Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.
6UE5T
Jan 7 2019, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 7 2019, 08:30 PM) In an effort to improve quality further, please state battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more as a bench mark. To start the ball rolling Brand : Century Type : non maintenance free Century can last 4 years meh?? Are you a Century promoter?? 😂 Mine just less than 2.5 years and imho it's not a good battery. The only battery that lasted >4yrs for me was over 15 years ago and the brand no longer exists (I also forget already too). Nowadays all my batteries only lasted 2+years.
6UE5T
Jan 7 2019, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 7 2019, 09:51 PM) Nope not a promoter. Since my father-in-law trusted Century, I just followed on that's all. The previous Century lasted to just 4 years, which surprised the distributor as well. Now on another Century and hopefully it will lasts for another 4 years too. Speedys3210 reply with Century on Post # 4 should be more or less 4 years, I suspect. Only after buying a new Century battery, I've read somewhere on this forum that Amaron lasts a cool 7 years. Curious today I walked into Amaron's dealers and the dealer said this after hearing what I've said about 7 years lifespan, "Its hard to say, some couple of months, some its 1-2 years, some its couple of years. Depends on luck." What cars are you using? Honestly my first Century was the Marathoner and I'm disappointed with it and will never buy it again. It lasted over 2 years for my car with countless jump starts within that duration coz I didn't use the car for 5-7 days. Now I'm trying the Century Ultramax which is supposed to be their best model and it is better but not by much. It also already need to be jump started a few times, not yet 1.5 yrs though. I also often hear recommendations for Amaron but never hear that they can last 7 years! Maybe next change I will try this brand but I will not try Century anymore, not even their Ultramax.
6UE5T
Jan 12 2019, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 12 2019, 08:11 AM) After sifting through many threads and taking notes, I've come to realize that the Marathoner has so many terrible reviews against 1 positive review only on this forum. At this moment top on the list for the highest recommended battery brand on this forum has to go to Varta, second its Amaron. However there was only 1 testimony by Veejay, if I am not mistaken, that his Varta battery has lasted 7 years. Varta is a very famous old brand, kind of premium brand for battery so not surprised if it's very good coz the price is also probably one of the most expensive and not many people sell it also. Amaron is relatively much newer brand but in the last few years has been the most popular in terms of recommendations and also a bit on the premium side in terms of pricing even though maybe not as expensive as Varta.
6UE5T
Jan 14 2019, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 14 2019, 08:05 PM) ... Was it Amaron that practices uniform warranty period for all its batteries or different warrant periods for different battery models ? No, Amaron has different warranty duration for different models.
6UE5T
Mar 2 2019, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(victorlaw @ Mar 2 2019, 12:26 AM) Bro.... my ultramax died after 1 year. Really BS man. Use in your GTI? My Ultramax is around 1.5yrs now. It got warranty of 18 or 20mths if not mistaken so if died under that then you can claim a new unit.
6UE5T
Dec 17 2019, 12:57 AM
Crap Century Ultramax suddenly died on me! Will never buy Century again. Now all my 3 cars change to Amaron, we'll see if it's as good as many have claimed!
6UE5T
Dec 17 2019, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(iskazulka @ Dec 17 2019, 09:35 AM) ultramax hold how long? amaron which model? Only about 2 years 3 months. I try Go and Hi Life.
6UE5T
Apr 23 2020, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(Thrust @ Mar 31 2020, 09:51 PM) Your best bet now is Amaron Hi-Life. Century Marathoner is a weak battery. They've recently updated this model to Marathoner Max which is quite new and isn't quite tested. Amaron Go is a lower end model. If you want Amaron, get the Hi-Life whereas Amaron Pro is the best. Varta Black, no comments. I think it should be good since it is an OE battery for BMW. Why don't you spend an additional RM170 - RM240 and get a car battery charger? Use this device to charge the battery probably once a month to keep it fully charged up. I've just ordered the Bosch C7 charger and will do a routine charge once a month. All my 3 cars now on Amaron, 2 Go and 1 Hi Life, all just a few months old. Both Go had weaken once during MCO despite been driven at least once every 3 days, so yeah, disappointing and overrated just like any other normal battery. Probably won't buy Amaron anymore too.