20 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

TM Starts To Upgrade Streamyx Users 100MB Free, this thread for hutang screamyx users :)

Milo_O
post Dec 3 2018, 04:13 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Dec 3 2018, 02:47 PM)
1. I mean the standard installation, was it free? The add-on, understandable if you had to pay extra.

2. Point no 2, em... typo? Didn't really answer my question.

3. Ah, I see biggrin.gif
1. I mean the standard installation, was it free? The add-on, understandable if you had to pay extra.
Pls define standard installation from your point of view. I don't want to misunderstood.

2. Point no 2, em... typo? Didn't really answer my question.
Nothing stated

3. Ah, I see biggrin.gif
cheepet
post Dec 3 2018, 04:20 PM

181 posts

1. Did any Streamyx user in an existing UNIFI area actually got upgraded to UNIFI for free?
I was offered free upgrade to Unifi lite 10Mbps at current streamyx price of RM110 without contract. I have rejected. I lodged a complaint to MCMC. Initially did not even allow me to upgrade/apply 100Mbps at RM129.

2. If yes to no. 1, then what is the UNIFI package that you got upgraded to? The 30mbps with 60gb quota at RM79 price or the 30mbps with no quota at RM129?
Same as No. 1. Received e-mail about my complaint and this time allow me to choose the 100mbps but 2 years contract.

SUSagewisdom
post Dec 3 2018, 05:11 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(cheepet @ Dec 3 2018, 04:20 PM)
1. Did any Streamyx user in an existing UNIFI area actually got upgraded to UNIFI for free?
I was offered free upgrade to Unifi lite 10Mbps at current streamyx price of RM110 without contract. I have rejected. I lodged a complaint to MCMC. Initially did not even allow me to upgrade/apply 100Mbps at RM129.

2. If yes to no. 1, then what is the UNIFI package that you got upgraded to? The 30mbps with 60gb quota at RM79 price or the 30mbps with no quota at RM129?
Same as No. 1. Received e-mail about my complaint and this time allow me to choose the 100mbps but 2 years contract.
I see. Seems most upgrade will be to only 10Mbps. sweat.gif
hashtag2016
post Dec 3 2018, 08:27 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Dec 3 2018, 11:47 AM)
5 pages in, can anyone actually tell me:

3. What is the price that you have to pay? Does the price stay the same as your existing Streamyx fees? Some Streamyx users have a perpetual discount applied. Is this perpetual discount maintained?

4. Or does the price you have to pay is maintained for a period of time only, say 1-2 years and revert back to the retail price say RM129 at the end of the 2 years contract.

Some simple questions really, but I don't see LYN or Soya Cincau actually making the effort to find out the answers. They just copy and paste the announcements from TM without finding out the actual process.

If anyone that has actually gone through the process, any feedback posted here or PM'd to me, would be much appreciated!
Maybe we should use HSBB/SUBB/NON-SUBB area instead of UNIFI area , u know, now almost all their internet services was rebranded to UNIFI ...and very confusing...

For HSBB, I don't know if anyone from 1Mbps to 100Mbps, but u can see one person from JB Larkin in this forum was upgraded to 50Mbps (from unifi lite or streamyx, I forgot..), and he was very happy and posting it everywhere..
For some existing UNIFI user who r original taking the non-perpetual discount(still under contract), they may need to concern the price revert , if u r not one of them u don't need to worrry about it..

For SUBB, AFAIK, 10Mbps UNIFI lite was offered, paying the same price u r paying now. (slow, but still usable at the moment) .

For non-subb, some people was upgraded to 4Mbps/8Mbps from lower internet speeds.. (ya, if u need upload speed, u don't feel happy about it, very lame. btw, I don't think anybody will refuse the speed boost without contract renew..so still worthy for some people lah..)

btw, if u wanna free upgrade , u need to do it before 2018.12.31 . they should had send you the notice through mail ..or u can checking it on their website by yourself.

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Dec 4 2018, 10:36 PM
SUSagewisdom
post Dec 3 2018, 10:09 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Dec 3 2018, 08:27 PM)
Maybe we should use HSBB/SUBB/NON-SUBB area instead of UNIFI area , u know, now almost all their internet services was rebranded to UNIFI ...and very confusing...

For HSBB, I don't know if anyone from 1Mbps to 100Mbps, but u can see one person from JB Larkin in this forum was upgraded to 50Mbps (from unifi lite or streamyx,  I forgot..), and he was very happy and posting it anywhere..
For some existing UNIFI user who r original taking the non-perpetual discount(still under contract), they may need to concern the price revert , if u r not one of them  u don't need to worrry about it..

For SUBB, AFAIK, 10Mbps UNIFI lite was offered, paying the same price u r paying now.  (slow, but still usable at the moment) .

For non-subb, some people was upgraded to 4Mbps/8Mbps from lower internet speeds.. (ya, if u need upload speed, u don't feel happy about it, very lame.  btw, I don't think anybody will refuse the speed boost without contract renew..so still worthy for some people lah..)

btw, if u wanna free upgrade , u need to do it before 2018.12.31 . they should had send you the notice through mail ..or u can checking it on their website by yourself.
1. True. But non-technical people like me might be even more blur about the HSBB/SUBB/NON-SUBB area.
2. You mean UNIFI user don't need to worry about losing their perpetual discount?
3. I didn't know the free upgrade might end after 2018. No email to me... sad. I checked, it says I'm eligible but no news until now.
imalmighty
post Dec 3 2018, 10:12 PM

mic test
732 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Dec 3 2018, 10:09 PM)
1. True. But non-technical people like me might be even more blur about the HSBB/SUBB/NON-SUBB area.
2. You mean UNIFI user don't need to worry about losing their perpetual discount?
3. I didn't know the free upgrade might end after 2018. No email to me... sad. I checked, it says I'm eligible but no news until now.
miloaisdino u said something like subb unifi lite is considered streamyx? What's the difference between condo vdsl and subb's copper?
miloaisdino
post Dec 3 2018, 11:42 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Dec 3 2018, 10:12 PM)
miloaisdino u said something like subb unifi lite is considered streamyx? What's the difference between condo vdsl and subb's copper?
ya.. so the vdsl dslam wont be in the building basement, but instead in the same exchange (roadside or building) where telephone/streamyx is

real vdsl unifi capable of 30mbps cant be found in landed, only ftth
Officially, subb is rated by tm up to 20mbps, just like how vdsl is rated up to 100mbps

This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Dec 3 2018, 11:45 PM
imalmighty
post Dec 4 2018, 12:30 AM

mic test
732 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Dec 3 2018, 11:42 PM)
ya.. so the vdsl dslam wont be in the building basement, but instead in the same exchange (roadside or building) where telephone/streamyx is

real vdsl unifi capable of 30mbps cant be found in landed, only ftth
Officially, subb is rated by tm up to 20mbps, just like how vdsl is rated up to 100mbps
I see, thx. U said that TM couldve simply upgraded the DSLAM for streamyx users to get unifi lite as a temporary relief? If that's the case, over the years, streamyx customers got scammed real bad... So, does this mean the unifi lite subb users dont have dedicated bandwidth for iptv like ftth and highrise's VLAN? Considering 10M download and 5M upload already produces 15M throughput, close to the 20M theoretical threshold..
miloaisdino
post Dec 4 2018, 12:36 AM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Dec 4 2018, 12:30 AM)
I see, thx. U said that TM couldve simply upgraded the DSLAM for streamyx users to get unifi lite as a temporary relief? If that's the case, over the years, streamyx customers got scammed real bad... So, does this mean the unifi lite subb users dont have dedicated bandwidth for iptv like  ftth and highrise's VLAN? Considering 10M download and 5M upload already produces 15M throughput, close to the 20M theoretical threshold..
If im not wrong, 10mbps subb is unifi playtv only, unless of course you inherited an stb from 8mbps or subscribed ultimate. Just like 8mbps streamyx, the bandwidth is shared. If dedicated bw for stb, its usually 8mbps on a seperate vlan, which is alot considering subb max 20mbps.

Im not too sure how the iptv dedicated/shared be works for vdsl tho.. lol i only know ftth

And btw, the 20mbps quote is for download only, asymmetrical

And yes they can just upgrade the dslam. Theres no denying that vdsl will almost 100% of the time offer a speed improvement over adsl over the same copper... its just common sense.. But 8mbps is rm160 and 10mbps is rm129, so they lose rm30/mth by upgrading the dslam. why would they do that??

This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Dec 4 2018, 12:40 AM
island
post Dec 4 2018, 03:24 AM

1,731 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ Dec 3 2018, 08:27 PM)

For HSBB, I don't know if anyone from 1Mbps to 100Mbps, but u can see one person from JB Larkin in this forum was upgraded to 50Mbps (from unifi lite or streamyx,  I forgot..), and he was very happy and posting it anywhere..
For some existing UNIFI user who r original taking the non-perpetual discount(still under contract), they may need to concern the price revert , if u r not one of them  u don't need to worrry about it..

For SUBB, AFAIK, 10Mbps UNIFI lite was offered, paying the same price u r paying now.  (slow, but still usable at the moment) .

For non-subb, some people was upgraded to 4Mbps/8Mbps from lower internet speeds.. (ya, if u need upload speed, u don't feel happy about it, very lame.  btw, I don't think anybody will refuse the speed boost without contract renew..so still worthy for some people lah..)

Received mail yesterday in my mailbox. Said free upgrade. Just very confusing, define free upgrade and lots of T&C still blur. Not just this so called free upgrade. Remember the last time free speed upgrade last year? Most users Streamyx silently roll back to the original internet speed if users not noticed it they're getting free speed upgrade before if not checking in Unifi user portal. I got a very bad experience last time installing the Streamyx broadband, first said, all free, later on, mail come with a bill for installation fee and bla bla bla, also double charge me, I already pay the technician for services fee , somehow still included into bill and tmpoint CS just don't bother me. Bla bla bla, yap few hundred ringgit just for a Streamyx installation. I always be caution now, unless TM auto upgrade everything for free with no string attach.

This post has been edited by island: Dec 4 2018, 03:27 AM
island
post Dec 4 2018, 03:33 AM

1,731 posts

By the way, ADSL standard can provide 12Mbps download speed. ADSL2+ 24Mbps. No need the not reliable vdsl standard and hardware replacement. Check this out, https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asymmetric_...subscriber_line

And if 2-8Mbps already not reliable, what make you feel vdsl 10Mbps be better? Simply, cut the Streamyx prices is more reasonable.

This post has been edited by island: Dec 4 2018, 03:43 AM
SUSagewisdom
post Dec 4 2018, 10:33 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(island @ Dec 4 2018, 03:24 AM)
Received mail yesterday in my mailbox. Said free upgrade. Just very confusing, define free upgrade and lots of T&C still blur. Not just this so called free upgrade. Remember the last time free speed upgrade last year? Most users Streamyx silently roll back to the original internet speed if users not noticed it they're getting free speed upgrade before if not checking in Unifi user portal. I got a very bad experience last time installing the Streamyx broadband, first said, all free, later on, mail come with a bill for installation fee and bla bla bla, also double charge me, I already pay the technician for services fee , somehow still included into bill and tmpoint CS just don't bother me. Bla bla bla, yap few hundred ringgit  just for a Streamyx installation. I always be caution now, unless TM auto upgrade everything for free with no string attach.
Can you share you mail to me via PM? I've been doing some inquiries on this. I need a copy of the letter so I can ask someone at TM.

If you look at my post above, there are some answers already. But I asked someone at TM and they say the price will only be maintained for one year only. And asking for some proof on the free upgrade.
cheepet
post Dec 4 2018, 10:38 AM

181 posts

Unifi Lite is 10Mbps or 100Mbps??

free upgrade will informed as 10Mbps using the same name.

If after free upgrade to 10Mbps will it be turbo to 100Mbps?
island
post Dec 4 2018, 01:36 PM

1,731 posts

QUOTE(cheepet @ Dec 4 2018, 10:38 AM)

Dreaming. Copper wire vdsl how can go to 100Mbps.
island
post Dec 4 2018, 01:44 PM

1,731 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Dec 4 2018, 10:33 AM)
Can you share you mail to me via PM? I've been doing some inquiries on this. I need a copy of the letter so I can ask someone at TM.

If you look at my post above, there are some answers already. But I asked someone at TM and they say the price will only be maintained for one year only. And asking for some proof on the free upgrade.
https://pictr.com/image/0djNQq
https://pictr.com/image/0djrV6
SUSagewisdom
post Dec 4 2018, 01:54 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(island @ Dec 4 2018, 01:44 PM)
Ok, thanks. This looks to be like a normal flyer. Some people actually got a formal letter from TM saying they're eligible for the UNIFI 10Mbps package with the same price and no new contract.

In your case, you've got to be careful and ask all the necessary questions before deciding to upgrade or not.

This post has been edited by agewisdom: Dec 4 2018, 01:55 PM
miloaisdino
post Dec 4 2018, 02:07 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(island @ Dec 4 2018, 01:36 PM)
up to..... just like how now subb is 10mbps but technically can up to 100mbps.
vdsl if u stay nearer to dslam and maxis, can get 100mbps also...
miloaisdino
post Dec 4 2018, 02:09 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(cheepet @ Dec 4 2018, 10:38 AM)

Unifi lite 10mbps (turboable) (eligible for 100mbps) old package
Unifi lite 100mbps (turboed) (ineligible for 800mbps) new package

both same price rm129

unifi lite has 3 plans
1. Unifi lite 10mbps (subb)
2. Unifi lite 10mbps (vdsl)
3. Unifi lite 100mbps (ftth)

This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Dec 4 2018, 02:17 PM
cheepet
post Dec 4 2018, 02:09 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(island @ Dec 4 2018, 01:36 PM)
In unifi area.... but only offered to upgrade to 10Mbps
cheepet
post Dec 4 2018, 02:10 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Dec 4 2018, 02:09 PM)
Unifi lite 10mbps (turboable) (eligible for 100mbps) old package
Unifi lite 100mbps (turboed) (ineligible for 800mbps) new package

both same price rm129
sure free upgrade to 10Mbps now and eligible for turbo to 100Mbps later?

20 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:08 AM