Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

taqu
post Oct 14 2018, 08:35 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Oct 14 2018, 07:54 PM)
Can someone suggest me which router to buy for Unifi 800mbps? Max wifi connection should be 30 devices at once (rarely will have that much). The router will be located at the Ground Floor, in a 2-storey house

Would like to be able to get the full 800mbps, and also a stable one as previously we used a few router, which we need to restart once in a while.

Budget is RM1k, but since I'm not really sure about the market for router, I'll be glad if I can get something cheaper than my proposed budget.

Thank you guys!
Refer to 1st page of this thread. No problem with your budget.

With only a single router on ground floor, there's no way you can get near 800mbps upstairs. You need a second router as AP on 2nd floor, connected via CAT5E cable.
taqu
post Oct 31 2018, 07:15 PM

864 posts

Speedtest with TP-Link C1200 inside store room (open door though), while I'm sitting in living room with an Intel AC 9260 Wifi card. Not bad for a "crap TM router".
taqu
post Nov 10 2018, 11:05 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(luminaryxi @ Nov 8 2018, 10:59 AM)
hi all, whats the matter with this router?

[attachmentid=10098802]
Connection to Internet fails. Can be wrong Unifi password, LAN cable fault, or BTU fault.
taqu
post Nov 20 2018, 09:48 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Kieff @ Nov 20 2018, 09:05 PM)
Need some urgent advises!
I'm using Tp-link TL-MR6400 WIFI MODEM ROUTER DIRECT SIM, with XOX prepaid data plan. I Move around the modem router in my house and found that the best strength of signal received is only 2 bar. This making the  internet performs badly. Kindly advise what are the option that I can do to improve the received signal effectively! Many thanks!
Use 4G booster. It may work but no guarantee.
taqu
post Nov 21 2018, 07:47 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(Kieff @ Nov 20 2018, 10:13 PM)
Do I need to know the band of xox mobile to buy the 4G LTE booster??
No. You can try asking xox support.
taqu
post Nov 27 2018, 06:23 PM

864 posts

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/tools/chart...z-profile-dn/35

Asus high-end routers pack alot of features.
taqu
post Dec 1 2018, 11:48 PM

864 posts

C6 looks tempting but already bought D-Link DIR-868L, which is the cheapest AC1750 router I can find, and same generation as C7.
taqu
post Dec 12 2018, 06:43 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Dec 12 2018, 04:16 PM)
Planning add another router as AP to my setup. Any good suggestion? Is Dlink DIR-868L any good? (Price seems pretty low at the moment) Currently using DIR-850L, so either one will be the router, and the other will be AP.
I use it as AP to cover ground floor. Yes it's good, spec-wise almost as good as Tenda AC18. You can use DD-WRT or Advance Tomato firmware.
taqu
post Dec 12 2018, 10:09 PM

864 posts

I use 4 routers biggrin.gif 1 as router only, the other 3 as APs, all wired. Great speed & coverage. Then added a smart switch & a Raspberry Pi 3 for network monitoring. Total price cheaper than a single Asus RT-AC68U smile.gif
taqu
post Dec 14 2018, 12:56 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(storky20 @ Dec 14 2018, 12:36 AM)
Hi all, just bought a second D-Link DIR-842 to cover for the top floor of the house.
Previously TM installed a DIR-842 when Turbo was implemented so I thought the setup is the same.

However, it seems that if I want to setup this second router, I need to setup using a Static IP connection instead of a PPPoE like the first router? Could anyone help give like a brief overview of what needs to be different for this second router?

Sorry if the question's a bit noob, not too familiar with networking setups.

Thanks guys.
Just leave them empty. Don't forget to disable DHCP, and don't connect to WAN port.

taqu
post Dec 29 2018, 11:58 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Dec 29 2018, 01:15 PM)
Hi, yes I know that.

But my concern is, when Im near the router, LAN and wifi is work. But when in room (20ft away from router), phone hardly to connect wifi, pc with wifi adapter langsung can't work with wifi.

From earlier advise, you said that it probably router issue (tm given one -  tplink ac1200). In this case, I think better change router. But regret i have no time to study most disccusing brands in this forum (tp link, dlink, tenda asus etc) because I cannot tahan room has no internet access. Hence would appreciate if anyone could advise which router is suitable for me:
No require maximum speed but can reach my room with about 50-80mpbs im satisfy enough. Mainly wife and me watch videos via phone, pc and laptop only when in room.
I think I will exclude tplink since heard that tplink's after sales service/ update firmware is bad.
Perhaps will consider budeget around 200++

DIR-850L
DIR-842
DIR-825+
tenda AC10U
You can also consider D-Link DIR-868L (RM 200). I'm using this as ground floor AP. AFAIK this is the cheapest AC1750 router here. It also supports DD-WRT & Tomato firmware. However it's harder to find as it's an old router. Review:

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...router-reviewed
taqu
post Dec 30 2018, 07:52 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(alimiahmad @ Dec 30 2018, 10:28 AM)
hi all...my time plan have been upgraded into 500mbps few months back. but cant get full speed coverage of it, max reach 110. call time, need to use cat6.

so bought it yesterday & do the speed test. omg, max speed still 110. but when direct connect from modem to pc, its can get over 300+. Why my wired connection through router cant get over than 110 since already used cat6? I'm using TP Link AC1200 with 500mbps plan
Pls ensure NAT Boost is enabled.
taqu
post Jan 11 2019, 04:27 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(mhyk3 @ Jan 11 2019, 06:54 AM)
I'd rather setup a bridged router inside the master's..
Is your home single storey or double storey? Where's your current router's location?
taqu
post Feb 12 2019, 06:27 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Feb 12 2019, 01:15 AM)
For 500mbps Unifi,

Is it better to get the
1) D-link DIR-867
or
2) Tenda AC18

I find a pretty alright price for both, Tenda AC18 is about rm70 cheaper.

I searched Blacktubi's website, and i find D-link DIR-867 and no Tenda AC18 review.

I've looked up Tenda's specification, it seems to be able to support up to 600mbps for 2.4 GHz, so it shouldnt bottleneck the speed I am getting, if any.

I see no reason to not get the AC18, other than maybe brand not established (?, sorry i am very noob at this networking thing, all ive heard of it D-link and TP-link) or maybe its harder to set up or something?

I would very appreciate if someone can help me by telling me how the DIR 867 is better than the AC 18. Thanks in advance.
You may also consider D-Link DIR-868L, around RM 169-199. Can get around 460 mbps. Also support Tomato firmware.

This post has been edited by taqu: Feb 12 2019, 06:28 PM
taqu
post Feb 16 2019, 10:57 PM

864 posts

Since Linksys & Netgear Nighthawks are rare here, only D-Link & TP-Link can rival Asus here. High performance, AI Mesh, AI Protection & traffic reports are Asus's selling points.

Since I can't justify the price, I opt to use multiple (including used) routers as wired access points around home & a Raspberry Pi to handle other functions.
taqu
post Feb 23 2019, 12:58 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Feb 17 2019, 09:26 PM)
Mind sharing your actual purpose for using the Raspberry Pi? I have a spare one too but no idea what to use it for.
I use my Pi 3 B+ to run ntopng network traffic app, Pi-Hole to block ads & malicious sites, and Grafana as network dashboard.

taqu
post Feb 27 2019, 07:04 PM

864 posts

Refer to first page of this thread.
taqu
post Mar 7 2019, 10:38 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 7 2019, 10:32 PM)
Currently my laptop on support 2.4GHZ( brought it in 2013), need 5 GHZ to connect to school wifi due to wifi congestion and interference, internet connection on 2.4ghz wifi(at my college) can suddenly stop working  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  might upgrade to a new laptop probably around 1 year time. Will USB wifi adapter be practical?
USB Wifi adapter not practical for laptops. If your laptop can be opened, you can upgrade the internal Wifi card to something better like Intel 9260.
taqu
post Mar 21 2019, 02:59 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Mar 21 2019, 10:45 AM)
Hi Guys, Got some questions on access point seek for your kind advise.

Current set up:
Ground Floor Asus AC86U cable all the way up to 2nd floor connect to Dlink 842 Unifi router (work as access point). On 1st floor got a Asus NT12HP as repeater.
Question:
Can i connect Ground Floor Asus AC86U cable to 1st floor Asus NT12HP (access point) and from 1st floor Asus NT12HP cable up to 2nd floor Dlink 842 as another access point?

Can access point router LAN to another access point router?
Use port 1 for NT12HP & DIR-842 & disable DHCP on both.

Also since your NT12HP doesn't support 5GHz AC, set its SSID name different that your NT12HP & DIR-842. Both NT12HP & DIR-842 can use same SSIDs.
taqu
post Nov 4 2019, 09:04 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(rylim @ Nov 3 2019, 05:07 PM)
There you go:

Very nice!

This sits on your stairs right?