Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

xander2k8
post Aug 27 2023, 04:13 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Aug 27 2023, 01:35 PM)
Is there any confirmation from IBKR that this won't be happening next year?
It is not year by year 🤦‍♀️ you will know only if the IRS amend their act in Congress hence you need to keep track on financial services committee in Congress for any changes when they are in session
melondance
post Aug 27 2023, 07:55 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Aug 27 2023, 04:13 PM)
It is not year by year 🤦‍♀️ you will know only if the IRS amend their act in Congress hence you need to keep track on financial services committee in Congress for any changes when they are in session
Wait.. so Stashaway got news from Saxo that IRS told them to stop and that's it? No more explanation or something? sad.gif
xander2k8
post Aug 27 2023, 09:37 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Aug 27 2023, 07:55 PM)
Wait.. so Stashaway got news from Saxo that IRS told them to stop and that's it? No more explanation or something?  sad.gif
Yes based on the email written by Stashaway and they have written at the bottom on the explanation and any questions you should contact them

What more explanation you need as it is very clear cut from the email 🤦‍♀️
watabakiu
post Sep 17 2023, 10:54 PM

1,572 posts

I have been sifting through the threads 1005-this page, and notice mentions on the 'KWEB debacle' - what was this about actually? my bad for not picking this up earlier, but I was caught completely unaware about this
Pewufod
post Sep 17 2023, 11:34 PM

1,536 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 17 2023, 10:54 PM)
I have been sifting through the threads 1005-this page, and notice mentions on the 'KWEB debacle' - what was this about actually? my bad for not picking this up earlier, but I was caught completely unaware about this
buy high sell low
xander2k8
post Sep 18 2023, 09:10 AM

4,637 posts

Got sucked into buying KWEB 🤦‍♀️ and then start panic selling during the start of Ukraine war due to sanctions and they force sell for everyone at the lowest 🤦‍♀️ and not even waiting for relief bounce
Medufsaid
post Sep 18 2023, 10:34 AM

3,485 posts

I have been sifting through the threads 1005-this page, and notice mentions on the 'KWEB debacle' - what was this about actually?
Stashaway panic sold below $24

(source)

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/stashaway-re...ld-felicia-poh/
honsiong
post Sep 18 2023, 11:29 AM

3,182 posts

Please don't say KWEB liao, thinking about it I also wanna cry cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
dark_axl21
post Sep 18 2023, 11:32 AM

TUKANG
660 posts

Quite a lot of people got 'burnt' by that and many pulled out their funds.
ehwee
post Sep 18 2023, 01:15 PM

Value Our Living Spaces!
790 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 18 2023, 10:34 AM)
Currently KWEB sitting at 27.7 compare to their selling price of 21.78, it go up from then 27% in18 month after selling.

This post has been edited by ehwee: Sep 18 2023, 01:17 PM
Medufsaid
post Sep 18 2023, 02:19 PM

3,485 posts

it's worse than that, they timed it at the worst possible day(s)

abcn1n
post Sep 19 2023, 04:48 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(mbbvic @ Aug 18 2023, 06:39 PM)
anyone using stashaway to buy US T-Bill or US Govt bond?
Hows the return like?
QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 25 2023, 11:11 PM)
Bond ETFs have 0% WHT previously. So usually we kena 30% first, then the October next year, we get the refunds.

Now US wanna tax distributions from US-listed bond ETFs, regardless of which countries the coupons are paid out of. So they switch to Europe/UK traded UCITS ETFs.

However this can mean lack of liquidity, for instance BB3M macam got < USD 100m fund size.
QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Aug 26 2023, 01:29 AM)
IBKR should not be affected because of their brokerage incorporated in the US while Stashaway is using Saxo which doesn’t have any incorporation in US and doesn’t hold any brokerage license in the US hence IRS is gunning for them because the new rules in place for the global minimum tax

So in future always make sure that your broker has a brokerage license in US in order for less headaches particularly with WHT otherwise just buy LSE or Irish domiciled holdings
Thanks for info.
honsiong
post Sep 20 2023, 10:59 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 18 2023, 02:19 PM)

Sekali stashaway is the one causing the huge dip, what if KWEB market makers can't destroy the ETF units fast enough to bring traded price back to NAV?
watabakiu
post Sep 23 2023, 11:34 PM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Sep 18 2023, 09:10 AM)
Got sucked into buying KWEB 🤦‍♀️ and then start panic selling during the start of Ukraine war due to sanctions and they force sell for everyone at the lowest 🤦‍♀️ and not even waiting for relief bounce
Thought these "robo-adviors" means that they can act ojectively, and not making decisions based on "noises" or have I completely gotten it wrong when it comes to what "robo-adviors" actually does?

QUOTE(honsiong @ Sep 18 2023, 11:29 AM)
Please don't say KWEB liao, thinking about it I also wanna cry  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Sorry³ !!

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Sep 18 2023, 11:32 AM)
Quite a lot of people got 'burnt' by that and many pulled out their funds.
This is weird, coz aren't "robo-adviors" meant to make sound decisions not based on market noises ? At best, they should know what positions to take, like on whether to continue holding poitions or to switch portfolios ? Or again, have I gotten what "robo-adviors" actually does ?

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 18 2023, 02:19 PM)

Uffff this has to hurt. But to be fair, the NAV is far below the highs of 2021 ? Like I think from the date they sold until now, the NAV hasn't reach the highs of 2021 ? Like making this decisions to leave not as bad - unless you meant to say they should have left in 2021 ?

DJFoo000
post Sep 24 2023, 01:20 AM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 23 2023, 11:34 PM)
Thought these "robo-adviors" means that they can act ojectively, and not making decisions based on "noises" or have I completely gotten it wrong when it comes to what "robo-adviors" actually does?
You're sorta right. SA's investment direction is sorta-kinda guided by this "algorithm" called ERAA. If things go well, they just adjust the portfolio based on what ERAA recommends and leave it at that. However, as a safeguard, they have allowed themselves to intervene if unusual market conditions happens. Where this intervention comes in is based on the StashAway Risk Rating (SRI) of your portfolio, the highest risk rating being 36%. This means, calculated from the peak of the portfolio's value, if the portfolio's value drops 36% (aka drawdown), a panic button is pushed, and everything is reset. At the height of the KWEB debacle, StashAway's portfolios containing KWEB were very close to touching this number, and hence a human intervention was made to exit KWEB. They were just doing what their investment product said to do, i.e. confine portfolio drawdowns to the stated SRI numbers. If an SRI 36 portfolio has a drawdown of 40%, that would be a bigger failure for StashAway, because having a drawdown greater than the stated SRI number is exactly what their investors did not sign up for. In that regard, exiting KWEB is exactly the objective move that is called for, because "holding to KWEB hoping that it will rebound" is the exact definition of "not being objective". Certain conditions met => execute action, no dilly dally.
Holocene
post Sep 24 2023, 11:11 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 18 2023, 10:34 AM)
Interesting read.

xander2k8
post Sep 24 2023, 11:39 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 23 2023, 11:34 PM)
Sorry³ !!
This is weird, coz aren't "robo-adviors" meant to make sound decisions not based on market noises ? At best, they should know what positions to take, like on whether to continue holding poitions or to switch portfolios ? Or again, have I gotten what "robo-adviors" actually does ?
Uffff this has to hurt. But to be fair, the NAV is far below the highs of 2021 ? Like I think from the date they sold until now, the NAV hasn't reach the highs of 2021 ? Like making this decisions to leave not as bad - unless you meant to say they should have left in 2021 ?
These so called robo advisors are not doing the modelling or assets allocation 🤦‍♀️ as the investment committee would decide on asset allocation once the ERAA modelling is out calculated from their data derived from the markets

So don’t think that robo advisors are that sophisticated or advanced using any algorithm as they are not 🤦‍♀️ as the ERAA modelling would have contains all the calculation and the process for parameters hits to be executed after certain benchmarks that are exceeding in your portfolio
watabakiu
post Sep 26 2023, 08:07 PM

1,572 posts

I have invested fully on a 36% risk rating (lump-sum once, and a top-up the following month. In other words, two deposits. Invested since Jan'20 until now. In the black but the returns isn't anything great. Question is, do I keep in the investment, or switch over to SA Simple?
xander2k8
post Sep 26 2023, 08:16 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 26 2023, 08:07 PM)
I have invested fully on a 36% risk rating (lump-sum once, and a top-up the following month. In other words, two deposits. Invested since Jan'20 until now. In the black but the returns isn't anything great. Question is, do I keep in the investment, or switch over to SA Simple?
Check your USD performance if it is red 🤦‍♀️ then forget about it 🤦‍♀️ rather than putting into Simple which is underperforming I suggest you to do a flexi portfolio and dump it all in US treasuries instead as you will only pay 0.3% pa while reaping current high USD cash rates and hodl until the Fed rates start cut rates 3times consecutively in the future
DJFoo000
post Sep 26 2023, 09:18 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 26 2023, 08:07 PM)
After having invested with SA for 3 years now, does that portfolio still align with your investment thesis (aside from the line always going up)? Investment is a long term game. It takes 15 to 20 years for the equity risk premium to reliably show up.

Look at the portfolio in detail. Does the portfolio reflect what you understand about investing currently? Would you still buy into that portfolio today? Why not?

For reference, being up (in USD terms) for a lumpsum investment that was done in Jan/Feb 2020 is already outperforming an equivalent investment in an all-world ETF (which is currently still down ~3% from Jan/Feb 2020) or in the S&P500 (about 0% since Jan/Feb 2020).

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Sep 26 2023, 09:18 PM

1032 Pages « < 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:18 AM