QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 29 2018, 03:29 PM)
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 29 2018, 04:00 PM)
I will share some
*** I also don't need that money but I do not want to see the value dropping by half like it happened in 2008 recession. So prefer to take it out to and park it in FD etc though the return will be lower. Growing at a slower rate is preferred than loosing half its value.
A: I welcome correction as it allows me to pick good stocks at good price. That's why I kena bash in FSM thread as I was celebrating the recent down time. If you cannot tahan seeing the value dropping, have to go for super save investment
1) FD (totally no)
2) ASNB FP
3) EPF
With this 3, you won't get heartsick no matter what happen to the market. Sometimes not getting heart sick is better. Take your time to keep cash and equivalent when things are expensive. Don't get FOMO.
Losing half it's value and not selling won't incur anything. Only if you use margin or someone force you to sell then yeah you have lock in your losses. An investor is his worst enemy.
*** I assume you meant the dividends from that shares. But won't the dividend be less during recession? Double jeopardy - reduced share price and reduced dividend?
*** If you sell before the crash, won't you have more bullets for your safari hunting after the crash? Ya ya, only if the crash happens!
A: Dividends may/may not drop depending on recession. Why do I say that? Solid companies like Nestlé, TnB won't go away in a recession. Rain or shine, people still need to eat, use electricity. That's defensive investing. If a company is only paying out <50% of the cash, dividends are more ear less assured. Just won't grow. Price drop allows me to accumulate more shares at cheap price to get more dividends.
You won't know when crash will come. You can only prepare for it by keeping cash and buying at low price. So if a crash comes along, you are prepared with cash. If you had FOMO and give chase, then you can only seat and watch sadly. Having a boatload of cash can be a good thing in times of crash (remember I am not saying bucketliad but boatload) That's why I keep cash when there's nothing to buy. So what kena eat by inflation? Inflation is slower than what I can pick up in a crash.
*** You must have done a lot of homework in that shares to have such faith in them! Ha. But companies are like any other things, they can change, some for the better and some for the worse.
A: you need to analyse your companies and make sure they can continue paying you.
Moral of my story
1. Keep cash when market is expensive. Don't FOMO. Is worth keeping cars.
2. Don't be afraid of crash. Welcome with open arms. S
3. Invest in good companies with payout of say 40-70% dividends is one criteria.
4. Invest in companies with increasing DPU
5. Invest in companies which manage to profit during 2008-2009. For those companies are more or less survivors
6. Invest in defensive companies.
Further opinions,....
1) "*** I also don't need that money but I do not want to see the value dropping by half like it happened in 2008 recession. So prefer to take it out to and park it in FD etc though the return will be lower. Growing at a slower rate is preferred than loosing half its value."
Well,... if the fundamentals do not change and the counter is able to survive the meltdown / recession, it will regain its glory and go back up to its previous high again, or perhaps even higher. In the meantime, I will just continue to earn the dividend, and yeah, I may need to tolerate some dips in the dividend too. But if my holdings are large enough and my Average Price is low enough, the yield would be high enough to withstand any dpu reduction. The amount wouldbe big enough for my to build my warchest.
The moment you sell, you lose many of the above characteristics when you try to buyback again in future.2) "*** I assume you meant the dividends from that shares. But won't the dividend be less during recession? Double jeopardy - reduced share price and reduced dividend?
*** If you sell before the crash, won't you have more bullets for your safari hunting after the crash? Ya ya, only if the crash happens!"
Perhaps,... yeah, may need to tolerate some dpu dips, yeah,..but,.. please see my above explanations above size of holdings and level of Average Price.3) "*** You must have done a lot of homework in that shares to have such faith in them! Ha. But companies are like any other things, they can change, some for the better and some for the worse."
This is my risk then,... and this is where skils of investing, for eg diversification comes into play. Finally,... I always believed one should stay invested, but that's me,... So, rain or shine, I will find an instrument to go into throughout the different cycles of the mkt. I will not hold pure cash,....
I regard Foreign Currency FDs and PE Bond Funds as investments too.