198 Pages « < 170 171 172 173 174 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

-kytz-
post Jan 2 2020, 09:10 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Jan 2 2020, 09:01 AM)
Staying in Osaka is much cheaper even if added in the traveling cost to Kyoto daily.

But you are right, daily 2 hours traveling is no joke and was also my concern as my parents may not have enough time to rest. So I have changed my plan and will be staying in Kyoto for a few days instead of traveling daily.

Btw, may I know if it is good enough to just use the ICOCA IC card for traveling between Kyoto-Osaka-Nara?
Yeah it's enough. However, be careful when using Google maps to travel to Nara, it asked me to use the limited express where u actually need to purchase a separate ticket costing ¥560 from Osaka on top of the ICOCA. I think you can use the regular trains that don't require the extra fee..

However there was another instance where I took limited express which does not require a separate fee..

Also in Japan there are various trains with similar names so have to be careful. I honestly thought semi express and sub express were the same trains and got on the wrong trains. It was my first time in Japan so I had some issues with the transportation laugh.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jan 2 2020, 09:19 AM
kcy1606
post Jan 2 2020, 09:22 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 2 2020, 09:10 AM)
Yeah it's enough. However, be careful when using Google maps to travel to Nara, it asked me to use the limited express where u actually need to purchase a separate ticket costing ¥560 from Osaka on top of the ICOCA. I think you can use the regular trains that don't require the extra fee..

However there was another instance where I took limited express which does not require a separate fee..

Also in Japan there are various trains with similar names so have to be careful. I honestly thought semi express and sub express were the same trains and got on the wrong trains. It was my first time in Japan so I had some issues with the transportation laugh.gif

Ah okok. Thanks for the very useful info. thumbup.gif

I guess I have to do more research on the railway lines before traveling there.
Blofeld
post Jan 2 2020, 09:28 AM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 2 2020, 05:44 AM)
https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia...orries-in-japan

> most ski resorts struggling with lack of snow
> jan-mar forecasted warmer weather so Sakura 2020 also expected to be earlier than the average
really risky to run a ski resort business

global warming can affect those businesses the most
RegentCid
post Jan 2 2020, 10:18 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 2 2020, 08:10 AM)

QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Jan 2 2020, 08:22 AM)
Ah okok. Thanks for the very useful info.  thumbup.gif

I guess I have to do more research on the railway lines before traveling there.
Keihan Company are only Limited Xpress train does't need additional fees. It just 10 - 15 minute faster than normal train only.
Best was ''RakuRaku'' because it was reserve seat coach (based on first come first serve basic), no standing allow in this train, all passenger got seat. biggrin.gif
Raku Raku only stop at this few station:
淀屋橋駅 - 北浜駅 - 天満橋駅 - 京橋駅 - 七条駅 - 祇園四条駅 - 三条駅 - 出町柳駅

_ChAoS_
post Jan 2 2020, 11:09 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(kcy1606 @ Jan 1 2020, 04:04 PM)

I will be traveling to Osaka/Kyoto next April with family and planning to travel between Osaka and Kyoto daily.

Do you guys think it is good enough to just get ICOCA for transportation? Or should I buy any other passes?
I will suggest to use Kansai Thru Pass to do the daily commute. It was relatively painless and didn't have to take 2 hours to go to Kyoto... it depends on if you're landing in Kyoto Station or somewhere further away....

Personally, it's more tiring to pack everything, move to Kyoto for 3 days, then pack everything again and move all of those luggage back to Osaka. As for myself, i stayed in Osaka and travel to kyoto daily. And i also get the option to slip in some other trips in Osaka because 3 consecutive days in Kyoto looking at temples and shrines is very taxing on the mind..
dennis008
post Jan 2 2020, 11:19 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Jan 2 2020, 11:09 AM)
I will suggest to use Kansai Thru Pass to do the daily commute. It was relatively painless and didn't have to take 2 hours to go to Kyoto... it depends on if you're landing in Kyoto Station or somewhere further away....

Personally, it's more tiring to pack everything, move to Kyoto for 3 days, then pack everything again and move all of those luggage back to Osaka. As for myself, i stayed in Osaka and travel to kyoto daily. And i also get the option to slip in some other trips in Osaka because 3 consecutive days in Kyoto looking at temples and shrines is very taxing on the mind..
i am also going (Feb 20)

Will go Osaka- Kyoto- Nara -Himeji

Should i get the kansai thru pass or just icoca will be sufficient?
RegentCid
post Jan 2 2020, 11:34 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(dennis008 @ Jan 2 2020, 10:19 AM)
i am also going (Feb 20)

Will go  Osaka- Kyoto- Nara -Himeji

I prefer Kansai Thru Pass
-kytz-
post Jan 2 2020, 11:37 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(dennis008 @ Jan 2 2020, 11:19 AM)
i am also going (Feb 20)

The 3 day Kansai Thru Pass costs ¥5300 and you have to see if it's worth it or not. To check the costs of individual train rides between the cities, you can use Google maps.

Edit: I think the pass covers train rides within the city as well? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jan 2 2020, 11:38 AM
JooSeng
post Jan 2 2020, 04:30 PM

31 posts

Hi RC

Any good ryokan that u can suggest around kanto for couple.
I have been to Kusastu and Minakami and now thinking of going to Ikaho.

JS
RegentCid
post Jan 2 2020, 06:58 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Jan 2 2020, 03:30 PM)
Hi RC

Any good ryokan that u can suggest around kanto for couple.
I have been to Kusastu and Minakami and now thinking of going to Ikaho.

JS
Any place at Kanto also can?
If plan go Ikaho must rent Toyota GT86.
Then go enjoy Mt Haruna

My Ryokan at Ikaho Onsen was 岸権旅館 (Kishigon Ryokan)
About 20k Yen per night

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jan 2 2020, 11:07 PM
MdmWSW
post Jan 2 2020, 08:02 PM

178 posts

Parking here
calvin
post Jan 2 2020, 09:31 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

Has anyone tried to courier their excess luggage (e.g clothings) from JP back to MY ? unsure.gif

Just wondering if we’re going to be taxed despite it’s our used clothings ?
L.Torreira
post Jan 3 2020, 12:00 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 2 2020, 08:28 AM)
Have to consider the daily 2 hours traveling time (to and fro) between Osaka and Kyoto which is no joke. Plus also the short day light duration...

It would cost minimum 1600Y or RM60 per person for the traveling expenses (to and fro) and would it be much cheaper for you to stay in Osaka assuming the reasoning for the daily travel between the two cities is due to the more costly hotels in Kyoto?

what is the problem with short day light? I prefer night ambience.

just buy hankyu pass only 600 yen unlimited day pass from kobe to Kyoto. though I prefer stay in kyoto although costs me 4x costs where I stayed in osaka.
babylon52281
post Jan 3 2020, 12:58 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Jan 2 2020, 09:31 PM)
Has anyone tried to courier their excess luggage (e.g clothings) from JP back to MY ? unsure.gif

Just wondering if we’re going to be taxed despite it’s our used clothings ?
I think its cheaper to just buy extra checkin luggage allotment on ur flight back.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 3 2020, 08:54 AM
hft
post Jan 3 2020, 01:01 AM

1,081 posts

Make sure go Japan eat expensive waghyu. If eat instant noodle, better youtube about Japan while eating noodle.
babylon52281
post Jan 3 2020, 01:13 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(hft @ Jan 3 2020, 01:01 AM)
Make sure go Japan eat expensive waghyu. If eat instant noodle, better youtube about Japan while eating noodle.
I would prefer eat Kobe beef. Wagyu better eat in Australia.
L.Torreira
post Jan 3 2020, 02:15 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(hft @ Jan 3 2020, 01:01 AM)
Japan instant noodle is very suck to the maximum. I tried once and never look back. Indomie the best instant noodle I ever had. Better you go to Japan bring indomie rather than to buy there.

No need to eat expensive wagyu. Never YouTube pun.
No need to force someone to eat what you like. All people have their preferences. Thai food even no lost pun with Japan food. Though I admit almost all Japan food are nice even in its convenience stores. Why do I need to go expensive wagyu if all those family mart, lawson, 7-11, ramen, 500 yen wagyu/kobe beef at fushimi Inari even satisfy my stomach. 😁

This post has been edited by L.Torreira: Jan 3 2020, 02:16 AM
Monya Meow Meow
post Jan 3 2020, 07:55 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 1 2020, 03:53 PM)
Its snowing quite heavily at Hokkaido though. Anyway peak snow period would be end of January to February. Wrong time to go skiing I guess.  biggrin.gif
Nice write up on Okinawa bro.  thumbsup.gif Quoting this for future reference.  tongue.gif
No worries, it's good to explore the "slower" side of Japan once in awhile smile.gif
FreedomSeeker
post Jan 3 2020, 08:17 AM

17 posts

Some night view from Shibuya Sky yesterday.

I felt like Japan New Year sales really no joke. Yesterday went to Skechers shop. 1st pair of shoe will be normal price but already reduce price like 2k yen less then the following pairs all 50% less. End up total 4 pairs for me & my sis. 10500 yen for 4 pairs of shoes.
_ChAoS_
post Jan 3 2020, 08:54 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(dennis008 @ Jan 2 2020, 11:19 AM)
i am also going (Feb 20)

If you're going all the way to Himeji, Kansai Thru Pass will be more economical. However, JR train to Himeji will allow you to reach there faster.

198 Pages « < 170 171 172 173 174 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:48 AM