205 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.

TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 7 2019, 08:30 PM, updated 3d ago

3,030 posts

In an effort to improve quality further, please state battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more as a bench mark.

To start the ball rolling

Brand : Century
Type : non maintenance free

magnesium
post Jan 7 2019, 08:45 PM

1,130 posts

Bosch maintenance free

2+ years

Go maintenance free

Around 2 years
dares
post Jan 7 2019, 09:00 PM

827 posts

FOMOCO

MF battery from Ford.

This post has been edited by dares: Jan 7 2019, 09:00 PM
speedy3210
post Jan 7 2019, 09:25 PM

451 posts

1. century hybrid ns70l (non mf) present...... bought b4 gst
2. yokohama flattop ns70 (non mf) early 2000s
3. bosch ns60 (non mf) present...... bought b4 gst

i suspect the bosch is a rebadged panasonic as they have the same status indicator
Jedi
post Jan 7 2019, 09:32 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,239 posts

This thread doesn't serve alot of purpose

Some ppl don't drive much
Some don't drive much at night
Some are arsehole on road nv put signal when turn or change lane which is majority of shit drivers
Nv open lights at night
Some are too kind and patient nv high beam ppl who are at fault or hazard to others or turtle on fast lane

Last but not least there's dashcam and other accessories
I. E
Led saving lights

This post has been edited by Jedi: Jan 7 2019, 09:33 PM
6UE5T
post Jan 7 2019, 09:44 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 7 2019, 08:30 PM)
In an effort to improve quality further, please state battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more as a bench mark.

To start the ball rolling

Brand : Century
Type : non maintenance free
Century can last 4 years meh?? Are you a Century promoter?? πŸ˜‚ Mine just less than 2.5 years and imho it's not a good battery. The only battery that lasted >4yrs for me was over 15 years ago and the brand no longer exists (I also forget already too). Nowadays all my batteries only lasted 2+years.
Jessieccy
post Jan 7 2019, 09:44 PM

160 posts

This has no purpose. 4 years plus are either old cars with no electronics or cars that batteries are located at the rear & far from heat. Stock battery Nissan Almera, E spec GS Yuasa (start stop type) 3yrs.
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 7 2019, 09:51 PM

3,030 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 7 2019, 09:44 PM)
Century can last 4 years meh?? Are you a Century promoter?? πŸ˜‚ Mine just less than 2.5 years and imho it's not a good battery. The only battery that lasted >4yrs for me was over 15 years ago andΒ  the brand no longer exists (I also forget already too). Nowadays all my batteries only lasted 2+years.
Nope not a promoter. Since my father-in-law trusted Century, I just followed on that's all. The previous Century lasted to just 4 years, which surprised the distributor as well. Now on another Century and hopefully it will lasts for another 4 years too.

Speedys3210 reply with Century on Post # 4 should be more or less 4 years, I suspect.

Only after buying a new Century battery, I've read somewhere on this forum that Amaron lasts a cool 7 years. Curious today I walked into Amaron's dealers and the dealer said this after hearing what I've said about 7 years lifespan, "Its hard to say, some couple of months, some its 1-2 years, some its couple of years. Depends on luck."

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 7 2019, 10:04 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 7 2019, 10:10 PM

3,030 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jan 7 2019, 09:25 PM)
1. century hybrid ns70l (non mf) present...... bought b4 gst
2. yokohama flattop ns70 (non mf) early 2000s
3. bosch ns60 (non mf) present...... bought b4 gst

i suspect the bosch is a rebadged panasonic as they have the same status indicator
You could be right on the rebadging thing. Outsourcing among certain production practices is not uncommon, instead of creating wastages if other has achieved higher efficiency.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 7 2019, 10:12 PM
6UE5T
post Jan 7 2019, 11:37 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 7 2019, 09:51 PM)
Nope not a promoter. Since my father-in-law trusted Century, I just followed on that's all. The previous Century lasted to just 4 years, which surprised the distributor as well. Now on another Century and hopefully it will lasts for another 4 years too.

Speedys3210 reply with Century on Post # 4 should be more or less 4 years, I suspect.

Only after buying a new Century battery, I've read somewhere on this forum that Amaron lasts a cool 7 years. Curious today I walked into Amaron's dealers and the dealer said this after hearing what I've said about 7 years lifespan, "Its hard to say, some couple of months, some its 1-2 years, some its couple of years. Depends on luck."
What cars are you using? Honestly my first Century was the Marathoner and I'm disappointed with it and will never buy it again. It lasted over 2 years for my car with countless jump starts within that duration coz I didn't use the car for 5-7 days. Now I'm trying the Century Ultramax which is supposed to be their best model and it is better but not by much. It also already need to be jump started a few times, not yet 1.5 yrs though.

I also often hear recommendations for Amaron but never hear that they can last 7 years! Maybe next change I will try this brand but I will not try Century anymore, not even their Ultramax.
keyser soze
post Jan 7 2019, 11:42 PM

521 posts

Varta, come with the car. 5.5 years 110k km still running strong.
P0lyStati0n
post Jan 7 2019, 11:50 PM

30 posts

Stock Vios 2016 with dashcam+USB 5V 2.1A
Exactly 2 years, 50k KM
Battery didn't die, but SA suggest to replace. I can feel the difference for Start/Stop engine after change battery.

Now it's habit for me to press Start/Stop button 2 times, before pressing brake pedal & Start.
VeeJay
post Jan 8 2019, 12:38 AM

3,763 posts

Varta stock 7yrs..plus
IamAHuman
post Jan 8 2019, 07:27 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 8 2019, 12:38 AM)
Varta stock 7yrs..plus
What car?
yhsiau
post Jan 8 2019, 07:33 AM

790 posts

Most of the long lasting battery cases always found on manual transmission & low usage vehicles

benny888
post Jan 8 2019, 08:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 7 2019, 09:44 PM)
Century can last 4 years meh?? Are you a Century promoter?? πŸ˜‚ Mine just less than 2.5 years and imho it's not a good battery. The only battery that lasted >4yrs for me was over 15 years ago and  the brand no longer exists (I also forget already too). Nowadays all my batteries only lasted 2+years.
My Century unit lasted up to 5 years on my son Persona - that time mileage already 100K
VeeJay
post Jan 8 2019, 10:26 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 8 2019, 07:27 AM)
What car?
2011 passat cc 2.0
SKYjack
post Jan 8 2019, 10:43 AM

310 posts

Battery technology has taken a huge leap recently. Many of you experienced batt life of less than 2 years. Well there are new & better batts in the market now. It all how much you want to pay.

New batts are EFB & AGM

AGM is the best and could cost $2k+. These could last 7years or more!
4WD_er
post Jan 8 2019, 10:44 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 8 2019, 10:26 AM)
2011 passat cc 2.0
With heat insulation and regular charging or not ?

I know batteries in BMW or Merc can last long on models with battery located at the boot which is far from engine heat, something like 7-8 years max.

I recently wrapped all of my cars' batteries, and do regular charging with my Bosch C7, hopefully it can last long.

On my previous Audi A6, the battery lasted the full 5 years when I sold it off in August, state of health ("SOH") rated at 70% when I sold it. Still being used by the new owner.
VeeJay
post Jan 8 2019, 10:57 AM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Jan 8 2019, 10:44 AM)
With heat insulation and regular charging or not ?

I know batteries in BMW or Merc can last long on models with battery located at the boot which is far from engine heat, something like 7-8 years max.

I recently wrapped all of my cars' batteries, and do regular charging with my Bosch C7, hopefully it can last long. 

On my previous Audi A6, the battery lasted the full 5 years when I sold it off in August, state of health ("SOH") rated at 70% when I sold it.  Still being used by the new owner.
no, i didnt insulate, everything is kept stock on the car...but its good to have insulation as you mentioned, especially our hot weather here, which kills battery life faster.

From my personal experience battery sold here are just lower in quality and spec, hence in average local battery last only about 2 years.

When i use to live in US, most of the batteries came with 3-5 years warranty, they hardly die

205 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1161sec    0.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:04 AM