are like the meter panel and power windows.Other are OK.Only the NVH is higher compared to other modern cars today.
SUSCoupeFan
post Jun 23 2007, 08:28 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jun 23 2007, 07:32 PM)
old school cars that runs on carbureted engines without messy electronics stuff are easier to maintain....
absolut agree! smile.gif

btw...GOTCHA ALL!

SOURCE?! SAUCE!!! WHERE UR SAUCE?... SHOW PICTURE OR SOME SAUCE B4 U MAKE A COMMENT
beatlesalbum
post Jun 23 2007, 08:29 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 23 2007, 08:22 PM)

My savvy from Dec 2005, relaibility is top notch....never fail to start the car many times from day 1 (5-8-10 times, said it many times), build quality, fit and finish ?!! no squeaks and rattles from the suspension and interior till now.

I can see many students from my ex school MMU melaka driving neo and savvy..they would be in deep shit if their cars give them problems.
The power window mechanism is damn noisy in operation due to scissor type mechanism being used...but more robust compare to plastic pulley and cables found in waja and gen2...so power windows probs is a thing of past.

Thank you, your kind words are noted  notworthy.gif
A family member owns a 1.6xli wira which gear box died in opration in its 5 year, windows have been dying before that. ANother owns a tiara whichs paint started eroding after a few years only. Quality is still the weakness. Only the newer cars show improvement. they have been around since 1985!!! why wait until now to buck up? icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
xtorm
post Jun 23 2007, 08:49 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

2001 waja...3 power window kondamn sad.gif

but 1 thing abt power window, when it's close tight, plz ooo plz dun keep pushing that button to make sure it's tight, it wont get any tighter!! for waja, the whole machanism is plastic, so it cant last long, design problem i guest?

there is no sensor to stop the power to the motor when the window is close, it still keep pushing if u dun let go the button.

so u guys know y waja window always spoilt now?

anyway, wear n tear best change with orig parts, if u did change itlah that is. tongue.gif

mystvearn
post Jun 23 2007, 09:17 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 23 2007, 08:22 PM)

Thank you, your kind words are noted  notworthy.gif
As much as I want to be prosided, I am turthful as I owned these cars and will tell the probs

I give you 2 cases, you count how many cases:
1. Bought new Perdana (M) when first launched in 1995. Ordered in March, received car in July. That time colour one kind purple. No black. Only 3 colours I think. july 1995 - dec 2000
- from the showroom, the AC keeps coming out to the feet. No matter what setting you use the AC keeps coming out of the feet. Sent back to SC, SC cannot repair cause no manual from P1 to SC at that time. So this is the case like TVR, sell first worry about defects later.
-After 2 years, the metal joining of the front bumper directly below the front light will twist between joints. If it does not twist there will be a gaping hole. Don't believe me look at perdana's 3yrs or older. Sure have that thing. Bumper too heavy? hmm.gif The joining is a 1 inch verticle line.
- 5 years on, in east coast have monsoon season. Rain everyday. One day before work, notice back seat like damp. When sitting on the back seat the seat becomes wet. Open the back seat, full of water, open the boot at the spare tyre also full of water. Perdana transformed into portable aquarium. Brought to SC they were shocked. They say the water sap into the metal joint at the rear bumper, below the lights there is this one verticle line. Water goes in there.
- Final straw. Open AC the AC sound like elephant. On the fan also the car sounds like an elephant. Can only open AC after 30 mins then no sound. That time perdana like quite executive car, so why making elephant sound until car next to you can hear. So embarassed. Brought to SC, SC say small chip at AC fan, no need to change but where to put your face aa.
-Unfortunate events: One day late to work, wear shoes in car, found frog, frog evaded to the driver part then vanished from the foot pedals. Open AC, smells like dead carcass. Went to SC, SC say frog lekat at AC belt. So big the gap is it until from pedals>AC belt. 2 weeks charcoal in car.
Conclusion: sold bought Honda Accord 2.0l, which gave 1 prob after 5 years, AC switch not working, brought to Denso, they fixed it.

2. Savvy (M) July 05 - July 07
Great handling car, stupid noise damper. I drive fast but dont want concrete road sound to go into my cabin. Don't believe me go to savoc search what users do to insulate car. Use swimming paddle board at tyre mudguard area. Car handles good but what is the point if 90KM> wind resistance sound comes into the car, engine sound comes after that, then road noise. These noises actually makes me tired to drive the car. Problems all within 10K KM and under warranty
- Leaking power steering fluid from connection to pipe. The clip is the same clip used for your pipe hose. SC changed clip, changed hose and top up fluid.
-Broken right rear tyre spring/suspension or whatever it is that black rod attached to the tyre. New car broken, fluid coming out. Sc had to order it as they say AMT and M version have different suspension and cannot use the springs. Waited 2 weeks for that.
- Defective petrol cover. The petrol cover is round, so in theory when you open it, it will bounce out nicely. On my car, there is a problem with the hinge or something, after few months, the petrol cover will not spring out but will spring halfway and scrape the bodywork of the car. Brought to SC,SC repaired the hinge and painted the car again. Had to wait 1 week for paint to arrive from supplier.
- Front wiper washer fluid on one side loose, always want to turn to one direction, but that I corrected myself and so far no problem.
Aside from the weird problems I faced with savvy, there are no more probs. If you work inside p1, ask them to put more noise insulation especially the engine bay and the tyre arch area.
Conclusion: car sold, don't need it anymore.

But on a good note, I have been inside neo, and why neo came out late. I would have gone for that over savvy. That has better build quality than savvy.
So, I think its safe to buy new P1 cars, provided its a new model, and waja. I can name defects of the saga, but I only name defects of things I have.
Lets see how this thread turns out to be.
bhorng
post Jun 23 2007, 09:29 PM

534 posts

All I can say is depends on your luck... If you are lucky..then you can get a better quality control proton....hehe
Beside, compro engine is kinda reliable... that I dare to say..
xtorm
post Jun 23 2007, 09:34 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

kev da man
post Jun 23 2007, 09:34 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

my 1990 ex-saga was a fine example of a car in its golden years, rattling, repair bills amounting to RM300 every other month but I loved it. over 250000kms on the odometer so that was fine.

my dad's 2006 wira had a rattling odometer from the factory, squeaky rear seats when it turned 2 months old and minor reparable electrical problems here and there. one major one was that the brakepads died after 5 months down the road.

its ECU is acting up already - cold start problems and erratic idling even when the engine is warm. Proton's SC near him does not have the tools to diagnose the ECU and to fix it he has to either install a new ECU or go to Shah Alam to diagnose it. Damn lazy excuse i would say.

so far the power windows are fine because it's using the newer mechanism, but i feel that all those minor problems shouldn't be there right from the factory.

on the other hand, my fairly new kenari had only 2 problems with it - a slightly deformed windscreen and buzzing from one of the speakers which was rectified immediately at the dealership - through a 1-1 speaker swap.

proton with all its experience should have learnt instead of having substandard dealers mushrooming up all over the place. having said that, i like the Gen2 MME edition due to its build quality. too bad the gear knob has turned loose on my friend's car. laugh.gif
hypermount
post Jun 23 2007, 09:54 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jun 23 2007, 09:17 PM)
As much as I want to be prosided, I am turthful as I owned these cars and will tell the probs

I give you 2 cases, you count how many cases:
1. Bought new Perdana (M) when first launched in 1995. Ordered in March, received car in July. That time colour one kind purple. No black. Only 3 colours I think. july 1995 - dec 2000
- from the showroom, the AC keeps coming out to the feet. No matter what setting you use the AC keeps coming out of the feet. Sent back to SC, SC cannot repair cause no manual from P1 to SC at that time. So this is the case like TVR, sell first worry about defects later.
-After 2 years, the metal joining of the front bumper directly below the front light will twist between joints. If it does not twist there will be a gaping hole. Don't believe me look at perdana's 3yrs or older. Sure have that thing. Bumper too heavy? hmm.gif The joining is a 1 inch verticle line.
- 5 years on, in east coast have monsoon season. Rain everyday. One day before work, notice back seat like damp. When sitting on the back seat the seat becomes wet. Open the back seat, full of water, open the boot at the spare tyre also full of water. Perdana transformed into portable aquarium. Brought to SC they were shocked. They say the water sap into the metal joint at the rear bumper, below the lights there is this one verticle line. Water goes in there.
- Final straw. Open AC the AC sound like elephant. On the fan also the car sounds like an elephant. Can only open AC after 30 mins then no sound. That time perdana like quite executive car, so why making elephant sound until car next to you can hear. So embarassed. Brought to SC, SC say small chip at AC fan, no need to change but where to put your face aa.
-Unfortunate events: One day late to work, wear shoes in car, found frog, frog evaded to the driver part then vanished from the foot pedals. Open AC, smells like dead carcass. Went to SC, SC say frog lekat at AC belt. So big the gap is it until from pedals>AC belt. 2 weeks charcoal in car.
Conclusion: sold bought Honda Accord 2.0l, which gave 1 prob after 5 years, AC switch not working, brought to Denso, they fixed it.

2. Savvy (M) July 05 - July 07
Great handling car, stupid noise damper. I drive fast but dont want concrete road sound to go into my cabin. Don't believe me go to savoc search what users do to insulate car. Use swimming paddle board at tyre mudguard area. Car handles good but what is the point if 90KM> wind resistance sound comes into the car, engine sound comes after that, then road noise. These noises actually makes me tired to drive the car. Problems all within 10K KM and under warranty
- Leaking power steering fluid from connection to pipe. The clip is the same clip used for your pipe hose. SC changed clip, changed hose and top up fluid.
-Broken right rear tyre spring/suspension or whatever it is that black rod attached to the tyre. New car broken, fluid coming out. Sc had to order it as they say AMT and M version have different suspension and cannot use the springs. Waited 2 weeks for that.
- Defective petrol cover. The petrol cover is round, so in theory when you open it, it will bounce out nicely. On my car, there is a problem with the hinge or something, after few months, the petrol cover will not spring out but will spring halfway and scrape the bodywork of the car. Brought to SC,SC repaired the hinge and painted the car again. Had to wait 1 week for paint to arrive from supplier.
- Front wiper washer fluid on one side loose, always want to turn to one direction, but that I corrected myself and so far no problem.
Aside from the weird problems I faced with savvy, there are no more probs. If you work inside p1, ask them to put more noise insulation especially the engine bay and the tyre arch area.
Conclusion: car sold, don't need it anymore.

But on a good note, I have been inside neo, and why neo came out late. I would have gone for that over savvy. That has better build quality than savvy.
So, I think its safe to buy new P1 cars, provided its a new model, and waja. I can name defects of the saga, but I only name defects of things I have.
Lets see how this thread turns out to be.
SIGH...this shows ur lack of understanding about cars...some people are car nuts..it was never enough for US so we tend to DIY ourcars to feel better.. TAKING OUT THE FENDER LINE( THE BLACK WHEEL ARCH COVER) TO INSERT sound proofinG materials is of STANDARD UNIVERSAL PRACTICE TO REDUCE THE ROAD NOISE...EVERYONES ESP THE ICE ENTHUSIASTS ARE DOING THAT.

savvy has soundproof mat on the outer firewall and under bonnet...no other k-car has that.

EVEN LEXUS OWNERS DIY TO SOUNDPROOF THEIR CARS
http://www.lexusownersclub.co.uk/forum/ind...showtopic=22197

It's all aboutpassion and knowing inside out of our cars..hey i doubt u own that savvy..it could be ur papa and mama.

You thin perdana worse of than this flooded corolla altis? you havw no serious problems about the savvy and you seems to whine a lot for such small problems.

flooded chorella altis

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=462691&hl=

SUSCoupeFan
post Jun 23 2007, 10:48 PM

36 posts

u think people will be willing to pay for a more expensive car just to get lesser problems later on?

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jun 23 2007, 10:49 PM
SUSCoupeFan
post Jun 23 2007, 10:51 PM

36 posts

why cant proton design a car maybe 850cc but the design is like a replica of some sports car... who cares about performance in malaysia... everyone only care about exterior looks
xtorm
post Jun 23 2007, 10:59 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

but really..proton atleast use some durable quality stuff, and mine those QC

but i always believe all 1st batch cars got defect, be it design problem or QC problem, but some how proton tense to get it more due to QC
DaViDcHiN
post Jun 24 2007, 02:01 AM

2,720 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 23 2007, 09:54 PM)
SIGH...this shows ur lack of understanding about cars...some people are car nuts..it was never enough for US so we tend to DIY ourcars to feel better.. TAKING OUT THE FENDER LINE( THE BLACK WHEEL ARCH COVER) TO INSERT sound proofinG materials is of STANDARD UNIVERSAL PRACTICE TO REDUCE THE ROAD NOISE...EVERYONES ESP THE ICE ENTHUSIASTS ARE DOING THAT.

savvy has soundproof mat on the outer firewall and under bonnet...no other k-car has that.

It's all aboutpassion and knowing inside out of our cars..hey i doubt u own that savvy..it could be ur papa and mama.
You thin perdana worse of than this flooded corolla altis? you havw no serious problems about the savvy and you seems to whine a lot for such small problems.
flooded chorella altis

Not only his perdana..my 5 years old GTi oso like dat...

1.water in the spare part tyre there... but fixed it by sticking thicker rubber....n now my passenger side door..the rubber n getting loose..water come in too..gotta change it agen...
2.The RPM metter....Spoilt at 95,000km miledge..... doh.gif Change it at RM200!!! WTF...
3.Many squeaky sounds from Everywhere...the most obvious part....dash board....everytime pass a bump...got this sound from dashboard:"nyiek nyiek"... doh.gif feel like the dash board is going to break...
4.The aircon vent is spoilt...

Then 5 years old Iswara in my house...
1.wiper not functiong, wiring problem! -.-" It almost cause me in an accident in the rain....
2.squeaky sound everywhere...from front to back! absorber..no nid to say....many sound...
3.The door"s locker can't connect to other door...when i got into the driver seat...
nid to unlock the door one by one....n same...when i leave the car..nid to lock the door one by one...
4.Leak engine oil...

Then my bro's 10 years old Proton Putra
1.Aircon not fucntioning becoz of the switch is stuck inside...
2.Squeaky sound everywhere too...
3.Driver side power window...to open it...easy...to close it...nid to use hand to push it....

Then My fren's 3 years old wira:
1. Leak engine oil...

Then my fren's 13 years old wira:
1.Driver side window nid to close by hand pushing...
2.Aircon got elephant sound....radiator problem...
3.Aircon vent is spoilt...

That's all for now...

It seems dat every proton car around me oso got problem...is it?

Lefty
post Jun 24 2007, 02:41 AM

Designer Piece
750 posts

for Wira,

if u own those wira made in 90's then it is quite reliable for the engine part, absorber and etc . but not so for the interior and some minor minor thing.

if made in 20's wira damn a lot of problem . normally, radiator tanky, absorber and etc. mayb there are corruption inside Proton. i think the purchaser use cheaper material then claim at the same price as normal material . for what i think.
ezralimm
post Jun 24 2007, 12:29 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

hmm.. dad must have been lucky.

family's perdana 10 yrs old, ~200,000km. No major problems.

Other than expected wear and tear. Eg - disassembly and cleaning of airconditioning system, replacement of hardened windshield wipers, tyres and alignment etc.
F1meteor
post Jun 24 2007, 12:53 PM

1,391 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jun 24 2007, 02:01 AM)

1.water in the spare part tyre there... but fixed it by sticking thicker rubber....n now my passenger side door..the rubber n getting loose..water come in too..gotta change it agen...
2.The RPM metter....Spoilt at 95,000km miledge..... doh.gif  Change it at RM200!!! WTF...
3.Many squeaky sounds from Everywhere...the most obvious part....dash board....everytime pass a bump...got this sound from dashboard:"nyiek nyiek"... doh.gif feel like the dash board is going to break...

Then 5 years old Iswara in my house...
1.wiper not functiong, wiring problem! -.-" It almost cause me in an accident in the rain....
2.squeaky sound everywhere...from front to back! absorber..no nid to say....many sound...
3.The door"s locker can't connect to other door...when i got into the driver seat...
nid to unlock the door one by one....n same...when i leave the car..nid to lock the door one by one...
4.Leak engine oil...

Then my bro's 10 years old Proton Putra
1.Aircon not fucntioning becoz of the switch is stuck inside...
2.Squeaky sound everywhere too...
3.Driver side power window...to open it...easy...to close it...nid to use hand to push it....

Then My fren's 3 years old wira:
1. Leak engine oil...

Then my fren's 13 years old wira:
1.Driver side window nid to close by hand pushing...
2.Aircon got elephant sound....radiator problem...
3.Aircon vent is spoilt...

That's all for now...

It seems dat every proton car around me oso got problem...is it?
Bro.. those 10 yo and 13 yo are caused by tear and wear la.
u expect a car to last you a life time?
my ex-iswara, made in 1995, it's fine. those minor problems and sounds are mostly caused by tear and wear.
my iswara odometer KOed as well after 11 yo.
power window KOed after 10 yo, cause car flooded (own accident)
rear bonnet leaking water (own accident and bad workmanship)

dream-for-life
post Jun 26 2007, 11:51 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(tysern @ Jun 23 2007, 06:10 PM)
My old 91' Saga is still running great. Over 500,000KM done already, and not much of a problem. Obviously there are parts that need replacement, but fr the engine, not much.

Guess what, my fuel and tempreture gauge and the whole meter still works fine, unlike the newer iswara/wira which kongs out not even with one year of usage.
Strongly Agree!!!!!
My father 91's Saga still very good condition. Old model proton better than new model proton. rclxms.gif
blasturanus
post Jun 26 2007, 04:22 PM

458 posts

my mum wira got rust spreading eveywhere like cancer,, dem tulan... park under shade, wax wash every week, not mentioning power window failure...

Katakan tak nak to proton
sranua
post Jun 26 2007, 04:52 PM

784 posts

My 2003 Wira 1.3 A/B also not spared from problem but most of them because of wear and tear.
The rear absorber not kong but replace it with APM Performax after 4 years. The small A/C sensor also replace with new unit after my car develop some serious engine problem which cause the engine die suddenly in the middle of the road. Luckily not meet with any accidents.
Power window still like new, no problem...since I'm a lone driver, no other itchy hand other than me.
Major repair done last moth because of timing belt snap suddenly and need to do top overhaul. End up rm650.00 fly just like that replacing MMC timing belt, aircond belt, 1 rocker arm, 12 valves...all new, the engine rejuvenate after all complete.
So far no problem with the aircond. Still cold.

dstl1128
post Jun 26 2007, 05:00 PM

4,464 posts

Case 1:
Proton is troublesome alright. But sometimes it is also the owner that give too much trust to their so-called trusted mechanic.

My neighbour Wira already gave him so much problem (yes, he always ask me regarding about it). So much that until one point he visit the mechanic over more than 20 times in just two months. QC is one thing, but f***ing mechanic is another. I scolded my friend to change mechanic but he insisted, so he had problems for years. Finally he gave up and listen to me, now his Wira is reasonable to drive. (Rattles still there btw)

Case 2:
Another friend on his new Iswara A/B (b4 sepecial edition), on the 2nd yr suddenly his car couldn't start (I car pool with him). We diagnose (1st aid kind of thing) with a torch light (it is already 730pm) until close to 9pm, we found one wire melted. We quickly went back to office, salvage a wire from standard power extension, and connect it temporarily. Surprise it could start. First encounter. Other than that, his Iswara is one of the best Proton. No repair news after that.

Case 3:
My friend 2yrs old Waja, already changed 4 times absorber because leak. Sold it of, and end up Vios. Happy ever after.

p/s: Yes I didn't own any Proton yet.
jssim
post Jun 28 2007, 02:00 AM

he~~~he~~~he~~~
1,745 posts

MY 12 YEARS OLD WIRA JUZ FACING THE POWER WINDOW PROBLEM...
I CHECK D... ITS ALL ORI, CAN LAST UNTILL NOW.... rclxms.gif
AND THE AIRCOND IS REALLY GOOD....COOL... whistling.gif
su8aru
post Jun 28 2007, 10:55 AM

No-Longer An Active User
Validating
1,735 posts

this is the only matured thread tat CoupeFan ever make.. hahaha...

talk about Proton.. my family own 2 Proton cars before... a 1991 Saga and sold for a new 1996 Wira..

Power window failure.. Saga 3 times.. and Wira more than 5 times..

generally the Saga didnt have alot problem compare to the Wira... but the Wira really sux to the max.. the bumper drop when my moms accidently bang the wall while parking.. it just so light yet the plastic bumper already broken!!

less than 1 year, the wira's alarm/center lock got problem... n 1 day my dad taking the wira for a normal service by Proton.. he didnt asked to replacing the alarm/lock system... but the service center replacing the whole center lock system... they even change the 'door-lock' by replacing ori longer to the shorter 1.. in the bill extra RM100++

after tat my dad never bring the car for Proton to service.. he went for his frens... i remember around 1997/1998.. the radiotor suddenly overheating n spoil in the middle of seremban sg besi highway... there r some leaking in the inner parts of the radiotor... can u believe tis car is just less than 2 years old n having tis problem?? so my dad ask his friens which is the workshop owner.. he say many Wira hav radiator problem n tat why u can spot Wira always stopped on the road side of the way to Genting..

other minor problem is aircorn board/switch spoil n then replace...everytime when heavy rain rear bonnet got leaking just 10-20drop of water .. tat oni the few problem tat i remember..

n becos of tis my parent swear wont ever bought any Proton cars... now we r using a Toyota car which totally problem free.. power window never failed..

-

lets take about other people car..

my friend's sister own a Gen2.. n i heard he say the Gen2 have lots of problem... himself is driving a old Wira which always complain about radiator problem where his car cant going for a long journey... n just bought a Myvi last year.. he tell me tat he love the Satria Neo design... but too bad it just a 2 door car n manufacture by Proton...

my family close frens aka my mak angkat's son own a Waja.. i heard they say the car got gear/engine oil leaking problem... after tat his sister never bought a Proton car..

my frien's friend wira got aircond problem.. his friend wira air condition is not cold like other wira... bring to service center the cant do anyting so he bring the car for air-cond mechanic to check... n they say if once u get a proton car with tis problem then it cant fix anymore..

tis only few people tat sharing their car problem with me.. there is still 9/10 driving a Proton car which never tell me their car problem.. majority of them which using Iswara/Wira last time switch to non Proton cars..
VarioCam
post Jun 28 2007, 11:04 AM

126 posts

we had a saga, saga automatic (the silver one), wira 1.5, and the waja.

as far as i'm concerned, problems started with the wira. never with the saga. NONE.

the waja is a pain-in-the-bart also.
me gotta save up some cash and plonk in a 1.8 mivec in there fer more grunt.
n305er
post Jun 28 2007, 11:14 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

My Ex GF's Wira SE
1st day itself, window visor loose, rattle sound near exhaust area, tyre alignment very bad, air cond vent rattling very bad.

My Collague's Wira SE
Gear problems, paint problems, squeeking interior, Odo Meter shaking

My Own Wira Areoback 1.5GL
Odo Meter rattling, Lights diming, 220KM for RM70 fuel city and 350KM MAX on the highway. Absorber kong at least once a year.

My other collague's Waja.
Engine Failed after 1 week, needed to be tolled by toll truck. Power Window issue as usual, brake lights kong within the week itself. Alarm system haywire.

Extra
This information is direct from the mouth of an ex (General Electrics Plastics division) GEP employee.
Normal plastic interior car uses coloured plastics pallets.
Proton cars (I know Wira and waja) uses plastic rasin and paint them over. The paint they use, will eat into the plastic over time. As the same as Iswara's glue type they used will degrade after maybe 10 years and start eating through the metal parts of the bonnet and creating dimples through the paint.
SUSMatrix
post Jun 28 2007, 11:16 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(doncityz @ Jun 23 2007, 10:46 PM)
wind noise comes to most <RM100K cars la...

new Honda city have it too..

u cannot blame proton savvy for the wind noise..

if u want wind noise-free car, buy the camry/beemer/merz la.
wtf?
My MYVI 1.3 sxi...no wind noise even at 100km/h....when idle and air-cond not on, i could hardly tell the engine already started and i've actually start the engine several times while it's on coz i thought engine dead...sweat.gif....now, i feel the gear knob for some vibration to make sure engine already on... thumbup.gif

All stock and no modification to cabin yadda yadda. Probably can go even more queiter if i do some mod but i'm not into that.

And yeah, i do hear wind noise in my old KIA Sephia...P2 > KIA anyday....and it only cost RM47K. Of course, you can't compare it to a benz/bmw in overall silence, but it's wrong to say u can't get a relatively wind-free noise car for under 100k.

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jun 28 2007, 11:21 AM
shazmn
post Jun 28 2007, 11:37 AM

~.~*I own a six Stars...do you?? :P*~.~
1,800 posts

Owned a Gen 2 MME...yes Kev u heard me MME muahahahahhaha...

but like u said, the gearknob is loose already...why???always drag with frends and everytime fix it, it will be loose in no time because of the fast gear shifting...owh well...

had an accident because brake failure...hmmm...my fault oso...town driving at 12.30AM and speeding at 140km/h...after accident got squeaking noise at the back of my car...owh well...accident cars maa what do u expect???

lessons learnt...most younger generations mod their car do this and that but when it makes a defect, blame the car maker...some tint their car and the kedai said need to open the panel...why need to open la?do u know once u open sometimes the kedai people pasang tak betul and later u blame car makers because of sounds coming from the door la, power window not working la etc etc...

sometimes send to bad pomen...this oso creates problem...i've heard b4 from my uncle saying that gen2 gearbox always problem...he is like part time pomen...i wanna ask him did he experience it himself and get many gen2 in his partner's workshop or other pomen told him and he told me? so far i've been driving gen2 MME and push the gearbox demm hard no problem...other club members been driving and join drag event etc with standard clutch...car first 2004 model until now still ok...so what say you?

err when i say i push the gearbox hard...i do mean it...come ride with me and i'll show you... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on June 28, 2007, 11:45 amone more thing...if u buy a savvy and drive like u own a ferrari and expect the car to stay fit for 10 years...seriously u gotta be joking rite?? ROFLMAO

This post has been edited by shazmn: Jun 28 2007, 11:45 AM
hypermount
post Jun 28 2007, 12:00 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 28 2007, 11:16 AM)
My MYVI 1.3 sxi...no wind noise even at 100km/h....when idle and air-cond not on, i could hardly tell the engine already started and i've actually start the engine several times while it's on coz i thought engine dead...sweat.gif....now, i feel the gear knob for some vibration to make sure engine already on... thumbup.gif

All stock and no modification to cabin yadda yadda. Probably can go even more queiter if i do some mod but i'm not into that.

And yeah, i do hear wind noise in my old KIA Sephia...P2 > KIA anyday....and it only cost RM47K. Of course, you can't compare it to a benz/bmw in overall silence, but it's wrong to say u can't get a relatively wind-free noise car for under 100k.

thumbup.gif
seriously your prasso is SHITTY just like any other jap car, low frequency noise and vibration resonate throughout the whole cabin when revving, Steering feedback is bad, NVH is bad..Any MODERN engine is extremely quiet during idling including 4WDs like the Nissan Xtrail.

QUOTE(shazmn @ Jun 28 2007, 11:37 AM)

but like u said, the gearknob is loose already...why???always drag with frends and everytime fix it, it will be loose in no time because of the fast gear shifting...owh well...

had an accident because brake failure...hmmm...my fault oso...town driving at 12.30AM and speeding at 140km/h...after accident got squeaking noise at the back of my car...owh well...accident cars maa what do u expect???

lessons learnt...most younger generations mod their car do this and that but when it makes a defect, blame the car maker...some tint their car and the kedai said need to open the panel...why need to open la?do u know once u open sometimes the kedai people pasang tak betul and later u blame car makers because of sounds coming from the door la, power window not working la etc etc...

sometimes send to bad pomen...this oso creates problem...i've heard b4 from my uncle saying that gen2 gearbox always problem...he is like part time pomen...i wanna ask him did he experience it himself and get many gen2 in his partner's workshop or other pomen told him and he told me? so far i've been driving gen2 MME and push the gearbox demm hard no problem...other club members been driving and join drag event etc with standard clutch...car first 2004 model until now still ok...so what say you?

err when i say i push the gearbox hard...i do mean it...come ride with me and i'll show you... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on June 28, 2007, 11:45 amone more thing...if u buy a savvy and drive like u own a ferrari and expect the car to stay fit for 10 years...seriously u gotta be joking rite?? ROFLMAO
DUMB isn't it the comparison? AS if a Ferrari could last 10 years if we drive it like a econobox, starting up the car 10 times a day and use it for short journey travels.

ROFLMAO

This post has been edited by hypermount: Jun 28 2007, 12:00 PM
SUSceo684
post Jun 28 2007, 12:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Saga LMSS Nov 2003.

Only major problem is the boot leaking water since day 1 and cause the spare tyre to have a swim everyday. Solved by opening up the little drain hole with jamming it slightly open using a piece of cloth.

Bumpers are quite tough for the LMSS saga though. Rear ended by a wira and the bumper slightly out of position only. Wira front looked like a a mess, radiator bleeding etc. Front bumper also not bad, banged a saga at slow speed and also ran over a helmet before, only the clip broken and a few scratches.

No complaints on engine performance with 13" rims. 14" stock rims were heavy like hell and horribly slow pickup.

Wind noise is a problem, the windows seem to not close to 100% but rather 99%. Is it due to lack of window visors?
bruce07
post Jun 28 2007, 12:30 PM

368 posts

hi all....i'm still driving a 1990 proton saga (auto)... still going strong... hehee... ermmm well problems wif this car is really minor... the car-cental locking system went KAPUT!!!!... other den dat... condenser DIED due to old age.. other den dat...is working fine...ohhh yeah n the BRAKE tak MAKAN wan...step hard oso still can go front...hahahaaa...but other den dat... air-cond... power windows... wipers... speakers + head unit (changed liao) hehe... but afterall still a very good car... doing 9.5km/litre city driving...i guess consider good as it is a 16 yr old JUNK...hahha... best record was 12.3km/litre highway driving.... hehe

ohhhh the worst is the RUST COMING out from the doors...DAMN QUALITY CONTROL!!!! haaiizzz.... =P

This post has been edited by bruce07: Jun 28 2007, 12:34 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jun 28 2007, 01:22 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I also drive a saga. power window never fail. if that person always fail power window, that guy dunno how to use power window lar tongue.gif
the_registered
post Jun 28 2007, 01:42 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 28 2007, 12:00 PM)
seriously your prasso is SHITTY just like any other jap car, low frequency noise and vibration resonate throughout the whole cabin when revving, Steering feedback is bad, NVH is bad..Any MODERN engine is extremely quiet during idling including 4WDs like the Nissan Xtrail.
DUMB isn't it the comparison? AS if a Ferrari could last 10 years if we drive it like a econobox, starting up the car 10 times a day and use it for short journey travels.

ROFLMAO
Mr (or Ms.) no d!ck, why don't you comment about those many complains made here? You wanna chicken out? Oh. I bet you do shocking.gif

Everthing from boot leaking water, bumper drop, alarm/center lock got problem ...

OH NOW YOU'RE GONNA RUN, C'MON LETS DISCUSS THIS
AND ADMIT PROTON'S PATHETIC QC

If you can think other cars are dumb, well i guess Protons are 10X dumber, IN EVERY ASPECT
Strike
post Jun 28 2007, 02:05 PM

51 posts

again proton sucks, nuff said

my bro finally bought Honda after suffering 2 protong crap.

DIE PROTON DIE!!!!!!111111111
bruce07
post Jun 28 2007, 02:21 PM

368 posts

proton of coz SUXXXX...hahhaa...if without proton sure alot of nice cars in M'sia de...hahaha
Ecnerwal
post Jun 28 2007, 02:54 PM

226 posts

Dude .. pity your car. You have my sympathies.

Thing is we should be talking in similar terms. Not about ICE enthusiast or any car crazy fellas. Lets talk about even default cars when you first bought it.

The few cars i went through, Hyundai Sonata 96' , Proton Wira 99' , Waja 02' , Saga 04' , MyVi 07'

Amongst the 4 .. the Saga 04' is notably the worst default car i've purchased n driven.
1. Power window (no need to say sure most people had this)
2. Hand break loosed until cannot lock. e.g. if i park on slope = gone case.
3. Circuit board behind air cond burnt .. literally .. mechanic showed me the burnt circuit.
4. Door handle (inside) BROKE!!! and this is just last week. Best part is my power window on the drivers side DIED TOGETHER!!! only way to open is by climbing out the passenger side.
5. Hub cabs missing. Most likely fell off while driving. I heard and seen on the roads that i wasn't the only one.

Other than that .. actually the car is nice to drive .. it's definitely not a car enthusiast quality or near savvy quality .. but overall it's an ok car. (-minus all the stupid issues i mentioned above)

Waja 02' .. i bet you some of the problems you guys heard of
1. Power window
2. Back door panel coming loose
3. Squeaky breaks. (strange my saga dun have this)
4. Front light almost came off. (despite the fact car never hit anything before)

Look .. if you wanna talk about good quality cheap cars by default upon purchase .. try even a MyVi. Most friends of mine have no complaints on it so far other than e.g. self inflicted accidents.

But then with the stupid ^ tax rates .. cheapest is always Plotong cars ala Saga. Even for Waja in the 1.6 litre range .. i believe Waja is the cheapest 1.6 sedan around.

Theres nothing much you can compare if you just wanna compare. Anyway main topics is about Proton's issues.

Btw .. tested new Neo and Waja. They are alot better than the last batch. Have to admit after they buffed up quality assurance more it's better. Campro Waja is not really that responsive due to it's fuel-efficiency configurations. So other than that the whole car is heck alot better than before.
su8aru
post Jun 28 2007, 04:44 PM

No-Longer An Active User
Validating
1,735 posts

to all Proton fanboys..

most Malaysian drive Proton cars before n got bad experience with it.. not all of us hate them becos they r local.. people complain on internet or simply bashing for fun... do u think people will still buying the product after knowing it sux n troublesome??? no we trying to avoid them...

This post has been edited by su8aru: Jun 28 2007, 04:45 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jun 29 2007, 09:23 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 28 2007, 12:00 PM)

ROFLMAO
Thank you for your intelligent feedback Ms. Hypermount. Talk cock all you want and i've still got a relatively wind-noise free car at high speed. Jealous ar?? Haaa-haaa!!!

Wow....and thanks for comparing my humble MYVI to a much more expensive 4WD like Nissan Xtrail...

Even your subconcious mind know MYVI has great quality at fantastic price, despite how hard your conciuos mind tried to fight it.
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jun 29 2007, 11:58 AM
Arkaine
post Jun 29 2007, 10:10 AM

Join the Dark Force to embrace true power
1,904 posts

My wira se so far no major problem.... only the wiper hardening and my rear type punctured last month.... the power windows still no problem *touchwood*

The only problem I've got is sctraches from itchy hands which solved by minor touchup and waxing. And my cheap vortex regulator got stolen since using 3m tape to stick them. What with ppl nowadays...??

Waiting for my hood to rust so I got a good reason to change to fibre or other type of hood.huhuhu....

diablos
post Jun 29 2007, 12:41 PM

260 posts

My wira from 1994 till now still using. It is a 1.6 manual export model. use until now no problem. only wearable parts needs to replace.. o major overhaul. Just normal service..... A good car.
question?
post Jun 30 2007, 11:42 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 29 2007, 09:23 AM)
Thank you for your intelligent feedback Ms. Hypermount. Talk cock all you want and i've still got a relatively wind-noise free car at high speed. Jealous ar?? Haaa-haaa!!!

Wow....and thanks for comparing my humble MYVI to a much more expensive 4WD like Nissan Xtrail...

Even your subconcious mind know MYVI has great quality at fantastic price, despite how hard your conciuos mind tried to fight it.
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Hypermount is so shameful to Proton. I think Proton's dignity is of higher standards than Hypermount ( but do note Proton is pathetic). So this gives an idea how valuable hypermount's comments here are cool2.gif
dattebayo
post Jun 30 2007, 11:57 PM

5,366 posts

last time my bro's not even 4 yr old wira 's roof started berkarat already. And its an export model fyi, 1998 batch. Only until recently, proton's QC has improved quite a lot, but its been too late already, as the value segment is dominated by P2 Viva and Myvi, while those looking for a Waja rather to opt a slightly more expensive Vios.

So, Proton, count your days
hypermount
post Jul 1 2007, 12:02 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(the_registered @ Jun 28 2007, 01:42 PM)
Mr (or Ms.) no d!ck, why don't you comment about those many complains made here? You wanna chicken out? Oh. I bet you do  shocking.gif

Everthing from boot leaking water, bumper drop, alarm/center lock got problem ...

OH  NOW YOU'RE GONNA RUN, C'MON LETS DISCUSS THIS
AND ADMIT PROTON'S PATHETIC QC

If you can think other cars are dumb, well i guess Protons are 10X dumber, IN EVERY ASPECT
50 posts in a supposedly 1 week old Proton bashing thread and not all bashed Proton. I can't stand already some ignorant noobie questioning proton why oversea models cheaper ewhen those are stripped down models with lower specs..Minority always make the loudest noise...nuff said to many ignorant people around.

Added on July 1, 2007, 12:03 am
QUOTE(question? @ Jun 30 2007, 11:42 PM)
Hypermount is so shameful to Proton. I think Proton's dignity is of higher standards than Hypermount ( but do note Proton is pathetic). So this gives an idea how valuable hypermount's comments here are  cool2.gif
you're f***tard... Joined: Today, 11:08 PM
kena banne dor f***ing noobie

Added on July 1, 2007, 12:09 am
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 29 2007, 09:23 AM)

biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
I found it funny when you highlight the quiet when idling part...every car is quiet when idling even perdana v6 with hydraulic tappets are damn quiet from inside. My Savvy is damn quiet too...no need turn on the blower also quiet/

You expect me to belive you no wind noise at that speed? Myvi is shitty.. not even stable at 110km/h on straight roads moreover on bends. HOpe all kinds of problems will plague u the new car owners who keep bashing Proton. I believe in karma.

Added on July 1, 2007, 12:12 am
QUOTE(Ecnerwal @ Jun 28 2007, 02:54 PM)
Dude .. pity your car. You have my sympathies.

Thing is we should be talking in similar terms. Not about ICE enthusiast or any car crazy fellas. Lets talk about even default cars when you first bought it.

The few cars i went through, Hyundai Sonata 96' , Proton Wira 99' , Waja 02' , Saga 04' , MyVi 07'

Amongst the 4 .. the Saga 04' is notably the worst default car i've purchased n driven.
1. Power window (no need to say sure most people had this)
2. Hand break loosed until cannot lock. e.g. if i park on slope = gone case.
3. Circuit board behind air cond burnt .. literally .. mechanic showed me the burnt circuit.
4. Door handle (inside) BROKE!!! and this is just last week. Best part is my power window on the drivers side DIED TOGETHER!!! only way to open is by climbing out the passenger side.
5. Hub cabs missing. Most likely fell off while driving. I heard and seen on the roads that i wasn't the only one.

Other than that .. actually the car is nice to drive .. it's definitely not a car enthusiast quality or near savvy quality .. but overall it's an ok car. (-minus all the stupid issues i mentioned above)

Waja 02' .. i bet you some of the problems you guys heard of
1. Power window
2. Back door panel coming loose
3. Squeaky breaks. (strange my saga dun have this)
4. Front light almost came off. (despite the fact car never hit anything before)

Look .. if you wanna talk about good quality cheap cars by default upon purchase .. try even a MyVi. Most friends of mine have no complaints on it so far other than e.g. self inflicted accidents.

But then with the stupid ^ tax rates .. cheapest is always Plotong cars ala Saga. Even for Waja in the 1.6 litre range .. i believe Waja is the cheapest 1.6 sedan around.

Theres nothing much you can compare if you just wanna compare. Anyway main topics is about Proton's issues.

Btw .. tested new Neo and Waja. They are alot better than the last batch. Have to admit after they buffed up quality assurance more it's better. Campro Waja is not really that responsive due to it's fuel-efficiency configurations. So other than that the whole car is heck alot better than before.
Nah dun have any problems with my car. You're naive as hell as if myvi has 0 defects.

This post has been edited by hypermount: Jul 1 2007, 12:12 AM
question?
post Jul 1 2007, 12:19 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jul 1 2007, 12:02 AM)
50 posts in a supposedly 1 week old Proton bashing thread and not all bashed Proton. I can't stand already some ignorant noobie questioning proton why oversea models cheaper ewhen those are stripped down models with lower specs..Minority always make the loudest noise...nuff said to many ignorant people around.

you're f***tard...  Joined: Today, 11:08 PM

I found it funny when you highlight the quiet when idling part...every car is quiet when idling even perdana v6 with hydraulic tappets are damn quiet from inside. My Savvy is damn quiet too...no need turn on the blower also quiet/

You expect me to belive you no wind noise at that speed? Myvi is shitty.. not even stable at 110km/h on straight roads moreover on bends. HOpe all kinds of problems will plague u the new car owners who keep bashing Proton. I believe in karma.

Nah dun have any problems with my car. You're naive as hell as if myvi has 0 defects.
well majority here bashed Proton, so what you gotta say?

It doesn't matter when and why I joined. You're just trying to change the scenario here so you and your pathetic Protons might just skim away from Proton flamers here. Why don't you jump in dirrectly into fire? ARGUE with people who have Proton problems. Say they are wrong, say that is not rust but gold dust, say whatever c0ck you want...

BUT

you're more pathetic than Proton doh.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 12:25 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jul 1 2007, 12:02 AM)

you're f***tard...  Joined: Today, 11:08 PM

well if u can call myvi a shitty car, then its also LYN's democracy to allow users to bash at Proton's quality issues, lots of replies above you came with proofs regarding Proton cars which is not a make up story.

btw, I just reported ur usage of profanity :smile.gif
Vervain
post Jul 1 2007, 12:25 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

first things 1st. we all know proton sucks, we all know there are alot of problem. still people buy proton. why? there are things which we ought to take into consideration. $$$. proton has been in the local industry for a long time. they are the most modded car and vast available parts in malaysia. so maintenance on vehicle and replacement parts are cheap, ranging from the authentic manufacturer parts to the low cost aftermarket parts. take for instance on the argument or comparisons between proton and myvis. in the event the rear lights were to burn out, LED replacement are expensive and costly. where else for a normal proton, its just a replacement of a cheapo bulb to get it going. then there is the mod ability. protons have many exteriors to choose or mod with. so basically there are some room for aesthetics. QC wise will always remain an issue in proton. i guess they should work with foreign car manufacturers on training ethical and profession car staffs
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 1 2007, 12:31 AM

36 posts

myvi... theway to go for malaysians... especially those
1) kiasi china man thinking of resale value importance
2) care of looks over performance
3) who doesnt like red hair gurls

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jul 1 2007, 12:32 AM
dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 12:38 AM

5,366 posts

an old news cool2.gif
Proton is trying to cut down it's dealership network by offering a voluntary separation scheme (VSS) to it's dealers, offering a one time pay-off fee to compensate for them having to close down their dealerships. Proton offered RM150,000 to each dealer, money that it had obtained from the government - that's RM10 million there. The money comes from the RM500 million Automotive Development Fund allocated in the Ninth Malaysia Plan

However, out of the 102 dealers that were offered this VSS scheme, only 36 accepted the offer. Many dealers snubbed the offer, saying it was too low. Most have written formally to Proton, saying they want more - amounts of up to RM500,000 were requested. The dealers say they invested up a minimum of RM200,000 to setup their operations.

Proton's latest proposal is to increase the compensation to RM300,000 - double the earlier RM150,000 amount. To do this, it is requesting another RM16 million from the government. The 36 dealers who accepted the offer earlier would also be entitled to this higher amount.

Seriously now, RM26 million for Proton dealers?!?!

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/17/pro...0000-vss-offer/
hypermount
post Jul 1 2007, 01:21 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

f***ing noobie in F&F..dattebayo, the other guy started personal attack on me first...I have said the worst thing like stupid f*** chinese darat like you in Malaysia. Note to the mod I'm f***ing chinese.

50 replies in 7 days is not considered an active thread.

Since you like to post old stuffs,

Why don't you bash Honda, lots of proof Honda defects by the owners
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=461386&hl=

and bash p2 too they got sued the most among the other 3 in malaysia..

dun be f***ing hypocrites like the DAP?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry12285569

dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 01:53 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jul 1 2007, 01:21 AM)
I have said the worst thing like stupid f*** chinese darat like you in Malaysia. Note to the mod I'm f***ing chinese.
hey, this is Proton bashing thread ok?
I am not against bashing or complaints other car makers, but make sure u post ur f***ing rants at the correct places ya? No one car maker is perfect and that's blardy truth, but when u saying myvi is shit crap but pls do provide some discrete evidence... not starting to spit ur milt at others like one minister did recently "stupid stupid stupid..." but in the end can't even mention one proper fact about the things debated.

If you can't stand this why not you go out of this thread and create another thread begging the attention for your comrades Proton **** lickers to cohere with u.

btw, if I still see the above racist statements by tomorrow, I will PM one of the admins, albeit the fact u might be a disgrace malaysian chinese smile.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 1 2007, 01:55 AM
question?
post Jul 1 2007, 02:19 AM

53 posts

First of, dattebayo well said! couldn't agree more!!

hey hypermount, why you take things so personal? Since you're Chinese, why you're so 'siew hei'? (note I'm not a Chinese) haha

You make youself look more pathetic. Everyone (if not 90%) here hates you for your nonsensicle remarks about cars, your racism stance and especially your uncontrollable rages about other people's humble opinion on Proton cars. Why be like that? Do you know it's already VERY pathetic? Please, at least be less pathetic than Proton. Look at Proton now, begging for one 'strategic' partner. WTF can they do with a strategic partner? Yes I know! to fool the rakyats view on Proton so Proton can cheat more Malaysian day by day with their poor QC

Again, stop being pathetic.
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 1 2007, 02:25 AM

36 posts

OMG... OMFG actually...
hey u all dun fight la among urselfs... buat malu jer apek cina lawan sesama haha
btw... u all fight here after make me ban again... and this thread is to hear HONEST and UNBIAS real owner's review based on real experience... no racism whatsoever

once again, pls i beg u, stop this racist thing or i'll get banned again and spamming also i will kena
Azuma-kun
post Jul 1 2007, 02:27 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

U should close this thread coupefan.
dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 02:29 AM

5,366 posts

We have to agree that no any one manufacturers for anything is free from fault in the world. We humans are not perfect in the first hand. If you were to look in the issue deep enough, you will know that how the administration of a company, how effective it is in manufacturing, also adding some external factors like it is No.2 car brand, it is pushing GM to the cliff, will affect the general public's view on a Brand.

To me and many others, even if we seen 10 more or 20 more flooded Toyota, but it will not budge our decision to other cars like Proton. Why is that? like in computers, Dell is a really well known brand to make them a No.2, although its built and quality isn't really make them deserve the praising, but what makes Dell still favorable today?

When the public is making negative comments on a company regardless of the truth behind, its time for that company to contemplate on the reasons. If someone really want general public to change their impression towards Proton, he should make those Proton CEOs to really think some realistic actions.

Brand name and how the public first think of it - is the most powerful weapon in business world after all. Proton failed at its branding - thus it will fail entirely in their business.

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 1 2007, 02:31 AM
hypermount
post Jul 1 2007, 02:37 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(question? @ Jul 1 2007, 02:19 AM)
First of, dattebayo well said! couldn't agree more!!
hey hypermount, why you take things so personal? Since you're Chinese, why you're so 'siew hei'? (note I'm not a Chinese) haha

You make youself look more pathetic. Everyone (if not 90%) here hates you for your nonsensicle remarks about cars, your racism stance and especially your uncontrollable rages about other people's humble opinion on Proton cars. Why be like that? Do you know it's already VERY pathetic? Please, at least be less pathetic than Proton. Look at Proton now, begging for one 'strategic' partner. WTF can they do with a strategic partner? Yes I know! to fool the rakyats view on Proton so Proton can cheat more Malaysian day by day with their poor QC
Again, stop being pathetic.
Ur a fecking god or something know what other people's feeling?...it just f***ing normal exchange of some undersireble word btween 2 parties, they've said my savvy is junk and I didn't retaliate, I said their said their is shitty,and who the f*** are you trying barge in to find troubles and flamebait poeple..stupid dumb newbie.

Added on July 1, 2007, 2:42 am
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 1 2007, 02:29 AM)
We have to agree that no any one manufacturers for anything is free from fault in the world. We humans are not perfect in the first hand. If you were to look in the issue deep enough, you will know that how the administration of a company, how effective it is in manufacturing, also adding some external factors like it is No.2 car brand, it is pushing GM to the cliff, will affect the general public's view on a Brand.

To me and many others, even if we seen 10 more or 20 more flooded Toyota, but it will not budge our decision to other cars like Proton. Why is that? like in computers, Dell is a really well known brand to make them a No.2, although its built and quality isn't really make them deserve the praising, but what makes Dell still favorable today?

When the public is making negative comments on a company regardless of the truth behind, its time for that company to contemplate on the reasons. If someone really want general public to change their impression towards Proton, he should make those Proton CEOs to really think some realistic actions.

Brand name and how the public first think of it - is the most powerful weapon in business world after all. Proton failed at its branding - thus it will fail entirely in their business.
yea right as if is a money losing car maker can't turn around..they've f*** improved a lot. they are plenty of patriots around not unlike you!! the reality is not what like you prefer to perceive.

This post has been edited by hypermount: Jul 1 2007, 02:42 AM
dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 02:48 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jul 1 2007, 02:37 AM)
Ur a fecking god or something know what other people's feeling?...it just f***ing  normal exchange of some undersireble word btween 2 parties, they've said my savvy is junk and I didn't retaliate, I said their said their is shitty,and who the f*** are you trying barge in to find troubles and flamebait poeple..stupid dumb newbie.

Added on July 1, 2007, 2:42 am
yea right as if is a money losing car maker can't turn around..they've f*** improved a lot.  they are plenty of patriots around not unlike you!! the reality is not what like you prefer to perceive.
being a patriotic doesn't mean he has to drive a proton. Even a down syndrome patient knows that. A country is a different entity than its government.

If u have better ideas, why not join MCA to fight for our rights in the coming elections? rolleyes.gif
I am waiting another one from chinese to join that malay sama sama yelling "stupid stupid stupid" to opposition.

btw, ya I am a patriot rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 1 2007, 03:00 AM
zombie
post Jul 1 2007, 03:04 AM

Died
685 posts

No need to argue so much. Market preference will always differentiate the good and the bad.

The market preference has spoken and Potong's going down.

travis_ckf
post Jul 1 2007, 05:04 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Hypermount:
I have no idea what really happended to u, but i shall say ur post is really offending and u pissed alot of ppl here.

Here an advise for u, U fighting a losing battle against many of those feddups with proton. Buck out coz there a possibility u will lose ur little brother. U be warned wink.gif

Added on July 1, 2007, 5:06 am
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 1 2007, 02:29 AM)

That a very good post my friend smile.gif

Still no matter what, hypermount is running out of bullets to defend the beloved Proton. Its a losing battle but he just living on denial. Poor fella doh.gif

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: Jul 1 2007, 05:06 AM
nicotine
post Jul 1 2007, 05:38 AM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

ezralimm
post Jul 1 2007, 08:41 AM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

Guys, cool down...

From what i can gather, some batches of protons do have lots of problems.

Any comments on the newer ones? late model Gen2's, neo's, savvys?

Most cars will have some kind of problem in the first six months. If im not mistaken, even Toyota (with the best reliability statistics in the US), ended up with something like 1.6 faults within the first six months, on average. (I forgot where i read it... so if anyone finds it do share it here.)

Dattebayo:

DELL's consumer line build quality is just bad. Their lattitudes are okay... but cost as much as Lenovo's and HP business line notebooks.

I had an Inspiron 8600. Left it at home in a month after getting it. Switched to an iBook. No doubt, the Inspiron had very good value for money and top graphics capabilities (at the time), but it's build was just crap. The mouse wouldnt click properly and the case rattles...Not for frequent travelling around campus.

Now im using a Thinkpad. The DELL Latitude is just as or more expensive than a similar thinkpad. The Latitude is good though... Not like the inspiron at all.

My point is, you generally get what you pay for.

A RM40,000 proton is really on the low price range for a car. Expecting top quality is just not possible.

Then the bashers say "oh, toyota and honda small sedans (eg. Vios/Fit Aria) are much more reliable....but 300% more expensive because of NAP". If proton didnt exist, we could get a Vios for RM33,000!

That's bullsh1t. Even with a fair tax scenario, the small jap sedans will still be around RM65k.

Now, if proton aimed a little higher, and made a RM65k small sedan (Imagine a RM65k satria neo or gen2)... it will be out of reach of it's key demographic. The section of the malaysian population it was intended to serve.

Sure, there are many rich ppl in the Klang valley who can afford a 65k car easily... But that does not represent the majority of people who need a car.

This post has been edited by ezralimm: Jul 1 2007, 08:51 AM
question?
post Jul 1 2007, 09:01 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(ezralimm @ Jul 1 2007, 08:41 AM)
Guys, cool down...

From what i can gather, some batches of protons do have lots of problems.

Any comments on the newer ones? late model Gen2's, neo's, savvys?
Most cars will have some kind of problem in the first six months. If im not mistaken, even Toyota (with the best reliability statistics in the US), ended up with something like 1.6 faults within the first six months, on average. (I forgot where i read it... so if anyone finds it do share it here.)
Dattebayo:

DELL's consumer line build quality is just bad. Their lattitudes are okay... but cost as much as Lenovo's and HP business line notebooks.

I had an Inspiron 8600. Left it at home in a month after getting it. Switched to an iBook. No doubt, the Inspiron had very good value for money and top graphics capabilities (at the time), but it's build was just crap. The mouse wouldnt click properly and the case rattles...Not for frequent travelling around campus.

Now im using a Thinkpad. The DELL Latitude is just as or more expensive than a similar thinkpad. The Latitude is good though... Not like the inspiron at all.
My point is, you generally get what you pay for.

A RM40,000 proton is really on the low price range for a car. Expecting top quality is just not possible.

Then the bashers say "oh, toyota and honda small sedans (eg. Vios/Fit Aria) are much more reliable....but 300% more expensive because of NAP". If proton didnt exist, we could get a Vios for RM33,000!

That's bullsh1t. Even with a fair tax scenario, the small jap sedans will still be around RM65k.

Now, if proton aimed a little higher, and made a RM65k small sedan (Imagine a RM65k satria neo or gen2)... it will be out of reach of it's key demographic. The section of the malaysian population it was intended to serve.

Sure, there are many rich ppl in the Klang valley who can afford a 65k car easily... But that does not represent the majority of people who need a car.
ermm.... actually, if there's no 300% hike on Vios since it's made in Malaysia. Those 300% you're talking about are CBU cars made outside of Malaysian shores.
piscesguy
post Jul 1 2007, 09:13 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

I drive a 1999 wira manual. It was brand new when I bought it. Despite all small problems that I can live with it, there are no major problem like engine and brake failure. Still very reliable till today. Just make sure u change to ORIGINAL parts during maintenance service. My friend asked me y I still driving this old car since I can afford a new jap car, I told him that I feel GOOD coz I don't need to pay for a monthly payment. As long as the car keep running, I will keep saving my money ! I can spend my money in other areas like getting a bigger house. laugh.gif

dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 09:22 AM

5,366 posts

I ve seen more people buying Vios rather than its closest price competitor Waja Campro, in fact City is also selling better than Waja. Although Toyota and Honda are at least rm10k more exp than a Waja.
Again, people has lost confidence in them, with more emotion than rationally
Design wise, Proton Iswara still based on the last decade rite?
Chancellor is yet another Waja rip off, and Waja Campro has minimal changes to Waja 1st gen.
Savvy is nothing but underwear car or helmet car
Gen2 do you call that crap a subcompact?
Satria Neo, it has potential and so far is the only Proton that deserves the attention.
question?
post Jul 1 2007, 09:29 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 1 2007, 09:22 AM)
I ve seen more people buying Vios rather than its closest price competitor Waja Campro, in fact City is also selling better than Waja. Although Toyota and Honda are at least rm10k more exp than a Waja.   
Chancellor is yet another Waja rip off, and Waja Campro has minimal changes to Waja 1st gen.
Satria Neo, it has potential and so far is the only Proton that deserves the attention.
IMO, I see more cities than vios. But recent sale figures sure shows than Waja is clearly losing out.

Satria Neo is the worst Proton car IMO. the roof is too low. I'm only 5 foot 10, and I'm already having trouble with that. Power wise, still not comparable to Honda Jazz.
iRonTech
post Jul 1 2007, 09:41 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 1 2007, 09:22 AM)
Not to bash or say other brand better, "if proton did well, they wont face today's trouble. " smile.gif

Arkaine
post Jul 1 2007, 09:54 AM

1,904 posts

only some are troublesome... the rest you can see running on the road..... not all proton cars are problematic....

yeah the qc line is sucks.... even letting go of cars with problem for sale...
kcng
post Jul 1 2007, 10:28 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(question? @ Jul 1 2007, 09:01 AM)
ermm.... actually, if there's no 300% hike on Vios since it's made in Malaysia. Those 300% you're talking about are CBU cars made outside of Malaysian shores.
u sure vios are made in malaysia ?
rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(question? @ Jul 1 2007, 09:29 AM)
IMO, I see more cities than vios. But recent sale figures sure shows than Waja is clearly losing out.

Satria Neo is the worst Proton car IMO. the roof is too low. I'm only 5 foot 10, and I'm already having trouble with that. Power wise, still not comparable to Honda Jazz.
u just shot yourself again with this post.....
just prove that how much "information" you have in your head...

a honda jazz is more powerful then a neo ?
rolleyes.gif

u want me to post out the dyno chart and put you to shame ?
if u have say jazz is more zippy then neo, then i will agree with you 100%

and do you know about aerodynamics ?
whistling.gif

thank you for making my day, what a way to start a day, with a laughter....

question?
post Jul 1 2007, 10:33 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 1 2007, 10:28 AM)
u sure vios are made in malaysia ?
rolleyes.gif
u just shot yourself again with this post.....
just prove that how much "information" you have in your head...

a honda jazz is more powerful then a neo ?
rolleyes.gif

u want me to post out the dyno chart and put you to shame ?
if u have say jazz is more zippy then neo, then i will agree with you 100%

and do you know about aerodynamics ?
whistling.gif

thank you for making my day, what a way to start a day, with a laughter....
yeah I'm quite sure. Used to be in Thailand but they have a plant here. That's what 2 SA told me
kcng
post Jul 1 2007, 10:40 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(question? @ Jul 1 2007, 10:33 AM)
yeah I'm quite sure. Used to be in Thailand but they have a plant here. That's what 2 SA told me
i think u better re-confirm that data
kaelvin
post Jul 1 2007, 11:05 AM

in order for ppl to change their bad impression with proton, first thing proton gonna do is being privatized 100% just like perodua. No government interference, no nation or malay pride mentioned, just do their car business and make revenue on top of many others agenda. I hate to see that when a government has to give out life saving cash to save just an automobile manufacturer. Whereelse country in this world will do this? Will Bush government sponsor to GM motors when GM is dying soon?
hk_loo
post Jul 1 2007, 11:25 AM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 1 2007, 09:41 AM)
Not to bash or say other brand better, "if proton did well, they wont face today's trouble. "  smile.gif
a 76k vios is just a basic car, while waja 62k is far more more better spec then the vios E ... but people still prefer buy vios ...
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 1 2007, 11:26 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Jul 1 2007, 02:27 AM)
U should close this thread coupefan.
omg whats the prob man... why keep bragging me to close threads sweat.gif

i've learned how to close thread already, not funny anymore like last time, sry to say that
sonic_cd
post Jul 1 2007, 11:27 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Jul 1 2007, 11:25 AM)
a 76k vios is just a basic car, while waja 62k is far more more better spec then the vios E ... but people still prefer buy vios ...
prolly need to change the mindset about proton ... then people will start buying already ...
NewbieBetta
post Jul 1 2007, 11:36 AM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 1 2007, 11:26 AM)
omg whats the prob man... why keep bragging me to close threads  sweat.gif

i've learned how to close thread already, not funny anymore like last time, sry to say that
ppl ask you to close thread cause its a sensetive issue maybe..& flaming will go on..
lj0000
post Jul 1 2007, 11:52 AM

2,200 posts

vios is made in shah alam...

not made lah.. its assembled tongue.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 11:56 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(kaelvin @ Jul 1 2007, 11:05 AM)
in order for ppl to change their bad impression with proton, first thing proton gonna do is being privatized 100% just like perodua. No government interference, no nation or malay pride mentioned, just do their car business and make revenue on top of many others agenda. I hate to see that when a government has to give out life saving cash to save just an automobile manufacturer. Whereelse country in this world will do this? Will Bush government sponsor to GM motors when GM is dying soon?
very much agree. Its look like we have to pay hefty for imported car just to defend the Nation pride (Malay pride).
again, rather to pay less with Myvi, or paymore for City or vios, than to spoonfeed the blokes inside Proton. Their pride is not worth a single penny though. We pay for the quality and peace of mind, not some regiment's proclaimed Nation pride.

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 1 2007, 11:59 AM
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 1 2007, 11:57 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jul 1 2007, 11:36 AM)
ppl ask you to close thread cause its a sensetive issue maybe..& flaming will go on..
i dunno why u LYN people have some kind of mindset, this thread is to share info on the cars, actually it should be informational to people who wish to buy a proton car... shud not be a thread for people with shallow mindset to bash or what ever u call it

Added on July 1, 2007, 11:59 am
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 1 2007, 11:56 AM)

again, rather to pay less with Myvi, or paymore for City or vios, than to spoonfeed the blokes inside Proton. Their pride is not worth a single penny though.
haha, dare u say u dont own a proton =.=
i'm very sure 99% if not all of bashers here own a proton currently, or a myvi and want to justify how good a bad myvi is

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jul 1 2007, 11:59 AM
dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 12:07 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 1 2007, 11:57 AM)
i dunno why u LYN people have some kind of mindset, this thread is to share info on the cars, actually it should be informational to people who wish to buy a proton car... shud not be a thread for people with shallow mindset to bash or what ever u call it

Added on July 1, 2007, 11:59 am
haha, dare u say u dont own a proton =.=
i'm very sure 99% if not all of bashers here own a proton currently, or a myvi and want to justify how good a bad myvi is
I not saying Proton quality is bad, read properly.
But what makes people not happy is what their top level administration is doing now. Bringing nation pride as a shield to defend a company is the worst BS.

Inevitably, when buying a Proton, I will think of : gosh... my money will be in some key ppl of G 's pocket now, part of it will be used to sponsor the JPA scholarships (where mostly only one race has the greatest benefit) , portion of it will be used in funding of big massive pointless project doh.gif

If proton dare the challenge, G should let loose on the tax, and try to sell foreign cars at Thailand's price. Then we can observe the general market response smile.gif
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 1 2007, 12:14 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 1 2007, 12:07 PM)
I not saying Proton quality is bad, read properly.
But what makes people not happy is what their top level administration is doing now. Bringing nation pride as a shield to defend a company is the worst BS.

Inevitably, when buying a Proton, I will think of : gosh... my money will be in some key ppl of G 's pocket now, part of it will be used to sponsor the JPA scholarships (where mostly only one race has the greatest benefit) , portion of it will be used in funding of big massive pointless project doh.gif

If proton dare the challenge, G should let loose on the tax, and try to sell foreign cars at Thailand's price. Then we can observe the general market response smile.gif
OKAY!, now i understand the problem here....
PLEASE- no discussion on the management or prospects of the PROTON COMPANY
ONLY its products ie. the cars

Added on July 1, 2007, 12:17 pmbtw- i heard people say that proton actually buy cheaper materials at higher prices...and all the methods making it unprofitably profitable...

HOWEVER, theres nothing we can do about it... spamming or whinning in this thread or this forum will not help...u think they will stop the practice when theres no incentives to do so?

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jul 1 2007, 12:17 PM
igor_is300
post Jul 1 2007, 12:18 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

Yeah, better equipped doesn't mean it's good (yet) .

Get it ? rolleyes.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 12:21 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 1 2007, 12:14 PM)
OKAY!, now i understand the problem here....
PLEASE- no discussion on the management or prospects of the PROTON COMPANY
ONLY its products ie. the cars

Added on July 1, 2007, 12:17 pmbtw- i heard people say that proton actually buy cheaper materials at higher prices...and all the methods making it unprofitably profitable...

HOWEVER, theres nothing we can do about it... spamming or whinning in this thread or this forum will not help...u think they will stop the practice when theres no incentives to do so?
its good at last you understand, its the same idea I posted earlier - Proton brand has been spoilt terribly smile.gif

for the over-priced materials, they used to implement it a lot to help out their own cronies, esp during the era where power windows problem was so frequent. Now they have reduced it pretty much I think.
squareballs
post Jul 1 2007, 12:40 PM

4,331 posts

my view about proton:
1.Cool air con
2.cheap spare parts
3.Anywhere u go..surely any mechanic will know how to repair
4.Easy to Mod..(this is the best)
My dad wanted to buy vios for me...i rather choose waja than vios..y?
1.Vios is too small compared to waja..and at that price u get smaller car than the waja..
2.I've sat in my fren's vios..hard seats..
3.the meter panel is in the middle..weird weird feeling for me...
So, in the end...Waja campro..and now it's serving me good..8)

**no offense to vios owners..as this is my view...
Cheers~~
boris
post Jul 1 2007, 01:12 PM

you bastard~!!
955 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 1 2007, 12:40 PM)
u should get the vios, later sell it then get ur waja... can make sum profit... tongue.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 01:16 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 1 2007, 12:40 PM)
my view about proton:
1.Cool air con
2.cheap spare parts
3.Anywhere u go..surely any mechanic will know how to repair
4.Easy to Mod..(this is the best)
1.Vios is too small compared to waja..and at that price u get smaller car than the waja..
2.I've sat in my fren's vios..hard seats..
3.the meter panel is in the middle..weird weird feeling for me...
So, in the end...Waja campro..and now it's serving me good..8)

**no offense to vios owners..as this is my view...
Cheers~~
why not honda city ler? i-dsi model is much the same price for Vios-G unsure.gif
CHIP CN
post Jul 1 2007, 02:00 PM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Jun 28 2007, 11:37 AM)

agreed with u..... buy car like wanna to race f1..... after that complaint to car maker.... enzo pun bole crash sampai mati.....ini kan pula kete biase....
hk_loo
post Jul 1 2007, 02:03 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jul 1 2007, 12:18 PM)
Yeah, better equipped doesn't mean it's good (yet) .

Get it ? rolleyes.gif
yalor, that's y i driving a E now...the 4 disc brake + mp3 + leather seat on waja doesn't attract me ... somemore last year when i buy vios, ABS + dual airbags still not a standard spec for waja...
travis_ckf
post Jul 1 2007, 02:16 PM

6,413 posts

one more thing...if u buy a savvy and drive like u own a ferrari and expect the car to stay fit for 10 years...seriously u gotta be joking rite?? ROFLMAO
Pls tell that to hypermount. I think he still dont get it until now. doh.gif
soitsuagain
post Jul 1 2007, 02:35 PM

Let's do it together!
3,806 posts

dattebayo
post Jul 1 2007, 02:46 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jul 1 2007, 02:35 PM)
Proton owners never ever takes good care of the car that why people complaining so many problem. Just imagine lah so many proton cars I see thats only a year old, but the paint faded already and looks like it has never been washed for ages. If for the car appearance they don't give a jackshiyt about it, how can one expect the engine/interior to be in any better shape.
u re funny,.. whats the logic in not washing a car can make a car paint fade out? doh.gif
boris
post Jul 1 2007, 03:55 PM

you bastard~!!
955 posts

Proton owners never ever takes good care of the car that why people complaining so many problem. Just imagine lah so many proton cars I see thats only a year old, but the paint faded already and looks like it has never been washed for ages. If for the car appearance they don't give a jackshiyt about it, how can one expect the engine/interior to be in any better shape.
does washing ur car make its engine run smoother? whistling.gif
advanced
post Jul 1 2007, 04:02 PM

1,567 posts

so all proton owner dont know how to take care of their car?but why i dint heard honda nissan owner complaining so much on their car
NewbieBetta
post Jul 1 2007, 04:08 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

oh gosh..proton car is cheap..you pay for what you get..arh..even the so call "nation pride" those who are filty rich,they dont drive a proton..when you have the $$ you will choose better car..

and yeah..proton car doesnt give me a safety feeling,any of you guys feel this..compare to honda,toyota or merz...

This post has been edited by NewbieBetta: Jul 1 2007, 04:10 PM
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 1 2007, 04:09 PM

36 posts

the proton campro engine i heard theres a "sudden power surge" at rpom above 4-5k and a reported in an article say it jumps to redline after that.... reminds me of jeremy once said in top gear about mitsu EVO ... the turbo in mitsu EVO only kicks in after rpm 3k, below rpm 3k if running at 5th gear, its very slow because the turbo lag

this this implies a turbo characteristic of campro? :S
Oly
post Jul 1 2007, 04:30 PM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 1 2007, 04:09 PM)
the proton campro engine i heard theres a "sudden power surge" at rpom above 4-5k and a reported in an article say it jumps to redline after that.... reminds me of jeremy once said in top gear about mitsu EVO ... the turbo in mitsu EVO only kicks in after rpm 3k, below rpm 3k if running at 5th gear, its very slow because the turbo lag

duh... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Arkaine
post Jul 1 2007, 08:52 PM

1,904 posts

kcng
post Jul 2 2007, 09:02 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 1 2007, 04:09 PM)

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
i need panadol.....
leowhy
post Jul 2 2007, 09:19 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

that is too generalise bro...

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 2 2007, 09:37 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

erm, driving a tiara 97, so far... there are regular problems, like.. i have a boot that's nto working, but i don't quite care.. a power window that needs manual assistance to go up at certain points, a speedometer that doesn't work.. yeah.

but i quite love the car, because it hasn't broke down on the road yet.

There was once an engine wash caused water to go into the engine and messed up the car a little, but that's the washer's fault, partly.

as long as it gets me to college and back without breaking down, (with exceptions of blown tyres, and accidents), it's quite a good car.

Maintenence, about once every 3-6 months, cost about 100-500, but that's okay to me.
shazmn
post Jul 2 2007, 11:05 AM

1,800 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 1 2007, 02:16 PM)
why tell to hypermount???

my words are for those who loves to complain and complain and complain and never wants to admit own fault in the first place...

sheeshhhh...now i'm getting involved in some useless talk here...*sighhh*

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
sqwerk2
post Jul 2 2007, 11:21 AM

The Big One
1,799 posts

u can rephrase that again. i gotta admit, i dun really take car of my house car to the fullest, however there are some manufacturer's defects that appear even if u take care of it to the fullest. the best example, power window. needless to say much on this. even the one that we never used also can kong juz like that.
ezralimm
post Jul 2 2007, 01:13 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

QUOTE(question? @ Jul 1 2007, 09:01 AM)
doh.gif

again... most CBU cars are not taxed 300%.

300% is the maximum for very large engine cars.
igor_is300
post Jul 2 2007, 02:14 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

Oh, poor malaysians. Well, it can't be helped since our buying power isn't that great and added to the wound which is the horrible taxing, I must say that please don't expect everything worth your penny. I sensed the kiasu-ness and the generalizations of semi-retarded lytians comparing every inch and aspects with their manglish accented replies eg: city's luggage space is bigger than vios's then you must buy city ! or city & vios is cacat'ed car, waja is better equipped got abs/airbag/more space/etc, therefore waja good ! or savvy is better than auntie myvi, good handling, can speed up to 170km/h, can tapau vios and city some more ! and etcetera etcetera ...

In other words, why don't you choose your car according to your needs and requirements? Do you really need the extra space? Do you need to ferry people around ? Do you need the unwanted flashy gadgets? and more importantly Do you have money to buy a decent car ?

I know it may sounds corny, but the truth is people like to whine something they don't have. I don't drive Proton's so I don't have the rights to complain anything except from my personal observation. Is it fair enough? Well let's not conclude this too early. Before I bought my vios early this year, I have done some detailed research along with advices from family and friends, well it's an obvious answer that they don't recommend a Proton. Let alone the Toyota dealership has given me a RM6k discount along with few freebies, service vouchers and a delivery time of 2 weeks. Not forgetting, recently I was called up by Toyota SC to setup an appointment upon my 10,000km service in a spur and hassle free manner.

Why I wouldn't I choose city or waja instead ? It's simple, I don't need an extra space, I am not a six footer, I don't need a big luggage space, I'm still single and I don't like ferrying people around. All I need is a decent and economical sedan with zippy acceleration. I don't mind people calling it Siamese Toyota. You can call me a Toyota fanboy, lol. I accepted the badge with its weaknesses and strengths.

So, in the end, if you don't like Proton then don't buy any Proton. Let Ms. Hypermount and friends enjoying their moments until GODknowswhen. As for me, I don't give a damn on people's ride.

This post has been edited by igor_is300: Jul 2 2007, 02:21 PM
n305er
post Jul 2 2007, 02:28 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(advanced @ Jul 1 2007, 04:02 PM)
so all proton owner dont know how to take care of their car?but why i dint heard honda nissan owner complaining so much on their car
OMG! I also heard more complaints from Toyota, Suzuki, Volvo, Mercedes and even Alfa Romeo compared to Proton! (I don't know if Proton really no problem, or already too many mechs making a living fixing Protons...)

Now I wonder why do people still keep on going back to buy them and even still recommend those cars to their family and friends?

Heck, The only reason why would anyone would want to buy a Proton (In this case, a Savvy) is:
1. So strong that you'll survive even a monster grabbing your car to scratch his back and still be able to enjoy the high quality sound system. (Okay, I know it's just an advertisment. Have you seen the Savvy which survived a sumersault over an entire garden and landed right in front of a house window and survived? Hack, it's so tough! They can tell that because the car is upside down but the flower pots isn't even broken. *Cough* Those who are observant will notice how the actual road was just a few human steps away from the accident point.)
2. So fast! Top speed 170KMh can easily beat Vios and City!
3. With all that Power, only RM0.04 per KM! Wahhh!!!!
4. You actually care about "Originality" and don't mind paying extra for a car different from others.
5. AMT! Automated Manual Transmission! Does it even makes sense? Heck, it's a Renault so it must be good right? (talk about originality)
6. When a Proton goes into the workshop with a lot of problems, it must be the Driver's problem. Not the car's problem. Because it's already TUV approved. With other cars, it's the car manufacturer's/designer's problem. Other cars with ISO9001 (International) are nothing compared to TUV(German).
7. Super great handling! Which made it ending up upside down in Singapore.
8. Cheaper replacement parts! (But always complain about expensive but inferior vendor parts) How logical.
9. Because Proton changed already laaaa...
10. Because hypermount said so!

This post has been edited by n305er: Jul 2 2007, 02:59 PM
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 2 2007, 03:19 PM

36 posts

travis_ckf
post Jul 2 2007, 03:26 PM

6,413 posts

alabais

1,027 posts

manual vios is available in thailand .. not in malaysia .. i asked toyota once and they are not going to bring that into malaysia .. so there might be cars around but the government is not bringing them in ..
hk_loo

1,750 posts

marketing purpose ...

they assume malaysian love auto because of trafik jam ...

in sg, there is manual for vios ...
kcng
post Jul 2 2007, 03:29 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

yoroi
post Jul 2 2007, 03:57 PM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

urm actually the only problems i had wih my proton wira were very minor (faulty rpm cable, faulty 3rd brake light, noisy air cond) other than that, it served me well for 6 years... I bought a 2001 make...
kit0
post Jul 2 2007, 03:58 PM

F The World And May The Death God take U Into Hell
768 posts

SUSceo684
post Jul 2 2007, 04:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 2 2007, 03:19 PM)
seriously speaking, i'm sure all of u agree with me on this one:
1) NONE of the Japanese cars (Honda, Toyota, Mazda) has manual transmission.. only auto transmission...  i dont see any manual vios or city or civic..
WRONG!

AFAIK the sentra came in manual.
hk_loo
post Jul 2 2007, 04:20 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 2 2007, 04:15 PM)
WRONG!

AFAIK the sentra came in manual.
he din mention sentra tongue.gif
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 2 2007, 04:35 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 2 2007, 03:26 PM)
WRONG! That only applies to new cars in Malaysia for such models. U reffering like toyota, mazda and honda dont have an manual tranny at all. They do sell manual vios in sgpore and thailand as well, not here only . sweat.gif
dude, this WHOLE thread is about cars IN MALAYSIA
WTF u talk about singapore and thailand?!...

anywayz, i want to clarify that post of mine, i'm talking bout honda, toyota and even suzuki has only AUTO variants in malaysia... and i gave the examples of vios, city civic even swift

Added on July 2, 2007, 4:36 pm
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 2 2007, 03:31 PM)
The next time if a millionaire asks hypermount which supercar he should choose, he will definery say SAVVY!!!! laugh.gif
There always an "ignore" button fren whistling.gif
p/s pls pm me if u want to personally flame me, dont spam my thread - THANKS for ur coorperation travis_ckf

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jul 2 2007, 04:36 PM
n305er
post Jul 2 2007, 04:52 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 2 2007, 04:35 PM)

anywayz, i want to clarify that post of mine, i'm talking bout honda, toyota and even suzuki has only AUTO variants in malaysia... and i gave the examples of vios, city civic even swift

p/s pls pm me if u want to personally flame me, dont spam my thread - THANKS for ur coorperation travis_ckf
Let me quote you.
1) NONE of the Japanese cars (Honda, Toyota, Mazda) has manual transmission.. only auto transmission...  i dont see any manual vios or city or civic..
I do not see you mentioning about only in Malaysia.
travis_ckf
post Jul 2 2007, 04:57 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Jul 2 2007, 04:52 PM)
Let me quote you.

I do not see you mentioning about only in Malaysia.
I already sick of arguing with this kiddo. Coupefan just to let u know u really tainting the fnf thread and more ppl will not post here due to ur retarded behavior. Just a food for thought. wink.gif sweat.gif

Consider urself lucky for not yet getting a ban.

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: Jul 2 2007, 04:58 PM
ltw82
post Jul 2 2007, 05:12 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 2 2007, 04:35 PM)

rclxms.gif
real joker again...?
there are manual transmission cars made under Honda, Toyota, Mazda...
juz tht gov dun wan them to come in...

u dont see one selling in malaysia does not mean tht manual does not exist lah...!
gkl83
post Jul 2 2007, 05:16 PM

8,377 posts

if looking for RM80k+ car price range, only manual gear and only japan car in Malaysia...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jul 2 2007, 05:18 PM
the_registered
post Jul 2 2007, 05:33 PM

844 posts

squareballs
post Jul 2 2007, 05:37 PM

4,331 posts

ayrix_wylde
post Jul 2 2007, 05:38 PM

46 posts

squareballs
post Jul 2 2007, 05:44 PM

4,331 posts

WHat is LMST?
the_registered
post Jul 2 2007, 05:44 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 2 2007, 05:37 PM)
blur blur!!!
To me..a good car means smooth driving,comfortable,and most importantly..COOL AIR CON!!that's all...Dun need compare this compare that...no ending..
you're forgetting something.

THE CAR MUST NOT BREAK DOWN!
gkl83
post Jul 2 2007, 05:50 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(ayrix_wylde @ Jul 2 2007, 05:38 PM)
I stood around for like 30 minutes and no one attended to me and it wasn't like it was busy to begin with.

Had to park outside. And another buddy whose hazard lights would come on anytime EXCEPT during a hazard.

i have such experience at p2 showroom which opposite pyramid... me & dad go there look around the new car and walking in front the sales ppl which talking with his customer... we ciao after 10 minit bcos the sales ppl not trying to approach us, at least tell us that he busy or roughly have to wait how long... he should earned enough commission and forget other customer... rolleyes.gif

lastly go to glenmarie p2 show room, a sales lady drool.gif approaching me & dad when we watching car...

my fren p1 car also have such hazard lights problem, it will trigger when she turn the steering wheel... tongue.gif

Added on July 2, 2007, 5:51 pm
QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 2 2007, 05:44 PM)
WHat is LMST?

sweat.gif
current proton saga...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jul 2 2007, 05:52 PM
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 2 2007, 06:10 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 2 2007, 04:57 PM)
I already sick of arguing with this kiddo. Coupefan just to let u know u really tainting the fnf thread and more ppl will not post here due to ur retarded behavior. Just a food for thought. wink.gif sweat.gif

FYI reported for flamebaiting and insulting thread... please dont post here if u have nothing constructive information to share with us... personal attacks pls PM me alright uncle travis ...

the japanese car issue will stop and END here... no more discussion on that

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jul 2 2007, 06:20 PM
zeist
post Jul 2 2007, 06:10 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Proton ok for me. hands.gif
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 2 2007, 06:11 PM

36 posts

i got a fren hes driving savvy, nothing much prob but one matter only... the transmission giving weird noices and it seems changing the transmission oil to original renault oil helped and now everything was tiptop

Added on July 2, 2007, 6:13 pmsometimes i wonder do they suffer loses for producing every unit of savvy?.. price like a wira but the quality of metal (L3 galvanised metal) and AMT transmission airbags and abs... superb

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jul 2 2007, 06:13 PM
VarioCam
post Jul 2 2007, 06:14 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 2 2007, 05:44 PM)
WHat is LMST?
Low Mileage Sentra Turbo. tongue.gif
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 2 2007, 06:16 PM

36 posts

i wonder if proton uses LMST in their official names or is it just a nick name for the car...
if its the official.. the maybe LMST is a code for the model
hk_loo
post Jul 2 2007, 06:17 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(VarioCam @ Jul 2 2007, 06:14 PM)
Low Mileage Sentra Turbo.  tongue.gif
aka latest saga tank model
VarioCam
post Jul 2 2007, 06:23 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Jul 2 2007, 06:17 PM)
aka latest saga tank model
"Latest Model Saga Tank", you mean.. tongue.gif
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 2 2007, 06:25 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 1 2007, 02:16 PM)
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 2 2007, 03:26 PM)
WRONG! That only applies to new cars in Malaysia for such models. U reffering like toyota, mazda and honda dont have an manual tranny at all. They do sell manual vios in sgpore and thailand as well, not here only . sweat.gif
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 2 2007, 03:31 PM)
The next time if a millionaire asks hypermount which supercar he should choose, he will definery say SAVVY!!!! laugh.gif
There always an "ignore" button fren whistling.gif
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 2 2007, 04:57 PM)

certainly obvious we can see uncle travis aint nothing to say regarding the topic of the thread...
FYI uncle travis, this is a thread where we share our PROTON ownership experience.. or maybe i cant blame u, maybe u haven an experience in owning a proton car, but nvm, its alright but pls i urge u dont initiate a flame war alright and also no more irrelevant posts whatsoever... thanks a lot smile.gif
travis_ckf
post Jul 2 2007, 06:50 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 2 2007, 06:25 PM)
certainly obvious we can see uncle travis aint nothing to say regarding the topic of the thread...
FYI uncle travis, this is a thread where we share our PROTON ownership experience.. or maybe i cant blame u, maybe u haven an experience in owning a proton car, but nvm, its alright but pls i urge u dont initiate a flame war alright and also no more irrelevant posts whatsoever... thanks a lot smile.gif
Sorry to say this but even though this is claimed ur any problems with proton thread but u initialized this which prompt me into my reply telling u that those non manual japanese models are applicable in mysia. Need to say more? whistling.gif

God didnt know u a king of twisted words. whistling.gif

I rest my case, i cant comment much on proton coz i personally dont own them, and quoting other ppl's feedbacks in proton wont help in this case. U be the judge ppl. wink.gif

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: Jul 2 2007, 06:52 PM
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 2 2007, 07:02 PM

36 posts

dattebayo
post Jul 2 2007, 10:14 PM

5,366 posts

proton quality has improved
but their management is getting more retarded than ever.
if i elaborate more, this thread will be moved to RWI laugh.gif
hk_loo
post Jul 2 2007, 10:21 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 2 2007, 10:14 PM)
proton quality has improved
yes, think model from 2006 onwards has less qc problem, compare to last time when waja and gen 2 just launch...
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 2 2007, 10:50 PM

36 posts

yea and their body chasis strength has been improved too.. liek the savvy is 3 times stronger thana wira

Added on July 2, 2007, 10:50 pmhonestly speaking i dun see any savvy owners complain any probs regarding their cars in this thread..

Added on July 2, 2007, 10:51 pmalso neos... no major probs i guess

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jul 2 2007, 10:51 PM
squareballs
post Jul 3 2007, 01:02 AM

4,331 posts

off topic a bit..my waja bought from proton edar..the 1st 1000km can it be send to eon for service?
jimmyktp
post Jul 3 2007, 01:07 AM

244 posts

so far my 12 yr old wira performing quite well..anytime can drive to china..
Ripp87
post Jul 4 2007, 10:21 AM

Zombie
726 posts

well, so far my savvy has no problem. the only drawback is tht the design really kinda suck and also quality of material a lil bit too plasticky. proton shud change the interior quality and design lah. like gen2 n neo, interior design's great but it just lacks QUALITY, compare Merz, u'll see the diff. I mean, for cheap and happy cars, please, add some electronics. maybe touch screen ICE for all proton units and also, try install soft-cushionish-plastic dashboard like those found in Lexus. im sure the price wont jack up too much. somemore proton's motto is always earn profit and dun care about quality. change the mindset!
hk_loo
post Jul 4 2007, 10:28 AM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(Ripp87 @ Jul 4 2007, 10:21 AM)
well, so far my savvy has no problem. the only drawback is tht the design really kinda suck and also quality of material a lil bit too plasticky. proton shud change the interior quality and design lah. like gen2 n neo, interior design's great but it just lacks QUALITY, compare Merz, u'll see the diff. I mean, for cheap and happy cars, please, add some electronics. maybe touch screen ICE for all proton units and also, try install soft-cushionish-plastic dashboard like those found in [b]Lexus. im sure the price wont jack up too much. somemore proton's motto is always earn profit and dun care about quality. change the mindset!
pay <60k expect quality/tech as good as merz and lexus? hmm.gif laugh.gif

SHOfrE3zE
post Jul 4 2007, 11:16 AM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

is it true that every proton cars have the same jammed window problem? my friend has a waja and he also has this prob
apache_utara
post Jul 4 2007, 11:23 AM

:: 35mm ::
3,326 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 3 2007, 01:02 AM)
off topic a bit..my waja bought from proton edar..the 1st 1000km can it be send to eon for service?
can,vice versa also..
just that maybe some SC very picky..
nevertheless,
can always go to other SC thumbup.gif

QUOTE(jimmyktp @ Jul 3 2007, 01:07 AM)
so far my 12 yr old wira performing quite well..anytime can drive to china..
my sis used to owned a wira in 1993 or 98 i think,can't remember which whistling.gif ..
she said that batch of wiras the best,
no problems at all

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Jul 4 2007, 11:16 AM)
is it true that every proton cars have the same jammed window problem? my friend has a waja and he also has this prob
not every proton..
certain batch i think..
my 7year old iswara no prob, my 1 week old neo also no prob icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
dstl1128
post Jul 4 2007, 11:35 AM

4,464 posts

honestly speaking i dun see any savvy owners complain any probs regarding their cars in this thread..

Complaining here does nothing. They better complain in Savoc.net and get help from real owners. If you want to see problems, just head to the website.

eg. It is just same as Honda City too. Just go team city and check the 'vibration' - EGR or CVT or start-up clutch... choose one.

SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 4 2007, 11:37 AM

36 posts

i checked the savoc.net yesterday to post something on this thread.... i found that their main problem is the transmission AMT... and its already solved by changing the AmT fluid to orginal renault fluid... other than that no other probs
kcng
post Jul 4 2007, 12:32 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Jul 4 2007, 10:28 AM)
pay <60k expect quality/tech as good as merz and lexus? hmm.gif  laugh.gif
exactly
doh.gif
beh tahan
doh.gif

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Jul 4 2007, 11:16 AM)
yeah all have problem, and if u are unlucky, u might get one that the front wheel might tercabut if driven over 60 km/h
nod.gif
SUSCoupeFan
post Jul 4 2007, 12:54 PM

36 posts

actually i wanna ask a real question here:

1) would u rather proton produce very cheap models <30k rm... but crappy interior and lousy performance or would u rather proton produce really good quality like merc or lexus and very good performance for rm >90k?

Added on July 4, 2007, 12:55 pmassuming to models for mid range

This post has been edited by CoupeFan: Jul 4 2007, 12:55 PM
jimmyktp
post Jul 4 2007, 01:21 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 4 2007, 12:32 PM)
exactly
doh.gif
beh tahan
doh.gif
yeah all have problem, and if u are unlucky, u might get one that the front wheel might tercabut if driven over 60 km/h
nod.gif
window problem can be solved wan..for wira, lubricate those cables and pulleys with engine oils..mine's already 3 yrs..no problem wit that..if u use ur window everytime, less chances it'll spoil..only those who dam long didnt use, power window usually koyak faster..dat's wad i come across..

wheels tercabut? i might be lucky then..my 12 yrs old wira still doing arnd 170km/h at npe.. =) depends how u maintain ur car lah..

Added on July 4, 2007, 1:22 pm
QUOTE(CoupeFan @ Jul 4 2007, 12:54 PM)
actually i wanna ask a real question here:
1) would u rather proton produce very cheap models <30k rm... but crappy interior and lousy performance or would u rather proton produce really good quality like merc or lexus and very good performance for rm >90k?

Added on July 4, 2007, 12:55 pmassuming to models for mid range
cater for diff markets lah..

if ppl wan cheap..then giv interior wit that price lah..

if ppl wan good..then giv interior that matches the price paid..

This post has been edited by jimmyktp: Jul 4 2007, 01:22 PM
dattebayo
post Jul 5 2007, 12:28 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Jul 4 2007, 10:28 AM)
pay <60k expect quality/tech as good as merz and lexus? hmm.gif  laugh.gif
want me to remind u ?
a new honda cr-v is just sell for HKD 150000 (~RM 75000) in HK
a new Harrier barely costs RM 140000+/- in HK.

and that just one of the example... haven't take thailand into comparison.

its just me... as long as the protection hasn't been lifted off from Proton and other local car makers, no good words to proton whistling.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 5 2007, 12:28 AM
n305er
post Jul 5 2007, 07:47 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(jimmyktp @ Jul 4 2007, 01:21 PM)
window problem can be solved wan..for wira, lubricate those cables and pulleys with engine oils..mine's already 3 yrs..no problem wit that..if u use ur window everytime, less chances it'll spoil..only those who dam long didnt use, power window usually koyak faster..dat's wad i come across..
Don't lubricate with engine oil la. doh.gif
Use grease or WD-40.

hk_loo
post Jul 5 2007, 08:34 AM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 5 2007, 12:28 AM)
want me to remind u ?
a new honda cr-v is just sell for HKD 150000 (~RM 75000) in HK
a new Harrier barely costs RM 140000+/- in HK.

and that just one of the example... haven't take thailand into comparison.

its just me... as long as the protection hasn't been lifted off from Proton and other local car makers, no good words to proton whistling.gif
then u move to hong kong larrr nod.gif
kcng
post Jul 5 2007, 09:04 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Jul 5 2007, 08:34 AM)
then u move to hong kong larrr nod.gif
very well said....

most malaysian just know how to complain and complain instead of working towards it... and complain that their salary low and such how to buy car,
doh.gif doh.gif
shazmn
post Jul 5 2007, 10:26 AM

1,800 posts

work hard...earn more...go migrate overseas...stop talk rubbish about ur country...stop this argument...too many threads for ppl to talk and bashing proton...WTF???

i bet even if i start a new thread like "PROTON OWNERS COME LA CHAT2..." non-proton owner would still come and talk rubbish and bash proton again and again and again...sheeshhh...get a life...

still a comparison between thai market, malaysian tax issues etc will rise...haihhh...talk about grownups...
dattebayo
post Jul 5 2007, 07:14 PM

5,366 posts

so a grownup will accept whatever f***ing shit from a corrupted admins without complaining and moaning? up to u

btw the nature of this thread is to bash proton and its management... ada apa salah with me bashing it?

dont u feel unfair when u all have to pay substantially more money to buy the exact same car from oversea, just because to protect the company which focus on malay pride?
kcng
post Jul 5 2007, 07:30 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

^
vote for a change but i doubt you are old enough to vote anyways
rolleyes.gif
dattebayo
post Jul 5 2007, 07:36 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 5 2007, 07:30 PM)
^
vote for a change but i doubt you are old enough to vote anyways
rolleyes.gif
if held next yr, should be able to vote icon_rolleyes.gif
hk_loo
post Jul 5 2007, 07:58 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 5 2007, 07:14 PM)
so a grownup will accept whatever f***ing shit from a corrupted admins without complaining and moaning? up to u

btw the nature of this thread is to bash proton and its management... ada apa salah with me bashing it?

dont u feel unfair when u all have to pay substantially  more money to buy the exact same car from oversea, just because to protect the company which focus on malay pride?
some unlucky people born without arms/legs, do they deserve to complain more ?

i know is off topic but why not spend more time find money instead bashing proton ...

instead of let the current situation control u, y not u control the situation ?

no matter how u bash proton, government also wont shut it down...

SUSSingleAvail
post Jul 5 2007, 08:05 PM

41 posts

wow, so many bashing ar? I really dun understand y CoupeFan create this spamming thread... why not we all vote admin to close this thread?
zeist
post Jul 5 2007, 08:40 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Proton = Easy to maintain.

jimmyktp
post Jul 5 2007, 09:15 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Jul 5 2007, 07:47 AM)
Don't lubricate with engine oil la. doh.gif
Use grease or WD-40.
i've tried WD40..kenot last long enuf..

engine oil's better...
alabais
post Jul 5 2007, 10:24 PM

1,027 posts

it's all the problem you can ever think of !!
mystvearn
post Jul 5 2007, 11:03 PM

6,639 posts

flooded chorella altis

I own that savvy, and only driver, and just sold it. Member of SAVOC. SC says I am the first case where right rear suspension gone but they get the complains on leaking power steering fluid, scrapped fuel cap-car wall. I don't go padding the car cause it was still under warranty. The car was 9k KM when the problems happened. I did not have to pay a thing to get it replaced, only wasted few hours at SC.
Nice flooded altis, the perdana was almost like that only less amount of water laugh.gif

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jun 24 2007, 02:01 AM)

2.The RPM metter....Spoilt at 95,000km miledge..... doh.gif  Change it at RM200!!! WTF...

If I was not patriotic would have bought a different car in 2005 and not go back to P1...

Bottom line is I still will buy P1 cars in future if quality is going to increase like satria neo, only sad Satria neo launched later, would have gone for that.

shazmn
post Jul 6 2007, 08:33 AM

1,800 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 5 2007, 07:14 PM)

dont u feel unfair when u all have to pay substantially  more money to buy the exact same car from oversea, just because to protect the company which focus on malay pride?
MIGRATION is the way for you my fren icon_rolleyes.gif
merrick818
post Jul 8 2007, 08:13 PM

i am a newbie and would like to contribute some BAD experience my parents had owning P1.
my mom drives a P1 Wira 1.5 Auto (New Car) 1995-2002
Problems:
1) drivers power window KO in 5 months
2) rear suspension KO in 9 months
3) rear power window KO in 1 year
4) speedometer KO in 1 year 6 months
5) 2 years later the car boot became an aquarium (spare tyre was swimming)
6) car started to rust in 2 years ++ (door panels & boot space)

dad bought a Savvy (manual) (new car) 2006-2007
Problems:
1) all 4 rubber sealant on the outside of the car lining the window was warped (probably due to heat and lousy clip design)
2) rear drum brakes started to make funny noises after 5 months
3) brake failure in 7 months (survived the ordeal due to the still working handbrake)
4) some oil leaking at the front passenger seat (makes a very messy stain) {even SC couldnt tell where it came from}
5) went to 1 Utama at night with family. came out 2 hours later the gear could NOT be engaged. had to tow the car in the end

Conclusion: we got rid of the Wira and bought a Kia Spectra (no problem at all except for wear and tear)
we also got rid of the Savvy and bought a VW Golf 1.6 Fsi

the reason we bought the savvy was to give P1 a chance but they screw it up. so i hope P1 dies quickly then we would get better quality cars into the Msian market at even lower prices.

i am now studying in Australia and i hardly see any P1. surprisingly Hyundai and Kia is the cheapest even though they are imported from South Korea. shame on Msia, even Naza and locally assembled Hyundai is more expensive in Msia. this raises the question how Msians are being robbed in the daylight by unscruplous local carmakers with political connections.

for the amount of money used to buy the RUBBISH P1 Perdana V6 you could buy a Toyota Aurion 3.0 V6 known as the Camry.

This post has been edited by merrick818: Jul 8 2007, 08:14 PM
phonar
post Jul 8 2007, 08:23 PM

Chicken
699 posts

jong52yuara
post Jul 8 2007, 09:34 PM

Forex is the best business you can do.
1,704 posts

wow.. you should threat proton to service all the damages for free, or you gonna advertise this on newspaper. tongue.gif
shazmn
post Jul 8 2007, 10:18 PM

1,800 posts

QUOTE(phonar @ Jul 8 2007, 08:23 PM)
When people saying how bad is their Proton cars you guys(Proton Fansboy) will quote them as a basher for no reason. COOL!
yes because i said if i open a thread for proton owners to come and chat (eg PROTON OWNERS COME LA CHAT...), always non proton owners come and bashing on the same thing like power window failure, bad qc etc etc...

ok la change the word bashers to errr hmmmm...NBTDExceptBrowseForumTellPeopleProtonSux... rolleyes.gif
jimmyktp
post Jul 8 2007, 11:05 PM

244 posts

haha..true true..if dun like, then dun use proton lah...there's alot of second hand cars in d market..

i'm happy wit my wira cuz parts available everywhere..easy to maintain..
kcng
post Jul 8 2007, 11:40 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(phonar @ Jul 8 2007, 08:23 PM)
As a human being in anywhere around the world(except North Korea), we have the freedom of speech to complain, sharing our problems. So why you finger at most Malaysian? It just a way of life in anywhere around the world. The problem we have here is about government protection toward Protons.
then work harder and get a non-proton car kiddo...
complain aint getting u anywhere
whistling.gif
rolleyes.gif
Arkaine
post Jul 8 2007, 11:45 PM

1,904 posts

me too.... my wira's spare parts is like "the star in the sky". Easy to maintain.... wheter getting the genuine parts or the aftermarket tufs. if the owner read the manual book, it stated items that included in the waranty coverage... why replace.. exchance.... claim them like you won 4d.

This post has been edited by Arkaine: Jul 8 2007, 11:47 PM
phonar
post Jul 9 2007, 03:44 PM

Chicken
699 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Jul 8 2007, 10:18 PM)
yes because i said if i open a thread for proton owners to come and chat (eg PROTON OWNERS COME LA CHAT...), always non proton owners come and bashing on the same thing like power window failure, bad qc etc etc...

ok la change the word bashers to errr hmmmm...NBTDExceptBrowseForumTellPeopleProtonSux... rolleyes.gif
But even a Proton owners complain about his problematic Proton car you guys also won't believe it after all by claiming they not a Proton owners, just come to bash for funs.

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 8 2007, 11:40 PM)
then work harder and get a non-proton car kiddo...
complain aint getting u anywhere
whistling.gif
rolleyes.gif
There is no point for you to repeat your same sentence for twice just to increase your total post count.

Grow up kids, don't be stupid. Even you have higher post count doesn't mean you are mature.
kcng
post Jul 9 2007, 03:46 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(phonar @ Jul 9 2007, 03:44 PM)
There is no point for you to repeat your same sentence for twice just to increase your total post count.

Grow up kids, don't be stupid. Even you have higher post count doesn't mean you are mature.
have to repeat it until it get through to your thick skull...
so grow up kiddo....

dont disgrace yourself... like so many others did before this...

phonar
post Jul 9 2007, 03:49 PM

Chicken
699 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 9 2007, 03:46 PM)
have to repeat it until it get through to your thick skull...
so grow up kiddo....

dont disgrace yourself... like so many others did before this...
lol thanks for your advice, but same things go for you.

Please judging yourself before judging others.

This post has been edited by phonar: Jul 9 2007, 03:54 PM
kcng
post Jul 9 2007, 03:54 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(phonar @ Jul 9 2007, 03:49 PM)
lol thanks for your advice, same things go for you.

Judging yourself before judging others.
nope, i did judge myself and put my money where my mouth is....
unlike.........
phonar
post Jul 9 2007, 03:59 PM

Chicken
699 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jul 9 2007, 03:54 PM)
nope, i did judge myself and put my money where my mouth is....
unlike.........
Sure you can Proton fanboys, anyway it just a freedom of speech. Nobody is going to blame you.

You can happy with what you own now, don't criticism or complain about it. Just same with Proton nevermind/tak apalah altitude or this is just my fate.

ok, this thread is getting off topic and congratulation for you for getting another 3 post count.
kcng
post Jul 9 2007, 04:00 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(phonar @ Jul 9 2007, 03:59 PM)
Sure you can Proton fanboys, anyway it just a freedom of speech. Nobody is going to blame you.

You can happy with what you own now, don't criticism or complain about it. Just same with Proton nevermind/tak apalah altitude or this is just my fate.

ok, this thread is getting off topic and congratulation for you for getting another 3 post count.
dont go as low as name calling

just prove how much you have up there
jssim
post Jul 9 2007, 05:41 PM

he~~~he~~~he~~~
1,745 posts

QUOTE(Arkaine @ Jul 8 2007, 11:45 PM)
me too.... my wira's spare parts is like "the star in the sky". Easy to maintain.... wheter getting the genuine parts or the aftermarket tufs. if the owner read the manual book, it stated items that included in the waranty coverage... why replace.. exchance.... claim them like you won 4d.
u sure the star in the sky & not the sand on the ground?? its realy easy to get.....new...used... imported(mitsubishi), local....

0.0639sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:14 AM