Grab Driver Discussion V5 (2019 & 2020), Info and FAQ

T3ngK0raK
post Feb 11 2019, 10:40 AM

55 posts

Yikes.
Seems like grab spy already play their roles here..
b4sh88
post Feb 11 2019, 10:44 AM

35 posts

I understand what Grabtology want to say but doing Grab with only the first month is like honeymoon period. So you did not feel the same things as other otai here.

As i can see from my observation that the first month is the easiest doing Grab because Grab give you a lot of job making you feel happy and making you thinks that this is something that you like.

For me other than money, Grab gives me the chance to choose my work time, the flexibility of doing things on my own time. As I am a premium and 6s driver, i can choose my customer so less chance to meet cheapskate rider (although some premium riders dont want to pay tol but it can be claimed, some are beautiful rider so i dont mind).

Basically there are a lot of reasons why people want to do Grab but if you have more than 7k salary and want to do quit and do Grab full time then its a foolish decision. Especially if your monthly commitments is also the same as your salary. If you want to do it part time then it's good.

This post has been edited by b4sh88: Feb 11 2019, 10:44 AM
ys2233
post Feb 11 2019, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(Grabtology @ Feb 11 2019, 07:54 AM)

How about the rest? Why do you drive, especially full time? If it's money, why not do something else that is more lucrative?
Having exited the e-hailing thingy after 3 years and 15k trips, why did I drive back then? It's simply the $$$. Back then you get paid by both sides, the rider + the operator thru hourly guarantees (therefore the commission rate is irrelevant). It's was a challenging game to maximise income via HG. Basic strategy was to max HG with the least driving, so camping at places without pings was a daily routine.

It's never sustainable for the operators to perpetually lose money but who cares when the invested billions are not their money anyway. It's the way of life in these new gig economies. When HG was removed, it's the driving that's unsustainable.

This post has been edited by ys2233: Feb 11 2019, 01:20 PM
yhtan
post Feb 11 2019, 10:51 AM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Feb 11 2019, 10:38 AM)
Move on just like Bro Khai.
This is his wife commission. His punya no need to say.

both of them better pay income tax, showing your income by social media is a bad move given by current government financial situation
shyghost
post Feb 11 2019, 11:18 AM

113 posts

I drive because I need the money. As soon as my PL and all my liabilities is paid off, then I will drive grab for fun like you.

Most of FT drivers do not have any passive income like you.

OK, Why don't you please list here things that is more lucrative than grab... No capitol needed (not even rm1K) other than the car you own to start this thing more lucrative than grab.

This post has been edited by shyghost: Feb 11 2019, 11:31 AM
shyghost
post Feb 11 2019, 11:30 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 11 2019, 10:51 AM)
both of them better pay income tax, showing your income by social media is a bad move given by current government financial situation
With great income comes great Lhdn officer... Hahaha...

Everybody like to use this Brokai as a success story, it really become stale already... Showing the 1% highest achievers to the rest 99% losers.... kinda remind me of... err... I dunno... MLM?
SUSmoosekaka
post Feb 11 2019, 11:33 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(zinglicious @ Feb 11 2019, 02:14 AM)
I have yet to see any taxi business is being passed from 1 generation to another unless it is a corporation with multi cars. My elder brother is one of the pioneer with his own taxi licence decades back and my brother is another who used to drive up and down Genting Highlands. Yet both of them exited from the taxi business years ago before e hailing comes ashore. My brother from 4 wheeler taxi turned 3 wheeler hawking foodies. So, I wondering how those you know can make monies with 20% grabbing commission driving rented cars while these two up close relations kenot cari makan with thier own cars and lesen plying streets grabbing passengers with meter ticking and rates at Rm1.95 per km?  confused.gif

From my Uber history of 1 year, my  Honda HRV was served with billings over 35K wear and tear as outlined in my stories in this thread moons ago, Luckily it is FOC under warranty due to the helpful manager.  thumbup.gif

Right now driving Exora NGV which was bought from a taxi fella at half price who kenot cari makan after trying it out for 2 years.  bye.gif
Join the telegram group. Then you’ll see.
jasonlicious
post Feb 11 2019, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(shyghost @ Feb 11 2019, 11:18 AM)

I drive because I need the money. As soon as my PL and all my liabilities is paid off, then I will drive grab for fun like you.

Most of FT drivers do not have any passive income like you.

OK, Why don't you please list here things that is more lucrative than grab... No capitol needed (not even rm1K) other than the car you own to start this thing more lucrative than grab.
This i agree...jangan cakap saja but no solution given...suspense tau nak cari jawapan
yhtan
post Feb 11 2019, 12:09 PM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(shyghost @ Feb 11 2019, 11:30 AM)
With great income comes great Lhdn officer... Hahaha...

Everybody like to use this Brokai as a success story, it really become stale already... Showing the 1% highest achievers to the rest 99% losers.... kinda remind me of... err... I dunno... MLM?
U will be surprise that a lot of MLM top performer didn't pay single cent of tax, well i wish them good luck on 2nd half on this year, LHDN definitely going full force with the linkage of each government system into LHDN platform.

How many cars u got, property u got, when u travel oversea can be easily obtain after this.
coolstore
post Feb 11 2019, 12:45 PM

1,524 posts

boiling water is the only 100% safe solution for drinking, those filtering bla bla just marketing tactics for private company to earn billion $

last time got brand diamond then what brand some more forgot already, now come korea brand, just wonder why many ppl so easily duped into buying this sort of thing
forever1979
post Feb 11 2019, 12:56 PM

2,854 posts

today airport queue very fast

1st time i waiting the queue and though numbers show a lots, actually i waited less than 45 mins to get trip back KL...

but fare RM75 for a trip 72km i think is abit underpaid by crap...
coolstore
post Feb 11 2019, 01:03 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(forever1979 @ Feb 11 2019, 12:56 PM)
today airport queue very fast

1st time i waiting the queue and though numbers show a lots, actually i waited less than 45 mins to get trip back KL...

but fare RM75 for a trip 72km i think is abit underpaid by crap...
whenever seeing 1km less than RM1 after commission deduction i already feel not worthy to drive for ehailing anymore

nowadays, e.g from kepong (when demands a bit higher)

to kotaraya also only RM18-19

to PJ amcorp only RM25-26

to Shah Alam only RM35 ....

and from pj sinchew area back to kepong only RM18 (16km) when there is less demands in PJ, really bad

i hope they revert back to old pricing model at least RM1.10 or more per km at different timing

This post has been edited by coolstore: Feb 11 2019, 01:06 PM
zinglicious
post Feb 11 2019, 01:16 PM

QUOTE(coolstore @ Feb 11 2019, 01:45 PM)
boiling water is the only 100% safe solution for drinking, those filtering bla bla just marketing tactics for private company to earn billion $

last time got brand diamond then what brand some more forgot already, now come korea brand, just wonder why many ppl so easily duped into buying this sort of thing
Cepat Kaya SK1M existed in the early 80's. My mentor since I was still in school got so excited to hear and see it with his own eyes and ears that his whole squad of police officers from senior top dogs to judges were getting rich in no time where their monies invested doubled in months. After that, the rest is Sejarah Hari Ini with thier monies goes missing in action. Then the SK1M evolve into other get rich scheme like gold. History repeated itself with many greedy fools got burnt in recent years. cry.gif

BTW, you are right. The basic of safe water drinking is boiling. Just discard the bottom part if there are impurities. Or just get the National types which cost just Rm100 and boil the water. Boiling kills off bacteria and even the chlorine gets evaporated after boiling. cool2.gif

avery9
post Feb 11 2019, 01:52 PM

Validating

Is it easy to get grab car at Tanjung Bungah Hillside penang during morning as early as 6.30am-7am?

Or does anybody know any penang grab Car/taxi to hire?

zinglicious
post Feb 11 2019, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Feb 11 2019, 12:33 PM)
Join the telegram group. Then you’ll see.
My sauces of information comes from the real up close and personal interaction where I lepak in the KLIA chatterfield. I would take a pee and puff with the drivers and at the NGV gas station where there is long Q of taxi fellas. Many of them would asked me how to and what the cost is to convert thier Teks1M into private use since mine was a spot on ex taxi without the neon signage. And when riders said they are also ex Grabbers or ex Ubermen recounting thier experience. Some still driving to supplement thier incomes. Just 1 would bragged about thousands he is making made driving zig zag siang malam. I asked him if he ever thought of being in the medical risks the way he drives without proper rest and exercise in peanut jams. Just by holding his pee, he may gets kidney stones. Then there is one middle age guy who is driving with signs of stroke risks. I asked him about it and he said he suffered stroke attack a year back. Told him to seek the medical advice from his consulting doctor whether he should continue driving part time as his condition would risk with more serious of brain haemorrhage. I gave him the parting advice as a rider if he needs to drive as part time, the least he could do is to get down and boogie with exercise his feet in every hour or two of driving. After all, he cannot afford to be sick and down with future stroke attack. console.gif

One Malay chap was the most detailed of them all. He would jot down in his daily journal every single sens of fares and tips and subtract all those cost from servicing, tyres pancit to petrol. After 1 year, he gave up ehailing where he is a private chauffer to ferry a Datuk son to school. In just 6 hours on the job and just probably 1 hour of driving, he is earning 80% as a Grabbie full time siang malam. And he makes much more where he goes to be a Burger Man at the stall near his home. He works 5 days a week in both of his jobs. cool2.gif

A few of them lost thier jobs in the O & G industry and got to drive to raise fund for thier family. However there is one who is driving brand new BMW picking hotties in the name of raising charity fund. If he goes clubbing, his wife would be looking high and low for him. But since he said he is doing a good cause picking riders, his wife was being CONvinced. devil.gif

GrabberJan2019
post Feb 11 2019, 02:43 PM

laugh.gif Love the word CONvinced laugh.gif

To answer the question on why I ( will ) drive Crap, I need to get away from
the pressures of a high paying job. Having no commitments, I may just screw
Crap after I do my P&L after one year. I start in April after a holiday in March.

You spies .... what are you doing to elevate the lives of the drivers ?

I know not all of you are as fortunate as me. I do empathize. Let us stay united here and help each other out yah.
shyghost
post Feb 11 2019, 02:54 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(GrabberJan2019 @ Feb 11 2019, 02:43 PM)
laugh.gif  Love the word CONvinced  laugh.gif

To answer the question on why I ( will ) drive Crap, I need to get away from
the pressures of a high paying job. Having no commitments, I may just screw
Crap after I do my P&L after one year. I start in April after a holiday in March.

You spies .... what are you doing to elevate the lives of the drivers ?

I know not all of you are as fortunate as me. I do empathize. Let us stay united here and help each other out yah.
Thank you for your kind words and encouragement... Everybody wanna be debt fee and zero commitments... While Grab is not the best way but it is the only way currently to generate from zero to some cash in hand.
zinglicious
post Feb 11 2019, 03:37 PM

The best way to Grab is cashing in with riders on your way to the office , home or designation. I would just go free as the wind to where I go till it is time to go where I wanna go. Sometimes I dun have to set the SD. So the got the company of hot legs, fares for my gas to reach my place to lepak with my friends all over Klang Valley. rclxm9.gif

If it is a hot sunny day on weekdays , i try Genting Highland for a free breezy trip. If I get the trip back , then it is a bonus. drool.gif

My car expenses are recovered by going shopping or simply makin angin. In fact, I am planning to pack my kinda of foodies to distribute at Chatterfield. Dat's why I got the ample storage size of Exora NGV. It just that I havent yet to find my passion to cook for the time being though I have a friend who is already interested to do it while waiting for his airport Q. https://www.facebook.com/zinglicious/photos...?type=3&theater icon_idea.gif

It is a great way to supplement your income by picking up some riders to your office and take a couple on your way back home. This should be good enough for your car expenses. Just dun overdo it where it affect your job. mega_shok.gif

And for those who wanna to hip hop like my friend driving that BMW, just simply said you are driving to raise fund for my charity club to CONvince your wifey with a good cause. Just pick up a couple of rides and camp at Zouk. devil.gif

This post has been edited by zinglicious: Feb 11 2019, 04:00 PM
lznce2679
post Feb 11 2019, 04:01 PM

230 posts

drivers nowadays are CONvinced with the heat map.
im juz thinkin..its not properly distributed.
tinker
post Feb 11 2019, 04:14 PM

47 posts

im interested in doing grab as part time in kuching, anyone driving a hilux / navara to do as part time? i only have pick ups lol.

i've a full time job from 8.30am-5.30am. Interested in doing after 6.30pm-11pm just to increase my income.

This post has been edited by tinker: Feb 11 2019, 04:15 PM

405 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:44 AM