Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

jazzkobis
post Oct 25 2018, 02:41 PM

415 posts

parking.

Gonna change plan to 100mps once my current unifi 30mbps contract finishes.

Hopefully i dont have to spend much to fully utilise the 100mbps
jimbet1337
post Oct 25 2018, 04:43 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(jazzkobis @ Oct 25 2018, 02:41 PM)
parking.

Gonna change plan to 100mps once my current unifi 30mbps contract finishes.

Hopefully i dont have to spend much to fully utilise the 100mbps
The current equipment provided by Time will serve the 100mbps pkg just fine.

Came from 30mbps as well last year.
cannavaro
post Oct 26 2018, 05:49 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Anyone tried using D-Link DIR-825+? almost the same specs as the DIR-842 that TM provides for unifi but cheaper.
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/d-link-d...49fbcHvnUR&mp=3

Main difference other than the USB port is the dedicated AP or repeater mode.

jazzkobis
post Oct 28 2018, 09:47 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Oct 25 2018, 04:43 PM)
The current equipment provided by Time will serve the 100mbps pkg just fine.

Came from 30mbps as well last year.
gonna be subscribing to unifi still. my area not supported by Time. sad.gif
alvinddm
post Oct 28 2018, 11:12 PM

443 posts

Asus rt-ac1300uhp or dlink dir867 for stronger further WiFi coverage? I'm on unifi 300mbps
psyduck89
post Oct 30 2018, 11:36 AM

New Korean Member
818 posts

hi, im using Archer C1200 from Time, and my best speedtest result with using note 8 and note 9 cant exceed 300mbps...

is there something wrong with my router???

note 9 wifi ac1.2ghz
SilentVampire
post Oct 30 2018, 05:21 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(alvinddm @ Oct 28 2018, 11:12 PM)
Asus rt-ac1300uhp or dlink dir867 for stronger further WiFi coverage? I'm on unifi 300mbps
Asus RT-AC1300UHP.

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Oct 30 2018, 11:36 AM)
hi, im using Archer C1200 from Time, and my best speedtest result with using note 8 and note 9 cant exceed 300mbps...

is there something wrong with my router???

note 9 wifi ac1.2ghz
Try with 5GHz and not 2.4GHz.
psyduck89
post Oct 30 2018, 05:26 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Oct 30 2018, 05:21 PM)
Asus RT-AC1300UHP.
Try with 5GHz and not 2.4GHz.
both already using 5ghz...
and even sit infront of the router...
slaveone
post Oct 30 2018, 05:29 PM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Oct 30 2018, 05:26 PM)
same case here. but i havent dig deeper on the possible cause
SilentVampire
post Oct 30 2018, 06:01 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Oct 30 2018, 05:26 PM)
5GHz AC, set to 80MHz?

QUOTE(slaveone @ Oct 30 2018, 05:29 PM)
same case here. but i havent dig deeper on the possible cause
5GHz AC, set to 80MHz?
psyduck89
post Oct 30 2018, 06:28 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Oct 30 2018, 06:01 PM)
5GHz AC, set to 80MHz?
I go back check 1st... i think it's by default.. i din set anything...
psyduck89
post Oct 30 2018, 08:55 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

5GHz AC, set to 80MHz?
Set to 80MHZ still same...

Both up n down add up got 500mbps la... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by psyduck89: Oct 30 2018, 08:56 PM
SilentVampire
post Oct 30 2018, 09:40 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Oct 30 2018, 08:55 PM)
Set to 80MHZ still same...

Both up n down add up got 500mbps la... laugh.gif
Lol, time to change routers then. Otherwise, go into Safe Mode with Networking and try to test the speed. Could be processor-related throttling as a result of the Spectre mitigation.
slaveone
post Oct 31 2018, 09:45 AM

1,229 posts

5GHz AC, set to 80MHz?
will try later tonight. thanks
taqu
post Oct 31 2018, 07:15 PM

864 posts

Speedtest with TP-Link C1200 inside store room (open door though), while I'm sitting in living room with an Intel AC 9260 Wifi card. Not bad for a "crap TM router".
cikalos
post Nov 1 2018, 11:19 AM

Im Unifi User
need some help..
i buy HG8245Q2 for change HG8240W™

1)firts i try connect HG8245Q2(setting ONT Authentication only) with my TP-Link router(PPPOE) ..success

but im failed setup HG8245Q2(setting ONT +PPPOE)

This post has been edited by cikalos: Nov 1 2018, 11:42 AM
SilentVampire
post Nov 1 2018, 02:46 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(cikalos @ Nov 1 2018, 11:19 AM)
Im Unifi User
need some help..
i buy HG8245Q2 for change HG8240W™

1)firts i try connect HG8245Q2(setting ONT Authentication only) with my TP-Link router(PPPOE) ..success

but im failed setup HG8245Q2(setting ONT +PPPOE)
Why do you buy your own BTU? It is lifetime warranty from TM lol. You can get it for free.
cikalos
post Nov 1 2018, 02:55 PM

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 1 2018, 02:46 PM)
Why do you buy your own BTU? It is lifetime warranty from TM lol. You can get it for free.
different spec ...i want use 1 device only...

https://e.huawei.com/my/products/fixed-netw...holife-hg8245q2
SilentVampire
post Nov 1 2018, 04:25 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(cikalos @ Nov 1 2018, 02:55 PM)
different spec ...i want use 1 device only...

https://e.huawei.com/my/products/fixed-netw...holife-hg8245q2
Ah okay, got you. Better to have two separate device though.
Hutchy
post Nov 2 2018, 02:46 PM

35 posts

Friends I have a weird experience with my Asus router. I have a Unifi Turbo 500Mbps plan and my router is Asus RT-AC55UHP and with a CAT6 ethernet cable the max speed i get is less than 250Mbps, i launched a complaint with Unifi and they sent their technicians to check and the guys who came to check the issue suggested to used my stock Unifi router which is Dlink DIR-850L and to everyones surprise i was getting 500+Mbps speed with the Dlink router.

So here is my confusion i thought the Asus RT-AC55UHP was an advanced router as compared to the DIR-850L and the technicians from unifi also agreed but none of us were able to say why the ASUS router cannot even reach 300Mbps while the Dlink obtained the speed with no issues. Any thoughts on this guys. FYI i have tried resetting my Asus router and configured it fresh but it still cannot reach the speed above 250Mbps. Is it an issue with the router itself?

This post has been edited by Hutchy: Nov 2 2018, 02:48 PM

301 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:22 AM