Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

FusionXY
post Dec 25 2018, 12:18 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Dec 25 2018, 11:43 AM)
AC2200 or AC1750 (Trio Mesh)?

The Deco Mesh products (M5, M9) from TP-Link may have hypptv problems, I hear.

TQ
Hi. Choose ASUS AC2200.
You can get it from OOKAS for below RM 1K.

TP-Link Deco doesn't support Hypptv for now.

giko
post Dec 25 2018, 03:51 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 25 2018, 12:18 PM)
Hi. Choose ASUS AC2200.
You can get it from OOKAS for below RM 1K.

TP-Link Deco doesn't support Hypptv for now.

Thanks but just bought Archer AC2300 on Sunday for RM560+ - should I cancel & get the ASUS AC2200 instead? confused.gif
FusionXY
post Dec 25 2018, 04:41 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Dec 25 2018, 03:51 PM)
Thanks but just bought Archer AC2300 on Sunday for RM560+ - should I cancel & get the ASUS AC2200 instead?  confused.gif
Hi, single or two story house?

You wish to have full speed in the room?

giko
post Dec 25 2018, 04:48 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 25 2018, 04:41 PM)
Hi, single or two story house?

You wish to have full speed in the room?

Mine's a double storey. Mainly using tplink 500mbps homeplugs for my PC/laptops in the computer room 20 feet from the router. Upstairs basically using wifi.

When on 50 mbps, my old PC can get about 28 mbps. will know more when i install the new router (just order Archer AC2300) - but after reading about Mesh, may want to change to one. What's your advice? TQ
jimbet1337
post Dec 25 2018, 04:52 PM

meh
2,668 posts

Anyone with 500mbps pkg using DLink DIR882 by Time? What is your average 5Ghz wifi speed? Just doing a survey thanks
FusionXY
post Dec 25 2018, 05:09 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Dec 25 2018, 04:48 PM)
Mine's a double storey. Mainly using tplink 500mbps homeplugs for my PC/laptops in the computer room 20 feet from the router. Upstairs basically using wifi.

When on 50 mbps, my old PC can get about 28 mbps. will know more when i install the new router (just order Archer AC2300) - but after reading about Mesh, may want to change to one. What's your advice? TQ
Hi, you ordered from which shop?
If can cancel then cancel.

One of the member using Mesh on 500Mbps able to get 400Mbps in the room via LAN Cable in Condo.
May I know whether you're using Laptop or Desktop?
You can connect the PCs to the 2nd Mesh Node via LAN to have a stable Internet.

giko
post Dec 25 2018, 05:24 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 25 2018, 05:09 PM)
Hi, you ordered from which shop?
If can cancel then cancel.

One of the member using Mesh on 500Mbps able to get 400Mbps in the room via LAN Cable in Condo.
May I know whether you're using Laptop or Desktop?
You can connect the PCs to the 2nd Mesh Node via LAN to have a stable Internet.

I bought it from m2express/mono digital on shopee.

Heard that tp-link don't do updates for their older routers but Asus does.

I'm on PC but my 2 kids are using their laptops, mostly for gaming.

Will be buying Lyra Mesh AC2200 today.

sorry not that tech savvy to understand "2nd Mesh Node via LAN" - what's this?

TQ smile.gif
FusionXY
post Dec 25 2018, 05:41 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Dec 25 2018, 05:24 PM)
I bought it from m2express/mono digital on shopee.

Heard that tp-link don't do updates for their older routers but Asus does.

I'm on PC but my 2 kids are using their laptops, mostly for gaming.

Will be buying Lyra Mesh AC2200 today.

sorry not that tech savvy to understand "2nd Mesh Node via LAN" - what's this?

TQ smile.gif
Ya. TP-Link is called Sell and Abandon.

What I mean is that Asus Lyra has three pack.
The main, 2nd and 3rd.
Each of them has two LAN Ports.
For example, you put the 2nd one in your room.
You can connect the PC to the LAN Port on the 2nd ASUS Lyra.
Your kids are in another room?

ASUS Lyra can make your house full signal. If signal too weak may reduce the speed.
You may read the instructions here

giko
post Dec 25 2018, 06:12 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 25 2018, 05:41 PM)
Ya. TP-Link is called Sell and Abandon.

What I mean is that Asus Lyra has three pack.
The main, 2nd and 3rd.
Each of them has two LAN Ports.
For example, you put the 2nd one in your room.
You can connect the PC to the LAN Port on the 2nd ASUS Lyra.
Your kids are in another room?

ASUS Lyra can make your house full signal. If signal too weak may reduce the speed.
You may read the instructions here

All 3 of us are in the computer room.

The reviews look good. Will install the 2nd pack in the computer room & the 3rd pack upstairs.

Will plug the 1st pack onto the homeplug to see what are the homeplugs speed like...

Thanks bro. thumbsup.gif
FusionXY
post Dec 25 2018, 06:14 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Dec 25 2018, 06:12 PM)
All 3 of us are in the computer room.

The reviews look good. Will install the 2nd pack in the computer room & the 3rd pack upstairs.

Will plug the 1st pack onto the homeplug to see what are the homeplugs speed like...

Thanks bro.  :thumbsup:
Hi. You're welcome bro.

I'm happy to assist you.

labtec
post Dec 27 2018, 10:15 PM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 23 2018, 04:25 PM)
Yes. Just reset the D-Link.
Don't setup anything.

Just connect to LAN Port 1 on the D-Link Router.
Disable the DHCP.
I tried using my ADSL as access point can work.

It works!!! i use the wizard to setup and quite simple. Now have 2 different SSID to use in my house.

But somehow i found the internet response become slower even when i connect to my ZTE modem. once it manage to contact the website, i'm getting the internet speed i subscribe to, but first contact with the website looks very slow, is it because of the bridge or interference from 2 SSID signals?

And with or without DHCP is the same for me, what is the difference actually?

my Dlink setup, can i use 192.168.1.1? it is same as my ZTE modem

This post has been edited by labtec: Dec 27 2018, 10:44 PM
FusionXY
post Dec 27 2018, 10:45 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Dec 27 2018, 10:15 PM)
It works!!! i use the wizard to setup and quite simple. Now have 2 different SSID to use in my house.

But somehow i found the internet response become slower even when i connect to my ZTE modem. once it manage to contact the website, i'm getting the internet speed i subscribe to, but first contact with the website looks very slow, is it because of the bridge or interference from 2 SSID signals?

And with or without DHCP is the same for me, what is the difference actually?
my Dlink setup, can i use 192.168.1.1? it is same as my ZTE modem
Hi, for the DHCP, it will have more IP Address.

rickk
post Dec 28 2018, 11:51 PM

1,130 posts

Hi currently my plan is unifi 300mbps, stock router from tm (tp link ac1200)

Recently found out that my PC (in room) cannot detect the wifi. Even if connect, keep showing no internet access / troubleshoo showing "DNS server isn't responding". I never do any setup on router or my pc.

Oh ya, even i connect wifi with my phone (oneplus 5) in room, same distance as PC, the connection is really weak until like 0.5-0.8mbps!

My pc is about 20ft away from router. Pc using tp-link tl-wn727n (is it call wifi adapter?).

Was thinking to get some additional tool to enhance the wifi connection in my room and behind (dining room which about 25ft away from router). I'm sorry i don't know what it supposed to call technically, repeater? Wifi extender? Or?

Would appreciate if someone here could guide and recommend what tool to use?

Budget within 200 , possible?
labtec
post Dec 29 2018, 01:50 AM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 27 2018, 10:45 PM)
Hi, for the DHCP, it will have more IP Address.

my ZTE modem is using 192.168.1.1 as the gateway address or as DHCP server address.

but right now my Dlink model which set as bridge mode connect to ZTE model port1 also set its router IP address as 192.168.1.1. Will this create any conflict?
FusionXY
post Dec 29 2018, 08:01 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Dec 29 2018, 01:50 AM)
my ZTE modem is using 192.168.1.1 as the gateway address or as DHCP server address.
but right now my Dlink model which set as bridge mode connect to ZTE model port1 also set its router IP address as 192.168.1.1. Will this create any conflict?
Best to change to 192.168.0.2
After cannot access router settings.

SilentVampire
post Dec 29 2018, 10:11 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Dec 28 2018, 11:51 PM)
Hi currently my plan is unifi 300mbps, stock router from tm (tp link ac1200)

Recently found out that my PC (in room) cannot detect the wifi. Even if connect, keep showing no internet access / troubleshoo showing "DNS server isn't responding". I never do any setup on router or my pc.

Oh ya, even i connect wifi with my phone (oneplus 5) in room, same distance as PC, the connection is really weak until like 0.5-0.8mbps!

My pc is about 20ft away from router. Pc using tp-link tl-wn727n (is it call wifi adapter?).

Was thinking to get some additional tool to enhance the wifi connection in my room and behind (dining room which about 25ft away from router). I'm sorry i don't know what it supposed to call technically, repeater? Wifi extender? Or?

Would appreciate if someone here could guide and recommend what tool to use?

Budget within 200 , possible?
Not possible. Sounds like your router is having problems already. Click the link on my signature and read all the green text on 1st page, 1st post. You need a better wireless adapter as well.
rickk
post Dec 29 2018, 12:00 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Dec 29 2018, 10:11 AM)
Not possible. Sounds like your router is having problems already. Click the link on my signature and read all the green text on 1st page, 1st post. You need a better wireless adapter as well.
Alright will read it shortly. But, hypptv is working. At living room (router is here), wifi is working (phn can hit 60-80mpbs).
labtec
post Dec 29 2018, 12:01 PM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 29 2018, 08:01 AM)
Best to change to 192.168.0.2
After cannot access router settings.

change to 192.168.0.2 not 192.168.1.2?

let me try it. thanks for your helpful tips, I really appreciate it.
SilentVampire
post Dec 29 2018, 12:17 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Dec 29 2018, 12:00 PM)
Alright will read it shortly. But, hypptv is working. At living room (router is here), wifi is working (phn can hit 60-80mpbs).
On 5GHz AC?

QUOTE(labtec @ Dec 29 2018, 12:01 PM)
change to 192.168.0.2 not 192.168.1.2?

let me try it. thanks for your helpful tips, I really appreciate it.
Should be 192.168.1.2, if it is a bridge.
rickk
post Dec 29 2018, 12:35 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Dec 29 2018, 12:17 PM)
On 5GHz AC?

It's 2.4ghz.

301 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:16 PM