405 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Grab Driver Discussion V5 (2019 & 2020), Info and FAQ

yhtan
post Feb 10 2019, 10:14 PM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(Grabtology @ Feb 9 2019, 09:35 AM)
After 21 days of driving in January, here is the result.

Period driven
January 1 to January 31

Gross Earning (according to Grab statement)
Dec 31 to Jan 6 = RM749.05
Jan 7 to Jan 13 = RM783.55
Jan 14 to Jan 20 = RM779.80
Jan 21 to Jan 27 = RM551.86
Jan 28 to Feb 3 = RM729.10

Total = RM3,593.36

Commission paid to Grab
Dec 31 to Jan 6 = RM140.40
Jan 7 to Jan 13 = RM148.80
Jan 14 to Jan 20 = RM145.65
Jan 21 to Jan 27 = RM106.20
Jan 28 to Feb 3 = RM140.20

Total = RM681.25

Petrol paid
Dec 31 to Jan 6 = RM145.71
Jan 7 to Jan 13 = RM94.92
Jan 14 to Jan 20 = RM86.49
Jan 21 to Jan 27 = RM96.86
Jan 28 to Feb 3 = RM166.37

Total = RM590.35

T&G top up
Dec 31 to Jan 6 =
Jan 7 to Jan 13 = RM100.00
Jan 14 to Jan 20 =
Jan 21 to Jan 27 =
Jan 28 to Feb 3 = RM150.00

Total = RM250.00

Misc
Car tint = RM200.00
Radio fix = RM60.00

Total RM 260.00

PnL
Gross earning (RM3,593.36) - Costs (RM1,781.60) = RM1,811.76 (50.42%)

From there, deduct RM1k as emergency saving, then the rest are to spend on food

Not going to drive February at all because of planned vacation to Hanoi biggrin.gif so yeah, based on this, I think driving Grab full time is reasonable if you don't have loan commitments, isn't looking to get rich quick, and value flexibility of time.

I did achieve the main goal of driving Grab instead of full time employment, which is spending more quality time with wife. There are still some concerns about doing this for the next couple years, but we'll decide after Grab announce the PSV thing, as in how they will go about it

Currently the decision is resume driving Grab full time in March after done with vacation biggrin.gif
Look at your figure per week, maybe driving about 35-45 hrs per week?

QUOTE(Grabtology @ Feb 9 2019, 06:21 PM)
One month and 400+ trips later, I’m beginning to understand why most Grab drivers are full of anger and always miserable

50% is because of bad decisions/situations prior to Grab life, so they choose Grab thinking it will solve their problem, but when Grab change incentive structure they feel conned

50% is because of extreme cheapskate and calculativeness. I understand no one likes to lose money, but to hold grudge just because passenger dont know how to set pickup pin properly, thats just silly

So the most relevant experience i want to share with potential new driver is, if you are not capable of patience and generosity, then you should stick to paid employment

Your reason to start driving Grab shouldnt be because of money. If money is the reason you want to drive Grab, you are better off earning part time money at mcd. At least ular a bit you still get paid per hour fixed
This sentence sound so confusing rclxub.gif

So u telling me money is not the motivation for driver, then what it is?

yhtan
post Feb 10 2019, 10:15 PM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Feb 10 2019, 03:41 PM)
Interesting Grab sending spy here in grab_insider and Grabtology.
Just like they planted Thomas Smith in the FB group.
Thomas smith hantam people to quit and venture another sector, what he said driving grab is not the only option.
Grabtology
post Feb 10 2019, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 10 2019, 10:14 PM)
Look at your figure per week, maybe driving about 35-45 hrs per week?
This sentence sound so confusing  rclxub.gif
sometimes i drive 4 days, sometimes 5 days, about 6 to 7 hours max each day

If money is the only outcome you want from doing anything, then clearly there are so many better ways to earn money other than driving Grab right?

So why are people still trying to become Grab drivers? Why existing Grab lembu still continue?

What is your reason to drive Grab?

Money is not a reason, money is by-product from you doing a job for someone. It's like, shitting is by-product of you eating, but your reason for eating anything is not because you want to shit, right?

So, why did you start doing Grab?

For me, initially, Grab was a channel for me to generate small immediate cash flow. It was never meant to be a life changing get rich quick scheme. I know i will never buy Ferrari from the money I earn from Grab. And that is the whole point, because I can spend my time with more flexibility

I want to spend more time with my wife. The money I earn from Grab, is just enough to sustain my current lifestyle. I'm not delusional to think that Grab will the answer to all my life problems, it just allow me to do what I value most now in my stage of life

That is why I don't feel the anger I see in most of the drivers that post here, whenever I have to fetch smelly foreign workers from mydin or princesses from hartamas. I do feel annoyed by some of their antics, but I'll always have a quick smile, and just understand they all have their unique problems in their life too.

I'm here to perform a business transaction, I get them to where they want to go, I collect payment. Have a nice day! Take out my Febreeze bottle, spray spray, negative feedback for hygiene, move on to the next auto accept trip.

Reach home at the end of the day, reflect back on how I did for the day. You don't need a detail KPI report on how you feel about your day. It's about asking yourself truthfully: were you an okay guy, or were you an asshole?

So doing Grab allow me to help myself, and help other people. I don't make big money out of it, but it's no big deal, because I'm lucky to not be in a situation where I need to pay massive loans every month.

Again to potential new drivers: if you think driving Grab is your answer to quitting a lousy job, and you have car loan house loan, and you are not capable of patience and generosity, please don't do it. You will end up a very bitter and angry Grab driver

To the rest of the drivers here who are not comatose by my post, here's the concept of Ikigai, maybe you all can check it out and reflect on why are you even driving Grab in the first place.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ikigai

Calvin871989
post Feb 10 2019, 11:43 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

He should consider doing it as charity since money is not a reason we drive grab as what he claim or motivates us.

Every RM5 job for far pickup distance with no time booster just campak to that full time lembu. By then , he will bring out the inner angered lembu in him.

Anyway , I just view him as a newbie. Nothing more, nothing less.
zinglicious
post Feb 11 2019, 12:48 AM

I can drive to raise fund for charity but not as a charity to the riders or Grab especially for RM5 in the peanut jam at Bukit Binatang without boost. I am just not a Lembu where and when the compensation of a job is unfair. hence , cancellation applied with ABS where I have to drive 1/2 hour for RM5 fare. It is just unfair. shakehead.gif

There are times where I might do it as in a case where I picked up a ping at KL Sentral which I took the fare 1 way which the rider needed the ride all the way to Port Dickson at midnight. Or another occasion, I took a medical student because he had to report for hospital duty in Seremban. innocent.gif

But I just rejected a Genting trip with a fare of RM75 without boost because it would be peanut jam on KaraK highway on 1 way back home with toll charges. After all, it is kinda chilly tonite and I just have my t shirt on. Most of all, it would be hot traffic where many would make a beeline from east coast tp come back for work tomorrow after a long holidays. Where is the beef and motivation? confused.gif

Monetary compensation is the number of my business transaction otherwise I offer free ride or discount to every Ah Fatt, Ahmad or Mat Salleh. Heck, it is not FOC even for those pussy cats dolls who were sit beside me up close and personal showing revealing long legs and thighs. brows.gif

It is an acceptable fact that doing e hailing, after all the cost factoring from amortization to maintenance, insurance , wear and tear and risk of accidents with higher mileage, drivers earning is at minimum wage either in US there in New Jersey or US here in Ulu Selangor according to study conducted. https://www.recode.net/2018/10/2/17924628/u...hourly-expenses hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zinglicious: Feb 11 2019, 01:17 AM
SUSmoosekaka
post Feb 11 2019, 01:07 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Grabtology @ Feb 9 2019, 04:46 PM)

As for the calculation of toll, Grab counts it toward your collected gross, and you need to pay TnG for top up. So accounting wise, it has to be shown even though they cancel each other out.
Just want to correct and clarify this. grab does NOT count it to your collected gross fare. check your statement and under your weekly history. toll only shows up as a detail in your job card. but the daily/weekly gross total you see in your app DOES NOT include toll.

Sedago Mimpi
post Feb 11 2019, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Feb 11 2019, 01:07 AM)
Just want to correct and clarify this. grab does NOT count it to your collected gross fare. check your statement and under your weekly history. toll only shows up as a detail in your job card. but the daily/weekly gross total you see in your app DOES NOT include toll.
Why he loves to complicate things?
Sedago Mimpi
post Feb 11 2019, 01:13 AM

QUOTE(Grabtology @ Feb 10 2019, 10:47 PM)
If money is the only outcome you want from doing anything, then clearly there are so many better ways to earn money other than driving Grab right?

So why are people still trying to become Grab drivers? Why existing Grab lembu still continue?

What is your reason to drive Grab?

Money is not a reason, money is by-product from you doing a job for someone. It's like, shitting is by-product of you eating, but your reason for eating anything is not because you want to shit, right?

So, why did you start doing Grab?

For me, initially, Grab was a channel for me to generate small immediate cash flow. It was never meant to be a life changing get rich quick scheme. I know i will never buy Ferrari from the money I earn from Grab. And that is the whole point, because I can spend my time with more flexibility

I want to spend more time with my wife. The money I earn from Grab, is just enough to sustain my current lifestyle. I'm not delusional to think that Grab will the answer to all my life problems, it just allow me to do what I value most now in my stage of life

That is why I don't feel the anger I see in most of the drivers that post here, whenever I have to fetch smelly foreign workers from mydin or princesses from hartamas. I do feel annoyed by some of their antics, but I'll always have a quick smile, and just understand they all have their unique problems in their life too.

I'm here to perform a business transaction, I get them to where they want to go, I collect payment. Have a nice day! Take out my Febreeze bottle, spray spray, negative feedback for hygiene, move on to the next auto accept trip.

Reach home at the end of the day, reflect back on how I did for the day. You don't need a detail KPI report on how you feel about your day. It's about asking yourself truthfully: were you an okay guy, or were you an asshole?

So doing Grab allow me to help myself, and help other people. I don't make big money out of it, but it's no big deal, because I'm lucky to not be in a situation where I need to pay massive loans every month.

Again to potential new drivers: if you think driving Grab is your answer to quitting a lousy job, and you have car loan house loan, and you are not capable of patience and generosity, please don't do it. You will end up a very bitter and angry Grab driver

To the rest of the drivers here who are not comatose by my post, here's the concept of Ikigai, maybe you all can check it out and reflect on why are you even driving Grab in the first place.

I’m not even a part-timer, just main2 to pay for my cold beers in the evening...

This post has been edited by Sedago Mimpi: Feb 11 2019, 01:14 AM
SUSmoosekaka
post Feb 11 2019, 01:13 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Grabtology @ Feb 10 2019, 10:47 PM)

The reason why your posts are generating some heated and negative feedback is because, yes, we get it, you are in a privileged position. but the way you present your views comes across to me like:

you are flaunting your privileged position in other peoples faces here.

maybe this not your intention, but always remember the meme...check your privilege.
SUSmoosekaka
post Feb 11 2019, 01:22 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(zinglicious @ Feb 11 2019, 12:48 AM)

It is an acceptable fact that doing e hailing, after all the cost factoring from amortization to maintenance, insurance , wear and tear and risk of accidents with higher mileage, drivers earning is at minimum wage either in US there in New Jersey or US here in Ulu Selangor according to study conducted. https://www.recode.net/2018/10/2/17924628/u...hourly-expenses hmm.gif
You have to take into account the opportunity cost of the capital used to buy the car. If you didn't buy the car solely just to do grab, then amortization is a tricky thing. Its like the same thing as people who want to count their daily food expense while doing grab into their P&L. some see it as, well, if I didn't do grab I just eat at home/cook at home. but you still need to factor in the cost of that home cooked meal even if you didn't drive grab. so for the car amortization, if you didn't do grab, your mileage and wear and tear would be lower, but not zero.

the easiest to calculate their P&L are those who rent their cars. from those who rent, I know a few who make more then the minimum wage even after factoring in their petrol, rent and commsion.
zinglicious
post Feb 11 2019, 01:34 AM

When I used to run the kitchen, it is to make monies. But it takes lot of passions to run the Hell Kitchen. bruce.gif

Occasionally I would cook for fun to raise funds for the under privilege children and old folks where they dun just get KFC or MCD, but the same kinda foodies where my diners get from lobsters to mussels. They even get professional magic show which was offered FOC by performers to goodies like toys and books from sponsors without any endorsement or recognition. And the extra helping hands who volunteered to clean up the buffet tables and even dishes. bruce.gif

And this is done for those who needs it by those who can afford to share the belief of Charity where heavenly interest is compounded for those who gives without asking anything in return. bruce.gif
zinglicious
post Feb 11 2019, 01:47 AM

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Feb 11 2019, 02:22 AM)
You have to take into account the opportunity cost of the capital used to buy the car. If you didn't buy the car solely just to do grab, then amortization is a tricky thing. Its like the same thing as people who want to count their daily food expense while doing grab into their P&L. some see it as, well, if I didn't do grab I just eat at home/cook at home. but you still need to factor in the cost of that home cooked meal even if you didn't drive grab. so for the car amortization, if you didn't do grab, your mileage and wear and tear would be lower, but not zero.

the easiest to calculate their P&L are those who rent their cars. from those who rent, I know a few who make more then the minimum wage even after factoring in their petrol, rent and commsion.
Driving is one of the stressful job to do to cari makan according to one of the IJN cardiologist which I talked to during one of my Uber ride. hmm.gif

Food for thought - if you were to factor in the medical cost to run the driver body immune body engine with long hours of stationary stance under peanut jam stress , how much would it be? hmm.gif

From a mean olde chef who cooked foodies to stories from experiences as lawful drug pusher in hospitals and universities. hmm.gif

zinglicious
post Feb 11 2019, 02:14 AM

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Feb 11 2019, 02:22 AM)

I have yet to see any taxi business is being passed from 1 generation to another unless it is a corporation with multi cars. My elder brother is one of the pioneer with his own taxi licence decades back and my brother is another who used to drive up and down Genting Highlands. Yet both of them exited from the taxi business years ago before e hailing comes ashore. My brother from 4 wheeler taxi turned 3 wheeler hawking foodies. So, I wondering how those you know can make monies with 20% grabbing commission driving rented cars while these two up close relations kenot cari makan with thier own cars and lesen plying streets grabbing passengers with meter ticking and rates at Rm1.95 per km? confused.gif

From my Uber history of 1 year, my Honda HRV was served with billings over 35K wear and tear as outlined in my stories in this thread moons ago, Luckily it is FOC under warranty due to the helpful manager. thumbup.gif

Right now driving Exora NGV which was bought from a taxi fella at half price who kenot cari makan after trying it out for 2 years. bye.gif

This post has been edited by zinglicious: Feb 11 2019, 02:20 AM
Grabtology
post Feb 11 2019, 07:34 AM

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Feb 10 2019, 11:43 PM)
He should consider doing it as charity since money is not a reason we drive grab as what he claim or motivates us.

Every RM5 job for far pickup distance with no time booster just campak to that full time lembu. By then , he will bring out the inner angered lembu in him.

Even charities have admin fees to make sure they just breakeven instead of lose money wink.gif and in some cases, the intention is to lose money outright. Charity in capitalism works the same way, it's a zero sum game. For someone to win money, someone has to lose money

Anyway, yes, I've taken those trips before, in fact, every time I drive about 6pm. My acceptance rate is 100% on auto accept, and 0% cancellation rate. Rating 4.94. If by 7pm I'm in Rawang or Bangi while I stay in Subang, that's just how it is. It's not ideal, but I'll still be grateful for all the rides for the day, and slowly drive home

Grabtology
post Feb 11 2019, 07:39 AM

QUOTE(Sedago Mimpi @ Feb 11 2019, 01:13 AM)
I’m not even a part-timer, just main2 to pay for my cold beers in the evening...
So why do you drive, even for part time?

So far no one shares the reason why they drive. Is it because everyone is doing it for money and for money only?

Haven't you all learned from previous paid employments, what happens if you don't like the job you do but you still do it anyway because of the money it promised? In this case, according to many of you, Grab don't even pay as well as a typical SME.

So why still drive?

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Feb 11 2019, 01:07 AM)
QUOTE(Sedago Mimpi @ Feb 11 2019, 01:09 AM)
Why he loves to complicate things?
As mentioned in my previous posts, I realized that and I'll make changes for when calculating March. Either way, apparently my cost in January is lower than I thought, which is great news
Grabtology
post Feb 11 2019, 07:54 AM

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Feb 11 2019, 01:13 AM)
The reason why your posts are generating some heated and negative feedback is because, yes, we get it, you are in a privileged position. but the way you present your views comes across to me like:

you are flaunting your privileged position in other peoples faces here.
maybe this not your intention, but always remember the meme...check your privilege.
Maybe it is my intention to flaunt my "privileged position"

Maybe I feel the irony that, Grab is supposed to be better than Taxi in most aspect, yet it seems like the people posting here went about doing Grab just like the Taxi drivers. It's all about short term immediate gain. It's all about money.

Just like my analogy from before, it seems like, drivers posting here eat solely because they want to shit, not because of the "invisible things" like nutrient or taste. They will eat whatever that will generate the biggest shit, even if it's unhealthy food that will kill them faster than simply eat less.

I feel sad. I realize I'm being an asshole by pointing out the bad decisions all these drivers made in the past 5 years, biggest one being thinking Grab is the answer to all their financial woes. But I want to do it anyway, because I'll be even more of an asshole if I don't point out there are better ways to live.

I didn't "luck" into this privileged position. I had jobs, I slaved for bosses. My decision to not saddle myself with loans turned out to be a good one, because now I have lots of opportunities that I can't pursue if I have a loan.

I drive Grab because, yes, it makes me happy. 1 out of 5 ride is a negative one (smell, wrong PUP or DOP), 1 out of 5 is neutral, 3 out of 5 is a happy one because of the human interaction that happens during the ride, especially passengers that got filtered out by so called full time Grab driver.

So far, only 2 part timers answer me why they drive Grab. One said because he is very free and wants to kill time, the other one because he wants to buy beer at night.

How about the rest? Why do you drive, especially full time? If it's money, why not do something else that is more lucrative?
skylinelover
post Feb 11 2019, 09:38 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

Haha looking hot here laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Calvin871989
post Feb 11 2019, 10:22 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(Grabtology @ Feb 11 2019, 07:34 AM)
Even charities have admin fees to make sure they just breakeven instead of lose money wink.gif and in some cases, the intention is to lose money outright. Charity in capitalism works the same way, it's a zero sum game. For someone to win money, someone has to lose money

Anyway, yes, I've taken those trips before, in fact, every time I drive about 6pm. My acceptance rate is 100% on auto accept, and 0% cancellation rate. Rating 4.94. If by 7pm I'm in Rawang or Bangi while I stay in Subang, that's just how it is. It's not ideal, but I'll still be grateful for all the rides for the day, and slowly drive home
So I take it you like losing money because you did mentioned that money is not the reason why we grab and motivates us ?

Grateful for RM5 jobs with far pick up and no time booster ? Interesting , now I understand why you say money is not the reason to grab.

I'm starting to think that you are one of those hardcore grab booty as licker ?

You should go to grab office and sign up for charity ride without any admin fees. Grab will be more then happy to give you a special tittle called , "grab charity ambassador"

Please don't quote me as I have no interest in replying to your future post.
yhtan
post Feb 11 2019, 10:32 AM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Feb 10 2019, 11:43 PM)

He want quality life, not lembu kind of life mah. that's why he drive about 40 hrs per week only. While lembu like me spend around 45 hrs on work and another 10 hrs on driving grab.

AskarPerang
post Feb 11 2019, 10:38 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Move on just like Bro Khai.
This is his wife commission. His punya no need to say.

405 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:44 AM