Is PROTON really troublesome?, Share ur experience

mystvearn
post Jun 23 2007, 09:17 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 23 2007, 08:22 PM)
Ever cross your mind the minority usually make the loudest noise?

My savvy from Dec 2005, relaibility is top notch....never fail to start the car many times from day 1 (5-8-10 times, said it many times), build quality, fit and finish ?!! no squeaks and rattles from the suspension and interior till now.

I can see many students from my ex school MMU melaka driving neo and savvy..they would be in deep shit if their cars give them problems.
The power window mechanism is damn noisy in operation due to scissor type mechanism being used...but more robust compare to plastic pulley and cables found in waja and gen2...so power windows probs is a thing of past.

Added on June 23, 2007, 8:24 pm

Thank you, your kind words are noted  notworthy.gif
As much as I want to be prosided, I am turthful as I owned these cars and will tell the probs

I give you 2 cases, you count how many cases:
1. Bought new Perdana (M) when first launched in 1995. Ordered in March, received car in July. That time colour one kind purple. No black. Only 3 colours I think. july 1995 - dec 2000
- from the showroom, the AC keeps coming out to the feet. No matter what setting you use the AC keeps coming out of the feet. Sent back to SC, SC cannot repair cause no manual from P1 to SC at that time. So this is the case like TVR, sell first worry about defects later.
-After 2 years, the metal joining of the front bumper directly below the front light will twist between joints. If it does not twist there will be a gaping hole. Don't believe me look at perdana's 3yrs or older. Sure have that thing. Bumper too heavy? hmm.gif The joining is a 1 inch verticle line.
- 5 years on, in east coast have monsoon season. Rain everyday. One day before work, notice back seat like damp. When sitting on the back seat the seat becomes wet. Open the back seat, full of water, open the boot at the spare tyre also full of water. Perdana transformed into portable aquarium. Brought to SC they were shocked. They say the water sap into the metal joint at the rear bumper, below the lights there is this one verticle line. Water goes in there.
- Final straw. Open AC the AC sound like elephant. On the fan also the car sounds like an elephant. Can only open AC after 30 mins then no sound. That time perdana like quite executive car, so why making elephant sound until car next to you can hear. So embarassed. Brought to SC, SC say small chip at AC fan, no need to change but where to put your face aa.
-Unfortunate events: One day late to work, wear shoes in car, found frog, frog evaded to the driver part then vanished from the foot pedals. Open AC, smells like dead carcass. Went to SC, SC say frog lekat at AC belt. So big the gap is it until from pedals>AC belt. 2 weeks charcoal in car.
Conclusion: sold bought Honda Accord 2.0l, which gave 1 prob after 5 years, AC switch not working, brought to Denso, they fixed it.

2. Savvy (M) July 05 - July 07
Great handling car, stupid noise damper. I drive fast but dont want concrete road sound to go into my cabin. Don't believe me go to savoc search what users do to insulate car. Use swimming paddle board at tyre mudguard area. Car handles good but what is the point if 90KM> wind resistance sound comes into the car, engine sound comes after that, then road noise. These noises actually makes me tired to drive the car. Problems all within 10K KM and under warranty
- Leaking power steering fluid from connection to pipe. The clip is the same clip used for your pipe hose. SC changed clip, changed hose and top up fluid.
-Broken right rear tyre spring/suspension or whatever it is that black rod attached to the tyre. New car broken, fluid coming out. Sc had to order it as they say AMT and M version have different suspension and cannot use the springs. Waited 2 weeks for that.
- Defective petrol cover. The petrol cover is round, so in theory when you open it, it will bounce out nicely. On my car, there is a problem with the hinge or something, after few months, the petrol cover will not spring out but will spring halfway and scrape the bodywork of the car. Brought to SC,SC repaired the hinge and painted the car again. Had to wait 1 week for paint to arrive from supplier.
- Front wiper washer fluid on one side loose, always want to turn to one direction, but that I corrected myself and so far no problem.
Aside from the weird problems I faced with savvy, there are no more probs. If you work inside p1, ask them to put more noise insulation especially the engine bay and the tyre arch area.
Conclusion: car sold, don't need it anymore.

But on a good note, I have been inside neo, and why neo came out late. I would have gone for that over savvy. That has better build quality than savvy.
So, I think its safe to buy new P1 cars, provided its a new model, and waja. I can name defects of the saga, but I only name defects of things I have.
Lets see how this thread turns out to be.
mystvearn
post Jul 5 2007, 11:03 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 23 2007, 09:54 PM)
SIGH...this shows ur lack of understanding about cars...some people are car nuts..it was never enough for US so we tend to DIY ourcars to feel better.. TAKING OUT THE FENDER LINE( THE BLACK WHEEL ARCH COVER) TO INSERT sound proofinG materials is of STANDARD UNIVERSAL PRACTICE TO REDUCE THE ROAD NOISE...EVERYONES ESP THE ICE ENTHUSIASTS ARE DOING THAT.

savvy has soundproof mat on the outer firewall and under bonnet...no other k-car has that.

EVEN LEXUS OWNERS DIY TO SOUNDPROOF THEIR CARS
http://www.lexusownersclub.co.uk/forum/ind...showtopic=22197

It's all aboutpassion and knowing inside out of our cars..hey i doubt u own that savvy..it could be ur papa and mama.
You thin perdana worse of than this flooded corolla altis? you havw no serious problems about the savvy and you seems to whine a lot for such small problems.
flooded chorella altis

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=462691&hl=
I own that savvy, and only driver, and just sold it. Member of SAVOC. SC says I am the first case where right rear suspension gone but they get the complains on leaking power steering fluid, scrapped fuel cap-car wall. I don't go padding the car cause it was still under warranty. The car was 9k KM when the problems happened. I did not have to pay a thing to get it replaced, only wasted few hours at SC.
Nice flooded altis, the perdana was almost like that only less amount of water laugh.gif

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jun 24 2007, 02:01 AM)
Not only his perdana..my 5 years old GTi oso like dat...

1.water in the spare part tyre there... but fixed it by sticking thicker rubber....n now my passenger side door..the rubber n getting loose..water come in too..gotta change it agen...
2.The RPM metter....Spoilt at 95,000km miledge..... doh.gif  Change it at RM200!!! WTF...
3.Many squeaky sounds from Everywhere...the most obvious part....dash board....everytime pass a bump...got this sound from dashboard:"nyiek nyiek"... doh.gif feel like the dash board is going to break...
4.The aircon vent is spoilt...

If I was not patriotic would have bought a different car in 2005 and not go back to P1...

Bottom line is I still will buy P1 cars in future if quality is going to increase like satria neo, only sad Satria neo launched later, would have gone for that.

0.0199sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:51 PM